Tokyo Tina

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
111 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$40 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese

Top tags:

Casual
Fun
Japanese street food with a modern twist served in a hip place with fun decor and outdoor tables.

Special Offers

Christmas Suckling Pig - $89pp

Crispy Christmas suckling Pig
Ssamjang, bao, pancake, ginger, cucumber, kimchi & festive spirit! Serves up to 8pax.
Must be pre-booked at least 48 hours in advance

Terms and Conditions: Must pre-book 48 hours in advance; serves minimum of 4pax and maximum of 8pax; GF and Dairy free must have lettuce cups instead of bao buns; one per booking unless you call the venue to pre-book additional serves.

Valid For: 4 - 8 people

Starts: 4 December 2019

Ends: 22 December 2019

Availability: Daily 12:00-15:00 17:00-22:00

What 111 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
Food
4.6
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
D
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1Food1Service4Ambience3

Personally, I left extremely hungry (I ordered the avocado bao:(which came out as vegan, even though I did not request it to be) and the tuna cone)

It would have been nice to be told that the two things I ordered were not very substantial.

However, the service was great and staff were extremely friendly and altered the lights in our private room to create better ambience. They also kept checking to see if we wanted more drinks, which was great.

I understand 'fine dining' but I think portion sizes are extremely overpriced for how big they are, and my friends also agreed on this. Perhaps if there was a greater selection of dishes to put in the middle of the table or more sides eg; sushi, seaweed salad etc, this problem would be resolved.

KB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Had a great dinner at Tokyo Tina with girlfriends. Food was fresh & delicious and staff were friendly, attentive & helpful. We were allowed to sit & chat after the meal without being rushed out the door like a lot of restaurants seem to do these days. A great evening all round - will be back!

N
London
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience3

Went with my parents who are a bit older and it was very loud so it was hard have a conversation. Food wasn’t too bad - options we chose may not have been the best.

S
1 review
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Had to change the receipt 3 times because incorrect things put on it. Some staff were attentive but they lady who rang up our bill was quite rude and short. The food was disappointing, the same chilli salt flavoured most of our meals to the point we couldn't taste anything else.

D
London
1 review
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Delicious vegan degustation menu which was great value for money

Tokyo Tina
Responded 4 days ago

Hey Dani, We're glad you enjoying our Vegan All-In! We can't wait to have you back down for some more. Tokyo Tina

Report
SG
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Great tasting Japanese fusion dishes, in funky atmosphere!!

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 17 November 2019

Hey ShaneG, Cheers for your review! Can't wait to have you back down again soon. TT

Report
w
1 review
Dined on 6 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

It was very quiet for lunch and main items on the menu were not available. No yakatori and no chicken What was was mainly all vegetarian.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 17 November 2019

Hey Warranb, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately our hibachi is only available for dinner on the menu. We do have a variety of chicken menu items, and we have a great selection of vegetarian options on our menu too. Warm Regards, Tokyo Tina

Report
BO
1 review
Dined on 26 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great bottomless brunch set up, highly recommend and will be back again.

M
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience1

-Some of the Food was a bit of a let down (the BAO).
-The BAO was incredibly messy and all we could taste was butter.
- Also, we were the only table seated (table of 2) then had another couple sat directly next to us in a fully open dining room. it was really awkward and we joked about it with the other couple.
- Prawns were good.
- overall a bit two expensive for what we had.

OT
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on 13 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Great lunch, really enjoyable well presented and tasty food.

MH
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The sparkling water was to die for... Food was also very good

m
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

staff were friendly & attentive, & the food was tasty, & the atmosphere lively.

LB
6 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Bingo Brunch at Tokyo Tina's is always fun. The menu is bright and inventive. Highlights are the snapper, salmon and the ever-delicious karage chicken. The service is swift and friendly. Bottomless cocktails ensures a fun time is had by all. The fabulous Valerie Hex was hosting on my last visit, but whoever it is will ensure that you enjoy the day.

ME
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The steamed snapper was a standout and the tuna cones were amazing. First time I've been there but won't be my last. Well worth a visit.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 22 September 2019

Hey MelissaJ, Cheers for your review! We can't wait to have you back down again soon :) TT

Report
AK
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Again amazing food and very friendly service. Always worth going there.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 16 September 2019

Thank you AndreasK! Glad to hear you're a regular :)

Report
J
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delicious food and perfect portions sizes - had a table of 3 and shared 5 plates, we were full after the 4th! Definitely coming back!

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 16 September 2019

Hey Jess, Cheers for your review - we're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! Can't wait to have you back down. TT :)

Report
DB
London
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

The boa was excellent, bibimbap was disappointing and the butterfly chicken was slightly underdone. Service was friendly and attentive. The music was on the loud side. Very popular and I would return. I liked the old Japanese signs on the restaurant facade.

LH
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Food was great, service was outstanding, very good value with the alcohol. Tokyo Tina catered to my vegan friend very well! The Bingo was a lot of fun and a memorable experience.
My only criticism would be that there wasn't enough food. It was delicious, but I think there could've been a bit more to go around. Other than that, it was AMAZING.

OT
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great bustling environment

CS
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Really fun atomosphere, lovely wait staff and when they forgot my ginger beer they put it on the house, which ended an already good night on a high. Definitely will be coming again :)

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hey CelineSF, Thanks for your feedback - we're glad you enjoyed your experience with us! We can't wait to have you back in again soon, TT

Report
RG
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We LOVED the bottomless brunch. Our entertainers were hilarious, the food was delicious and catered to two vegans perfectly and the birthday boy was truly celebrated and made to feel special. We'll be back!

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hey RebeccaG, We're glad you enjoy our Bingo Academy as much as we do ;) Our menu can cater to a lot of dietary requirements and we're glad our vegan options did not disappoint. We can't wait to have you back in again soon for another round of bottomless brunch (or maybe some karaoke!) TT

Report
MH
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall3Food3Service1Ambience3

Sat down and the table was wobbly. Asked for tap water and received sparkling. Server was helpful with suggestions although did not come back to order within a decent time; another server stopped to help. My drink was dropped in the midst of moving plates around on the table. The spill was not cleaned and I told the server near the end of dinner that there was glass under the table next to us that was noticeable once the table cleared although the server took the next wave of customers to the table anyways. We waited a long while for our bill to come; we even asked another server for it once he finished clearing tables. In the end, the hostess came over and cleared our table and brought our bill/took payment. Some dishes like the ramen and bbq eggplant were delicious and some just average. The service was the most disappointing considering this was our first visit and we loved sister restaurant Hanoi Hannah.

G
Vancouver
8 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We met at lunch for a birthday. The service was fantastic... we had a leisurely time and at no point did we feel rushed. We ordered as we went .. .and things came out quickly and were very tasty. Maybe give the fried chicken pieces a pass, as they were not terribly interesting. The asparagus was good, and my friend who had the kingfish liked it. We shared a crispy avocado bao and it was fantastic.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 2 September 2019

Cheers for your review Gydle! We're glad to hear you enjoyed what we're servin' up and we can't wait to see you in again soon, TT

Report
TK
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was a great afternoon! Very entertaining and lotsa fun.

AB
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience4

Ok I appreciate how busy the venue is and only a handful of staff to cater but when you ask for a drink and then see people who come after you being served you tend to get a bit cranky especially when you are paying the all you can drink price. First time you can excuse, second time it happens no. Food was tasteless, dry and very ordinary. I will say once I made a complaint staff did make sure we were looked after but unfortunately by then we had had enough. Too many people, not enough staff, noise level high. Food below par. Not that enjoyable.

OT
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

We had a wonderful evening, staff & food were amazing!

OT
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great vibe. Food amazing. Service fantastic! Can’t wait to go back!

JO
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined on 31 July 2019
Overall3Food4Service5Ambience4

Tokyo Tina serves modernized Japanese fusion cuisine in a relaxed yet hip setting. The service was efficient, friendly yet professional. My friend and I shared a number of dishes which were delicious and well presented. The reason I don’t score this place high is due to the small portion sizes, for example four small pieces of Karage Chicken for $15 and the same price for four Gyoza, and $12 for a small beer out of the tap. In terms of dishing up tasty food in a relaxed atmosphere, Tokyo Tina delivers but fails to offer value for money with prices rivaling higher rated restaurants. If they get their pricing and portions right I’m sure more people like us will come back.

MJ
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

As usual, appealing and delicious Japanese fusion food served by friendly wait staff in a funky atmosphere.

GV
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delicious food, super fast service and great ambience

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 5 August 2019

Hello GeraldineV, Thanks for leaving us a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience at Tokyo Tina. We can't wait to see you again soon! Tokyo Tina :)

Report
DS
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food and drinks. Staff were beyond amazing.

F
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

VERY delicious food and lovely, friendly service. I've been meaning to go to Tokyo Tina for ages and I'll definitely be back, thank you!

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 29 July 2019

Cheers Fibags! Good things come to those who wait! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your first experience with us. We can't wait to have you back soon, Tokyo Tina.

Report
LD
1 review
Dined on 22 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Thank you so much for the amazing service, food and drinks! I was a little anxious coming here with my dad as he has an egg allergy however the gentleman who served us for most of the night (not sure of his name but he had a man bun) asked if there were any allergies right off the bat. There were lots of substitutes for my dad and he could pretty much eat anything! Awesome atmosphere, great vibe and super friendly staff.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 29 July 2019

Thank you for the review Lola! We're so glad we were able to make your experience as stress-free as possible with our dietary options for your dad! We can imagine how stressful it can be with an egg allergy. We can't wait to see you back again soon, Tokyo Tina.

Report
AS
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food and service were amazing- will definitely come back

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 22 July 2019

Hi AnnaS, Thank you for leaving us a review. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed what we're serving up. Can't wait to have you back down again! Cheers - Tokyo Tina.

Report
L
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2019
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

Great for a drink and a bao, slightly under whelmed by some of the menu items ordered.

Bao and Okominyaki were great, butterflied chicken was cold as were the dumplings

Great for a cocktail!

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 22 July 2019

Hi Luka, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback about your experience. Glad to hear that you liked the cocktails and some of the food offering and we're sorry to hear that the butterflied chicken was not satisfactory. We'll be sure to pass this feedback along to our chef. Kind regards, Tokyo Tina

Report
AG
London
3 reviews
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Delicious food and fun afternoon of bingo (bottomless brunch). Particularly good value if making the most of bottomless cocktails. Managed well with dietary requirements.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 16 July 2019

Hello Alana, Thank you for leaving us such a great review - we're really glad to hear you enjoyed our bottomless brunch bingo as much as we do! We pride ourselves on our service and menu - especially being inclusive of a range of dietary requirements. We can't wait to have you back down again for another round of bingo! Tokyo Tina

Report
LC
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2019
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience2

I had booked a table for 3 however when I arrived we had been placed at the back of the restaurant at a high table. We asked to be moved and were given a table, still at the back near the music speaker, and were told we had an hour and 15. This was preferable to sitting perched at a high table. We asked for the music to be turned down which was rejected but on asking another waiter it was turned down slightly. We were given the bill after 1 hour and 15. The food was good however just felt like it was a waste of time booking and going there to be rushed and since we wanted to chat, the atmosphere wasn't amenable.

PV
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Went here for my adult daughter’s birthday family dinner and was blown away by the quality of the food. The table service was also excellent.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 15 July 2019

Hello Peter, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're so glad to hear that you had a great time for your daughter's birthday and you thoroughly enjoyed the food. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Karina.

Report
PF
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience3

The service was very good and enjoyed the food. We did the set menu and I wasn’t a fan. I was hoping for more seafood. However other guests at my table enjoyed the food. Next time I would select.

Tokyo Tina
Responded on 16 July 2019

Hello Philip, Thank you for leaving us a review about your experience at Tokyo Tina. Our all-in menu is customisable per potential food allergies and requests to cater to our guests. Next time you're down, we recommend chatting through what you would like with your host, who will be more than happy to help you. We're glad to hear everyone enjoyed their food - we pride ourselves on our service and menu! We look forward to seeing you down again soon, Tokyo Tina.

Report
I
1 review
Dined on 25 June 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Yum as food and great service. Already recommended it to a friend