Pulse

4.1
77 reviews
£25 and under
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
Welcome to Pulse, we are looking forward to serving you!

Offers

  • Peak Time

    £2.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Due to the additional costs of late night weekend trading, there is a non-refundable £2 fee per person.
What 77 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
3.9
Food
4.3
Service
4.1
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Energetic
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
JT
JT2021
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Music was good and atmosphere was loud but in a good way. People singing and enjoying themselves even at the table. Amazing staff and were so kind and quick

TD
TraceyD
Wales
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great place enjoyed my night
Staff friendly , will return soon

BB
BethanyB
Wales
1 review
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall5Food3Service4Ambience5

Was a wonderful night out and atmosphere would definitely come again

SM
SteM
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2021
Overall2Food3Service4Ambience3

So expensive I was shocked we had one drink and left

NC
NatalieC
Wales
1 review
Dined on 23 July 2021
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience5

Had a really lovely night and the staff was lovely and friendly

EK
EmilyK
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The staff are excellent
The service is great
The atmosphere is good
Music is good

AM
AnnaM
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

App didn’t work to Order drinks paid to get in or at least reserve the table tried to get attention of staff but didn’t get anywhere. Two boys at the door and door staff were great just really disappointed left after 45/50 minutes of trying to get served overall awful experience very disappointed

OT
OpenTable Diner
Wales
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Service was so quick! Drinks were amazing, staff were friendly! We didn’t have food but will next time! Definitely recommend going here

MJ
MairJ
1 review
Dined on 9 July 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Serves were very good and friendly door staff. Very accommodating when we wanted 2 tables outside next to each other. One person with us was thrown out for not having ID though that is understandable (though they were 18). However we were disappointed that it did not feel like a gay bar or LGBTQ+ venue and of course difficult to get inside. Drinks were good but I had a disappointing martini. Sorry. Not gay enough.

G
Ginge
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience1

Nice place but had to sit in a corner by the stairs, bit dark and couldn't quite hear the music

JR
JessicaR
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

I booked this lunch date for my birthday with my housemates, and when we sat down we opened the ordering app and realised there was no food option, after flagging a server down he said they aren't serving food right now! When we went to leave, all the staff were looking at us and as we passed the doorman/manager person he was extremely defensive and said "well we haven't served food for 18 months" as if we were supposed to know that, it was the first time in a long while we had left the house to be social, there was no way of knowing they weren't serving food! I was extremely disappointed and was so sad as it was a Saturday afternoon in cardiff and therefore nowhere was available unless you had a booking, there was no compensation offered and he just shrugged as we left! It was for my 25th birthday and I was just so heartbroken at the whole experience.

Pulse
Responded on 5 July 2021

We're sorry you were disappointed but as you were informed on arrival, we have not served food for nearly 18 months. There is no advertising for food and nothing which could have misled you into thinking we are serving food. A lot has changed in the world over the last 18 months so if you were booking in order to have food for a special occasion, it would have been a good idea to check ahead to confirm what was on offer.

Report
A
Ashleigh
1 review
Dined on 2 July 2021
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience3

Table loved it although would have preferred to be sat upstairs

S
Sabrina
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2021
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience1

We regularly visit pulse and this has to be our worst experience so far. When booking there was no mention of the entry fee we would have to pay when we got there. Staff were very unhelpful on this occasion. The qr code for ordering is not very user friendly. We found it very out of character for pulse as we have had many a good night out here. We hope to have a better experience on our next visit.

RS
RhianS
Wales
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Had outdoor seating, service was quick and bar staff were lovely.

MF
MichaelF
Wales
1 review
Dined on 25 June 2021
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience4

It was an alright experience would recommend to a friend.

LT
LilyT
Wales
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2021
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

I asked you to sing happy birthday to my friend seren when I booked online and it didn’t end up happening which is disappointing but a very good night

Pulse
Responded on 25 June 2021

Hi Lily, Unfortunately singing is not allowed at tables due to Covid-19 so we were unable to fulfil such a request. This is a matter of law which affects all bars in Wales. However we're glad you enjoyed your night.

Report
RP
RhysP
Wales
1 review
Dined on 17 June 2021
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience3

Have you ever thought about showing drag race in the bar? I for one would love to attend a live screening!

