The Old Thatched Cottage

4.6
144 reviews
£25 and under
Steakhouse
As a proudly independent, family-run restaurant, we bring together over 50 years of expertise and the very freshest ingredients around to create a first-rate, affordable dining experience in Weston-super-Mare.

Our menus are refreshingly honest, simple and uncomplicated; we serve brilliant steaks and top-notch seafood and our daily specials are second-to-none. We’ve got a great selection of wines and our bar is stocked with locally-sourced ales, continental beers and small batch spirits. There's a great cocktail list too!

The restaurant itself offers the perfect mix of old and new… original features, period charm and the only remaining thatched roof in Weston-super-Mare, combined with a laid-back atmosphere and a really-very-cool, beach-facing terrace area complete with glowing fire pits.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 144 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
Food
4.4
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.3
Value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Bath
1 review
Dined 11 hours ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Can definitely recommend this place. Our experience was a good one. We sat outside and I must say they have prepared it well. Lovely fire pits to keep you warm too if the weather's abit inclement. Good service and good food. Abit pricier than average but as we dont go out that often its worth it.

JS
JosieS
Bath
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall2Food4Service3Ambience2

Very long wait for food, took and hour & 15 after our starters for our mains to arrive. Food was nice quality however not worth the wait or the money. Real shame and have previous been and loved this restaurant but has changed drastically.

l
lees
Bath
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Last night of outside dining but kept warm and dry by the gazebo and fire pit! Beautiful food, excellent service - cannot recommend enough!

P
Pdogday
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food yet again unreal! Starters mains and deserts! Even do amazing cocktails too

DC
DannielleC
Bath
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing good amazing service and will be going back for deffo! ❤️

SS
StephanieS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food5Service1Ambience3

Food was delicious! Lovely Sunday Roast! Service however was not great. Tall blonde member of staff was asked if we could move table due to having 2 children (undercover table was free at the time) the member of staff then told us it was reserved abit later so it was unavailable to us. 5 minutes later a group of 4 came and asked the same member of staff if they could move undercover due to it maybe raining (the same as us), the lady went to check the tablet and let them sit there when we asked first and got told no. She didnt even check the tablet when we asked. And we were 3 finished eating before they even got there food, so even if the table was booked, we would gave been finished beforehand.

Despite the bad staff, lovely food and settings. Other staff were fab too!

JN
JoleenN
Bath
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

The food was delicious and very good serving time.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the review Joleen. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and that the serving time was good. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
H
Hayden
Bristol
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great evening out, service and food were amazing! Highly recommended

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks Hayden, we really appreciate the recommendation. We are delighted that everything was amazing for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
CP
ConnorP
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and great seating originally sat us on a non fire pit table but as soon as one became free they sat us at the fire pit tables. Lovely warm and cozy environment even outside ! 5/5 brilliant !

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for the great review Connor. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience with us and great news that the team managed to find you a fire pit table. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report
PM
PatM
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

The food was all freshly cooked. I would say a little expensive but it was excellent
I didn’t realise you had to book direct to get a fire pit table, it was rather cold but that was down to the weather not the restaurant

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Pat, thank you for the great review. The food is indeed freshly cooked and we do try to be as fair as possible with the pricing. We buy a lot of locally sourced produce as we are very keen supporters of local farmers, as well as being conscious of our carbon footprint. That can mean we pay a little more for some items, which can be reflected in the price, but we hope the quality of the food reflects this. We hope to see you again soon and hopefully we can arrange a fire pit table for you

Report
HT
HeidiT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The outside area is lovely creating a great atmosphere. Service was excellent and the food delicious. Looking forward to our next visit soon.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great review Heidi, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that the service was excellent and the food delicious. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for taking time to write this review.

Report
NF
NickF
Cornwall
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely evening & the staff couldn’t do enough for us

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great feedback Nick, we are so pleased you enjoyed the evening for your wife's birthday and that the team were super helpful. We really appreciate you taking time to leave this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
E
Emma
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience4

Online said we couldn't reserve a fireplace table. When we arrived they told us they were all reserved even though no one was sat there. After not being able to tell us what would happen if it rained and we had no cover, they moved us to a covered fireplace table which they said was booked for an hours time. Fine, apart from the fact that the food took 40 mins to arrive and no one showed up an hour later. That aside, the food was superb, if expensive.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Emma, thank you for the feedback. When booking online there is a section for special requests, which is where customers ask if they would like a specific table. We are pleased that the team were able to seat you on a firepits, it should be much easier moving forward now that we are able to open indoors from tomorrow. We are so pleased that the food was superb and we apologise for the slight delay in getting the meals to you. We hope to see you again soon

