The Potting Shed
Food was not good and definitely overpriced. No value for money. It is all just about the ambience but I was expecting to have a decent meal not just to eat in a pretty place...Will never go back
Hi Alessia, Thank you so much for your honesty. I will certainly pass on your feedback to all departments. Our menu changes seasonally, so do make sure you try it out when we launch it. We do hope to see you again and restore your confidence in The Potting Shed once more. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Very family friendly restaurant with great food. Will definately come back again next time when we visit Sydney
I love the atmosphere at “The Grounds”, but last night the service was not up to par. We were seated near the side gate and I honestly think we were forgotten about. It took 10 minutes for someone to check if we were ready to water.... it took reminding the waiters three times to get some table water, but alas they were out of jugs and never came back to refill our glasses (even when I asked when dinner was served). There were rats all outside the resturant which I realise is hard to control in a garden environment but was still offputting. Food was fine, but I’m in no hurry to come back
Hi Sarah, Thanks for your feedback. I am so disappointed to hear about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry you felt you were forgotten about - there really is no excuse, no matter where you were sitting. I will follow up with your waitress to see why we went so wrong. You're right regarding the rats, they are harder control being so close to Alexandria Canal, however, I have been in touch with our pest control off the back of your feedback. Hope we can restore your faith in us.
Fantastic place. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and The Grounds and all the surrounding buildings are just beautiful.
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, Sue! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you soon! Best, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Lovely ambiance. Food - good selection to suit a variety of tastes and preferences. Service responsive, but a little absent-minded - we had to ask twice for an empty glass - but once we asked, the response was immediate, friendly and professional. The marshmallow toasting in the fire outside while waiting to be seated, was novel, and heart-warming - channelling that inner-child. Thoughtfulness like this wins goodwill like very few other places or innovations do. Cheers.
Hi Michelle, Thanks so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and had such a great experience. I will pass your comments to the team and we look forward to having you and your guests again! Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
.Lovely setting and the young who served us was very helpful.
Thanks so much for your feedback, Christine! I am so happy to hear you were well looked after and will pass on your feedback to your waiter. Hope to see you again! Catherine, Venue Manager.
We were told that our food would be a 30min wait and asked did we want to order some pickles and olives for the wait. We ordered them thinking this would get us through the wait as we were pretty hungry but unfortunately the pickles and olives did not arrive at our table until 5 mins before our main food came out. We did not end up eating them due to this which is a waste of food and money.
However, overall the experience was good, the staff member who looked after us was lovely, food was nice and the scenery was great including the beautiful bird!
Hi Rhiannon, Thank you so much for your feedback and so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. I am so sorry the Olives didn't arrive to your table before the mains - usually these are the first to go out, as your server suggested. I will have a chat with the kitchen to see what might have gone wrong. We do hope to see you soon and hopefully can make it up to you. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great atmosphere. Good choice of meals available. Great for children before 7pm. Prices reasonable. Could do with a couple of more cocktail choices. Highly recommend dining here !
Thanks for your feedback, Vince! Glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again - we change our food and drinks menu every few months, so do come along and try the new cocktails when we launch them soon! Best, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great service, family orientated. Staff were very attentive and respectful. Great atmosphere for families. My son absolutely loved his 12th birthday at The Potting Shed.
Thank you so very much for such lovely feedback! We are very happy your family enjoyed themselves and we hope to see you all again! Catherine, Venue Manager.
We loved the food and festive lights and marshmallows!
Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback! We hope to see you soon. Catherine, Venue Manager.
no mains, poor customer service, food was forgotten and served very late, very expensive
Hello William, Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. Upon making your booking, it is stated that we don't serve mains between 4pm and 6pm - sorry that you felt this wasn't clear enough. That said it doesn't excuse the service you were given. If you would like to get back to me, we would love to see you again at The Potting Shed and make it up to you. Kind regards Gareth, Restaurant Manager
It was a delightful atmosphere with wonderful food. I went with my boyfriend here for date night on Friday and we had a lot of fun. The drinks and live music were great and we both left feeling very much full on some amazing foods. We will definitely be back soon!
Hi Morgan! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The place was extremely cramped up, it was a mission to get in and out. We took guests from overseas with us and it was a bit awkward to expect them to fit into that space we were given. Food was alright, could be better. Service was good. The waitress was really friendly. The smoke from bonfire at the front was irritating my child. Overall, not sure if I want to come back again.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are so pleased you felt you were well looked after. We will definitely take more care with the smoke from the fire, especially on those super windy nights. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to all departments involved and we hope to see you again. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Went to The Potting Shed for a cute dinner with some friends. I was not disapointed in the slightest. The staff were incredibly friendly from the get-go and the scenery within the resteraunt was stunning. The food sounded amazing on the menu, but tasted even better. Don't even get me started on the gorgeous cocktails! To finish off a truly magical night, we stood around the fire and toasted some yummy marshmellows and walked through the gardens surrounding the resteraunt. I would absolutely recommend The Potting Shed to anyone looking for cute date ideas, somewhere to host their special event or just a fun night out with friends. Thank you to all the lovely staff for such a memorable night!
Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback, Natalie! We are thrilled to have created such a lovely experience for you and your guests. Looking forward to hosting your next special night here again! Best regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Food wasn't too bad a bit pricey for what is was. Not a big choice in dishes quite limited. Need to really have a appetite for what is on the menu as it doesn't cover a big range. Seating can be a bit cramped if you book large groups and can be a bit noisy when busy.
Thank you for your feedback, Tina. We hope we can make an even better impression on your next visit. Hope to see you soon! Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great food but service not so good! Waitresses ignored us forgot ur cutlery and the girl that greets us at entrance wasn't pleasant
Hi Marcela, Thanks so much for your honesty. I am so disappointed to hear you about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am most certainly going to pass on your feedback to our team and follow up with the staff mentioned. This is not the example of customer service we pride ourselves on, so I would love for you to get back in touch so we can make it up to you. I look forward to hearing from you. Catherine, Venue Manager.
Ambiance and decor are amazing. Drinks incredible. Food tries too hard and is a bit of a let-down. Also - Menu is really random. Service was super slow and all over the place. Worth going for the vibes and drinks. Don't expect much from the food sadly.
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our drink selection. I'm sorry to hear the food wasn't as you expected. We change our menu twice a year to suit the season, we hope to see you in when it changes in the next few months. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and service is high on our list of priorities, so I am sorry to hear you felt let down by this. We would love to hear your feedback on where we could do better. Kind Regards, Hayley, Floor Manager.
Buzzy, great but you can eliminate the music. People cone to talk. It’s just not necessary to have music.
Thanks for your feedback, Ann. At The Potting Shed, music is an important element to contributing to the ambience and making the experience a memorable one. We will keep an eye on the music levels, however, to ensure our guests can enjoy their conversations. We hope to see you again. Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great place for a group catch up food is good and very generous portions
Thanks for your review, Linda! We look forward to having you all again. Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Service was very good. Food was very nice but the table for two was a bit small to fit all the food ordered.
Thank you so much for your feedback, Wendy! We look forward to having you again. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Friendly staffs, nice atmosphere but foods overpriced
Thanks for your feedback, Nadia. We hope to see you again! Catherine, Venue Manager.
We went to The Grounds Of Alexandria in the day and liked it so much we went back for dinner.
The steak I had was the best I've ever had. (the wedges were a bit lukewarm) but overall it was very good and the waitress was terrific too
Hi Craig, Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. I will pass your comments on to the team and we hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Food was abit bland. Nothing super tasty or exciting. Classic steak with thick chips and butter. Pate was pretty good. Expected something more unique. Maybe focus on flavors before flowers and herbs. Service was abit slow. Full house on Wednesday night with only 3 on floor? 2 runners? I think. Gave us the dessert menu but had to wait for about 15-20min before comes back asking what we want.
Hi Justyn, Thanks so much for getting in touch! We really value your feedback. I am sorry you felt let down by the food and service during your visit. I am going to look into where we went so wrong. While we were fully staffed on Wednesday night, it doesn't excuse the fact that you felt the service was slow - for that, I am sorry. I would love to make it up to you, if you would like to get in touch. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
What a glorious venue to celebrate a birthday.. A really beautiful oasis in the middle of Sydney.. I’ll be back for sure.
Thank you so much for your lovely words! We can't wait to have you back again! Catherine, Venue Manager.
Beetroot risotto flavour could have been a bit more "punchy" for me personally. Otherwise - I am a customer for one meal every business trip to Sydney.
Thanks so much for reaching out, Phil! Glad you enjoyed your visit and will definitely pass on your feedback to the team. Catherine, Venue Manager.
great place - wonderful atmosphere and staff. Food cold :(
The Potting Shed is a beautiful place with really good energy.
Food and drinks were incredible, so nice and delicious but service was horrible. Me and my friend wait long time for everything and nobody ask us if we need something else or if is all good. I asked if they switch on heater 5times and after 35 minutes,finally heater was switch on. I also want buy another bottle of wine but nobody coming to our table very very long time.
Please better service next time.
Hi Beata, Thank you for getting in touch. I am so sorry to hear you did not have the experience we customarily provide to our guests. I am really disappointed to hear you were let down by the service - I am going to be looking into why we went so wrong. I would love for you to get in touch, so we can see how we can make it up to you, and hopefully restore your trust in us at The Potting Shed again. I look forward to hearing from you. Catherine, Venue Manager.
We had a lovely meal. And as one of our sons was leaving for London that evening it was a nice way to say goodbye together
Hi Denise, We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your evening with us! I am so happy to hear such a special occasion was spent at The Potting Shed! Hope to see you again soon. Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great food, atmosphere and service.
I came here with a group of friends for dinner and the overall experience was better than expected. We arrived earlier than our booking time & our table was ready for us upon arrival. The place was huge & stunningly beautiful with the greenery everywhere & the live music was great! It was packed but it still felt intimate. It was the right amount of loud that you could still have a conversation. The toilets were a bit freaky & it was a shame the parrot was not there. Food was good & the bonfire with complimentary marshmallows to toast was a perfect way to end the night. We would have stayed for dessert but a crinkled small menu threw us off. Nevertheless I would definitely recommend and be back again!
