The Potting Shed
Date Night Romantic Table SettingA$7.50 per personPrepaid
Multiple dates availableShow them you care with a romantic table in The Potting Shed, complete with a candlestick and a beautiful red rose which you can keep at the end of your meal! Please note that no food or drinks are included in this package, but can be purchased from the menu on the day.
We preordered to have a rose and candles to make the date more special. The candle kept blowing out so we were a little disappointed about that, there was a child seated right next to us who spread out his toys over the bench seat. And we were also sharing that bench seat with another 3 people (we were in the middle, wasn’t really private for us to talk or to feel comfortable sharing a kiss) The drinks were great we only got 2, we then got our entrees which was a caramelised pumpkin dish, and the steamed buns which both were quite nice. We then got our mains, which was very disappointing especially for the price we paid! $28 for chicken cutlets which was only 2 pieces of chicken which tasted exactly like KFC Chicken to be honest. We also got their Chargrilled Victorian Beef Sirloin on the Bone, asked for medium rare. Got well done, requested for medium rare again, again got well done beef. My partner and I were very disappointed, it was about 1cm thick and dry, and full of fat, by the time all the fat was cut off there was only half a piece of the beef left... and we paid $36 for this! We could have cooked better at home and that is saying something. The whole meal cost $140 and we would rather have paid for a high end restaurant for that price!
We are very sorry to hear you were let down by your experience at The Potting Shed. I am disappointed to hear that you felt that the food was less than brilliant, as we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations. Thank you very much for being specific and honest with your review - this information is very helpful and will be communicated back to our chefs and team. We would love to change your impression of us and invite you back to give us another opportunity. Kindest, Catherine, VM
We went there for the first time and made it a date night, the food was great and awesome. Though the table we got was a little small for the food we ordered. The food was delicious though! Another great thing was that we could enter the laneways when there are less people after dinner.
Hi Geoffrey, We are trilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Potting Shed and The Grounds of Alexandria. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I took my close friend Fairy Sparkle for her birthday and she said
Oh dear Bron
The best surprise ever last night thank you from the tips of my wings to eternity. AND here is a little momento for you... xxxfairy💞,
Also recommended it to my friend Kristen and she’s taking her mother there on Sunday night for her birthday and have told everyone on my Facebook life about it
I did a fb live video
Hi Broni, Thank you so much for your lovely review and the recommendation to your friends! We are thrilled to hear that your friend Fairy Sparkle had an magical birthday and you were able to create some memories here at The Grounds. It is feedback like yours that inspires our team to go above and beyond for our wonderful guests. Sending you love and light, Catherine, Venue Manager
The only issue is we were seated where you can smell the barn every time there’s a breeze of air.
Hi Sheilah, Thank you so much for the awesome rating for food, service and ambience. We put a lot of thought an effort into every aspect of The Potting Shed. We really value guests like yourselves that acknowledge this work we put in. I am sorry that your experience tainted by the smell of the barn. It is positioned a distance away, however the wind and heat do work against us some days. We would love to have you again, anytime. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
Great service top quality food waitress couldn’t of done more for us thank you
Hi Bianca, Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review about your visit at The Potting Shed. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service and food, and we will definitely pass this to your server, Paige. We very much appreciate your kind words. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Had heard a lot about the place and was finally able to get a reservation. Ambience and deco was really nice. Seemed like a great place for group celebrations.
However, the food was average at best. The calamari/squid we ordered to start with, was fresh and tasty. We ordered buttermilk fried chicken and lamb for mains but none managed to leave a good impression.
Hi there, Thank you very much for your honest review about your experience at The Potting Shed. We are very sorry to hear you were let down by the food you ordered. We will definitely pass your feedback to our chefs, so we can improve on your comments. We really hope to see you soon, so we can make it up to you! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
A lovely setting to enjoy great food, chat with friends, and take a walk around 'the grounds' and soak up the wonderful atmosphere.
