Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Munich Brauhaus - Melbourne

The state-of-the-art waterfront venue seats over 900 people and will abide by the venue’s only rule: what happens in Munich stays in Munich. It’s the place where the jokes about uber weiners will be aplenty, memories made with mates will be wunderbar, and the most popular pickup line will be, “Deutsch you want me, baby?”

45 South Wharf Promenade
South Wharf, AU-VIC 3006
View larger map

Dining style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German

Hours of operation:
Mon-Sun 11:30am – late

Dress code:
Smart Casual

Price range:
$40 and under

Payment options:

Phone number:
1300 686 424

Website:
http://www.munichbrauhaus.com/

Parking Details:
Full DFO car parking

Public Transport:
Water Taxi, trams, buses to DFO

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for details.

Munich Brauhaus - Melbourne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Energetic

88% would recommend it to a friend

Group Bookings (49)
Live Music (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
See All
Outdoor Eating (29)
Special Occasions (27)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Scenic View (10)
Lunch (10)
Brunch (5)
Waterfront (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Neighbourhood Gem (4)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Sports (3)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on 16 August 2017

The restaurant was accommodating enough to let us stay for more than 2hrs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on 5 August 2017

Had a great night except it was very dark out where we ate and the music in the bar was slightly too loud but besides that, food and service was great and was a fun night 👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 15 July 2017

Probably best places to spend the weekend with bunch of friends. Enjoy little German food and drinks. Recommend for everyone. Not that expensive compare to places similar in the city.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Healthy, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 17 June 2017

Was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on 14 May 2017

Went for mothers day so venue was extremely busy but didn't jeopardize food quality. Service was a bit slow because it was so busy. Awesome having free kids activities for mothers day my kids loved the petting zoo and face painting fantastic idea!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on 12 May 2017

The best night and belly laugh I have had in a very long time!!!! You must go!!!!

I went for the food and beer experience but we got so much more than that !

The entertainment was amazing! Still laughing!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on 30 April 2017

Overall really good and tasty food, but is can get very loud.
___

Don't expect the real Bavarian thing.
Like almost every other Brauhaus, this is only another bad imitation of it.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on 29 April 2017

The food and atmosphere were amazing. My nephews really enjoyed the live entertainment. Unfortunately our experience was marred when it came time to pay. We couldn't find a waiter to bring us our bill and when we went to find somewhere to pay we were escorted back to our table. When we finally got someone to come over to the table we were told they wouldn't split the bill for us and the waitress left us to figure out costs before coming back 10 mins later. It really spoiled the lunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on 23 April 2017

Great place to feel the German culture.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on 21 April 2017

Issues with the meals. One extra was on the bill.
One was well over priced for the amount on the plate. The manager refunded the cost.

Use of the alpine horn. They need to hear how they are used. Not what they showed made fun not nice.

Band too loud at times and improvised too much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on 21 April 2017

Service poor 3 times asked for water never came . Very noise . No kids meals on offer . Food average

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on 16 April 2017

Looooove this place! The band really made the atmosphere fun and electric, food was fabulous and everyone seemed to be getting into the spirit which made it so fun! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on 15 April 2017

Gave this place a second chance after a very disappointing experience on my birthday last year and again the service was absolutely terrible. The food is nice but overpriced for what it is. Not much of a genuine German dining or service experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on 15 April 2017

A big Barvarian party!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on 13 April 2017

The level of service continues to deteriorate. I went to the opening night and have been multiple times per year since then - while the food is consistently good, the service continues to get worse. The staff often have negative attitudes, beers are not available and schnapps always out of stock. The band who were playing on Thursday night before Easter were dismal and did not engage the (small!) crowd at all. At one stage one of them was texting on his phone mid song. Poor form.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on 9 April 2017

Slow service for not many patrons.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 8 April 2017

Food was great . Service was very poor. We ordered the mac n cheese bowls to share and to start with ( we couldn't decide on mains straight away. When the Mac n cheese bowls where serviced we ordered the mains - 5mins later we haven't even started on the entree the main course arrived.
Nobody checked on us if we like to wait for a couple of minutes in between . It was a Saturday night dinner and not a lunch break where we had to squeeze the whole meal in 30mins .
The waitress didn't put any effort in the service .
We had to wave to get her attention , we had to ask for water , we had to ask if we can order another drink .
At it was not busy in the section we were sitting in.
We wanted to order a shot and dessert but we couldn't get the waitress attention again .So we gave up and asked for the bill.
When the waitress processed the payment no emotions,no eye contact , no questions like how was your evening ? Or are you going somewhere else tonight ?
I am from Germany and that's why I like coming here . The food reminds me on home but the service ruined our night .

