Modavie

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3392 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
French bistro in a jazzy atmosphere

Seven nights a week, live local bands take the stage at Montreal’s hottest live music bar and bistro. Modavie’s spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes and top dining . The bistro’s far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef, duck and inspired pasta dishes.
What 3392 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.5
Service
4.6
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
DJ
Chicago
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

enjoyed the old style Montreal feel, really enjoyed the live jazz music. the service was top notch along with the food and the wine. Will definately be returning here on our next visit to Montreal

LC
New Orleans
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Service was very slow and food was less than ordinary. I do not recommend this place

RU
Chicago
20 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Loved the beet salad and the mussels. The fries were tasty but not hot or it would be 5 star. Would definitely go back!

OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food, service and ambiance were great for out of towners like us. Enjoyed everything. We recommend the lamb chops and the desserts too. Absolutely top notch. Hope to go again.

J
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fabulous food, top service, great music and a very special ambiance.

NG
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

C'est notre 2e fois et nous aimons beaucoup la nourriture et l'ambiance.

Report
DL
Toronto
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

The ambiance was great and the food portions were incredible value for money. Highly recommend for a night out with some good eats and good friends.

C
1 review
Dined on 9 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

From meeting Lorenzo at the door to our knowledgeable waiter to the most delicious food (if someone recommends the lamb, definitely order it, yum!), the entire experience was wonderful!

KB
Montreal
1 review
Dined on 7 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Favorite fine-dining gluten free restaurant. I have Celiac’s and have never reacted. Their wine list is extensive, the food is great (I highly recommend the lamb poutine and beet salad) and overall has a lovely ambiance with live music.

OT
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2020
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

It was a great dining experience ,only problem was seating I asked for the floor level near the musicians but was given a table further away

CS
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 4 January 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

Restaurant is beautiful on the inside and menu selection was nice. However, both the risotto and the osso bucco lacked seasoning. They were both just kind of blah. Restaurant was pricey.

RC
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2020
Overall3Food1Service4Ambience5

The cassolet was not very good, and very expensive for what it was. Don't pick anything from the brunch menu and you'll do ok. The music was excellent and the service very good.

OT
1 review
Dined on 3 January 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience5

Really nice ambiance (Jazz band playing every night) and close to Metro station Place D'Arms in Old Port. The chicken dish they have on their menu was a little bland and dry but the fillet Mignon with truffle mash is a must try.

DD
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 2 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent live jazz trio on Thursdays really puts a lot of atmosphere. Food, from appetizer to dessert was very well prepared and excellent.

BF
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

All the dishes were very fine. Especially, mussel was awesome.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us such nice words! We are glad you enjoyed your Expérience Modavie and hopre to have the pleasure of serving you once again very soon.

Report
T
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Nous sommes vraiment satisfait.

Les calmars frits, la poutine à l'agneau braisé, le tartare au boeuf, le steak frites, les moules frites et le Tataki de cerf de Virginie ont vraiment étés aimés.
Le Magret de canard était un peu trop cuit à notre goût, mais comme les goûts sont dans la nature...

Ils ont beaucoup de choix de vin et notre serveur avait un mot à dire sur chacun!

Le turn off a été la visite aux toilettes. Des clients les avaient laissé dans un état pitoyable. Force est de croire que le personnel n'y va pas souvent et que personne n'a cru bon de leur faire part de l'état des lieux.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour Thierry, Merci du temps pris pour nous écrire ce commentaire! Nous sommes très heureux de lire que vous avez appréciés votre Expérience Modavie. En ce qui concerne la propreté des toilettes, nos employés sont assignés à la vérification horaire , toutefois, l'achalandage repousse parfois celles-ci. Votre commentaire nous permettra de nous pencher sur des solutions à cet effet. Au plaisir de vous revoir parmi nous!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience5

Server was great. The food tasted like an after thought.

OT
Montreal
5 reviews
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

We were looking for a restaurant open New Year’s Day and found Modavie. We sat in the bar area which had wonderful live music. It’s a beautiful space with lots of ambiance. The food and service were excellent. We will go back!

A
New York Area
23 reviews
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience2

Second time here. I remember it being better. Came for brunch on New Year’s Day however the brunch available wasn’t very good. I also thought there would be music for the jazz brunch because it’s a holiday but this wasn’t the case. Overall not great value for the money. Won’t come back next time.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour Abby, Thank you for the time you took to write us this review! We are quite disappointed you did appreciate our brunch offer and will have our Chefs look into improvig it. Over the holiday period we offered musical brunch on the 24th, 25th and 31st of December as well as on the weekends. It was an oversight from us and we will make sure to offer it next year. We hope to see you again for an experience improved from you last very soon!

