Layla's

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
319 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Flooded with light and surrounded by windows to make the most of the views, Layla’s is vibrant, friendly and delicious. The perfect spot for dining with friends, a hot date, a family celebration – or just because. Layla’s serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner, with brunch every weekend and bank holiday Monday. Head out to the beautiful and spacious terrace for a new perspective of Ranelagh.
What 319 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
Food
3.9
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.6
Value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
AD
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined 9 hours ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Great roof top view, excellent Servuce
Good good overall

Layla's
Responded 6 hours ago

Hi AlysonD, We are absolutely delighted to hear you had a lovely time here with us at Layla's, I will pass on to our team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards The Layla's Team

Report
AG
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience4

The food we ordered was a curious combination of flavours. My confit of duck salad starter was fatty and the greens were coarse and really difficult to eat with very little dressing. The main of hake was pleasant but not very full of flavour. We didn't bother ordering dessert.

Layla's
Responded a day ago

Dear AideenG. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was very disappointed to hear that our standards didn't meet your expectations. It would be much appreciated if you can email me more details of your visit to vladimir@laylas.ie Looking forward to hear back from you. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
SM
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Really enjoyable night, service was great! Portion size was quite small, so pricey for what it was especially the monkfish.

Layla's
Responded 3 days ago

Hi SMcGlone. The entire team is very grateful to know you have a great time with us in Layla's. I will make sure to pass your comment to our chefs, and we looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
M
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I loved the layout of the restaurant and the views!The staff were helpful and efficient!The menu had excellent choice and the food was to die for!We went for brunch and it had a lovely atmosphere,it wasn’t as chaotic as I had thought and was a lovely chance to catch up with friends and relax

Layla's
Responded on 26 November 2019

Hi Molly, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks so much for the 5* review. I will make sure to pass on to the rest of the team. Best regards from all Layla's Team

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

The night was awful ... in fact we had to leave . Fire alarm going off , kitchen not working but most of all communication of problem and handling by staff of situation was terrible . Manager looked light a deer in highlights !!!

Layla's
Responded on 1 December 2019

Dear Anonymous. Apologies that we didn't handle your table right the night that the fire alarm went off by accident. I understand that the manager of the hotel has been in touch with you and we look forward to seeing you soon to make up for the bad experience you had that night. Sincerely, Layla's Team

Report
GD
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 13 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We celebrated our anniversary here. It was fantastic. The service, the food, the vibe... all outstanding.

Layla's
Responded on 16 November 2019

Hi GabriellaD, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us. We hope to see you back soon. All Layla's Team.

Report
NC
London
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience1

i'd like to point out before i write this review that myself and the three other individuals dining are all waitresses for the last four years. Greeting was good from hostess nice and smiley, our waiter did not have one smile on his face had to ask another waiter for our prosecco and drinks after waiting for 8 minutes whilst we could see them at the bar made. another server who was lovely took our order and was very pleasant (both brunette males). Got caesar salad (no pancetta in it), hash brown and sausages were good, eggs benedict was good too and then eggs with smoked salmon and spinach good too but all of our eggs were liquid, there was water pouring out of the eggs and what looked like uncooked egg floating on the plate. other than that food was good. when leaving nobody bothered to look up and say goodbye which is just awful and leaves an extremely sour taste of the experience in a customers mouth.
outside area is lovely. and probably a lovely setting for drinks in the evening.

Layla's
Responded on 13 November 2019

Hi NicoleC, We are sorry to hear that your experience was not great. I can assure you that they are not our standards of service. Will make sure to investigate and talk to the waiter in question to make sure it does not happen again. We really hope you give us another chance in the future. Best regards from all Layla's Team

Report
M
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Great food and service. However, could only give 4 stars for food due to the hugely disappointing dessert menu.

Layla's
Responded on 12 November 2019

Hi Mario, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Look forward to seeing you with us again. Layla's Team

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Great food anf location.

Layla's
Responded on 10 November 2019

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
DA
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 8 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service, friendly and efficient staff.
Lovely atmosphere and fabulous views over the city. Will definitely be returning in the near future.

