Sawmill - Edmonton West

3.8
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1221 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
The Sawmill's Prime Rib and Steak House is Located in the Terra Losa Shopping Center. The Sawmill serves "AAA" Alberta Beef and has one of Edmonton's finest salad bar. Along with a regular lunch menu, it features a luncheon buffet Monday through Friday from 11am. to 2.00pm. Whether you choose a la carte or buffet, your lunch can be as quick or relaxed as you would like. This location offers a dining room and pub. Our dining room is divided into three different sections over two levels, for private and intimate dining. Sundays we offer a brunch from 10am until 2:00pm. and a evening buffet from 4:00pm until 10:00pm
What 1221 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.9
Food
3.9
Service
3.8
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
EG
Edmonton
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We really enjoyed our anniversary at sawmill
The ribs were super good
We’ll be back again

AS
Edmonton
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

We love eating at the Sawmill! Food is delicious and our out of town guest really enjoyed it! The prices are reasonable for the amount and quality of food - but it’s not a cheap meal. We go to the Sawmill for special occasions.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Thank you Angela for the 4 star review on your last visit and we are glad your group of 6 enjoyed the food! We look forward to having you back again soon and providing a 5 star experience next time around! cheers

Report
MD
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3Food2Service1Ambience4

Too many stairs. Waitress was terrible. Not attentive, forgetful, and didn't listen. Prime rib only
had very rare and rare. Knob broken on handicap bathroom. It wouldn't lock and I couldn't get out without someone opening the door from the outside. Could have overlooked most of it if the waitress was better.

CC
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We arrived a touch early for our reservation but they had the table ready for us. We sat and were served promptly. The food was great (my wife really liked the buffett prime rib and desserts). Our server was funny and engaging.

We will definitely come back!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Chris, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We will be sure to share your feedback with Adam and are very happy you had such a good time. Guests like yourself that take the time to fill out a positive review mean the world to us. Please ask for our general manager on your next visit down so we can thank you in person. Cheers!

Report
TW
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Holding a birthday brunch for 12 at the Sawmill was probably the best idea. The menu allowed everyone to eat within their special dietary needs without hassle and had a plethora of choices. Our server was very efficient and friendly, let me say that all the we friendly and attentive. I would recommend this location for brunch in a heart beat!

OT
Edmonton
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, exceptional service, great value as we went there for brunch with the family to celebrate bday for a party of 7.
We highly recommend and will come back again for sure.

KF
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fresh hot food in the brunch buffet, so much selection! Service friendly, clean and inviting atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Kris, Thank you so much for the 5 stars! Megan was your server and she will be thrilled to hear you had such a great time. We appreciate guests like you that take the time to fill out positive reviews. Next visit in please ask for our general manager so we can thank you in person. Cheers

Report
DC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food4Service1Ambience4

I’ve been going to the sawmill for years and the food never disappoints, however the service is usually pretty spotty. Saturday nights visit the service was terrible. They put what I can only assume to be a rookie serving a very large table and several small table. The poor kid was so overwhelmed. We had no napkins, no water glasses, no drinks. When we finally got water we got a dirty glass that took nearly to the end of the meal to get replaced. I would normally be happy to recommend this place but the last visit was pretty bad. Work harder on training your staff and managing your tables. Food as always was great.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Don, Thank you for being a great customer of ours for years, we appreciate your loyalty! We will speak to your server about the coaching opportunities they missed and our apologies for it not being up to our usual high standards. Our GM has reached out to you regarding your visit and we hope to see you back soon. Cheers

Report
D
Vancouver
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

Our night out for dinner Feb 15th had a few snags - service was slow; steak was not cooked to order; the restaurant was quite busy which was likely the cause of these issues.

However, the Assistant GM (Samantha) came by to check in and listened to our concerns. She was very polite and expressed a general concern to ensure our dining experience was great. After a brief conversation, she ensured everything would be fine and wished to have us back to earn our business. Thanks Samantha for taking the time to make things right - top notch customer service!

See you again soon.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Duane, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are so happy our management team were able to fix your issues quickly at the table. We love the opportunity to fix things in store and on the spot and are happy we could. We look forward to having you back soon and earning that extra star. Hope you had a great long weekend!

Report
DM
Edmonton
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Our experience overall was very good. We had a group of 11 and we were celebrating my Mother's funeral that day. I stated on the reservation that it was a special occasion, but nothing was asked of us. I was a little upset that we were placed in the back corner by the exit when I had made the reservation over a week in advance. The food was great and Adam, our server, did a wonderful job taking care of such a large group.

