Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Detroit / Eastern Michigan
  4. Detroit
  5. Troy
Steak And Lobster Xpx - Benihana - Troy, MI, Troy, MI

Benihana - Troy, MI

3.8
3.8
2802 Reviews
$30 and under
Japanese
Welcome to Benihana in Troy, Michigan, where you’ll find a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal hibachi grill tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well as your taste buds.

Benihana Troy is located on Big Beaver Road, between Crooks Road and Coolidge Highway near the Somerset Collection and Somerset Park Golf Course. Our parking and entrance are located in the back of the building. Join us in our bar and lounge for Happy Hour, Monday-Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 pm.

An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more. This service charge will be paid directly to the employees who provided service to you.
Reservations are only available in the teppan area.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 pm


Booked 71 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Delivery

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Postmates
  • Logo image for Uber Eats

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

  • Hours of Operation

    Lunch Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm Dinner Daily 3:00 pm–10:00 pm Happy Hour Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–7:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (248) 649-6340

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Area

    Troy

  • Cross Street

    Crooks

  • Parking Details

    Free parking for Benihana guests

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Vegan, Wine

What 2,802 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.8
3.8 based on recent ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 3.8Service
  • 3.7Ambience
  • 3.6Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Detroit

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    vip
    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall4food5service4ambience3
    Would be great if they can keep the place a bit more clean
  2. SA

    SharieA

    Cincinnati

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Very nice. Our waiter was nice and fast. Only problem was the cook, made a few mistakes, which threw off the evening. He was nice and friendly, just cooking style was off. Which the other guests made a comment about as well.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded todayDear SharieA Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

  3. MP

    MakenzieP

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall2food3service1ambience1
    Our waitress Andrea was really rude , tried to check me about wanting to change my order last minute. She also did not ask how many rice bowls would I like . She was rushing everybody to order . She came in my face and told me to make sure I have my order right because I would be wasting rice if I change my order . She was not on top of her waitress job and I had to ask for everything I needed. Very poor experience.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear MakenzieP On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

  4. T

    Tasha

    Detroit

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Food was good as usual. The cook was nice & friendly. The only thing I didn't like was we didn't have our table to ourselves we had to share a table with another group.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Tasha Thank you for your feedback! Come back soon!

  5. CM

    CatMH

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall1food3service1ambience1
    Terrible experience. We made an online reservation for two for a date, which we specified in the reservation and were placed at a huge table with another family where the noise from the air vents were loud. Twice we asked the hostess (who never smiled once or greeted us) if we could be moved to a table for two. We were told that there were 30 people ahead of us even though we saw numerous empty tables. We left and went to PF Chang's where we had a wonderful meal without even having a reservation. The customer service at Benihana's is terrible and I would not recommend this restaurant.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear CatMH on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  6. KV

    KatlynV

    Detroit

    2 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food4service4ambience4
    Ricardo was awesome

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear KatlynV Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

  7. M

    Meme

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Thank you for everything it was great the food hospitality n overall service even the restroom everything was prefect

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Meme Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family. 

  8. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 June 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    Great service hadn’t been in a few years.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 19 June 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Came for Father’s Day with my daughter.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the special occasion!

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It was wonderful!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

  11. GB

    GeorgeB

    Detroit

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall1food4service2ambience2
    Chef splattered hot grease all over my girlfriend's white pants when he was plating her dinner.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear GeorgeB on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  12. TF

    TamikoF

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    I really appreciate Edwin A from Las Vegas. Edwin made my Birthday very special.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear TamikoF Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with the Benihana team!

  13. D

    Darlene

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience3
    My husband and I enjoyed ourselves, preparation of the food was slow, food was good! Service was good, when it comes to adding food you need a little more scallops for the price I paid (12 dollars) I will come back..... thumbs up!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Darlene Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    It was my birthday. We got a reservation. We weren’t sitting very long before they seated us. The only small problem was with the table seaters customs service. We waited for our chef for a decent amount of time. He was excellent. He was energetic, funny, and his food was delicious. We were very pleased with our service during our birthday lunch.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the special occasion!

  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience5
    Everything was wonderful with the exception of the male host who had a nasty cough and wouldn’t cover his mouth nor wear a mask.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your review with the team.

  16. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 June 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience3
    Waited over hour and twenty minutes for the chef/cook. Servers was not pleasant or efficient. Chicken Fred rice was under cooked. My wife’s chicken was over cooked, shrimp was over cooked as well. We will not be back.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

  17. NP

    NatalieP

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The service was great, the place was beautiful especially the entrance and the food was amazing.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear NatalieP We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

  18. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 June 2022

    overall2food5service1ambience3
    The A/C was set extremely high and everyone at the table was cold. We waited an hour for the chef to arrive. The had two chefs covering a total of 8 tables. Our waitress visited our table only twice throughout the 2 hour meal. I was left with no refills on my drink order. The birthday meal included an ice cream and birthday celebration; both which were ignored. Worst experience that I have ever had at a Benihana. This location has gone downhill. Do not recommend.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 12 June 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience4
    Great experience for our group of 10. Celebrating graduation was great but chef was a little quiet compared to what I remember. Great chef but I remember the last time was very funny & entertaining. Waitress went above and beyond to get my preferred liquor from basement stock too! Overall food was spectacular!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

  20. SH

    ShariH

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 11 June 2022

    overall2food4service2ambience4
    Wait time with reservation was about 15 min and we sat at the grill waiting on a chef for at least one hour

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear ShariH On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

  21. AK

    AnilK

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 11 June 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience2
    Horrible customer service, they took 2 hours to get started. Will not visit this place again.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear AnilK on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  22. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 June 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Food was kind of bland. Cook was not interactive with guests and was rude to guests.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

  23. D

    Danielle

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 June 2022

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    They were extremely slow. A table who had reservations after us and was seated after us was served and done with dinner prior to us. We were seated at the table for three hours which makes me hesitant to return

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Danielle On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

  24. K

    Kelly

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Ricardo was our chef and Xing was our server. They were both excellent! They delivered amazing service. We had such a great experience. Our table Really enjoyed Ricardo’s show. He cooked the food to perfection.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Kelly We are happy you enjoyed the experience! Come back soon!

