Layla's

3.9
251 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Brunch
Flooded with light and surrounded by windows to make the most of the views, Layla’s is vibrant, friendly and delicious. The perfect spot for dining with friends, a hot date, a family celebration – or just because. Layla’s serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner, with brunch every weekend and bank holiday Monday. Head out to the beautiful and spacious terrace for a new perspective of Ranelagh.
What 251 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.8
Food
3.8
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.5
Value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Vancouver
1 review
Dined 12 hours ago
Overall 1Food 4Service 1Ambience 1

The food was lovely. We were celebrating a friend’s engagement and I had rang ahead to ask if balloons and confetti on the table was ok. I was told it was definitely ok. During the meal two different staff members made a big deal about how the confetti was not allowed and when I explained I had asked ahead of time they were not apologetic and made us feel very uncomfortable. The whole atmosphere changed and ruined the dinner. We proceeded to clean up the confetti ourselves and even apologised to the general manager who was also rude to us. I could not fault the food but they ruined an occasion that I cannot get back and for that I will not be returning to Layla’s. It’s a huge pity the staff and service ruined something so special.

Report
Helpful
JE
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Fantastic view, awesome food, good service, it's summer time and even not too busy coz Monday evening but still the waiter are busy to accommodate all the customers in the terrace so, we didn't served the drinks menu til we asked, apart from that everything went well. Thank you Layla's.

Report
Helpful
OF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 3

The food is good but the service was a bit patchy, we regularly had to call the waiters two or three times before they responded. This may be because of the buzzy atmosphere and noise levels....

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

HI OliveF First of all thank you for taking time to review us. i was very disappointed to read that we didn't deliver service on our usual standards. i will make sure i take all your points to our staff so this not happen in the future. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
CK
1 review
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The brunch in Laylas matched the wonderful atmosphere and weather on the open rooftop terrace. I am looking forward to going back . Warning for any would be politicians they have a very tempting swing in the reception area.

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Dear CrisK. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.We look forward having you with us in the near future. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
JM
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 4

Steak over cooked. Service was very bad. Previous visit was very good so extremely let down this time. Will try here again and hopefully service & steak is better

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

HI JaneM. First of all thank you for taking time to give us review. I was very disappointed to read that you have bad experience with us here in Layla's. i can assure you that we will take all your points on board and work hard for this not happen in the future. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
SG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 4

They gave us the wrong order & also both of us ordered waffles they gave us pancakes, we told the waitress & she said they were the waffles! Asked to see the drinks menu after we ate no one came to take our order so we left! Very disappointed

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Hi SharonG. We were very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Here in Layla's we value all feedback ,both positive and negative. I would like to say sorry that we not meet your expectation on that day. I can assure you we will work tirelessly to maintain standards that we are expected to deliver. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
6 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

First time here. Although I thought the food would be of great quality, I was pleasantly surprised to find it was excellent standard. Ordered the rib eye medium and it was possibly the best steak I’ve ever had. The cocktail menu however wasn’t great, fancy but limited options. We got the Czech Pinot Grigio which was very tasty.

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 2 July 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Absolutely lovely views of the city from our booth- food and staff were excellent

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Hi. Thank you very much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and service with us. I will pass your kind words onto the whole team here. We hope to see you again soon. Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

Overall the restaurant has a fab view but is over priced for the quality and selection of food. The wine list is extremely expensive

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Diner22. Thank you for the feedback. I was very disappointed to read that the food you received was not up the usual standard . It is unfortunate that we let you down on this occasion. I will make sure to share your feedback with the team. Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
L
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 1

Very unhappy with the service. Servers seemed to concentrate almost exclusively on a large group which were very load -maybe hoping for a big tip. Food very average - too much salt on chips let customers add salt if they wish do not cover chips with it in advance. Waited over 30 minutes with desert menus for someone to come back to take order by then had lost interest

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Louise. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us.We can assure you that it is not our standards. Please give us another try in the future so we can prove ourselves. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food was amazing. We had a few appetizers and a pizza. All were terrific. My daughter wanted a chocolate martini and the bartender went out of his to make it and make sure it was good. It was delicious. Service was exceptional.