Hi Anna, Thank you so much for your great review of The Potting sheds and the Grounds of Alexandria. We really appreciate that you recognize all the hard work and effort we put into the aesthetics, service and mostly food at The Potting Shed. It was a pleasure having you, we would love it if you came back! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Excellent as always... thank you Potting Shed. We look forward to dining with you again soon
Hi Michelle, Thank you for the 5 stars across the board. We put in a lot of thought and work into every aspect of The Potting Shed, so you are more than welcome for the experience. We look forward to having you dine with us again, we can't wait! Have the best day, Catherine, Venue Manager
Service was shocking we had to wait 30 minutes for water and followed up three times. We sat at the table for 20 minutes before a waiter even came over and we had to flag them down to ask if we could order. Apart from the poor service the food was below average and cold. Wouldn’t recommended and won’t be returning anytime soon.
Hi Emma, I am truly apologetic that your experience was not to par with our usual standard of service at The Potting Shed. We have relayed your experience with the relevant team members. As for the food, if you could be so kind as to provide more information on what your ordered and ate on the day of your visit. We would love to organize another visit for your so that we can redeem ourselves and show you what The Potting Shed is really about. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
all perfect, just forgot that there was a birthday we mentioned for our friend, thought a special service would take place like we saw at other table.
Hi there, Thank you for your great rating. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, but very sorry to hear you were let down by the team not singing your friend 'happy birthday'. We know how special birthdays are, so we hope you join us for your next occasion, so we can really spoil you! Hope to hear from you soon. Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
This was my second visit to the Potting shed and loved the ambiance as always.
I always find Potting Shed's menu a bit limited and mundane. Not much exciting option for a person who doesn't eat red meat. A good place to hang out with friends and enjoy one or two drinks/tea but food options always feels overpriced and boring in the Potting Shed.
Hi Suchita, Thank you for the compliments on the ambience of The Potting Shed. We have carefully thought out every aspect of the interiors to emulate a homely backyard feel to our restaurant. I apologise you found our new summer menu limited. We do offer a lot of seafood, vegetarian and white meat options. Please do come back and ask our lovely waitstaff for recommendations and our house bests, we would love to redeem ourselves. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
I had a lovely time with my family celebrating my birthday. The girls even sang as they brought out the Cinderella cake.
Hi Jade, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you had a great time celebrating your special event, and we are thrilled to have been a part of it. We can't wait to have you back. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great meal but definitely didn't feel socially distanced this time.
Hi Tiff, Thank you for the great review on the food. Our chefs have worked hard to reflect the best produce of the Australian summer season, drawing flavor inspirations from across the world. As for the social distancing, we have recently revised our floor plan to maximise social distancing between customers within the space we have as COVID safety is our number one priority. Thank you for your support and feedback, we would love to have you again. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
More menu choice needed very expensive for the portion size
Hi Breda, Thank you for the 5 stars for the service provided by our lovely waitstaff. I apologize you found our new summer menu limited. We do offer a lot of seafood, vegetarian and white meat options. Please do come back and ask our lovely waitstaff for recommendations and our house bests, we would love to redeem ourselves. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
The food quality was not good given the price. That applies to the drink as well.
Hi Shea, Sorry to hear that your food and drink experience was not up to par with our usual Potting Shed standard. If you could be so kind to provide us with information on what you ordered in regards to both food and drinks we would love to hear from you and pass on the specifics to our chefs and bartenders. We would also like to organise a visit for you here at The Potting Shed so that we can redeem ourselves and show you what we are truly about. Thank you kindly, Catherine, Venue Manager
Lovely lunch - just thought the music was way too loud ...
Hi Judi, Thank you for your 5 stars for service and ambience. Our lovely waitstaff endeavour to provide the best service to all our guests and we put a lot of thought and effort into are interiors to emulate a homely backyard ambience. Would you be so kind as to provide more information on the food so that we can pass on specifics to our chefs as we always looking to improve. Please do come again, we would love to have you! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
Food was okay, nothing special for the price though. Tables were close to each other and I didn't feel like they manage social distancing well.
Hi Iveta, Thank you for the great ratings for the food, service and ambience. I am glad you enjoyed your meal. Please do ask our lovely waitstaff for recommendations and our house bests on your next visit. We would love to help you out. We have recently revised our floor plan to maximise social distancing between customers within the space of our restaurant as COVID safety and social distancing in our number one priority. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
HAppy to be able to dine in at Potting shed. Easy booking through open table. Vegetarian options available. Great experience.
