The Stables of Como

3.6
112 reviews
$40 and under
Modern Australian
Blending an elegant fusion of past and present, ‘The Stables of Como’ is Melbourne’s best kept secret. The converted horse stables bring an architectural charm to our cafe, where we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and how they like it.

PLEASE NOTE - Standard Seating does not guarantee an inside table. During peak periods, trying to socially distance all our bookings while remaining compliant with Covid density limits can be like playing Tetris. As such we will make every effort to fulfil special seating requests, however they are strictly subject to availability on the day.

Due to the limited capacity and social distancing requirements, it is not always possible to accommodate prams in the main dining room. Please advise in the Booking Notes if you require a High Chair.

Bookings from 3-5pm are for our High Tea services only.

Credit card payments attract a 1.5% charge. Sunday and Public Holiday surcharges apply.

We do not permit balloons, confetti or displays.

Support The Stables of Como during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Mother’s Day 2022

    A$85.00 per personPrepaid

    May 8, 2022 only

    Spoil mum like you’ve never been able to before. Our chef’s will be creating a very special experience that focuses on celebrating Mum’s everywhere. Bookings essential as this is sure to be a sellout event. Menu to be advised close to the time.
  • High Tea, Guy Tea and Kids High Tea

    A$65.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Please detail how many of each you would like in the 'special requests' box at the end of the booking process. High Tea | $65, Guy Tea | $75, Kids High Tea | $40* Free flowing Mimosas, Peroni Red or Hot Chocolate for the kids paired with a robust selection mini treats from finger sandwiches in the high tea to sliders for the guy tea for our afternoon sitting of 3pm-5pm. See full menu on our website. *Please note for Kids High Tea, there must be a minimum of 1 Full Paying Adult High Tea per Kids High Tea.
  • Picnic In The Grounds of Como

    A$49.50 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Encapsulating the inspiring and aristocratic history of the 180 year old Como property, The Stables has become a much-needed refuge from the hectic Melbourne city lifestyle, without needing to travel outside of the city fringe. Our gourmet picnic hampers are stacked and piled high with a delectable menu to be devoured amongst 5 acres of manicured gardens.
  • The Stables Set Menu

    A$49.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    All Day Brunch Menu - Non-Alcoholic Version - $49pp - Alcohol Version - $69pp FOR THE TABLE - Sparkling or Still Mineral Water - Platter of Mini Buttermilk Pancakes with Berries & Chantilly Cream (Oct to Mar) - Platter of Mini Pastries & Mini Muffins (Apr to Sep) MAINS Select One (1) of the following Mains - FRENCH TOAST - CORN AND COURGETTE FRITTERS - COUNTRY STYLE BACON & EGGS - MUSHROOM & FONTINA RISOTTO - GRAIN SALAD - PASTA - COMO STEAK SANDWICH (available after midday only) FREE FLOWING DRINKS - Barista Coffee or Tea - Organic Orange or Apple Juice - Mimosa or Bellini (with Alcohol version only) - Peroni Red Label (with Alcohol version only)

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 112 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.6based on recent ratings
3.8
Food
3.3
Service
3.8
Ambience
3.4
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
MC
MichaelC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

It was quite a hot afternoon under the polycarbonate roof outside, but we managed to get the fan to blow over us so it was OK in the end. Might have to reinstate the shade cloth when summer finally arrives.

SO
rbSOUTHYARRA
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, RUDE STAFF AND NOT COVIDSAFE EITHER. SENT EMAIL TO MANAGER AND NO RESPONSE -APPALLING - $100 FOR A PICNIC THEY BROUGHT US 15MIN BEFORE CLOSING WHEN OUR BOOKING WAS 2.30 THE MANAGER THROUGH THE BOX AT US. NO NAPKINS OR CUTLERY HAD TO GO IN AND THEN AGAIN THREW THE PICNIC BASKET. RIDICULOUS ATTITUDE AND AFTER LOOKING FORWARD TO A LOVELY AFTERNOON OUT IN LOCK DOWN WE WERE LEFT DISTRAUGHT. THERE WAS HAIR IN THE FOOD TOO - GROSS SO DISGUSTING THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was absolutely amazing! The food was wonderful and the staff very friendly!
The location is beautiful and romantic!
The only downside was a 30 minute wait for coffee while we were having our picnic!