Report
M
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience2

We were very excited to celebrate New Year Night in Montreal. Unfortunately this place was wrong choice. The food was mediocre. Butternut squash soup was replaced with the worst onion soup ever. The main course arrived with 30 minutes delay when we were the last people left in the room. All barely warm. We almost didn’t touch it. Our waitress took it without asking if we want to take it home. My daughter didn’t touch her pasta what happened the first time in her life. It was cold. She didn’t get her brownie at all. No one seems care. Very disappointed. It was the worst meal of our 6 days trip and the most expensive.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour Marina, Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. Needless to say, the quality of the food we serve to our customers is of the highest importance to us. We are therefore very concerned by the bad experience you had with us. Each issur you have noted have already been brought to the attention of our Chefs. They will thoroughly be looked into, in an attempt to prevent the same situation in the future. Hopefully, we will get the chance to change your opinion soon!

Report
S
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience5

We book a table to celebrate New Year’s Eve. Place was packed but understaffed. Although they offered a Prix-fixe menu, food took forever to come to us, to a point where we just lost our appetite. They ran out of the soup and the main dish was bland and lack flavor. Waiters were very friendly, but they couldn’t keep up with the amount of customers. Music was good!

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking time to write us an honest review! Our busy time is not an excuse for the problems you have experienced and we strive to create an ambiance that is above and beyond expectations. Thanks to your comment our procedures and policies are on the way to be revised for the benefit of our valued guests. I hope you'll return again to feel a flawless experience, that has nothing to do with the one you had on your last visit.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

New Year’s Eve 2020. Good jazz music but over crowded. There seemed to be a lot of extra tables added, we had little space to move where we where seated. The waiter was very attentive and careful with the food allergies. The dinner menu looked very intriguing but average overall. The lamb was elasticity and the soup way too sweet. The risotto dish was much better than the lamb. It took way too long between dishes to get the food. We where seated at 8h45 and had to rush waiter for our main dish at 10h40 . I have had a much better gastronomic experience at this restaurant before.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review! First of all, we are quite disappointed you were under the impression tables were added and we will look into solution to give our guests more space. Otherwise, we apologize for the time it took for your food to get to the table and futhermore for the quality of it. We are currently looking into ways to enhance our fixed menu offer for our next events. We sure hope to have the pleasure to serve you again sometime soon!

Report
OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience5

Lovely venue
Great table
Poor service (New Years Eve- but it should have been better)
Food - pre fix - very limited and saw many tables getting food other than what was on the pre-fix....we were told no other options.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review! We are glad you appreciated our venue. On the other hand, we would like to extend our apologies concerning the service and food. We are already looking into ways to prevent such situations in the future. We hope to have the chance to offer you a flawless Expérience Modavie sometime soon.

Report
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

We went for the early seating on New Year’s Eve. We were warmly welcomed and service was great. The music was great also. It was a prix fix menu. The food and pacing were spot on.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

New Year’s Eve. Despite a small set menu the service was painfully slow. The food itself was mediocre. Even the brownie the children had for dessert was disappointing. The “prestige” wine pairings were also underwhelming for the price. Overall not a good experience.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, First and foremost, thank you for bringing this to our attention, a follow-up with the Chef and his team has already been executed. Obviously, we would like to hit the marh with each plate we serve, and we apologize for the inconsistency you experienced during your last visit. We hope to welcome you again someday for a true Expérience Modavie.

Report
G
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Was in town for NYE 2020. Had dinner at this restaurant. I picked this place because of the food and live music. I requested to be seated in the area with music and we were given a great table with views of the musicians.

The service was beyond great. The staff was friendly and it felt like the staff were helping each other wait the tables. It felt very attentive and not at all overbearing. Very subtle thing that we appreciated.

The food was not overly amazing but very good. We had the lamb chops which were a bit bland but with a little salt and pepper they came alive and were delicious.

I would recommend this restaurant

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for all your kind words! It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Rest assured that we will take your comments or further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit.