Hi Dianney, Thank you for the 5 star review. We really appreciate the time you took to give us a stellar rating. I am glad that you experienced The Potting Shed at its best, for what we truly are. We love catering to all our guests, vegan and vegetarians included and welcomed. We would love to have you again, it would be a pleasure to have you! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
Nice place for lunch. Dog friendly will go again
Hi Robyn, Thank you for the 5 stars across the board. We truly appreciate guests like yourself who take the time to recognize the thought and effort we put into every aspect of The Potting Shed. I am glad you had a great lunch. Our four legged, furry friends are welcome anytime and so are you! Have the best day! Catherine, Venue Manager
Had the set menu and a date night on a weekday before the cinderella display ends. Food was great we couldn't finish it all my the time we got to the main courses. The candle kept getting blown out so it was a little too dark in the corner. Very lively and refreshing ambience.
Hi there, Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you had great date night and lovely food here at The Potting Shed. We put in a lot of thought an effort into the different the many parts that make The Potting Shed what it is. We try our best to keep the candles lit for the date nights but unfortunately, as we are an outdoor venue, the wind works against us. We would love you to come back, it would be a pleasure to have you again! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Good food and energetic environment for uplifting vibe
Hi MrBF, We are glad that you had such a great experience here at the Potting Shed. We will be passing your comments onto the rest of the team! We hope to see you again soon for another dining experience Warm Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The Potting Shed is my favourite restaurant! The atmosphere is beautifully designed like you are in an enchanted garden, the food is creative and delicious and the service is impeccable. The whole experience of dining here is something that will be memorable and I would highly recommend it!
Hi Miki, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Potting Shed. We are delighted to hear you had a memorable visit, and we are very grateful for the wonderful review. We really hope to see you again! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Amazing staff and service as usual
Can’t wait to come back
Hi Dollie, Thank you for the rave review. 5 stars across the board, wow! Thank you for you acknowledgement for all the hard work we put into all aspects of The Potting Shed. We really appreciate all our guests. Please do come again, it would be our pleasure to have you! Have the best day! Catherine, Venue Manager
This was dinner yo celebrate my daughters birthday. I made a note in The booking yet nothing was done to make it feel special. Service was good. Waiter was lovely but they were short staffed and the food was ordinary to say the least.
I don’t mind paying good money but expect value for money. Won’t be going back anytime soon. Pity because it’s a great venue and ambiance.
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback - we are very sorry the communication about your daughter's special day was not delivered to your waiter. We would love to have you back, so we can spoil her, and yourself, of course. We have taken your comments on board and will see how we can improve on the feedback you have provided. I would love a bit more information about the dishes you ordered, so I can speak directly to our chefs. Hope to hear from you soon. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Lovely atmosphere, beautiful outdoor garden, nice cocktails
Great dinner with friends. Helpful staff and good food. Loved the Affogato with dessert!
We’ll definitely go back... it is a beautiful spot for a meal.
Food was excellent - delicious burger and pumpkin dish. Drinks were also good. Would have preferred my burger on a plate not a shovel.
Service started well but declined a bit over the course of the meal. We had to ask for our mains to be cleared and to be offered desert.
Great atmosphere and cool venue - I’d recommend.
Hi Martin, Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We are so glad that you enjoyed our food and drinks. I am sorry that the decline in service tainted your experience with us at The Potting Shed. We have conveyed your feedback to the relevant team members and are rectifying the issue. Please do come again, we would love to have you! Kindest Catherine, Venue Manager
Lovely setting, delicious food and fantastic service. Our wait person, Jason, was absolutely fantastic!
The only negative thing I could mention is that we were seated in very close proximity to other tables/patrons, no 1.5m social distancing.
Other than that I highly recommend the venue.