Layla's
Responded on 10 November 2019

Hi DebaA. Thank you so much for visiting us and your lovely review. We are are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
EC
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Don’t go any further than the scallop taco’s and the hake. Both were to die for. Best dinner out I’ve had in ages!

H
London
49 reviews
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

We were two for a Saturday brunch. Great menu, good bloody mary, amazing desserts (chocolate bread it fills up quickly.

BG
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

The salmon appetizer was very small (more an appetizer) for the money we paid. Also the pizza dough was not well cooked. The rest was great & service nice !

Layla's
Responded on 3 November 2019

Hi BabetteG. Thank you for your valuable feedback and i will certainly looking into this. We are Glad to hear that you enjoyed time with us , and hope to see you soon back! Layla's Team

Report
MH
London
2 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

A lovely way to dine out in a Friday afternoon - beautiful scenary and exceptional service as always

Layla's
Responded on 12 November 2019

Hi MaryH, Thanks so much for the lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. All Layla's Team.

Report
CD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 28 October 2019
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience4

Food was good, service was good but they were clearly busy. Music was a bit too loud for my taste but not too loud. I would recommend Layla's to a friend

Layla's
Responded on 1 November 2019

Hi ConorD. Many thanks for taking time to review us,and share your experience with us. We looking forward welcoming you back soon. Layla's Team

Report
PA
6 reviews
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Reastaurant is nice and spacious with views of south Dublin. Food is delicious. Had a mains I never had before.

Layla's
Responded on 1 November 2019

Dear PatD, Thank you for dining in Layla's and delighted you enjoyed it. We hope to see again! much appreciated, Layla's Management

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall5Food4Service3Ambience5

Amazing views.. great brunch menu and value was excellent

Layla's
Responded on 1 November 2019

Dear Anonynous. Thank you for lovely review. Glad to read that you enjoyed everything and hope to welcome you back soon. Layla's Team

Report
N
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 26 October 2019
Overall1Food1Service4Ambience3

For a place of that standard, with such great architecture, you would expect Irish ingredients to be showcased.. instead, huge portions of mostly unseasonal imported ingredients... heavy and undefined. Pity because the location is great and the service very good. Would go back if the food changed

Layla's
Responded on 1 November 2019

Dear Nora, thank you for visiting Layla's and for the feedback, which we always appreciate. We source all our vegetables seasonally from local suppliers. I'll pass you feedback onto the chef and as with all feedback - we'll take it onboard. Again thank you for visiting and hopefully we'll see you in the future. Layla's Management

Report
CP
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 21 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent in every respect. I will return soon. The only issue that I had was parking but that was resolved in a local side road which had paid on-street parking 07.00 to 24.00, seven days. So, just check parking in advance - but it is well worth the effort!!!

Layla's
Responded on 25 October 2019

Hi ConP, Many thanks for visiting Layla's recently and we hope to see you again. All the Layla's team

Report
SB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience2

No one took our drinks order or gave us a drinks menu. Our drinks came half way into our food coming, our food was rushed out, no one came to check on us. We wanted to order a second round of drinks but due to lack of services and attentiveness we decided we would go somewhere else. We had to ask for the bill and then had to ask for someone to come back and take our payment, no one was paying any attention had to wave to attract anyone’s attention. Then on leaving after a lack of service we were asked to pay a “voluntary service charge” as we were a party of 6!! In my mind you tip for good service, not a reward for poor. Won’t be going back. So disappointed and a let down to the Press Up Group.

Layla's
Responded on 20 October 2019

Hi SheanaBC I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us in Layla's We always aim to offer great service to our guests and help every guest feel welcome. I am so disappointed that you didn't feel this while you were with us. We hope you will change your mind and try us again. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
I
London
1 review
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

The spaciousness, ambience and view is unmatched in Ranelagh. Unfortunately the food is lacklustre and leaves a lot to be desired. The pizzas are particularly bad.

Layla's
Responded on 20 October 2019

Hi India. Thank you taking time to review Layla's,and sharing your observation about your experience with us.We really apppreciate hearing what people think and using it to help us constantly inprove what we have to offer.I will pass this on the all of the appropriate departments. Thanks again.

