Wood Fire Grill

4.2
252 reviews
$41 to $100
Steakhouse
If you appreciate the art of BBQ, then Wood Fire Grill is a must when in Noosa. With a relaxed and inviting setting with views of Noosa River, a hearty menu designed to celebrate quality produce and tasting pates to share, Wood Fire Grill offers an exciting dining experience to enjoy to with family and friends.
What 252 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
Food
4.3
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Moderate
70% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We are big fans of WFG but havinv Miss Cupcake there to entertain our children made it even better. We spent a very enjoyable and relaxing Sunday lunch while our kids were entertained ... thank you WFG and Miss Cupcake.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 20 March 2020

Thank you for your lovely review of Wood Fire Grill. I am so pleased to hear your kids enjoyed the entertainer and you had a chance to relax and eat! We have just started the entertainment which will happen every Sunday lunch. We do look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
EG
EloiseG
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2020
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience4

Very expensive prices for average food. Steak was not very nice and burger was the same as a fish and chips shop.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 20 March 2020

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your review on the food, and we do hope you give us another in the future. Regards, Renee.

Report
VS
ValekS
1 review
Dined on 19 February 2020
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

It’s definitely gone downhill since the last time we were in Noosa

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 5 March 2020

Thank you Valek for taking the time to write your review. That is unfortunate to hear, however we will take your feedback on board. We have just released our Autumn menu this week. We do hope you will give us another try in the future. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
JB
JessB
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Food was very nice. The local fish dish was very fresh. The service was also very good. I would recommend this restaurant to others

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 13 February 2020

Thank you JessB for your star review. I am pleased to hear you found the food offerings very nice, and the local fish dish fresh. Thank you for also mentioning the service was very good and you would recommend Wood Fire Grill to others. We do look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Renee

Report
SC
SandraC
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall2Food4Service5Ambience1

Disappointing, kids screaming the whole meal at the next table, am new to Noosa and this is walking distance but won’t return, could have gone to McDonald’s to sit with screaming kids running around , didn’t bother staying for dessert

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 13 February 2020

Thank you SandraC for leaving your review. I am sorry to hear it may have been a bit noisy on your first visit. We do hope you will try our restaurant again in the future. Regards, Renee.

Report
EB
ErrolB
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience2

The noise level was terrible and the meals average at best.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 7 February 2020

Thank you ErrolB of your review. It is unfortunate to hear of your experience and star review, I do hope you will try us again in the future. Warm regards, Renee

Report
GD
GershonD
Hong Kong
1 review
Dined on 30 January 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Nice friendly atmosphere with good food and wine. Recommended for anyone visiting Noosa

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 6 February 2020

Thank you GerhonD for your review of Wood Fire Grill. I am pleased to hear you found the atmosphere good and service friendly. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and continuing to recommend our restaurant. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
RR
ReneeR
Brisbane / QLD
2 reviews
Dined on 30 January 2020
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

Disappointed lots of kids there it was hard to hear across the table. Ordered only entee size but the chicken was fully covered with a most unappetizing sauce. We were so looking forward to this. Service was average and kept having to signal for attention. Won’t be back. Plenty of choice in Noosa.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 7 February 2020

Thank you Renee for writing your review. It is unfortunate to hear your dining experience on this occasion. The chicken skewers are served with a BBQ sauce made in-house by our chefs, and generally receives good feedback. I am sorry it was not to your liking. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, Renee.

Report
SF
SusanneF
1 review
Dined on 18 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a table of 4 and ordered the 10 shared plates for $65p/p and every dish was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The service was also great. The only slight negative we had was the fact that we were seated indoors and it felt rather warm and muggy however we look forwards to our next visit. Thank you for a great night and fabulous food.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 21 January 2020

Thank you Susanne for your lovely review of Wood Fire Grill. It is so great to hear you enjoyed the Feast Menu and I will ensure your feedback is passed onto our chef and team. We do have some outside seating so perhaps on your next visit you can request to be seated here, sorry that it may have been a little warm inside. We do look forward to having you dine with us again, and thank you for sharing your feedback. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
n
vipnone
London
13 reviews
Dined on 17 January 2020
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

Enjoyed our meal and terrific wine list by the bottle. Have eaten here over many years and found the steak offerings disappointing on this visit compared w previous menus which seemed more specialised in steak.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 21 January 2020

Thank you for your review of Wood Fire Grill, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and found the wine list terrific. We do change the menu regularly and sorry there may have not been as many specialty steaks available this time. We do look forward to your return visit and hope to see you then. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
L
Liezell
1 review
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Wood Fire Grill's service were impeccable from seating to payment! The food - we'll an empty plate says a lot! I will definitely go back when we visit Noosa Heads again in the future.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thanks Liezell for your recent review of Wood Fire Grill. I am so pleased to hear you found the service impeccable and enjoyed our food offerings. We are certainly looking forward to having you dine with us again at Wood Fire Grill when you are next in Noosa. Regards, Renee.

