The Potting Shed
We were extremely keen for our night at the Potting Shed, and went out of our way to get their. The Grounds itself where stunning as was the Potting shed. We were a group of 6 and what was disappointing was the fact that the first drink, a cocktail I ordered was not available, and the men of our party ordered two different tap beers only to be advised that neither were available. We then ordered our main meals and had to be advised that the braised lamb shoulder was not available, which was ordered by 3 people in our party.
The service on arrival was to be expected, however after this point to get a waiter to attend for another round of drinks was almost impossible, with us having to wave them over, as they rushed past us to attend others. At one stage I saw a chef walk out and deliver a meal, it appeared they were quiet understaffed.
We live interstate so this was going to be a highlight of our trip, which was a somewhat disappointing.
We will be Retuning to NSW in December and would like to see The Grounds Christmas display, and would like to give I the Potting Shed another go. Hopefully our visit was just a once off disappointment.
Such a beautiful place to stop and have lunch. Our food was lovely and very well presented. Staff were friendly and attentive. The cocktails were amazing. Love every minute of my time there.
Definitely need to book ahead if you plan to go on Saturday or Sunday. Yummy food, great ambiance and decor. Highly recommend.
Very relaxed atmosphere with exceptional service and a varied menu to suit all diners. Desserts are not to be missed
Hi Rebecca, Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to hear about your experience here! I am sure that your waitress will be so thrilled by your comments and I will be sure to pass them along. I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The potting shed and decorations were amazing& the service was brilliant, however I feel that it was abit too busy and very over priced for 2 people.
Hi Lauren, Thank you for taking your time to write to us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Potting Shed. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that it was overpriced for two people. I truly hope that this does not refrain you from coming to visit again. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The food is over priced and not very good. Our cocktails were way too strong and were disgusting that we couldn’t even drink it. The only nice thing about this place is the fairy lights
Hi Tori, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I would love a bit more information about your experience, and what cocktails you disliked, as we would love to be given the opportunity to improve on our offerings. I am sorry to hear you had a less than brilliant experience, but glad to hear you enjoyed the ambience of the venue. Looking forward to hearing from you. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
To dine at The Potting Shed is an experience - all senses are involved, the magic of the fairy lights, the beautiful huge parrot sitting on the shoulder of one of the staff, the feeling of being in a greenhouse -all combine so that you are beguiled from the moment you enter the space. Then the interesting menu which soon appears as mouth waveringly delicious food to be enjoyed....a fabulous night!
Hi Judy, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely experience here at The Potting Shed. I'm so thrilled that you love the atmosphere as much as we all do. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Such a beautiful and instagramable place. Definitely worth going to.
Hi Fiona, Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and loved the atmosphere at The Potting Shed. We hope to have you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Cosy cocktails on a Saturday evening.
Outdoors was well heated and staff were funny, knowledgable and nice.
Obsessed with this place day or night.
Hi Sarah So happy to hear you enjoyed yourself with us over the weekend. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Gareth, Restaurant Manager
It’s a shame when a venue relies on reputation and wow factor with location at the expense of good service and quality of food.
Hi Tegan, Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience here at The Potting Shed did not live up to your expectations. If you could provide us with more information regarding your experience here it would be greatly appreciated so that I can pass your comments on to the rest of the team to make appropriate improvements based on your feedback. We hope to see you back here again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
This restaurant would be good for people looking to experience different tastes. Looking at the menu you have trouble figuring out whether or not you’d like something, but I guess that’s the fun in it. Personally, these plates were quite overpriced, my group and I spent about $35-45 each for a meal and drinks. Most plates are quite small but filling. The value is in the service and the food quality, however, so I would say it is worth to try out.
Hi Lillian, Thanks for visiting The Potting Shed, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the service. I do appreciate your feedback regarding the value of our food, I will pass these comments on to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Amazing setting. Our waitress was attentive despite it being a busy Saturday night. She couldn’t answer all of our questions about the food in the menu but found out promptly.
Dessert was amazing!! My chips were stone cold but overall a great experience
Hello Steph Oh this is great to hear, thank you for getting in contact. We will pass this on to your waitress I am sorry to hear that your chips were cold. I hope that doesn't put you off visiting us again. Regards Gareth, Restaurant Manager
I always loved coming back to this place, food tho takes longer to serve but overall happy & satisfied and service was great!
Hi Claudette, So great to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Potting Shed. I will definitely pass your feedback to our kitchen, and would love a bit more information on your visit, so I can follow up with the chefs. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Excellent food, delicious cocktails, and amazing setting! We had family visiting from overseas and the entire Grounds' complex made such an impression on them - the whole experience was magical.
Hi, Thank you so much for this feedback. We will pass this on to our teams who all help make The Grounds a "Magical" Place Regards Gareth, Restaurant Manager
Amazing restaurant with great ambience and decorations, style. Went there for willy wonka themed dinner and it was incredible. Food was delicious and the service amazing. Thank you!