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 June 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    They were rude and messed up my reservation

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

  26. LJ

    LakeyiaJ

    Detroit

    19 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on 7 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Attended for my bday! Great experience and the chef was awesome

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear LakeyiaJ Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the special occasion!

  27. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Toronto

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    First time there for a 4 people in the group of 5. Entertaining chef

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to hear we were able to create a great memory for you and your party!

  28. FT

    FamilyThatLovesToEat

    Detroit

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 5 June 2022

    overall2food2service4ambience4
    The guest that was seated at our table was very rude and obnoxious especially to have been an older group of people. They mentioned they didn’t want to be seated next to anyone although it was just me and my daughter. They was very rude to the cook that my daughter couldn’t even enjoy the experience. The food was not good. I believe because the cook was trying to accommodate everyone the lady insisted he out too much salt and too much garlic butter which what I believe was the correct amount however she was just unsatisfied which the cook rushed through to be done with our table. So much that even my daughter who is 10 said mommy I think they made the cook mad because he’s rushing.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear FamilyThatLovesToEat On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

  29. RO

    RobertO

    Detroit

    1 review

    vip
    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall2food3service2ambience2
    Food was great, just took 3 hours for the cook to come.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear RobertO Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

  30. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    We had to wait over an hour for our chef- I believe they were short-staffed. However, we were granted a discount for the delay. The food was delicious. Our chef was wonderful.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family. 

  31. DO

    DONALDN

    Detroit

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I took my senior mom, teenage kids and we are Never disappointed!!!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear DONALDN On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty!

  32. PH

    PorschaH

    Detroit

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 June 2022

    overall2food5service3ambience3
    The host/manager was very rude!! Everything else was ok!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear PorschaH on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    San Francisco

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 2 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The food was delicious and the atmosphere was full of excitement and cheer!!!! Thank you Benihana’s for your great tasting food and superb customer service! I can’t wait to come again!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Thank you for leaving us positive feedback, come back soon!

  34. S

    Samuel

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 May 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    Preparer got our order wrong 3x even after I tried to correct the order multiple times. I told the preparer that he gave me the wrong order and he insisted that it was the right order and set it on my plate. They then proceeded to charge me for an order that I did not order. When I explained the situation with the manager, even he got my order wrong and said there was nothing he could do since the preparer already put the meat on our plates. They did not even give my kids their ice cream which came with the order until I asked for the order. Overall poor service all around.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Samuel On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

  35. M

    Mutt004

    Detroit

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on 28 May 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Awesome meal tonight!

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Mutt004 We are happy you enjoyed the experience! Come back soon!

  36. M

    Mody

    Detroit

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 May 2022

    overall1food3service1ambience1
    After ordering the food the waitress couldn’t wait for us to leave she would come every 3 minutes asking if we are done and she brought the bill without asking her to. She is so rude and the service was less than moderate. Other Benihana branches are way better service and food.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Mody on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  37. BW

    BrianaW

    Chicago

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 May 2022

    overall1food3service1ambience1
    Troy Benihana has really changed, ALOT! The service was horrible. Our waitress was unsure and seem over burdened, we had to ask for water, napkins etc. The sushi roll we ordered looked like something I had never seen before, it was actual cut up iceberg lettuce in our shrimp tempura roll. Our table was sticky and dirty, we had to ask multiple times for the table to be cleaned. One of the worst experiences at a restaurant. I will never return to this Troy location.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear BrianaW We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Detroit

    1 review

    vip
    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 May 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience1
    Terrible!! First they wouldn’t let us sit until everyone was there, threatening to cancel the reservation over one person being late. After that mess, we were able to sit down but had to wait for 1 hour before our cook came. In the meantime we witnessed a full mental breakdown screaming match between two servers. We didn’t get our drinks for an hour in after ordering them. The bills were incorrect when we got them. The cook did not provide any type of fun or experience. This was the worst service I have ever received. Please do not put yourself through this.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  39. AG

    AlexusG

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 May 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    I will never go back to this location again!!! The service was terrible and the manager was even worst. Experience pure racism.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear AlexusG on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Orlando

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 26 May 2022

    overall4food3service3ambience3
    Food not an good as it used it and very prices for the little amount you get. Waiter was so slow and does not check on us if we need anything.

    Benihana - Troy, MIResponded 3 days agoDear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Benihana - Troy, MI using the Order Online button. Benihana - Troy, MI also offers delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats.

Benihana - Troy, MI is rated 3.8 stars by 2802 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 pm


Booked 71 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Delivery

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Postmates
  • Logo image for Uber Eats
Google Map for Benihana - Troy, MI

1985 W. Big Beaver Road Troy, MI 48084

Additional information

  • Cross Street

    Crooks

  • Area

    Troy

  • Hours of Operation

    Lunch Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm Dinner Daily 3:00 pm–10:00 pm Happy Hour Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–7:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking Details

    Free parking for Benihana guests

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Vegan, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo