The White Swan

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
18 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pub
Top tags:
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Lunch
  • Group Bookings
The White Swan is a privately owned 600 year old pub & restaurant lovingly run by Val Lane and her fantastic team. The building has gone through many changes and has a wealth of history, Val has been actively involved with the business since 1994 and although there was a time lapse, she feels her roots belong here as her parents Pearl & Tommy Gough had the White Swan in the early 1950’s when it was a traditional ‘Courage’ house. Val was born in Ash and has lived in the village for most of her life.
What 18 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.1
Service
4.0
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DR
Kent
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The food was tasty and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The whole experience was very enjoyable.

AB
Kent
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Outstanding value for the meal with a great atmosphere. Friendly staff and very efficient.

IA
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Superb food from an extensive menu served by very pleasant staff. Shamed to say that the servings were so ample that I had to leave some of the delicious crumble!

d
London
4 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Good "Pub" food, but perhaps a little too much "fry" stuff on the menu.

G
Kent
4 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Pre Birthday meal with my family. Food was lovely and couldn’t fault the staff, definitely recommend.

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 2 June 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

I was disappointed by the variety of choices on the menu, as were all my companions. Battered fish and chips, or fish pie were desired, and would have been chosen.

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely pub for kids. Great food and value for money

LR
Kent
1 review
Dined on 27 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Booked in for a last minute lunch on Bank Holiday Monday and was really impressed. Lots for our baby to play with in the garden, friendly staff and delicious food. Everything we want in a pub!

S
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely pub and really friendly staff.
Thank you! :-)

JK
London
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent fiid and outstanding table service. Our Waitress was very helpful and cheerful. A pleasure

CS
London
4 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

My husband and I visited for a late Sunday lunch, roast beef had all gone. Chicken and lamb choice remained, my husband doesn’t like either so he went for the seafood platter. I had the lamb roast.
Seafood platter was huge and my husband enjoyed it.
Roast looked nice but was spoilt by loads of watery tasteless gravy which left the veg swimming and the roast potatoes which had been crispy all soggy. Would have been good apart from that.
Staff attentive and friendly, nice comfortable pub with a good atmosphere.

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Just the place with plenty of parking for a reunion of old friends

OT
Kent
7 reviews
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Booked a table for two last saturday night and very much enjoyed the evening. Our food was very good indeed. Service from Harry was likewise. We will return very soon.

m
Kent
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

They are spending a lot of money ,getting the pub better, some should be set a side for the car park, the pot holes are terrible,some thing does need to be done....................................................

AP
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Just what I needed for a reunion lunch, easy parking, varied menu, relaxed and informal .

The White Swan
Responded on 20 January 2019

Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope we will see you again :)

Report
l
London
4 reviews
Dined on 28 October 2018
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

Had a lovely roast, my only criticism would be that the gravy was a bit watery but the serving was a good size and the staff were plentiful. Typical country pub with young and old enjoying food and drinks.

The White Swan
Responded on 24 November 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have passed your comments regarding the gravy on to the chef, we are very sorry about that and appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again :)

Report
M
London
3 reviews
Dined on 21 October 2018
Overall 2Food 1Service 2Ambience 2

Very disappointed with the meal. We both ordered a roast, they came out with barely any gravy, the Yorkshire’s were cremated, and my mixed roast consisted of a mountain of chewy beef, a tiny amount of chicken but no pork or lamb. After requesting more gravy and new Yorkshire’s we waited 10 mins for some lukewarm gravy and another round of burnt Yorkshire’s. After complaining to the manager she said the chef was having issues due to an over breaking. Even so, he has eyes so why serve something clearly inedible and why not out the correct meat on a plate? Won’t be going back

The White Swan
Responded on 24 November 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we are a family run pub and are very upset to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. I am very sorry that you weren't given the full assortment of meat, we try to our best to keep mistakes to a minimum. With regards to the burnt yorkshires & lukewarm gravy - the oven has been fixed - however as you said they should not have been sent out, I can only apologise again. We are very sorry for your experience, it is not our usual standard.

Report
CB
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2018
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 2

We chose the White swan, as ate there 3 years ago, and enjoyed our meal very much, but this was a different experience, cutlery was thrown on the end of the table, then drinks were spilled over the table when put down heavy handed with no apologies, my daughter ordered vegetable bolgenase it was so dry, and asked for parmesan cheese, a bowl of grated cheese was brought up, the pastry on the steak and ale pie was undercooked, when asked how it was, we told the very young waitress, who replied ok I will pass it on. No apologies from management. Needless to say we won't be returning.

The White Swan
Responded on 24 November 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that your visit was not as good as it had been previously. At the time you visited, we were going through several changes in the kitchen. If you would give us another chance, we hope that you would have a more enjoyable visit. We are sorry for the experience that you had.

Report