LS
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2Food4Service1Ambience4

I hate to complain cause the sawmill is one of my favourite places to dine out. But the service was the poorest I have ever experienced there.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Lyle, It was great to speak with you and as a long time customer I appreciate that you understand the valentines day dinner was an anomaly for us. Our apologies for the longer wait times and missed steps. Looking forward to having you back on March 1st. See you soon!

Report
OT
Edmonton
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience3

Last try , won’t repeat, gone downhill for years now

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Anonymous, We apologize that you had a bad experience on your visit on Valentines day. We love hosting big event nights and are sorry that your experience was poor. If you are able to contact us we would love to discuss how we could improve. As well, one of our management team always follows up with every booking and we encourage you to discuss with them how we can improve so we can continue to deliver a great experience and hold ourselves to the high standards we take pride in. Cheers

Report
WA
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

The meal of lobster and steak was over priced.$36.for a 6 ounce steak is awful and $21.95 for a lobster tail is also awful.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded a day ago

Hello Walter, Thank you for your feedback on your visit. We have a steak and seafood night where they are on special on Thursdays if you wanted to join us and take advantage. Also half price bottles of wine to that night. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report
SC
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 11 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Celebrated my birthday here and it was great! Food was hot and fresh... we opted for burgers so we could stuff our faces with dessert too. Highly recommend the Decadent Dome dessert with is really cool presentation and awesome taste. It is definitely big enough to share!!! Great that we could make a reservation too.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you so much Shanna for your 5 star review! We are thrilled your birthday was great, we love hosting birthdays! Looking forward to having you down for your next one, and a few times in between too we hope!

Report
DP
Edmonton
4 reviews
Dined on 9 February 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

As always, the staff were pleasant and welcoming. We felt that there were not enough staff, as some items such as the juice, and food labels were not ready on time. Also, there were too many stew type items on the hot buffet. We like to come every second Sunday, and I guess we have been spoiled by your usually great service and menu.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Dianne, Thank you for your review of your last visit. We love having you down every other sunday and appreciate you choosing us. Next visit in please say hi to our management team, we would love to hear the things you love about coming and where we can get even better. Cheers!

Report
s
Edmonton
35 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

I love their cob salad and the steak is consistently good. It's a very relaxed place with excellent service. Great for friends to catch up without feeling rushed.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you so much Shirley for visiting with us! We enjoyed having you and look forward to hosting you again soon! Cheers

Report
TD
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on 7 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

We had a good time at the Sawmill. The food was delicious and the service was good for the size of the party. I appreciated the complimentary dessert for my husband as it was his birthday. That was a nice surprise that I didn’t expect. Overall it was a nice evening with our friends and family.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 11 February 2020

Hello Tracie, Thank you so much for leaving us a great review. We really enjoyed having you down and can't wait for your next visit. Cheers!

Report
BA
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Have a great experience every time im at the Sawmill, great food, great service and the price is right 👍

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 9 February 2020

Thank you so much Brent for your 5 star rating. We can't wait to have you back again, you are the reason we love what we do. Cheers!

Report
OH
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

We had a pleasant family dinner. I ate from the buffet. My husband and kids ordered from the menu. Great food. Our server was polite and friendly. The resultant is a bit weathered and in need of a make over. The booth seats were cracked and to run up. Takes away from the quality of the overall experience.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 4 February 2020

Hello OlaHun, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit! We are happy you were able to enjoy the buffet and our menu on your visit and that the service was great. We appreciate your comments about the chairs and have a plan in place to renovate those soon. Thank you and we hope to see you very soon!

Report
MJ
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The staff at this location were incredible from start to finish. They made our night wonderful!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Mike, Thank you so much for the excellent review! We loved hosting your group and look forward to having you back. Cheers!

Report
OT
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Service was great and food. Will book again for a group get together:)

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 3 February 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to having you back again and would love to host a big group for you! Cheers and see you soon

Report
RF
Edmonton
19 reviews
Dined on 27 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Service and dinner was excellent as always. We always enjoyed dining at the Sawmill.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 31 January 2020

Thank you Ray for the 5 star review. We hope you both enjoyed your dinner and we genuinely look forward to having you back again soon. Please don't hesitate to ask for our GM Matt so we can thank you in person and meet you. Cheers!