GG
GavinG
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

The ambience was fantastic and the day glorious. Just watch out if you have hay fever as you are surrounded by wonderful gardens.

JD
JenniferD
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A birthday picnic in lockdown was perfect! Many thanks to The Stables for an excellent basket of food that catered to everyone’s needs. The setting was beautiful and the weather was perfect. Couldn’t have asked for a better day! Would highly recommend

AW
AnneW
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

Four of us each ordered a different meal and all four dishes were thoroughly enjoyed, so order whatever sounds interesting.

VS
VeraS
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

The service was not very good.
Food took 50min to arrive.
The Menu is not very exiting.
Mostly breakfast type of food.
Wouldn't go again😏

AQ
AnnieQ
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

The stables is a lovely place to eat. So nice to be in a cafe surrounded by gardens and not streets.

P
Paddytoorak
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience3

We had to wait two hours for our lunch. Our lunch order was wrong. I had to ask so many times for water. This is the first time I have ever filled out a restaurant review in a negative way. I certainly will not be returning to The Stables of Como.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall2Food3Service2Ambience5

Food was good, however service was unsatisfactory. It was strange and unprofessional that they took half of our table’s orders, took off and didn’t take ours. No explanation whatsoever why he what he did. And then when we said we’re ready for our order, he said he’ll get back to us and it took them more than 15 mins to get back to us for our orders. The scones took more than 20mins to arrive. Our table reservations was only 75mins so it was quite disappointing that it took them so long to get our orders and to get back to us, to get our food to our table, giving us very limited time to eat and enjoy it.

1
12379
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience4

Service unfortunately lets this place down big time. Waited 45 minutes for a coffee and had to follow it up 4 times. Wait staff is rude and incompetent.

LL
LeanneL
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 July 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

An enjoyable birthday lunch for my daughter and friends. Service a little slow that day. The cafe was full and we all seemed to have to wait a while for our food. When it did come it was as ordered, plentiful and delicious. I feel the service was slow due to lack of staff that day. Mimosas and coffee were delicious. Thanks for making it a memorable day.

MS
MissySY
2 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall2Food3Service2Ambience2

We had been coming to this café for the last 10 years, not daily but once or twice a month—the food's good and service was always fabulous. But not this last time nor the previous week, it felt like it'd been taken over by new management? The service was pretty bad. We booked an outside table and was told that there are none available and when my friends pointed out the two empty ones on the side, the manager said they were already reserved for others. We obliged thinking that they really need those tables for a larger group.

But because the service was so slow, our eggs on toast breakfast took close to two hours and we noticed that those outside tables sat empty the entire time. It's obvious they want to cash in but why give us a choice to have an inside/outside option during booking if they are not going to honour it and most importantly, there's no need to lie about about the availability. And there is clearly no need to max out the capacity when they can't even handle the current flow.

There was much more that contributed to me actually writing a review but that last experience left a very bad taste, I don't think we will be returning at all.

MB
MelissaB
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

everything about our experience was TERRIBLE so much so that we wont be returning. Service, food, price....terrible!

LH
LuciH
7 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall3Food5Service1Ambience4

This is such a gorgeous setting and on a Sunday morning it was sunny and lovely.
The menu offers lots of choices and initial service was prompt.
But, then we waited over 45 minutes for our brunch.
Food was great - good portions, good choices and well prepared.
And then we tried to leave. And it took over 15 minutes to pay. Staff wondering around not making eye contact. A queue with nobody attending it. And how exactly does a manager skip the first person in a queue and go to the second?!

Ridiculously enough, even on booking our group had discussed that the service would be terrible. It always is. Every time we've been we are disappointed.

This is a gorgeous location with great food. But it is let down by service time and time again.