Hi Kristiin, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Potting Shed. Thank you so much for your review, I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Hello, I have been to The Potting Shed before and was an amazing experience. The location and atmosphere and service I could not fault nor the others in our group. But this time food, location a wonderful experience. But the Service was very poor. I felt quite embarrassed as we were celebrating my Birthday and my friends birthday. And some guests had not been there before. They have contacted me and asked me to bring this to your attention. I don't know what went wrong. Yes the Restaurant was busy but no more than usual. We were quiet an obliging in our manner. A group of six ladies all over the age of 65 years of age.
Hi Dawn, Thank you so much for our phone call earlier this morning and as mentioned, I am very sorry that our service did not live up to expectations. We strive for wonderful service here at The Potting Shed and we will certainly be following this up with the staff to ensure that this does not reoccur. I look forward to hearing from you so we can book you in and make it up to you. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Great place to go for lunch. Lots of sharing choices on the menu. The only draw back is hard to find parking at lunch time as a lots of people at the grounds having brunch/ lunch. Maybe car pool or Uber for a hassle free time.
Hi Anne, Thank you so much for your review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed lunch here at The Potting Shed. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Food's amazing, but service is patchy. Our waitress was very friendly, but the people greeting us at the door and seating us seem to hate humans.
Hi Vict, Thank you so much for writing to us. I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed the food here at The Potting Shed. I'm sorry to hear that the service that you received let you down. I will be sure to pass this along to the relevant people to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I hope that this one off experience will not refrain you from visiting again as we would love to have you back to make it up to you. Kindest Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The Potting Shed is definitely about ambience than anything else. Very pretty spot. Food was below average, especially for the high price point. It was the girls first time on the door and she sat us at the bar to organise a table but forgot about us. They also didn’t have the main things on the menu that we made the trip to Alexandria for which was disappointing.
Hi Steph, Thank you so much for your honest feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of The Potting Shed. I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed by the food and the service. I'd love a little bit more information about the door experience and mains being off the menu, so I can pick this up with the relevant staff members. I hope that this experience doesn't put you off coming back again, as we'd love for you to give us a second chance. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We dined at the Potting Shed on Fathers day this year, as soon as we sat down the waitress was efficient to take drink orders and gave us time to choose our food. Meals were fairly quick and they entertained the kids with colouring in and they got their meals first. The kids menu is very affordable a snack, meal and treat all for $16 a head. Overall, wonderful meals, food cooked to perfection and generous servings. Will definitely be visiting again 😊
Hi Meaghan, Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Potting Shed on Father's Day. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the team. Thanks for visiting and we look forward to seeing you all again. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Service was very slow and poor, food not og a high quality standard.
Hi Dennis, Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience at The Potting Shed - I am so sorry you felt let down by the service and food. I would love to know a bit more about your lunch, so I can use your feedback as a way of training our staff. All comments, be it good or bad, are extremely useful and we welcome the opportunity to improve. Please do get in touch, so we can make it up to you. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Absolutely lovely! I was at home amounts the plants and the food was incredible! It has a great vibe, not overly noisy and a lovely atmosphere. The staff were really nice and helpful! Highly recommend!
Hi Yollie, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. I am so happy to hear that you had a great time at The Potting Shed and enjoyed the atmosphere and food. We hope to see you again and will pass along your feedback to the team. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great atmosphere and we had the most helpful and friendly server. I would most definitely recommend the Grounds!
Hi Sharon, Thank you so much for your response. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Potting Shed. I will be sure to pass your feedback along to the team. Looking forward to having you back! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
My family & I had lunch at the Grounds this afternoon to celebrate my sons first birthday. Not only was the atmosphere & food so beautiful, the service we received from our waiter Shonnie made my sons day that much more special!
Despite it being a very busy day she attended to our every need we never felt forgotten. Even to the staff singing my son happy birthday together as they brought out his birthday cake made it a day to remember. A massive thank you !!
Hi Sina , Thank you so much for your feedback. It is so lovely to hear that you had an amazing time celebrating your sons first birthday. We love to hear that our waitress, Shonnie made your day so memorable and we will certainly be passing along your words to her and the staff. We would love to have you back, so please don't hesitate to get in contact with us and we will hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Excellent service from staff. Good food and ambience. Will definitely come back. Looking forward to see more different themes around the garden
Hi Annie, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Potting Shed. We are looking forward to seeing you here again soon. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Waitress brought out an item we didn’t order and then proceeded to get quite insistent we ordered it and raised her voice only to take it to another table because she got it wrong.
It took ages to get the bill then we waited 10 minutes to pay.
Hi Katherine, Thank you so much for your response. I'm sorry that you felt let down by the service provided at The Potting Shed. We will be using your feedback to ensure that this does not happen again, I would love some more information on who the server was, so I can follow up on this. I truly hope that this experience will not refrain you from visiting us again, so please get in contact with us as we would love a second chance to make it up to you. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
We had had a pretty crappy week and I really wanted to go somewhere to relax and enjoy and the potting shed was just that a place to relax enjoy and indulge in some really yummy food and wine. I will be back with my husband soon I hope - Thanks Heaps Oh and Fluffy was just adorable
Hi Robyn, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I'm thrilled to hear that you love Fluffy as much as we do! I'm glad that your time here at The Potting Shed was able to improve a bad week. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
What a great place. Fantastic vibe and wonderful food.