Report
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on 25 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Service was good and food was good! Overall a great experience.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 31 January 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! Its great guests like you that make us love doing what we do. We hope to see you very soon! Cheers!

Report
DL
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 24 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

i have been to this Sawmill many times for lunch buffet many many birthdays ..such a fantastic place to relax and enjoy a incredible meal myself i have the Prime Rib which is incredible ..every time ..perfect ..All my Guests have always asked to go to Sawmill ..they have Been doing it right for over 40 years ...trust me ..40 years they have perfection

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 31 January 2020

Wow thank you so much Darryl for your kind words and comments! We are happy you enjoyed the Prime rib and we can't wait to have you back again soon. Please ask for our GM Matt on your next visit so we can thank you in person for being such a great and loyal customer of ours. Cheers and have a great weekend!

Report
EB
1 review
Dined on 22 January 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

The service was excellent, prime rib was awesome. Would recommend this restaurant.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 31 January 2020

Thank you Elaine for the 5 stars! We genuinely appreciate it and can't wait to have you back. Have a great weekend and see you again soon!

Report
CR
1 review
Dined on 20 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We dined at the Sawmill to celebrate our son's birthday on Jan 20th. Everything was great. The food was really good, the menu had lots of great choices and the service was excellent. I'd never been to The Sawmill before and was quite impressed with the ambience. We will definitely be going back.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 31 January 2020

Hello Crystal! Your 5 star review means the world to us thank you so much! We are happy your son had a great birthday and you enjoyed your first visit with us! We hope it will lead to many many more and to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report
OT
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on 18 January 2020
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Food was absolutely disappointing. Service was nonexistent. Had to call over the waitress for anything. Would not go back or recommend to anyone else. Manager was professional. However you couldn’t pay me to eat here ever.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 24 January 2020

Hello Anonymous, We are very sorry to hear the food and service were not up to the high standards we hold ourselves to. We hope the manager was able to do everything in their power to make things right when you spoke with them. If you are willing to share your contact information with us we would love to discuss more and make things right. Cheers

Report
DG
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on 17 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent night, food was very good, well cooked and service was excellent. A little pricey, but was worth it.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 24 January 2020

Hello Doug! Thank you for the feedback and 5 stars! We will make sure Johnny knows he hit the mark and we look forward very much to seeing you again soon!

Report
V
Edmonton
10 reviews
Dined on 16 January 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

The prime rib in the prime rib poast roast was a bit dry but the separate prime rib was excellent.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 24 January 2020

Thank you for the rating and recommending us! We will take your food comments to our chef so we can continually improve! We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Report
OT
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on 12 January 2020
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

The server wasn’t talkative, the service was very slow for not being that busy, was hard to find from the chief what was gluten free and the server said that the chief that was working today was not a nice guy, just not a great experience overall

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 12 January 2020

Hello, We are sorry to hear you experience wasn't up to the high standards we hold. Our Chef is always happy to help answer any gluten, allergy or dietary concerns. Our apologies if they weren't able to quickly answer your questions. We would love to help make things right and get more information on where we could improve but your profile is anonymous. If you are able to reach out to us at the store we would love to discuss more and ensure your concerns are heard and that we help fix them.

Report
SW
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall2Food1Service4Ambience4

Very disappointing ! Vegetables were cold and like rubber. Prime rib was edible but not medium rare as ordered. Server was very good it that can’t make up for poor food quality. Probably would not bother going back again.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 24 January 2020

Hello Steve, We are very sorry to hear the food missed the mark and your comments have been shared with our chef and management team. Happy to hear Kristin did a great job and we will let her know. Hope to see you again, we know we can provide the great experience we are known for. Cheers

Report
NB
1 review
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

Last few times we went there service was mediocre. Food is ok...steak was nice, sides (veg and mash cold). Didn’t get bread. Didn’t get asked how the meal was. Had to ask hostess for drink refill. So won’t return to this location.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 24 January 2020

Hello Nicole, Thank you for letting us know about your experience and our apologies that it was just average and not to the high standards we hold ourselves to. We will follow up with your server and our chef so we can improve. One of our team will reach out to you as we would love to have you back and know we can deliver on the experience we strive to always provide

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Walked in and was greeted and seated right away. Server was the nicest person ever. Food was great as well.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 8 January 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We are very happy to hear your server was so nice and we can't wait to have you back again! Happy New Year

Report
KK
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience3

There are many expensive brunch buffets in Edmonton, and we are always searching for reasonably priced brunch buffets. Sawmill has good, fresh selection at a reasonable price.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 12 January 2020

Thank you Kristy for the 5 stars! We loved having you down for brunch and can not wait to have you back again. Make sure to try the chocolate fountain or the build your own waffle station. Have a great weekend and see you soon!