Report
C
Chick
Bath
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience2

£17 for a chicken kebab but most tables under cover from rain
Not all

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the feedback. We do try to be as fair as possible with our pricing. We use fresh chicken which we marinate in house and we import the olives and feta cheese. We also use local suppliers for the salad items, which means we can pay a little more at times, but we believe we buy the best quality and also reduce our carbon footprint which is very important to us. We do have other items on the menu from £12.95 which perhaps may offer better value to you. We do try to accommodate everyone

Report
SG
SadieG
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Good food and good service. Would definitely recommend

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks Sadie, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we really appreciate the recommendation. Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
CS
ClareS
Bath
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was absolutely amazing. Always loved it here and last visit did not disappoint.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you Clare, we are delighted that everything was amazing and that we did not disappoint. It means so much to have our regular customers back. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report
M
Melanie
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely and warm by rain pit, whilst the rain poured down.
Food was lovely and came out super quick.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Melanie, thank you for the amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the overall experience with us. Great news that we managed to keep you warm and dry despite the rain. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
c
cathh
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

we dined here on a very wet Thursday lunchtime, it was my mom's birthday. the weather was atrocious, everything else was great! we sat at a firepit table opposite the prom, service was friendly o) the firepit table are fun, the screens & canopy kept the rain out, you might want to take something to keep your knees warm under the table. All in all we had a super time and will certainly visit again!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Cath, thank you fir the great review. We are so pleased that you managed to enjoy the experience despite the weather and we hope your mother enjoyed it as much as you did on her birthday. We really appreciate the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
T
Thomas
Bath
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

We had a nice fire pit table covered from the rain which was ideal. Good food from all 3 courses

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks Thomas, we really appreciate the feedback and pleased you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon and we hope we can make it a 5 star experience next time. Many Thanks

Report
CP
CraigP
Bath
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

When booking a week in advance we expected to be seated by the fire pits. These seemed to be all allocated and any spare ones that came available seemed to given to the locals! The food quality does not represent the excessive cost and when i mentioned this to the staff they was not interested.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Craig, thank you for the feedback. With the re-opening many people booked a few weeks in advance. The firepits were allocated to those who requested them and then on a first come, first served basis. We can assure that this is the only measure by which they are booked and not allocated to locals. Tables are booked on line via Open Table, so there is no way to know who is local and not. If you do book again, please request a firepit and we shall do what we can to accommodate you. Many Thanks

Report
E
Edge
Bath
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Good to see a decent sea front restaurant. You will pay more, but you are receiving good quality food in a nice and modern setting.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience and that you found the quality to be good. We try to be as reasonable as possible with our pricing, but we also know that because we source local produce and the best quality we can find, it can cost a little more. The key is that you enjoy it, which we are pleased you did. We take your feedback on board and we shall continue to work hard in this area. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Report
m
mollyg
Bath
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Beef was dry & solid, couldn’t eat it. Asked to sit on the heated tables but was told rudely they were reserved, after being there for an hour & a half no one used any of the tables with heaters we could of sat on. Was over priced & found the lady that served us rude. Wouldn’t return in a hurry & wish we went next door.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Molly, we did not have any complaints on the day, so I am guessing you didn't let the team know? We shall review the cameras and check the food, as it is most unusual for the beef to be dry. We apologise you did not enjoy your meal and that you found the staff to be rude, this is not our usual standard at all. The challenge with the firepits is that they are all booked in advance. We are very happy to accommodate you again and if you request in advance, we can make sure you get a firepit.

Report
CC
CharlotteC
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

First time we have had the Sunday lunch. The roast dinners were incredible. Probably the best we've ever had. Really generous portions, fresh,tasty food.
The only downside was the noise level, being outside, on the seafront on a weekend it was very noisy. Other than that it was fantastic. We're really looking forward to booking again for when we can eat indoors.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Charlotte, thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the roast and the team will be so delighted to read that it is probably the best you have had. The sea front can sometimes be a little noisy, but we definitely have some nice cosy areas inside and we will be able to open indoors from next week. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
AB
AdamB
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

The food is so nice and service was great and very polite outstanding experience and would go again very soon.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Hi Adam, thank you so much for the great review and the feedback. We are so pleased that your experience with us was so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report
K
Kirsty
Bath
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food and service great! Would definitely recommend to others.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Thank you Kirsty, we really appreciate the feedback and the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are so grateful for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
RM
RachelM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience2

Requested a table with fire pit - told when got there not available which was.l annoying

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

That's great, thanks Rachel. We have also changed the way we book our tables. Now that the restaurant is opening on Monday, we will allow bookings inside and we will only be allocating the Firepits for outside bookings. That means that every table booked outside will be a firepit from the 17th May. This should make things easier and we will leave the standard tables for walk ins. Look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for the feedback

Report
KH
KatieH
Bath
1 review
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience3

Wonderful environment, delicious food and fabulous cocktails. Just a shame there’s not a few more fire pits/ heaters.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Hi Katie, thank you for the great review. We are so pleased the food was delicious and the cocktails fabulous. The firepits have been a huge success and we also wish we had more. It has been very challenging trying to build a solution for the outdoor dining only. We are looking forward to the 17th May when we will be able to serve customers inside on those colder days. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon

Report
r
rowlansdr
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience3

Need more heaters in centre area not just perimeter
It was too cold
Stopped is buying more drinks after meal so had to leave

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We have done what we can in terms of firepits and we know it is frustrating when it is cold. It is very challenging trying to operate for 5 weeks outside only, but we are looking forward to the 17th May when we are able to welcome guests inside on those cold days. Hopefully when you return, if you specify, we can reserve a fire pit table for you. In terms of the drinks, we would only have stopped serving at the point of last orders. Thank you again for the feedback.