Thanks so much for your review, Caroline. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves. I am so sorry you felt put off by the state of our menus - I can assure you our desserts are delicious, and hope you can come back to try some! Sorry to hear you missed out on seeing Fluffy - she has a bedtime by about 7:30. I do hope you will get back in touch, so you can meet Fluffy and enjoy one of our desserts. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I’ve been to the Potting Shed half a dozen times in the past 3 months. Lunch and dinner, and have always been pleased enough to come back. It this will be my last time for awhile. Food was plain awful. Bland and sloppy presentation. Soggy fried cawliflower. Which I’ve eaten many times before and enjoyed but this wasn’t enjoyable. We barely touched our meal and when the waitress asked if everything was good I said not really and she ignored us. Drinks are over priced as well. If I’m going to pay $20 for a cocktail there should be a more cocktail than flowers and gimmicks. I love the ambiance and love music but won’t be back again.
Hi Shawna, Thanks so much for your helpful feedback. I am so sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations this visit. I am really disappointed you were let down by the food, and felt ignored by our staff member. I will most certainly be following up on this with the team. I would love to make it up to you, if you would like to get back in touch, and hopefully restore your faith in The Potting Shed again. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
After enjoying this venue before, I was very disappointed. So noisy, ordinary food, and a massive fan blowing on us all night, which couldn't be turned off. It felt more like a cafeteria atmosphere. I regretted taking my interstate visitors.
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience at The Potting Shed. I was sorry to hear about the fan, I will definitely be looking into why this wasn't turned off, as per your request. I would hate to think that a misunderstanding like this would refrain you from dining with us again, so I would love for you to get in touch, so we can see how we can make it up to you. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
delicious mains! and the side of potatoes were awesome! dessert was a bit small but still tasted great
Thanks so much for your review, Matt! We hope to see you again. Catherine, Venue Manager.
I booked online. When i arrived they told me that there is a limited menue( no main meals). They never mentioned that online. You just to have starters and salads. Which is not fair.
Also our freind don't like onions and when she asked for a salad they never put that onion is one of its ingredients but it came with onions. They took a looong time to change it. Also the staff is in a hurry they just put your plate on the side of the table and leave. Although food is delicious but i won't recommend for a freind.
Thanks for your review. I am so sorry felt mislead upon the booking experience. Our website does mention that we have a limited menu between 4-6pm every day - just to ensure our chefs are able to prep for the night ahead, rather than closing the restaurant during that time entirely. While our menus do mention that not all our ingredients are listed on the menu, I was sorry to hear you felt let down by the service. We hope to see you again, so we can set things right. Catherine, Venue Manager.
Wonderful staff , welcomed us with a smile. Very unique design to mskesure sll age people can enjoy and have a lifetime memory. Best of all cleanliness is 10 out of 10. Eould definstely recommend snd vidit there again.
Thank you so very much for your lovely review! We are thrilled you had a great experience, and can't wait to invite you back again! Catherine, Venue Manager.
I wish the wine glasses got filled up abit higher.
Thank you so much for your feedback. At The Potting Shed we pour ourstandard measure of wine, which is 140ml. I can understand how it can be deceiving, since we use a large wine glass - this is to ensure the wine to breathe and our wines require a larger glass to allow all the bolder wine's aromas and flavors to emerge. We hope to see you soon again at The Potting Shed Gareth. Restaraunt Manager
On this visit i was disappointed with the wait time for service/ordering. Extensive delays for an early evening sitting and restaurant below full capacity.
Hi Sharon, Thank you for getting in touch. I am so sorry to hear you were let down during your visit at The Potting Shed. I will definitely be taking your comments to the team, to see where we went wrong and to work on a faster service. This isn't the customer experience we customarily provide, so I would love for you to get in touch to see how we can make it up to you and your guests. Catherine, Venue Manager.
Amazing food and service! Big portions and lots of options!!
Thank you so much, Charlotte! So great to hear your wonderful comments! Hope to see you soon. Catherine, Venue Manager.
My daughters 40th birthday celebration was a lovely experience in a beautiful setting.. food and service great, ambience spot on .. we will highly recommend The Potting Shed and hope to come again when next in Sydney..
Thanks so much, Liz. We are thrilled you all had a great time, especially the birthday girl! We would love to have you all come back again and hope to see you soon! Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great food, service was a little bit slow. Had to wait a while to get the waitresses attention.
Also love the idea of the fire pit in the car park but the smoke and the smoke smell was really in your face in the restaurant. And all our clothes smelt like smoke after which was not the best.
Hi Alida, Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry to hear you felt let down by the service and smoke from the fire. We have definitely taken your feedback on board and will be keeping an eye on the direction we place the wheelbarrow. We hope to see you again soon! Catherine, Venue Manager.