Report
OT
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Nous avons passé un très bon moment dans un très beau décor. Notre serveur était on ne peut plus sympathique, aimable et accueillant.
Notre repas était délicieux.
Pour notre premier restaurant à Montréal c'est une pure réussite et nous reviendrons si nous revenons à Montréal.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Merci d'avoir pris quelques minutes pour nous démontrer votre gratitude. Nous sommes heureux que votre Expérience Modavie vous ait plu et espérons que vous serez des notre à nouveau dans un futur rapproché. Au plaisir

Report
GC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Makes all the difference when the staff do their jobs well and engage with their customers. Points to good management.
Menu and options well explained, service quality & timing first rate, food excellent.
An example of how to do it properly.
Recommended.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for the kind words! We are glad to read you appreciated the hard work we put into serving the best food in a great environment. We hope to see you again very soon for another flawless Expérience Modavie.

Report
OT
Memphis
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2019
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

We have very high expectations of Modavie. The restaurant was very cute and the ambience was on point. Unfortunately the food arrived very quickly and barely warm. I ordered the vegetarian entree and my partner ordered the chicken. The food seemed like it was sitting under a heat lamp. The food came out so quickly, i was shocked it was barely warm.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write. Please allow me to offer my apologies for the unpleasant experience you had with us. Hopefully we will get the chance to offer you a wow Expériencec Modavie in the near future!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great music, ambience, service, and food. We'll be back again for sure!!!!

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for sharing this mark of appreciation! We are trully glad you appreciated your Expérience Modavie. Hopefully we will get to reiterate in the near future.

Report
R
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent food, good music. Service very friendly.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thak you for taking the time to review your latest Expérience Modavie. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to serve you again someday!

Report
ML
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Thoroughly delightful time. Ambiance is the raison d’être there. Would definitely return. Food was pretty good, not the greatest . Calamari was a little heavy on breading and my organic salmon was dry but was such a great overall evening and atmosphere, I didn’t want to say anything at the time. Improvements in food quality would make it 5/5 for all.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour Mary, Thank you for taking the time to write us this review! We have noted your comments and rest assured they will be transmitted to our Chef in order to find improvements. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report
OT
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A unique, lovely setting and fun experience. A very reasonable menu and helpful service from host to our waiter. Keep in mind...Request a table near or away from the live music depending on sound tolerance. Dancing is acceptable if the moment strikes, you won't be alone.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your tips for table choosing! We are happy you could withness some dancing and hopefully you got to join. Otherwise, we hope to see you dancing to the sound of our live performers soon!

Report
MB
1 review
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

All our table s selections were delicious The service was especially congenial helpful and professional

OT
1 review
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food and service

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your great Expérience Modavie and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
RG
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Great place and consistently good. A bit noisy but the ambiance is beautiful. Food was spot on.
My only gripe? Warned about a 2 hr time limit? That’s weird.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad you appreciated our ambiance and the delisious food that was catered for you. As for the time limit, we offer 2 seatings on our most eventful nights to give a chance to everyone to get a seat. We hope we get the chance to serv you again soon.

Report
OT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 26 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service, delicious food, awesome music.

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us these kind words! We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance and overall Expérience we strive to provide. Hopefully we will see you again soon for another flawless Expérience Modavie.

Report
t
San Diego
12 reviews
Dined on 26 December 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Overall ok experience
Worst item we ate was prob the kids pasta - sauce was fine but the noodles were simply poorly cooked and almost inedible.
Lamb dish was great - very moist and cooked properly.
Caesar salad was ok - very large portion
Frites were delicious
Wine choices are great by the glass
Our waitress was very accommodating and friendly.
Jazz music (live) was playing but we could not see it as we were in the back room
It’s a bit of a mix of tourist and local spot
Reservations recommended - place gets insanely busy after 7 pm.
It’s a decent place - food won’t blow you away
Location is great - right in the heart of old Montreal

Modavie
Responded on 9 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review! It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Rest assured, I will pass on to our Chef your note about the kid pasta. We hope to see you again very soon for an Expérience Modavie improved from your last.

Report
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 26 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing experience and service! Great night out!

Modavie
Responded on 4 January 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to give us a five star review! We hope to have the pleasure to serve you once more soon.

Report
KW
1 review
Dined on 25 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We did Christmas dinner here and it was perfect! Jazz music, amazing wine pairings, and outstanding food.

Modavie
Responded on 8 January 2020

Bonjour Kelly, Thank you for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your Expérience Modavie and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again soon.

Report

Tweets by Modavie