Report
DR
DebbieR
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a thoroughly nice time for our anniversary meal. The table was spotless, the service was excellent, and so was the food. Would recommend to anyone.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Hi Debbie, thank you so much for the great review and we are so pleased we did not disappoint for your anniversary. Cleanliness has always been key for us, which is why we operate an open kitchen policy, so we are pleased this gave you some comfort. The team will be thrilled to read the service and the food were both excellent. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
T
Tigger
Bath
1 review
Dined on 6 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Nice and clean up good food, table service ok but did have to ask several times for drinks that were ordered but not supplied.
Overall a lovely evening had by all 6 of us.
Definitely would go again

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 9 May 2021

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you would be keen to return. Apologies our team weren't to their usual high standards with the drinks delivery. We shall be sure to keep an eye on this and make sure that we continue to improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report
LW
LWlocal
Bath
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 6 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal and the staff were helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
ND
NeilD
Bath
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Albeit extremely windy and cold, even with the fire pits, the food was amazing!! The staff were very friendly and all covid regulations were in place and followed. Definitely have a new regular customer.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 7 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review Neil. It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal and that the service was of our usual high standards. I'm also pleased our safety and hygiene measures allowed you to feel comfortable during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
WB
WendyB
Bath
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Really enjoyed our Anniversary celebration meal…a bit chilly around our legs, but at table height lovely and warm thanks to the fire pit at the table! The starters, main steaks (Ribeye and Fillet) and shared brownie dessert was all delicious.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 6 May 2021

Thanks for your review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the food, but I'm even happier to read that you had a nice anniversary meal with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
M
Mitz
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Lovely food , good prices. They have outside under cover seats with fire pits , unfortunately we didn’t get one and it was very cold and windy. They did their best to put us under an umbrella but we didn’t stay too long. Make sure you book undercover if you are outside and it’s not summer.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 6 May 2021

Thanks for the review. We're sorry the weather wasn't kind to you during your visit - as I'm sure you can imagine, with the current outdoor dining only restrictions in place, we have been very busy and our fire pit and covered tables have been getting booked up early. As soon as we open up for inside dining (from 17 May), we'll have much more space to seat everyone. I'm glad to read you enjoyed the food and hopefully, we'll see you again.

Report
HG
HelenG
Bath
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Good food and very nice outside area. Fire pit tables are amazing (but best to book one in advance as they are very popular) Staff were friendly and helpful.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 6 May 2021

Thanks for your review and for supporting our restaurant. It's great to read that you enjoyed your meal outside on our terrace area. You're right, our fire pit tables do get booked up quickly, but we will be opening up for indoor dining soon (from 17 May), so we'll be able to welcome more people to the restaurant - we can't wait!

Report
MW
MichelleW
Bath
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It's was amazing place, first time I have been and I would so come back

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 5 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review Michelle! We're thrilled you enjoyed your first visit so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
PB
PeterB
Bath
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Given very adverse weather conditions the outside area was protected and warm. The service and food were excellent.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 6 May 2021

Thanks for the review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, the food and the service and that you were comfortable despite the weather conditions. We hope to welcome you back again soon - indoor dining will reopen from 17 May :)

Report
PS
PeterS
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great food, i loved the fish and chips and tiramisu.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the fab review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Staffordshire
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic vibe sitting outside at the tables with the heaters, loved it service was fab and the staff were good fun too! We will definitely be back if we’re in the area.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Thanks for supporting our restaurant and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report
LW
LizW
Worcestershire
6 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service2Ambience3

Steaks were very good ( Rib eye & T bone). Service was a bit intermittent and original drinks order didn't arrive but soon corrected.
Unfortunately we didn't have a fire pit so was very windy/cold. We know to reserve one next time.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for your review Liz. I'm glad you enjoyed your steaks but I'm disappointed to hear you didn't rate our service as highly. It's been a very busy few weeks for us and the team are working extremely hard, but we appreciate your comments and will do all we can to make any necessary adjustments. I'm pleased we corrected your drinks order - apologies for the mistake. Hopefully see you again soon.

Report

FAQs

The Old Thatched Cottage is rated 4.6 stars by 144 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.