Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse

4.1
172 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romance
  • Special Occasions
Marco's Chophouse gives a nod to tradition and centres on serving succulent cuts of meat from steaks and chops to the finest pies.

Whilst the menu centres on British classics the dishes also introduce a little French flair that epitomises Marco's cooking style.

Located on 2 Canal Street, next to the iconic Velvet Hotel, the restaurant serves classic British cuisine and boasts an extensive drinks list with a fine selection of cocktails, wines, beers and spirits.
What 172 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.2
Service
4.1
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We always try and find somewhere different to go and we chose here and it was well worth every penny the food was amazing and plenty of it. Would highly recommend here and we will definitely be returning.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
JW
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 5Ambience 4

The food was nice. However it was only average fare and nothing special. I think Marco is not taking this seriously. However the staff could not have been nicer. The service was a bit rushed and we were finished within an hour and a half!

Report
Helpful
MH
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Welcomed by a lovely smiling young lady who sat us down very polite then drinks order taken we where then met with an excellent waiter smiling very handsome yang I believe. Took our order for meals and was very good meal was hot excellent and nicely presented main meal excellent the burger and the fish was excellent full service was great place a great very good job be back again soon thank you.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food was lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
4 reviews
Dined on 1 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent food! Great service

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on 26 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

What a lovely restaurant with excellent food and service! It definitely exceeded my expectations and will most definitely be coming back!

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
NA
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 1

Dont order wine by the glass, a 250ml glass was nowhere near the amount it should have been, pubs have measured wine glasses but for some reason restaurants can just free pour and RIP customers off. Mentioned it to the staff who didn't care they where breaking trading standards

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear NathanA, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. Measures are indeed used on the bar in the restaurant as to not use them would breach the weights and measures act. The only time the team will 'free' pour a glass is at the table when a bottle has been ordered. We offer over sized wine glasses which look great and hold more than a pint of liquid so without a measure it would be impossible to guess how much a large glass is.

Report
Helpful
NA
1 review
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 3

The early bird is amazing value. The food is lovely and the staff friendly yet very professional. However, the place rarely had more than a handful when we’ve been and consequently lacks s bit of ambience. But, defo recommended!

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visits and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
R
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great and cheerful staff. Nice meny with something for everyone. Good offering of different drinks and wine.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

Food was nice, however, the service let it down. We had to wait ages to get drinks we ordered and also waited ages before asking for the bill.

Report
Helpful
BH
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 1Food 3Service 2Ambience 1

Overall bad experience. The wine we ordered wasn’t available. They came back to the table without the wine list. Steak was edible. Service poor. Will never return.

Report
Helpful
AP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 5

The service was bad, the waiter did not pay attention to us, I asked for olive oil and never received it and it took a long time for them to clean the table.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, I'm disappointed to have received a low score following your recent visit to Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. Could you please contact me via my email rory@chophousemanchester. c om so I can find out a bit more about your visit and hopefully put this right for you. Please accept my apologies Rory Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Eat from the Pre-theatre menu - excellent value and decor.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your fab 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Lancashire
2 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Brilliant night at Mr Whites food amazing and service first class if you haven’t been give it a go you won’t be disappointed

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
CG
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 3Ambience 3

Food was not up to the standard you'd expect from a world renowned chef or any restaurant charging these prices. Better fish pies sold in Iceland! Easter weekend and the place was empty, speaks volumes.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear you didn't receive the level of service that I expect from my team on your recent visit. Could you please contact me via my email rory@chophousemanchester .c om so I can find out a bit more about your visit and hopefully put this right for you. Please accept my apologies Rory Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
JS
London
4 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 2Food 5Service 1Ambience 3

The food was perfect!

However, there was a huge delay when bringing out the dessert and they messed up the order. Also, the staff member cleaning the adjacent table made it feel like there was an earthquake at our table!

Food great. Service needs much improvement. They were friendly, but for that money you need better.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear JameS, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester, we're so pleased that you found the food perfect. We're ever so sorry if you feel there was a bit of a wait between courses, like most fine dining restaurants the wait between courses is slightly longer than a chain pub/restaurant as all of our food is a la carte and prepared to order which is why you are allocated a 2 hour reservation. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
p
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 3Ambience 1

The service was good, but overall the feel of the restaurant was poor, the food was average at best. The food quality and taste was far poorer than my local gastro pub and more expensive. I would not return or recommend.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Peterc, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester, we're all very saddened to read your review and would have hoped a meal as bad as you have mentioned would have been mentioned to the team during your visit. You have said they provided good service and would have welcomed the opportunity to put anything right on the day for you. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
CP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Mothers Day, last minute booking - really surprised by the decor, friendly staff and
food portion and quality.
Been to the Salford quays Restaurent, this was equal to and larger food portion (my son is a junior athlete, he commented he had the best steak and calamari ever!!)
A nice touch also was to give the mothers roses (free) as a finishing touch
11 out of 10 for me

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear ChrisP, Thank you for your fabulous review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Mother's Day and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Mother’s Day

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
U
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent food and wonderful service. Friendly and helpful staff without being intrusive.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
AF
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Really enjoyable , would highly recommend. Food great, service amazing.