Hi Jaz, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad you had a great experience and would love to have you back again soon. kind regards Jordan Floor supervisor.
The overall experience was ok. The food was nice however the service was lacking. The staff were lovely however they were all completely disorganised. We had to sit around for long periods of time while waiting to order mains, drinks and had to chase someone down to order dessert. Their were people running everywhere and at points we had people around us who came after and got served before us.
Hello Kaitlyn, Thank you for your feedback. I am really glad you enjoyed the food. I apologise that you felt let down by the service. Your comments have been very useful, and have been used in our briefings. We start serving mains from 6 pm, so perhaps this caused a bit of confusion when ordering. I am really sorry if this affected your experience at The Grounds. We would love to have you back, so we can make it up to you. Warm Regards, Jordan Floor Supervisor
Love going here, great food and atmosphere. Brought family members who were visiting from NZ and they loved it.
Hi Zoe, Thanks so much for your review. It is amazing to hear you had a great time and really glad your family had a great time too. I will pass on this great feedback to the staff. Warm regards. Jordan Floor supervisor.
The food was amazing, we had the mussels and the bugs. Our waitress was lovely and friendly and efficient.
Hi Samantha, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Potting Shed and thrilled that you enjoyed your food. I will pass on this feedback to the kitchen staff and your waitress, Steph. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jordan Floor supervisor
There was blood in my chicken. I’m immune suppressed and could literally die if I ate this because my body can’t fight off the bacteria. Your restaurant put my health at risk.
Hi Gabrielle, Thank you for reaching out about your visit at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry you felt let down by the food. We strive to ensure our dishes are of the highest quality and that we adhere to all health and safety standards - I am disappointed to hear that you felt that we risked your health. I do hope this one off situation doesn't refrain you from visiting us again, and we hope to see you again. Many thanks, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Never have I been disappointed. Live the food and the ambience.
Hi Jessie, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at The Potting Shed. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and we look forward to seeing you again! Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The table we booked was taken when we arrived by a couple who had been sitting at the bar. The waitress apologised and we waited another 5 mins for a new table. Unfortunately the table faced towards the toilet. Table issues aside we order the chicken pie, barramundi with squid ink pasta, and Brussel sprouts for sides. Food was quick and came hot. Very flavoursome but portions not that big.
Hi there, Thanks so much for your feedback - I am so sorry you were let down by the table offered to you. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food. Looking forward to having you back. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The waitress was so rude and stiff. She ignored me a few of occasions, ordering, table service and billing. She just let me waiting there helplessly. I mean The chubby one. I feel discriminated.
Hi Apple, I am so sorry you felt our staff member was rude and that you felt ignored. I will pass you feedback to our team. However, I will be leaving out your comment about your waitress - and I kindly ask you take down this review, as it can be very damaging and it is discriminating. At The Potting Shed, we pride ourselves on great service, diversity, and acceptance, so I don't think it is fair to personally comment about our staff. Kind regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
The service was slow, the waiters will ignore you. Don’t like the fact that you have to wait till 6pm to order dinner I wish I knew that before booking my reservation for 5pm considering we only get a 2 hour reservation it took 30 minutes to get our dinner we started eating at 6.30 buy the time it was 7pm it was to late to have our cake because time was up, we couldn’t get a waiters attention for over 15 minutes to clear the table so we could blow the candles ended up taking the cake home. the food was ok 4/6 of us ordered the cheese burger and all our patties were burnt. Pretty disappointed.
Hi Toya, Thank you for reaching out - I am so sorry you felt let down by the service and food. I will certainly check in with the team on the night to see where they went wrong. I am sorry for the confusion with our mains starting at 6pm on weekends - we have made sure this is clearly stated on our booking notes and website to avoid any disappointment. I am hoping this experience won't refrain you from visiting us again, and hope to see you soon. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Recommend for a once off visit.
V noisy & crowded - like the concept but wouldn’t go again
Hi Joanna, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am glad you enjoyed the ambience, and hope the crowds wont deter you from visiting us again. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Was great, especially during the winter- heater are fabulous! Would definitely recommend and booking is essential to ensure you have a table. We went and there was a wedding happening, did make it a little more noisy and harder to park. But extremely excited for the next trip to the grounds
Hi Sarah, Thank you so much for your feedback. It is amazing to hear you had a great time and we are looking forward to having you back again soon. Kind Regards Floor Supervisor Jordan
Attentive and friendly service. Very tasty food, really fresh. Great kids meals, every one really enjoyed the dinner. Thanks to the lovely waitresses for their beautiful singing for my sons b'day.
Hi Natasha, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am so happy that you all had a great time and your son enjoyed his birthday. I will be sure to pass on the great feedback to waitresses and the rest of the team. Kindest Regards Floor supervisor Jordan ,