So be prepared for the moment of annoyance and try to enjoy the rest of the time :)

AM
AMum
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Disappointed that the owners of this cafe tell their staff to not welcome kids inside, you’ll be seated outside in the cold even if you book online and specify you don’t want an outside table. Shockingly poor customer experience and discrimination against parents with kids as they assume kids will not order a full meal. Had an uncomfortable argument with the owner after requesting multiple times to be moved inside (2 adults 3 kids) where there were at least 3 empty tables, and to make matters worst we realise there were 2 large tables inside with 1 child (so the policy is waived by table spend). We ended up ordering 5 main meals, sides and drinks as 5 adults would and should not have been treated impartially just because we had children.

I do not recommend this place for families and to anyone just on principle. It is disappointing to see business owners don’t return the gratitude towards customers who choose to come and support them. This includes customers with children who frequent the establishment and throw big birthday parties. Whilst the owner rectified the problem by seating us inside in the end and gave us two glasses of champagne, the incident has left us (kids included) a bad experience to remember.

D
Dias5
London
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience2

Nice venue, the staff looked to be doing their best but may have been under staffed which in the current climate is understandable. Had the Rueben which was ordinary compared to many other’s I’ve had. Coffee was good

AD
AndreaD
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

While I realised the restaurant was very busy I felt the service was quite slow. It took some time for our order to be taken.

C
Catie6
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Our lunch at the Stables was an extremely disappointing experience from start to finish. I had made a booking, and was looking forward to lunch with my grand-daughter before visiting the exhibition at Como House. However, my grand-daughter and I were ignored as we dutifully stood waiting to be seated; it took a long time to be seated and even longer to be served; the wait-staff were all clearly frazzled; none of the milk-shakes on the menu were available, because the restaurant had 'run out' of some vital ingredient - surely not milk. Neither was I able to order a decaf coffee, because they had run out of decaf. There was no menu for children, and no healthy salad options were offered. I opted for a toasted vegetable sandwich, which when it finally arrived, a good twenty minutes after my grand-daughter's meal, was greasy and unappetising. The whole experience was totally unsatisfactory.
The new manager explained that they were very short staffed, which I find difficult to understand, given that there was an exhibition on at Como House and it was lunchtime. Many other visitors would have made bookings for the exhibition, so it would not take great management skills to work out that the only restaurant option nearby would be in some demand.
The Stables needs to do better to be worthy of its location.

WO
WiseOne
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2021
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience4

We booked a table especially at The Stables following a visit to the Dolls House exhibit at Como House. Our daughter is gluten free so checked the menu which looked fine for her as it stated GF bread and GF pasta available. Unfortunately after we’d ordered a mimosa each and the waitress stood waiting for our order, it became apparent there was NO gluten free bread and NO gluten free pasta! This left her with basically salad, or nothing! The waitress just shrugged her shoulders and seemed a bit apologetic but basically that was it. Obviously this was extremely disappointing so we left, and enjoyed a very nice brunch in a very helpful cafe in Toorak Rd (Monkey Bean).
Why couldn’t someone have nipped to Coles or Woolies and got some? In this day and age, we expect better!

OT
OpenTable Diner
3 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

This is my go to place when I feel fancy. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve rated low this time and you will read why, but that doesn’t mean I will stop going.

Yesterday was just a bad day for them. Messed up the dish, still put it in the bill, then took it off and forgot to add the right dish to the bill so I reminded them to add it in. Too much drama, I’ve only listed half.

M
Molly
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience2

Service slow for tables with more than four people. Menu is fine...nothing outstanding. Chefs set menu starts from $45, expensive for what itvis. Coffee service fast. Nice array of cakes and sweets. Best seating inside where it is cosy. Good wine selection and cocktails...Bellinis, Blood Marys etc. Split bills allowed. Nice location in grounds and gardens of Como House. Bathrooms need a serious clean.

B
Bruna
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall3Food3Service1Ambience2

Birds fly over your head and towards your food 24/7.
Even though we had a booking we were placed outstside - way too cold.
Service was poor, for every single order we had to get waiters attention because no one would check on us.
Savoury food was alright, french toast was outstanding!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2021
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience3

Staff appeared very busy, long wait for service and the food was ordinary and some of it cold. Disappointed as I had been there before and always enjoyed my time.