Report
R
London
15 reviews
Dined on 18 October 2019
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience3

Despite fairly empty lunch sitting and staff standing around, service was ridiculously slow. 50 minutes for over cooked hake!!
Great views aren’t enough!

Layla's
Responded on 20 October 2019

Hi Robbo. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Open Table. We were very disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your experience. We appreciate your honesty and will work tirelessly to ensure that we remain at the consistent standard which is expected from us. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
T
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Three things that we ordered were off the menu 'Sold out' were the words used to describe.( 1 wine 2 food) It is standard practice in an expensive restaurant like this for the waiter(ress) to let you know whats off as you are handed your menus, this did not happen and we had to revisit the menu 3 times while the waiter stood there.
My crab starter was nice but crab a bit bland and nothing special, my husband's caprese salad was a roughly chopped salad poorly presented in a bowl including the cheese chopped with no dressing for over 12,00 euro. My main course of Rump of Lamb was delicious and cooked beautifully to my liking. Both my husband and our friend reported really enjoying the chicken dish main. My other friend had the Pizza and made no comment about it. There was one desert of toffee chocolate which my husband said looked lovely but was very bland.
We waited over 45 ins for our mains and had to ask the waiter to move it along.
We had one carafe of red and one bottle of white between 3 and one friend had 2 soft drinks. The meal came in at 220 Euro for 4 before tip and considering only 1 had desert and 3 had starters and one person had diet coke it is an expensive outing. We wanted to treat ourselves so we were prepared to go above the normal price bracket but at this rate we expect everything to be on the menu and of a very high standard. Overall though if these issues were looked at I would recommend Layla's as our mains were really lovely. Perhaps they could consider too dimming their lights so that the amazing view and the lights of the city can be seen in the evening too.

Layla's
Responded on 20 October 2019

Hi Toni. Thank you for taking the time to review Layla's. Please be assured we take all feedback quite seriously. Your comments regarding the food will be passed over to the appropriate departments. I certainly do hope you give us another chance soon and find our offering much improved. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
RM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall2Food5Service5Ambience3

Very relaxed, lovely space, the staff were excellent, really enjoyed lunch at Layla's.

Layla's
Responded on 15 October 2019

Hi RMJK, Thanks so much for such an amazing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. Best Regards Laylas Team

Report
JK
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2019
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience3

Lovely venue, but very noisy, we were six ladies, some older,with a booking, where I understand the restaurant is not aware of ages once the staff saw us we should have been added to a table as opposed to be jammed into a booth so close to door, We had to call the waiter several times for service. On the up side, the food was lovely.

Layla's
Responded on 28 October 2019

Hi JeanK. Thank you for taking the time to review us and sharing your observations about your experience with us. We really appreciate hearing what people think and using it to help us constantly improve what we have to offer. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
SM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Its a good thing I didn't listen to some of the reviews on here. This place is amazzzzing! Ive traveled over 30 countries and I wine and dine regularly. The food here was on point. Exceptional! Their standard wine is a biodynamic wine!! Thats ridiculous! So good! Definitely recommend it. Great atmosphere too. Not too loud or too quiet and staff were accommodating.

Layla's
Responded on 27 September 2019

Hi SimonM Thank you so much for the great review. The whole Layla's Team are grateful for your words and we looking forward to welcoming you back us any time soon. Layla'sTeam

Report
JO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

An absolutely fantastic experience, really enjoyed lunch with my daughter, will definitely be back

Layla's
Responded on 22 September 2019

Hi JoanO. Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review. We sincerely appreciate it. Hope to see you in Layla's again soon! Layla's Team

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Service was excellent, staff were very friendly

Layla's
Responded on 20 September 2019

Hi Anonymous. Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass your comments to our team and we looking forward to seeing you again soon. Layla's Team

Report
AP
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

we had a lovely time in Laylas, the food was amazing and the service was efficient and friendly.

Layla's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Hi AmberP, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time here with us, we will pass your feedback on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards The Laylas Team

Report
AS
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Staff friendly, gave a lovely happy birthday rendition too. very enthusiastic and beautiful food too.