Report
HH
HannahH
London
1 review
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Beautiful, family friendly venue. Staff were great with children which was greatly appreciated. Lovely food and a good range on the menu.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thanks HannahH for your review of Wood Fire Grill. I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time and found our food lovely. We do look forward to have you dine with us again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
JM
JeanM
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on 9 January 2020
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience5

We've been there a number of times. Menu always the same. Quality of the food is ordinary for price. Disappointing...

KC
KarenC
Brisbane / QLD
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

The food here is excellent, the steaks and grilled fish were particularly good. Atmosphere is also lively. Highly recommend!

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thank you KarenC for your great review of Wood Fire Grill. I am so pleased to hear you found the food excellent and there was a good lively atmosphere. Thanks also for recommending us. We do look forward to having you dine with us again. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
SN
SharonN
Sydney / NSW
4 reviews
Dined on 8 January 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

As a returning diner, we enjoyed once again a lovely steak but sides are a disappointment. Service was great, and would recommend for an enjoyable night out. Playground in park just outside if you are taking children.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thank you SharonN for leaving your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your steaks, and found the service was great. We are fortune to be located directly opposite a park and also enjoy views of Noosa River. It is however disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy the sides on this occasion. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we do look forward to having you dine with us again. Warm regard, Renee.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 3 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The lamb shoulder was incredible.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thank you for your review of the lamb shoulder at Wood Fire Grill, it is one of our most popular dishes on the menu. Looking forward to seeing you again at the Grill. Regards, Renee.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 3 January 2020
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience5

Most dishes (chicken, fish) dry and overcooked not a lot of flavour. Good service and nice ambience.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 15 January 2020

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to hear you found some of your dishes dry and over cooked. This is not something we strive for at Wood Fire Grill and I will speak with our head chef on how we can improve. I am however pleased to hear found the service good and there was a nice ambiance within the restaurant. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, Renee.

Report
JB
JustinB
1 review
Dined on 24 December 2019
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

In summary, the service was very slow although pleasant when delivered. Compared to other Noosa restaurants the waiting staff seemed untrained and unsure of what to do and when. We were left for long periods between courses and with empty glasses and had to request things rather than being offered.

The food was acceptable and pleasant but not at the level you'd expect at these prices.

When spending $500 for a family dinner (only including 2 glasses of wine & 3 soft drinks!) I think you'd expect to be made to feel a little special.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 22 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great dining experience

M
Mills
Brisbane / QLD
2 reviews
Dined on 21 December 2019
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience2

Overpriced Average food, Very overpriced drinks.
Great dining atmosphere. Staff were nice & attentive.

A
vipAnne
Central Coast
6 reviews
Dined on 5 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience5

While service was very friendly and efficient, it was a bit slow. ( though that could be we’re fast eaters and not lingerers). Food was tasty, focaccia was piping hot, barramundi delicious and moist, burger perfectly grilled. Nice wine selection.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 12 December 2019

Thanks Anne for leaving your review of Wood Fire Grill. That is great to hear you enjoyed the food offerings. Sorry to hear you may have found the service a little slow on this occasion. We will take your comments on board and do hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
j
janegregory
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 28 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Birthday dinner

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 3 December 2019

Thanks janegregory for your 5 stars and celebrating a birthday dinner at Wood Fire Grill. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, Renee

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

Lovely experience. Our only fault would be it took a good 20 minutes for the table to be cleared. Beautiful food.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 7 November 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5 stars. That is great to see. Sorry to hear it may have taken a little longer to have the table cleared on this occasion, I will follow up with our team and ensure this is will not happen again. I am pleased to hear you did find the food beautiful. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
AB
AnoukB
Brisbane / QLD
2 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Great restaurant. However, be prepared for an excellent but very pricey wine list.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

My wife had the steak and said it was beautiful. I had the fish also good. The entre of the pork was cold. Not sure if it is supposed to be that way, though I was expecting it to be hot.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you leaving your 5 stars and review of Wood Fire Grill. We are so pleased you enjoyed your steak and the fish dish. Thank you for your comments on the pork dish, I will follow up with our chef. Thanks again for choosing to dine with us. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Brisbane / QLD
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

6 diners. 3 had good meals (all had the same dish though) and 3 had not-up-to-expectations-for-the-price meals (all of these were different dishes).

I’ve eaten here before and the experience then was somewhat better. It’s quite some way off being a restaurant I’d recommend to others.

JS
JanineS
Brisbane / QLD
4 reviews
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience4

All our food was fantastic. The steaks were particularly good. The service was mediocre. Our waiter may have been new. He failed to let us know the fish of the day, muddled up drinks orders, was not knowledgeable on the available types of drinks on offer. Service was slow to clear the table and strangely asked if we were having wine, when dessert was about to arrive. Slow to process that we were waiting to pay so we had to go up to the desk to pay. Just really muddled which put a dampener on an otherwise lovely meal.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

The food is excellent - good quality and well cooked - critical when your steak is around $45. Staff were attentive and it’s a lively venue - we will definitely return.

JT
JarrodT
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

My partner and I had a great experience from the moment we walked in the door. We had our 6 month old daughter with us so we had a pusher as well. The front of house staff were more than accommodating and found a spot for it before seating us. Food was amazing- beef croquettes and scallops for entree and sword fish and scotch steak for mains. Dessert was also fantastic. I’m still not a fan of having to add sides to mains, around $10 for a piece of broccoli or some beans but that’s quite common at a lot of places. A great experience overall.