EV
EmVee
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2021
Overall3Food5Service1Ambience4

I have been to The Stables at Como on three occasions. Each time the food has been very good, but the service is not up to standard.
For example: One meal did not arrive and after trying to catch wait staff attention for some time, eventually was asked if everything was ok. We said we were still waiting for one meal, as the others had nearly finished eating. The waitperson said she would check and went straight to the next table, checked with them, brought back water for them and then went into the cafe. It was at least 10 minutes before the Como Junior sandwich arrived. No apology or explanation.
In a previous occasion, the same thing happened and the meal came cold.
I would recommend The Stables, with proviso re service.

RJ
RobinJ
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2021
Overall4Food4Service2Ambience3

The atmosphere was lovely. Nice vibe, but noisy. Staff were very nice, but food and coffee both took a good while to come, and food was brought by a distacted older man in a suit, who was not waiting tables generally, so i think our meals were temporarily overlooked. Not as hot as they should have been as a result, but very nice food, beautifully presented.

C
Cheryla
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

The High Tea was a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

AA
AnnA
1 review
Dined on 24 June 2021
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience4

Although we had booked on the Internet, we had to stand and wait 10 minutes for the harried staff to acknowledge our presence, and then we sat at our table for another 25 minutes without being brought water or menus. We had to go and ask a waitress to help us. Both our meals were luke-warm. One of our meals was delicious while the other was not. It was all rather depressing. The place seems very under-staffed.

AF
AnnemarieF
2 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

I found it very cold inside, a heater in winter could be good, also only 3 tables with guests inside but the service was slow, we waited a long time and then had to go to the counter to get someone to get our coffee order.
This is a restaurant, a restaurant serves people so please get this right, there were 3 waiters around the counter!
Food was good, came in reasonable time, I will go again and give them another chance.

S
Sally
1 review
Dined on 19 June 2021
Overall3Food3Service1Ambience2

The food was alright. We’re unimpressed with the service. We had chef’s lunch set menu. We did ring to say one girl is allergic to melted cheese and she didn’t get an alternative to aracini. After dessert, we had to go get the waiter to come get our tea and coffee order. It’s not attentive and smooth as I’d have expected of The Stables of Como.

OT
OpenTable Diner
4 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This is a go to place for me to take my friends for brunch. It’s located in a beautiful Como estate, food is good and service too.
This place can be a little bit pricey for the food it serves so always the best to be prepared for that, service is worth the cost.

F
Findie
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall2Food4Service1Ambience1

Very disappointing.

Read the reviews about poor service before booking but thought 'it can't be that bad".

We booked for the 90 minute High Tea at 3.30pm for a special occasion. On arrival we were pointed to a table to go and sit down. After 10 minutes of waiting, we had to flag someone over to ask how it worked and if we could order drinks.

It was 20 minutes before our drinks arrived shortly followed by our food which was good.

Had to keep asking for our drinks to be topped up - it was meant to be free-flowing mimosas but it certainly wasn't free-flowing. 20 minutes before our time was up we were told we were only allowed one last drink. Don't advertise free-flowing for 90 minutes if you haven't costed appropriately and don't want to fulfill this to cut costs.

No atmosphere, no music. They started putting chairs up all around us when we were still eating - again, don't take bookings until 5pm if you don't want to be open until then?

5.03pm the (which I can only assume) manager came and told us we had to leave as they weren't allowed people past 5pm. My husband had been standing at the bar for the past 5 minutes waiting to pay but was being ignored by the copious amount of staff who were only interested in closing and going home.

Extortionate price for 4 mimosas and some food - $140 for two people. Probably the worst service we've experienced in Melbourne.

We are both Venue Managers with 16 years hospitality experience so don't leave this review lightly.

SC
SantiCruz
2 reviews
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience5

A fairly average high tea experience in a beautiful location. The venue was so crowded and really hard to get through, and I found the brown benches very uncomfortable to sit on. Overall, I would come back but order something else.