Report
Helpful
e
London
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Really enjoyable evening

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Fantastic setting,amazing food,exceptional service,absolutely first rate.

Report
Helpful
GL
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 5Ambience 4

Visited on a very quiet Friday evening with three friends. A lovely warm greeting by the staff and we had a lovely table. The service was excellent throughout. The starters were all very good: scallops, fish soup, goats cheese and calamari. The main courses were unfortunately a little average: the ribeye steak ordered medium but unfortunately came well done. One of my friends dishes was very salt. The lamb and fish pie were good. The wine was great. A nice restaurant just a little let done by the main courses.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
HG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

We thought the restaurant would have been busier for a Friday night but that didn’t detract from the evening. The food was very fresh and cooked to order. It meant a slight wait but that was good as we were in no rush. No complaints other than trying to get the right bill but that ended up being a fun part of the night !! @ Waiter - you know who you are !!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

Nice little place but not much of an atmosphere and very cold. Had to dine wearing my coat. The food tasted lovely but the portion size of the chateaubriand for two was quite small for £54. Had to ask for water 3 times and the restaurant wasn’t busy. Stopping men using the female toilets and leaving the door unlocked needs addressing, I had to wait just under 10mins for the loo, gave up in the end and left.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Overall a very good dining experience

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
L
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2019
Overall 2Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

It’s been done out nice inside but the food was overpriced, not many vegetarian choices either. We also had a bad experience with our waiter who was slightly rude.

I much preferred it when it was velvet and I won’t be rushing back there in a hurry, especially when number 1 canal street is right next door.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
PW
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Absolutely fabulous sisterly day out waiter friendly , polite and professional food cooked to perfection and the star of the show was the creamy cabbage side ordered we just needed Mr MPW to pop his head round the door we can wish ,had photos took with his picture in there at the grand table then off up the sweeping stairs for coptails which was 2 for 1 , and finally Les Miserables at the Palace Theatre 🎭 wonderful time had !

Report
Helpful
e
1 review
Dined on 17 February 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing night out here,first time we had ever been but would definitely go again
Staff were friendly,funny and honest. Food was excellent value for money and cooked to perfection.couldnt fault it.would recommend 👍

Report
Helpful
JH
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 1

The menu they sent me for the Valentines weekend was not the same when we arrived. The bloody mary I ordered was undrinkable, god knows what was in it. The waiters and waitresses dropped at least 5 knives and forks. I stayed at the Hilton Gardens the night before and had steak, was amazing. The steak I had at MPW was uneatable, I left it. It said on the menu 3 courses and fizz on arrival, we didn't get the fizz. One couple payed the bill and tried to leave, the only problem for them was that someone had taken her coat. The dessert was ok but I brought the whole meal back up at 1.00am in the morning. It wasn't an enjoyable experience. There's no way I would go back to a MPW restaurant. Value for money, no way.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Derbyshire
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Brilliant experience would definitely recommend to everyone and will definitely be visiting again.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
SW
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

The food was amazing, really well cooked and great quality. Staff were very attentive.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
HR
London
4 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 5Ambience 4

Theatre meal n

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Visited for lunch, great food at a great price in nice surroundings. Would recommend.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
LH
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

I booked the table for valentine’s day 2 weeks prior for the Valentines menu for two. I then realized that my partner didn’t like stake or any of the other options so I spoke to the restaurant and changed to the a la cartel menu. On arrival we were offered either a table at the bottom of the stairs or a high table. I have a disability so it was difficult for me to sit comfortably on the high seat. We were then told we couldn’t have the a la crate menu? I was really disappointed as my partner needed up with a very dry fishcake for main.

On a plus side my meal was incredible- the scotch egg perfec the steak cooked exactly as I like it and the banana mess gorgeous. My partner had the duck pate which he enjoyed and the banana mess - we also had a large amount of cocktails and 7 yr Havana rum, so we parted with £200 which is a substantial amount.

The service was excellent leaving lots of time between courses and staff were very friendly and quick to react to drinks top ups.

Just a shame we had to stick to the valentines menus - we will be back in March for my birthday but a la carted next time 👍

Report
Helpful
R
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Booked this for Valentine’s Day Excellent service great atmosphere and excellent food! Had a great night will book again! 👌🏼

Report
Helpful
AD
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Loved the atmosphere and setting as soon as we walked in. Great service, amazing food.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Birthday meal. Very very nice.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
MR
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We thought the service was very good, as it should be when the restaurant is quiet. We were going to a show and ate early (6pm). The starters and dessert were excellent but the meal was let down by the main course (sirloin steaks), which were 'fatty'. Would recommend but wouldn't go overboard with the recommendation.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5