MC
MelanieC
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

My husband and I were visiting Noosa (with the aim to check it out as a future winter home) when we had the pleasure of visiting Wood Fire Grill. We dine out regularly and enjoy great food. We had moderately high expectations based on your reviews and website but we were not expecting the fantastic experience that we had the pleasure of enjoying. Everything was perfect! The service, ambience and the food! Having eaten lunch a little late we were not super hungry so passed on entrees (will be back for them next time though!) and just nibbled on some of the delicious ciabatta bread to start. Olive oil seemed a tad green to start, but was perfect with the slightly smokey flavour of the toasted ciabatta. Mr M is a steak man and had high expectations for his steak - which were fully met! I do recall him mentioning it was quite possibly the best steak he's ever had. Being a seafood lover I chose the prawn linguine which was superb! The wine list was more than adequate without being unnecessarily large or expensive. To sum up - a lovely dining experience and good value. We will definitely be back..hopefully sooner rather than later. Ms M

OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Staff were equally as amazing as the food. Definately recommend!

JK
JohnK
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall3Food1Service4Ambience3

We checked the menu on line 1st and then found the duck wasn’t on the menu when we got to the restaurant. The steak was supposed to come with potato purée instead it came with fries (for an expensive restaurant-give me a break). My wife ordered the “Maloolaba prawns” and SA pippies, the prawns were smaller than shrimps and there were only 3 pippies.
The service was fabulous a pity we walked out feeling ripped off.

JM
JamesM
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

A most enjoyable experience with good ambience and good food. The standard is keep very high

BP
BenP
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

A Favourite place to dine! Great service food is awesome and great value for money 😀

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 11 September 2019

Thank you Ben for leaving your lovely review of Wood Fire Grill. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent experience and this is your favourite place to eat. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to have you dine with us again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
h
honest
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall2Food1Service4Ambience1

food was substanded. we were starving and if it were not for the 3 hour drive we had in the morning we absolutely would have left. a small ice cream scoop of potato mash with steak that was average. over priced for cheap food. the linguine pasta was like having pasta out of the water with melted butter on it. i am unsure who they thought they were serving to cut my prawns into small pieces. i believe it was becasue they are cheap and make it look like there is more than the maybe 2 prawns that were in it. it was a prawn and clam pasta. no flavour my children make a better pasta seafood broth sauce. yet they charge an arm and leg. the beans were the high light excellent. the service lady was lovely, attentive, helpful, very polite. i couldnt get a glass of wine terrible selection. no quality in the wine by glass selection at all. a kitchen staff member was also filming us. he had his camera phone running and he was positioning it on a shelf directly facing out until he saw me looking at him filming. like perverts do in the bathroom, massive violation of the right to sit and enjoy a meal. we left hungry and had to buy chips to fiill us up and unfortunately paid 250 no going back..
place was dirty/greasy/ smelly/loud..

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 12 September 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will discuss your review with the team and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, David.

Report
KK
KoolKazzy
Sydney / NSW
7 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience2

The restaurant felt dirty the cushions and bench pads all looked grubby and very tired. There were kids everywhere as the position
Next to a park makes it a great place to to take them. Also there was food on the floor and generally felt like a place for kids.We were expecting more from this restaurant as it is rated as one of the fine dining spots in Noosa. The service was very slow and we had to attract someone to take our order. The food was very good but for $300 a couple not sure if it adds up to a return visit.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 12 September 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy the food. I am however disappointed to hear about some of your feedback, Father's Day was definitely a busy day however the restaurant should remain clean and sorry it may have not been up to standard when you arrived. I will discuss with the team and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards, David.

Report
MC
MattC
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food and the waiter was lovely! best donuts ever!

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 11 September 2019

Thank you Matt for your 5 star review! I will pass on the feedback about the donuts to the chef and thanks again for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Wood Fire Grill. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
CL
ChadL
Brisbane / QLD
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Could not fault the evening. Will eat here everytime we now go to Noosa.
The Wagyu Sirloin was superb.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 11 September 2019

Thank you Chad for leaving your lovely review and 5 stars! It is so pleasing to hear you enjoyed your Wagyu sirloin and you had a great experience. We love having you dine with us every time you're in Noosa and look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, Renee.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience3

Everything was perfect except for a large group that were having a party and let their kids run around through the restaurant all night

MG
MikeG
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience1

I do not recommend this restaurant to anybody...HORRIBLE experience. start to finish.it was my father-inlaw's 85th birthday any Woodfire Grill was his choice for dinner.

see my review on Yelp! Horrible experience.

Wood Fire Grill
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Very disappointing to read your comments, however looking at the booking system, it looks like you did not show for your reservation. If you did however dine with us, and would like to discuss anything further, I would like to the opportunity to hear of your experience. Regards, David.

Report

FAQs

Wood Fire Grill offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (07) 5473 5904.

Wood Fire Grill is rated 4.2 stars by 252 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.