C
vipCraig
Wales
4 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great friendly team, nice atmosphere, clean modern venue and good mid week drinks promos. Open till late and central location

SH
SamH
Wales
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Awesome service from welsh who was really friendly and helped make our evening

CO
CiaraO
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

I didn’t order food but there was no WiFi and the server would not serve multiple people. A group behind us sat for 20 minutes and weren’t served once. I had 2 drinks in 2 hours because the service was so awful. The waitress deliberately catered to what seemed to be a partner even disappearing for 30 minutes during her shift. This was an awful experience in one of my favourite places in Cardiff I will not be returning.

KF
KellyF
Wales
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

What an incredible night we all
Had. The bar staff and security were absolutely fantastic. Easy to order drinks and every one so friendly. Can’t wait for the next night out

BE
BriEv
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2021
Overall4Food1Service4Ambience3

We were sat at a bit of an unsociable table (Table 10) and when we asked if it was possible to move we had no answer. Wine was affordable and nice but it would have been nice to be able to purchase a bottle for the table instead of have loads of little bottles that all add up in price quickly. The music was amazing as always and the wait staff were really nice and the service was efficient. Some of the other patrons upon arrival were loud and screeching but they left soon after.

TP
TaylorP
Wales
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Everything went smoothly, staff were lovely, loud energy:)

MV
MeggieV
Wales
2 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5Food3Service4Ambience5

The staff are really friendly and were very accommodating when we wanted to stay longer but the booking time had run out. Also a wide range of choice of drinks for a very average and reasonable price.

TB
TylaB
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Me and my friends had a really good time at pulse, the only downfall to the club is that the basement has no service and the WiFi is very poor, we had to try half the time we was there to connect and once we connected it didn’t work. Bar staff was very helpful due to this though 😁

OT
OpenTable Diner
Wales
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2021
Overall1Food3Service2Ambience1

Sat outside. We were told it’s too expensive to have the electric heaters on so we were sat in the cold. Our table was wobbly and we were told we couldn’t change it due to it having numbers on them... staff were generally awkward and unpleasant, except for the female who served us, she was lovely.

C
Curto
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely afternoon spent in the Sun 👍🏼 Asked if we were able to sit inside at the end of the Evening and the door man was extremely helpful with this 👍🏼
Will definitely return

C
vipCraig
Wales
4 reviews
Dined on 30 May 2021
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

Friendly staff and an easy to use drinks ordering app. Another nice experience here

CT
CarianneT
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience2

The man taking the bookings was rude and he didn’t want to be there didn’t give a very good impression of the place, then we were seated on a dirty table in the corner

CT
CarolT
Wales
3 reviews
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall1Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic day excellent service

AS
AlexanderS
London
1 review
Dined on 28 May 2021
Overall1Food2Service4Ambience1

I would not recommend going to pulse during COVID19 restrictions. It is a waste of time and money.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Wales
1 review
Dined on 23 May 2021
Overall3Food1Service5Ambience5

Very expensive for drinks on a Saturday

DJ
DewiJ
Wales
2 reviews
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love going to this place , feel so safe and staff are very friendly.

Celebrating my 30th was Great there

MJ
MaJo
Wales
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience5

I love Pulse, it’s fantastic. But it is sooooooo overpriced. £4.80 for a small bottle of Budweiser is extortionate.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Wales
1 review
Dined on 21 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience3

Didn’t have food.

LR
LorienR
1 review
Dined on 21 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Atmosphere was lovely, music playing but nice and chilled, drinks a reasonable price as always. But what really made our night was the service! Every staff member we spoke to was friendly and helpful, but one gentleman named Hugh (Huw?) was absolutely incredible! He was chatting to us throughout the night, so friendly and kind, and even went out of his way to sort out specific drinks for us that weren’t on the menu. We always love Pulse but Hugh absolutely deserves some sort of bonus and recognition because he was just outstanding!

T
vipTara96
Wales
3 reviews
Dined on 21 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Good night, could do with louder music but well done pulse, doing well given the restrictions!!

CL
CLewis
Wales
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The staff at pulse were great as usual. Made sure everyone was practicing covid protocols and also contributed to a great night - thanks!

AB
AprilB
Brighton
1 review
Dined on 28 November 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing staff and amazing atmosphere by far the best place i’ve been during the new rules almost felt like i was out being normal before lockdown

LB
LankyBi
1 review
Dined on 27 November 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing place. Going to pulse for over a year has made me much more comfortable in my sexuality and given me the courage to come out as bi. The vibe is amazing and accepting. If you want a great night out, pulse is the place

FAQs

Pulse is rated 4.1 stars by 77 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.