Layla's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Hi AileenS, Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, along with the waiters singing. We will pass your comments on to the team and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards The Laylas Team

Report
OT
Dublin
6 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

The view of the place was amazing ! I love that the window is so big you can just look out and see, the food looked amazing but in my opinion was only okay! But I did enjoy the atmosphere and the service was really good too!

Layla's
Responded on 8 October 2019

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for visiting Laylas recently. We're glad you enjoyed and we hope to see you again. All the team!

Report
MM
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience4

This was my second time there, I really like the place, the view and the staff, and couldn't wait to bring my husband. I really liked my starter but was a bit disappointed in my main course this time around though which was a pity! I do think I'd come back though!

Layla's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Hi MelM, Thank you for your review, We are delighted to hear that you like our unit and the staff, but are very disappointed to hear that you did not like your main course, we have just recently changed a few dishes on our menu, so we hope on your next visit you will find something more to your liking, we value our customers feedback, so thank you. we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards The Laylas Team

Report
DS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It had a great atmosphere especially since it was only a Wednesday night. Our waiter was lovely & very entertaining. The food & wine were delicious. We will definitely be back!

Layla's
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hi DeniseS, Thank you for your lovely review, We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely evening here with us. We will pass on your lovely comments to our Team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards The Layla's Team

Report
OT
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2019
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience2

Food was incredible
But service was way below par
Waited 20 mins to get a drink
Another 40 for a starter

Layla's
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so sorry to hear that we fell well below par on your visit, We value our customers feedback, so all information has been passed onto our team, in order to improve in these areas. We hope to see you again soon and that you will give us another chance. Kindest regards The Layla's Team

Report
EO
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience2

Nice view, very poor food, and bad value. Nothing on the menu for a vegetarian/pescatarian. Basically only eating here for the view. One and done.

Layla's
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hi EmOc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are saddened to hear that you felt our menu offerings below par, We are currently in the process of changing some of our menu items, although we are not a vegetarian restaurant, we realise that we should have a few more options on our menus. We value your feedback and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kindest regards The Layla's Team

Report
RE
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Cold breeze every time the door opened, which was frequent

Layla's
Responded on 2 September 2019

Hi RaymondE, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are currently looking into options in regards to the cold breeze coming in from our terrace area, unfortunately our beautiful Emerald Isle is not blessed with all year round sunshine. We value our customers feedback, and hope that we will see you again soon. Kindest regards The Layla's Team

Report
L
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The Aperal Spritz was amazing & the crab starter was so delish! 10/10, staff were so lovely too

Layla's
Responded on 25 August 2019

Hi Laurenom, Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed, we will pass on your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards The Layla's Team

Report
JS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Lovely place with great view.
Definitely worth experiencing.

Layla's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Hi Johan, Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed Layla's, we look forward to seeing you dine with us again in the future. kind regards The Layla's Team

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience4

It was our 3rd time to Layla’s and the experience was very good, which is why we are return patrons.
The staff, venue and of course food is very nice.

The same thing though, has happened on each occasion and to others we know who frequent. There is a HUGE delay getting served in the initial stages. Once the food is ordered, the service is good. We had to ask several times.
Then when wine ordered, IT has taken AGES to arrive. 40mins on Saturday evening. 45 mins/ 50mins on other 2 occasions!! The wine then arrives with nibbles and then there is no time to enjoy, when the starter arrives SO the process from arrival, sitting, getting drinks and nibbles is incredibly slow... when everyone is tired, and starving. Not good. Unless this improves, we won’t be back. I think it’s an organisational thing... please improve it. Angelinas does not have this issue at all, so will favour that place.
Having said that, the mature staff are good, that’s why I think it’s a process that needs tweaking. Food is fabulous.

Layla's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Hi, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that there have been delays on a few occasions, I can assure you that this should not be the case, We have since changed a few staff in a few departments, so we are continuing training going forward, We value your feedback and have passed on to all relevant departments. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we can exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind Regards The Team at Layla's

Report
AM
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Food and service was good and in line

Layla's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Hi Adina, Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Thank you The Team Layla's

Report