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on 4 April 2017

Have been a couple of times before to the Munich Brahaus and usually it is very good. The food this time was horrible. Dry chicken snitzel and the sauerkraut...yuk! My friends had the meat platter which meat was dried out also. The service however was excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
·Dined on 4 April 2017

Was just too loud at times, not conducive of an environment that supports conversation.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 2 April 2017

We had a great afternoon celebrating my partners 30th birthday- great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Waterfront, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on 1 April 2017

Food was delicious. The staff were dressed really cool in German outfits and had a good sense of humour. The entertainment was great. Music was loud.

Not a place to come if you want to have a intimate evening and be able to talk easily. It's more of a place to come if you would like to be entertained while you eat. Be prepared for some laughs :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on 1 April 2017

The door staff were horrible, she would be out of her depth in a parking lot puddle. Couldn't find the reservation, forgot she had spoken to us and then parked us for 10 minutes, then, when I spoke to someone else and was seated, there were 20+ seats free... bad attitude. Serving staff however were great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on 1 April 2017

First time visitor and was very pleased at how smoothly we were seated having luckily booked on a busy Saturday night prior to a show at the Plenary.
Serving staff were charming with our waiter readily advising us which type of meal would suit and which beers to order.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on 25 March 2017

Good please for beers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on 11 March 2017

We have visited this restaurant many times either for a lunch while shopping or a celebration dinner like this time, every time we have enjoyed the food and service. I would recommend the upstairs area if it is a celebration as this is a little quieter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 17 February 2017

Booked a table for 14 was only given a table for 12.
Then our order was taken down wrong and we got two to many main dished, both of which included beer. We were told that they could cancel the food part of the order but we would have to pay for the beer as it was all ready poured.
Asked for tomato sauce and it never came.
Waitress was just generally very grumpy.
Will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on 10 February 2017

It was nice to just get out and be surrounded by many people enjoying themselves.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on 22 January 2017

Unfortunately, the dining experience was not special due to changes to the menu and my partner getting sick from eating the aioli.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on 14 January 2017

Very noisy ...too much really ...too big ...food was ok .....service was a bit basic ...

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on 8 January 2017

Nice relax outdoor atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 1 January 2017

It was just outstanding food. I am German and it was nice to come and her such a great dish :-) thanks will come back.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 31 December 2016

Went for New Years and was amazing!
It's our go to place for date night

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on 31 December 2016

Need to have a countdown for New Years
Sucked they didn't

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on 26 December 2016

My order of Pork Knuckle was overcooked and almost impossible to eat, one of the most disappointing experiences I can recall in my travels. The crust was very hard and, the overcooked meat difficult to extract and overly salted.
In my decades of living internationally and travelling extensively I have never been asked for a tip when dining out. The waitress left the invoice on the machine and showed the bill on her mobile app and asked if I would be paying a tip. Somewhat surprised I agreed sensing Australia was now moving in the American direction of staff dependency on tips for income, and agreed to add $20 to the account.
I paid on my Amex.
I had never driven and parked in South Wharf before.
Your staff did not provide any validation for parking which cost another $40. I later learned that this would have been halved if your staff had provided the necessary token.
Upon arriving home where my family expressed their disappointment regarding the service, the cold and the staff's failure to follow through, we checked the invoice and were stunned to discover that a surcharge of $46.90 had also been added to our bill for "PH". We were never made aware that this charge would apply.

I do not recall having ever sent a complaint to a restaurant management group before, which should reflect my disappointment.
I would ask that in support of this that you Google my name. Kerry B. Collison.
Thank you and regards.
Kerry B. Collison
23 Stirling Crescent, Glen Waverley Vic 3150.
28th December 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on 25 December 2016

from the initial greeting to paying the bill at the end we felt at ease and catered for. The music was swell and the jokes not too bad!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on 23 December 2016

Thanks to our server Mark!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on 18 December 2016

Food nice..service very slow..had to wait a while to request bill then yo get them to come back to collect money..Wasnt approached for dessert ..tea or coffee so went elsewhere for that.Seemed like a lot of staff but some not doing much??

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on 13 December 2016

Been wanting to try Munich Brahaus for a while and I was not disappointed. The food and beer were excellent and staff were friendly. Loved the live music!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on 10 December 2016

The food and overall atmosphere were fine. But the constant landing and takeoff off the helicopters was really annoying. And what I want to know purely in the interests of equality is why you don't make the male waiters where dirndls?

Waitresses in lederhosen, seriously! Does not exist in Germany.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on 2 December 2016

The whole place is huge and full of life, live band engageing the crowd. Only downside i can find here was just sitting down and the waiter telling us we have to order our mains within 5-10 minutes, unsure as to why as the tables are booked for 2 hours? And there was still tables free when we arrived until when we left.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.