Report
CP
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

Meal was very good noise level was quite high in the lower level. Service was excellent.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 2 January 2020

Thank you Cory for the feedback and comments! We will make sure Jacob knows you had a great visit. We will happily find you a quieter spot next visit, just mention it when you book and we will take great care of you! Cheers

Report
JM
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

We dined here on New Year's Eve. When we first arrived we were given only the set menu for the evening. We were not notified at reservation confirmation that there would be no regular menu on this evening. However our waiter was very accommodating and did provide us with regular dining menus. Our server was very attentive, the food was very good and very quick to table. Despite it being busy, we had excellent service.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 6 January 2020

Hell Jodi and thank you so much for the 5 star rating! We loved having your group of 6 down for NYE and hope that 2020 is your best year yet. We will let Johnny know he nailed and we look forward to seeing you down very soon! Cheers

Report
K
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My husband and I went to the Sawmill for a New Years Eve dinner with my 5 year old son . The food was amazing. They had a special menu for the evening. The price was reasonable. The house salad is so good. I usually get the Caesar salad because the house salad is often plain and boring. This one wasn’t at all. The main meal was a steak and it was the best I have ever tried. So tender and so much flavour. Then finally we chose the gluten free candy cane mouse and it was a great ending to a perfect meal. Also, my son ate for free even though it was New Years Eve! I will definitely be going back!!!

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 6 January 2020

Happy New Year Krystal and thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review for us! We love that you brought your son for NYE with us and are flattered to hear the steak is the best you have ever had! We can't wait to see you many more times in 2020.

Report
DN
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

First visit to the Sawmill and not disappointed. Service was excellent, Johnny our server was very attentive with drinks, meal served promptly. Special New Years menu that offered reasonable number of options. All selections included salad, main and dessert. Would have liked a pasta dish as an option. We'll go again.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 2 January 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 stars and we are THRILLED you enjoyed your visit. We will make sure Johnny knows you had a great time and thank him too. See you again soon!

Report
KF
Edmonton
4 reviews
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall1Food1Service4Ambience2

We were seated in a booth downstairs. There was a large table beside us with the majority going to the buffet. I noticed my knife had crusted food on it and requested a new one. My husband ordered a tall Caesar and I ordered a glass of wine. My glass was dirty on the outside, but I decided not to complain. My husband's Caesar was short, not tall. While we were waiting for our order the booth behind us left and the manager proceeded to drag a chair from the table all across the floor.
The waiter came back to inform me my Chicken Neptune was still a bit frozen and was taking longer to cook. I guess they don't believe in fresh ingredients. Our caesar salads arrived and the lettuce was already wilting. My husband's steak arrived lukewarm. The baked potatoes were lukewarm. The hollandaise sauce on the chicken was bland. The vegetables were burnt and too salty. The crab was too salty. The chicken was dry. The Sawmill said someone would contact me but I have yet to hear from anyone after a month.

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 2 January 2020

Hello Kim, Our apologies that the visit was not up to our high standards in our lounge. One of our team will be in touch shortly to discuss and make sure your comments are heard. Thank you for choosing us and Happy New Year

Report
KP
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience3

While we normally enjoy the Sawmill, this trip was a little disappointing. We were seated right away and our drink order was taken immediately. The two waiters we dealt with were both very friendly.
It took a bit to place our orders and the waiter told us there was bread coming. When we received our food( the wait was average) my wife’s steak ( ordered medium but arrived medium rare) was ok as she didn’t mind it a bit on the rare side. However, my steak( ordered.medium well) was overcooked and chewy, my shrimp had a funny taste that stayed with me all night long. Also we did not receive the read until we had completely finished our dinner ( we took it home).
Note: both waiters were busy as there was a large group ( approx 15 people) seated next to us)

Sawmill - Edmonton West
Responded on 2 January 2020

Hello Ken, Our apologies for the steak cook mixup. We are happy that the servers both were great to your group. One of our team will be in touch to discuss in more detail. Happy New Year!

Report