Layla's
Responded 7 days ago

Hi. Really delighted you enjoyed your day with us!! I will pass on your lovely comments to all the bar and floor staff. We do hope to see you and family again soon. Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
P
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 3Food 1Service 4Ambience 4

The kitchen had issues so we had to wait a long time, I was disappointed with the quality of the food. The French toast was very stale and had very little egg in it

Report
Helpful
TD
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 1Ambience 3

Breakfast took over 30 minutes to come to table. Had to ask the server. Not a great experince

Report
Helpful
BM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent meal on Saturday last. Group of four who all had different choices and every one loved it.

Report
Helpful
TS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

The place is really nice but service is extremely slow and the food is nothing special. Quite pricy and the quality is not that great.
I guess you pay the view but for food not worth it.

Report
Helpful
C
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Service was excellent
Food was excellent, a little pricey for small amount
Ordered rib eye steaks, would highly recommend !
Very noisey, but in saying that, it was Saturday night which is to be expected.
Would definitely return !

Report
Helpful
AG
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

Lovely venue. The food was tasty but mains portions were far too small for the price. Starters and desserts were just as large. Service was okay

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

I had booked a table for 9.30 as that was all that was available. We arrived at 9.40. The first thing they said to us was that we had to hurry and order within the next 5 minutes as the kitchen was closing at 10. I don’t know why they would take a booking that late if they wanted to rush us Anyway we were abit annoyed by that but things went fine from then on. The service was great and the food was very tasty. The views over the city are great too. I would definitely recommend overall. Perfect for a group.

Report
Helpful
KM
1 review
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 3Ambience 1

Dinner offering really needs attention. Some of the male waiters looked really scruffy and unkempt

Report
Helpful
NO
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a great brunch here on Sunday, food was delish - Service was top notch and general atmosphere in the place was really nice. Staff were on point, couldn't fault anything.

Layla's
Responded on 20 June 2019

Hi NoelleO. What a lovely review! I'm delighted you enjoyed your brunch with us. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
J
Dublin
25 reviews
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Visited Layla’s again on Saturday night for friends birthday. Everything was fab. Our Greek waiter Panos (could be spelt wrong) was extremely nice & brought our candle in desert without being asked. Food & wine was gorgeous.

Layla's
Responded on 20 June 2019

Hi Judie2000. thank you very much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed the service and food with us. I will pass your kind words to Panos and whole team here. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 5Ambience 4

Food doesn't meet the standards for the price!

Layla's
Responded on 20 June 2019

Hi Anonymous. Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that food was not to our usual standards. Your comments have been taken on board . hope you will give us another chance so our team could prove your expectations. All the best, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
JM
Orlando
3 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Staff were all very friendly. Lovely atmosphere.

Pizzas & steak were excellent.

Chicken dish was the only meal at the table that was just ok.

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hello JaneM. Thank you for review and I am delighted to read you had a lovely time with us in layla's. We are looking forward having you back with us soon. All the best, Layla's team

Report
Helpful
RM
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Fabulous atmosphere and great food. Staff are amazing- particularly Angela- she was brilliant- managed a party of 8 including providing a birthday plate!! I have been 4 times this summer and always have a blast. Great cocktails too!!

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hi RoisinM. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I have passed on the lovely comments to Angela and she was delighted to hear that her service was very attentive. We look forward to see you again soon ! Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
MB
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Beautiful setting, very attentive service, gorgeous brunch ,I look forward to my next visit

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hello MargaretB What a lovely review! I'm delighted you enjoying your brunch with us. We hope to see you again soon! Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Gorgeous setting and food was fabulous

Report
Helpful
CL
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 1Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

Service was very poor and the food only average. The atmosphere was good with a buzz about the place. Have eaten there 3 times and won’t be going back for food

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hi CiaraL Thank you for taking time to review us. We are highly disappointed you haven't enjoyed your experience with us. Hope you will give us another chance and we will be able to prove ourselves. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
J
Dublin
25 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Layla’s is so amazing. We had the pleasure of having Lanca & Blazina as our waitresses. They are so nice and so efficient. All our meals were delicious. Cheese board was so good we ordered a second one! Wine fab. The view from Layla’s is really great. 100% perfection.

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hello Judie2000. Thank you very much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and service with us. I will pass your kind words onto the whole team here. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
C
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Had a lovely brunch in with in Layla’s with friends on bank holiday Monday.
friendly staff, nice food, lovely decor, strong coffee, I’ll go again!