Hi Rosie, Thank you so much for your rave review. We are glad to hear that you had the all round Potting Shed experience, from the food to the service and the ambience. It is so encouraging when guests like yourselves acknowledge all the hard work and effort we put into The Potting Shed. We shared your lovely comments with our superstar Jason. Thank you for the feedback on social distancing as COVID safety is our number one priority. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
My family came for lunch to The Potting Shed and for a Cinderella experience . This was our first time there and we absolutely loved it
We had the best waiter Jason who was so attentive ,made us laugh and was an absolute joy so a big thank you to him
Food was good and the atmosphere with all the hanging plants and greenery around you was gorgeous
Also loved the Cinderella experience
Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that your first time was nothing but the best. We really appreciate your kind words in regards to our server Jason and will for sure be passing this on to him. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Warmest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
A lovely place, but seating was a bit close to other tables.
Hi Marea Thank you for your rating and response, we are sorry to hear that the distance between tables tainted your visit. We will take your feedback into consideration and make changes where possible to ensure that your next visit is nothing but amazing. Best, Catherine, Venue Manager
Table set up is too close. I was literally sitting back to back to the lady at the next table. I ordered the shed cheeseburger. It served on a garden trovel which makes cutting / eating very difficult.
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. As for the seating, we have recently revised our floor plan to adhere to the COVID restrictions as it is our number one priority. We do inform customers to be seated on the garden chairs when seated around the poles. The lady you refer to may have moved from the chairs onto the banquet seating thereby avoiding our advice. We appreciate your support and would love to have you return! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The food were not only tastless and plain but also over priced
Hi Fred, Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your acknowledgement on our service and ambience, as we do put in a lot of thought and effort into our interiors and providing good customer service at The Potting Shed. If you would be so kind as to provide us with more information on the food that you had on the day of your visit so that we can pass on specific feedback to our chefs, that would be greatly appreciated. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
We had a great time and loved the Cinderella attraction and themed food and drinks!
Hi Megan, Thank you so much for your lovely review about your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great visit and that you enjoyed our Cinderella installation. We look forward to your next visit. Best, Catherine, Venue Manager
Lovely place with very nice staff will definitely be back
Hi Laurel, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such kind words, I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Amazing food and service all in outstanding surroundings with a great ambience
Hi Lisa Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us and will most certainly pass your comments to our team. We very much look forward to having you back! Best, Catherine, Venue Manager
Great fresh food big meals very unique serving styles . Will be returning
Hi Renee, I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
Loved it, think we were lucky we went early as huge queue when we left
Hi Aimie So glad to hear that you had a more than enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again Best, Catherine, Venue Manager
Recived a text 15min before booking saying our table was ready when we arrived table wasn't ready and had to wait 15min before being aloud in, then waited a considerable amount of time again just to order our food. I asked some questions about the Cinderella ally way and nobody knew any information about what time it closes. We were told we could enter via potting shed but where stopped and told by someone else to go outside to enter. The whole time in the potting shed felt very unorganised and not very enjoyable.
Hi Melissa, Thank you for the review. I'm sorry for the inconsistency of your visit. I've looked into your seating & on our end it seems that we sat you 3 minutes after you arrived, but I'm very sorry we didn't greet you in a timely manner once you were sat. Due to our Covid regulations, we have a one way entrance to track numbers, so I am sorry that it seemed unorganised. I will pass this on to our team to ensure we are more efficient. We hope to have you back, so we can make it up to you.
I have always loved the grounds of Alexandria but this time round it was very disappointing! I hadn't been in 2 years and the food was not upto scratch, the portion sizes seemed to be smaller and I was given cold chicken (because apparently the dish doesn't come with chicken) so I added it on the side, I wasn't told it was going to be cold (one would assume it would be warm?) Not sure why the waitresses didn't tell me this prior. I was really looking forward to a beautiful lunch but seriously left unsatisfied.
Hi Seray, Thanks for sharing your feedback about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am sorry to hear you had a less than brilliant experience. Thank you for your comments on the food and the chicken you received. As this side is designed for our summer salads, it is a cold dish. I apologise you were not told in advance. I will be sure to pass this on to our team, so we don't make the same mistake again. We hope to see you again, so we can make it up to you. Kindest, Catherine Venue Manager.
Amazing our waitress was so sweet! I forgot her name but she was so helpful!
Hi Natalie, Thank you very much for sharing your review about your visit at The Potting Shed. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments to your server, Maxine. We really hope to see you again. Kindest regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The Potting Shed is rated 4.3 stars by 1411 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.