A
Anonoymous
1 review
Dined on 21 May 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

we arrived 11am, only table that was seated and were not allowed to order from the lunch menu, however were able to order a bottle of champagne.
it took is 15 minutes to order the champagne as no one was serving us. We then asked to order from the lunch menu at 11:30 and they wouldn’t allow this. We ordered from the brunch menu which was limited and the food was bland and cold.

RC
RhiC
1 review
Dined on 21 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The Stables of Como is a stunning cafe, experience and venue. I've had a number of occasions here from a classy bridal high tea, to an event in their venue space out the back or just taking family and friends for brunch or lunch. The service is always exquisite and the food and drinks are delicious. It's certainly a unique experience and I enjoy taking friends from out of town here. Tucked away in gorgeous surrounds I highly recommend this gorgeous and quaint cafe!

TA
TashA
1 review
Dined on 15 May 2021
Overall2Food4Service2Ambience4

Disappointing overall and not due to food.
They never pick up their phone- since booking months ago, it was a constant chase, and the last week, calling to update final numbers in my booking itself was a hassle. A message was left. I finally got onto someone two days before and then when two more dropped out the last two days before our booking I couldn’t get through- the morning of my booking the phone was disconnected. I was still charged for the extra people, being told I should have left a message 48h before and the kitchen had made the food anywhere!! So I had no choice. I think this was truely unfair and bad business. We ended up getting that extra food served to the table as we had to pay for it anyway. Shame, but my group wouldn’t go back.

The Stables of Como
Responded on 20 May 2021

Hello there Tash Sorry to hear of your experience. I believe I remember serving you and the good news is that you were only charged for 1 extra High Tea, that was for the person who could no longer attend on the day. As I believe there was an unfortunately car event. We did not charge you for the other 2 from the day before. Unfortunately there was no message left with us so we didn't know until the day. Unfortunately our cafe gets very busy and we are unable to answer the phone during service.

Report
EC
EvelynC
2 reviews
Dined on 13 May 2021
Overall1Food4Service1Ambience1

Some of the worst customer service I have ever encountered. Had to consistently ask for drinks to be topped up. Bill was brought out half an hour after we had started out high tea. Did not feel welcome at all

The Stables of Como
Responded on 20 May 2021

Hello there Evelyn, Thank you for your message and sorry to hear of your experience. We always want to make our guests feel welcome and unfortunately you didn't feel so. Our cafe does get extremely busy at times and I'm sorry you had to wait for your beverages to be topped up. The bill should not have come out so shortly, there must have been a mistake. If you ever wish to revisit please email us and we will work out something special for you all . Thank you

Report
DC
DebC
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Loved our high tea at the Stables at Como. It was a prize that I won during Covid lockdown and was a simply beautiful experience. I loved doing this through the week where it was quite and we could relax and enjoy ourselves. Thanks for the lovely afternoon xx

VB
VictoriaB
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2021
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience1

Food was very average, and while wait staff were friendly they were inexperienced and unfamiliar with the food and facilities. It was cold, the lighting was stark and the overwhelmingly loud jazz music was very distracting. I would not go back.

The Stables of Como
Responded on 13 May 2021

Hello there, Firstly we would just like to offer our sincerest apologies for your experience. We were clearly understaffed and this should not have happened. We try our best to offer a pleasant experience here, yet this time was unfortunately not so. If you would like to get in contact with us, we would love to offer you something special to hopefully make up for your time here. Very best, Manager @ The Stables

Report
MS
MelanieS
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience3

This is my second time here and the second time the service has been horrendous

The Stables of Como
Responded on 13 May 2021

Hello there, Firstly we would just like to offer our sincerest apologies for your experience. We were clearly understaffed and this should not have happened. We try our best to offer a pleasant experience here, yet this time was unfortunately not so. If you would like to get in contact with us, we would love to offer you something special to hopefully make up for your time here. Very best, Manager @ The Stables

Report

FAQs

The Stables of Como offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (03) 9827 6886 ext. 1.

The Stables of Como is rated 3.6 stars by 112 OpenTable diners.

The Stables of Como does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.thestablesofcomo.com.au/product/gift-vouchers/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.