Layla's
Responded on 11 June 2019

Hi Ceilikitchen. Thank you for taking time to leave us such nice review.We are so pleased you enjoyed Layla's for our Brunch. Hopefully we will see you again soon with us in Layla's!! Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
AO
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 1 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Food was lovely, although the service wasn’t extraordinary and we took forever to be served for breakfast dishes at a time the restaurant was not busy.

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Hi AlexandraO. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have passed on the lovely comments to our kitchen team. We hope to welcome you back to Layla's in the near future. Best Regards , Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
PP
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

The ambience is so great and the staff is very very nice as well. I really liked the linguine and the pizza is great, too - but the desert was not really special. We all tried different ones and everyone of us expected something different, so watch out for this.

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Dear PiaP. Thank you for taking time sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and view all comments as imperative in our growth as a restaurant. We look forward to welcome you back in Layla's in the near future. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
M
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent service which has been the case in every occasion. Lovely ambience

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Hello Mackers. What a lovely review! I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon! All the best , Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 5Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

Had two different bottles of wine, both disappointing.

Report
Helpful
OD
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 1Ambience 1

Booked our table for 2 a week in advance of our Thursday evening visit. Disappointed to get what must be the worst table in the house, nearest the kitchen, each time the door opened there was a rush of wind through so we were cold and uncomfortable, I suspect closing the doors to the outside area could help enormously here. Overattentive waiting staff, while pleasant, just bothered us far too often to allow us enjoy our evening.
I've been to Laylas before and enjoyed, but will be somewhat less excited at the prospect of a future visit.

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Dear OmcD. Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. We were disappointed to read you felt underwhelmed by your experience here at Layla's. It is unfortunate that we let you down on this occasion. i will make sure to share your feedback with the team. Best Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
r
London
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

The food here is very nice, but the prices are a bit over the top. I do not mind paying good money for good food but €84 euro for 3 people for lunch is steep. Especially when only 2 people had a drink. I think the atmosphere is really nice and a good spot for special occasions but there is definitely better priced options in the area.

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Dear robynrosee. First of all thank you for the nice words about our food. I can assure you that we will take all your points on board. We really appreciate your feedback and do trust you shall consider returning to Layla's in the future. Best regards, Layla.s Team

Report
Helpful
VL
1 review
Dined on 28 May 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 1Ambience 3

Our first time to Layla's was very disappointing. We were seated close to the door and every time the door opened there was a freezing draught blowing in. The only other seats available were in the centre aisle which we did not want, so considering we had booked well in advance we felt like we were seated in the booth that no-one else wanted. We were seated for a good 15-20 minutes before a waiter came to ask if we wanted a drink and at least two of the dishes we wanted from the menu were not available. My soup was cold and the rest of the food, bar my daughter's pizza was very mediocre. Overall, I think it is over priced and over-rated.

Layla's
Responded on 3 June 2019

Hi ValerieL. Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are highly disappointed that you have't enjoyed your dinner with us . Above experience you had it's not up to our standards and hope you will give us another chance. Kind Regards, Llayla's Team

Report
Helpful
MM
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely Saturday evening. Great atmosphere and the service and team were really great! Would recommend to anyone looking for good food, served in a great atmosphere with friends! Enjoy and the ragu started is amazing btw!

Layla's
Responded on 30 May 2019

Hi MrMSmy. Thank you for taking time to review us with 5 stars! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. All lovely comments will be pass on to our team. Look forward to seeing you with us again. Kind Regards, Latya's Team

Report
Helpful
JM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 3Food 1Service 4Ambience 4

Food was not good and the meal doesn’t have a good variety. Only one salad available, for example...

Layla's
Responded on 30 May 2019

Hi JoseM. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy food in Layla's. I welcome your feedback and i will take your points on board. Many thanks, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
JF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Great venue and food. Not a great selection for coeliacs and fairly pricey for drinks.

Layla's
Responded on 30 May 2019

Hi JohnF. Thank you for taking time to review us and for compliments about food and venue. All comments will be passed to relevant departments. Hope to see you back to us. Kind Regards, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
1
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

5 out of the 6 of us hadn't been there before and they loved it. Could have had a bigger smile as we came in the door.
Eggs could be slightly hotter., but were grand.
Service at the table was great very friendly and attentive.
Love the place and will be back.
Nicky

Layla's
Responded on 30 May 2019

Hi 123lunch123. Thanks very much for visiting us and trying our brunch. We really glad you had a great visit. I will pass your comments to our kitchen team. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will return soon. All the best, Layla's Team

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7