La Vie

4.7
1617 reviews
$31 to $50
Mediterranean
La Vie is restaurant that specializes in Coastal Cuisine. The spacious waterfront terrace provides exclusive access to incredible views and decor.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1617 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
Food
4.6
Service
4.8
Ambience
4.3
Value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

I celebrated my birthday and my anniversary there. The place is beautiful, great atmosphere. My lamb was a little over cooked but I mentioned it to manager she compensate for the issue, we enjoyed the rest of the night. I would definitely recommend this place.

GE
GillianE
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

La Vie is such a nice experience! The service is great and atmosphere is beautiful. The burger is superb!! I am docking it an overall star for 2 reasons. I got the french mussel pot dish, and I found the spice to be very overpowering and SEVERAL of my mussels were sandy still. A good meal, but nothing compared to the other meals I know they have. The only other thing is I wish they wouldn’t play their super fast and fairly loud music out on the terrace, there was a really nice live band below and the two mixing was not a good environment. They know how to make you feel special, they wrote us a card for our anniversary when I noted it for special occasions! Will be returning to try brunch.

M
Mindi
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful restaurant. Will,go again. Great view. Wish they could place patio tables so no one had back tomgorgeous view.

j
vipjanelc
Washington DC
30 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience3

The server was great and so was the food. It was very hard to hear my dining companion. The price was high.

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Janel, Thank you for your kind words - we appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Please let me know next time you're in and I'll find a quieter place for you to dine! Best, Geoff

Report
W
vipWilliam
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

La Vie is a little pricey but they never disappoint. The ambiance is great, as is the service and food!

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi William, Thank you for your kinds words! Please say hello next time you're in, I'd love the opportunity to thank you in person. Best, Geoff

Report
MS
vipMrsSanchez
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great brunch!! Good service, a little slow at first but our server brought the pitcher, so we could stay full

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Mrs Sanchez, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We really appreciate it. And I'm glad to hear we were able to rebound with the service and provide a good experience for you. Best, Geoff

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience4

Kitchen was wayyyyyyyy backed up today. The wait for food was so crazy. It was annoying. We also weren’t really able to order what we want from the menu. They just brought out suggestions. Honestly the wait ruined the entire experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went for Sunday brunch and La Vie is now a new DC favorite. The ambience and water views make the dining experience even more memorable. Our server suggested we try all entrees for each course and we’re glad we did. Tried several items we wouldn’t have ordered. It took us over three hours to finish our meal but we have no regrets. Highly recommend this brunch!

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi there! Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate it! Best, Geoff

Report
AA
AA123456
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience5

They were a bit all over the place. We asked to try the buffet menu/sample and were not bringing the food out on time. There was about a 20min after we finish trying the salads and appetizer before they bring the pancake out. My first experience was 100% better than this visit.

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi AA123456, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback - we appreciate it. We strive to deliver perfect food and service, and it sounds like we dropped the ball with our table. I have shared your experience with our entire team and we will use this as a way to improve our brunch service. Please say hello next time you're in - I'd love the opportunity to facilitate a great brunch or dinner experience for you! Best, Geoff

Report
DH
DinaH
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

I asked the waiter to heat my coffee but he said they can’t, and said if I want a new hot one it will be an extra charge. Went to La Vie for the “UNLIMITED” brunch and asked for more grape leaves but the waiter ignored the request. We were still eating the main course brunch and the waiters kept coming to take the plates and and kept asking us if we are done. They tried to rush us for them to bring the dessert and as soon as the dessert was brought, the waiter brought the bill. Felt we were rushed to leave. The food overall was okay. The fries was not good at all. The dessert was good.

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Dina, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we really appreciate it. I apologize for your experience here on Sunday - we strive to provide perfect food and service and it sounds like we fell short with your table. I have spoken to your server regarding the lack of coffee service and the service shortcomings in general. I can assure you we will use this as a way to improve. I hope its alright that I send you a private message to discuss your experience further. Best, Geoff

Report
MS
MelanieS
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Loved sitting out on the terrance! Brunch fulfilling. Would definitely come back!

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Melanie, Thank you for your kind feedback - we really appreciate it! Best, Geoff

Report
CR
CautiousRebel
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The restaurant had beautiful ambience, the views were great and the food was delicious! We had a great time and cannot wait to come back!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My second time dining here. I came back for the potato gnocchi, and it was just as good the second time around. I was fortunate enough to get a table at the patio again, and the view is incredible.

NR
NickelleR
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Hjhhbbsjsjsjsksisnshsbuww. Did sis say she dud s six s

m
mariab
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

overpriced and the steak / lamb wasnt that great...

La Vie
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Maria, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry the steak and lamb didn't meet your approval. Please reach out to me next time you're in - I'd love the opportunity to provide a dish that you will love! Best, Geoff

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience5

Celebrated my lady birthday! Food was not that great! Service and everything else was amazing. View are out of this world

OW
OWilson
Washington DC
22 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

La Vie left us a personal anniversary card, put us in a great location and even held our reservation even though we had trouble finding parking. Food was tasty and drinks were as well.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

I had an awesome bday here.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great restaurant, great food, great people

s
shrekt
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 22 July 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Everything was great! Lucio was amazing! The grilled octopus is delicious!

AG
AucolzG
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Everything was excellent, location, the decor, service (waiter JP was very good), food and drinks.....incredible. Had a table by the window overlooking the wharf so it added to the ambiance of it all. Will definitely return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience4

The service was good overall with an outstanding atmosphere, however the food experience wasn’t the greatest, the food was overcooked.

La Vie
Responded on 21 July 2021

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that your food was overcooked. We strive for perfect food and service and we clearly dropped the ball with your table! I wish we would have been able to fix it in the moment, but please say hello next time you're in should you give us another chance - I'd love the opportunity to make it right. Thank you for posting your feedback. Best, Geoff

Report
RA
vipRiyadAlie
London
30 reviews
Dined on 20 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Open, airy and stylish; this restaurant is perfect for a special occasion. The food is fresh, creative and well seasoned and our server was wonderful. The ambiance and views also added to a very special evening out.

La Vie
Responded on 21 July 2021

Hi RiyadAlie, Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Please say hello next time you're in - I'd love the opportunity to thank you in person! Best, Geoff

Report
DB
DshawnaB
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2021
Overall3Food4Service5Ambience4

Wish I could reserve the terrace! It was really hard figuring out guranteed outdoor seating especially for a special event , so I wasn't thrilled about trying to book it plus a cabana in advance & still ending up inside. Service made up for it but still..whomp!

EC
EveC
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2021
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience3

Drinks are amazing but food was subpar - grilled octopus had way too much aioli for the pallet. The lamb chops were good!

AR
AprilR
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

I went to La Vie on a date for a birthday and we absolutely loved it. From the time we walked in the door we were treated like celebrities (however, we did have a slight issue that I won’t disclose here), The decor and atmosphere was exceptional. The food was great and the drinks were decent. I would definitely go back!!!

A
Aaron
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

More food options for vegans and pescatarian......

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
24 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This was our first tube here. We were celebrating our friends birthday. Everything was perfect. The food was delicious. Not one complaint. Michael our waiter was very kind professional informative helpful and just an all around great waiter. Can’t wait to come back

AM
vipAlanM
Baltimore
25 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience2

Food was excellent: plated with creativity and wonderful flavors. Service was average. Ambiance was too noisy with music far too loud. With the music turned down low and more attentive service, the check may have been palatable.

DP
DeirdreP
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Order the unlimited options for brunch and get there early. Parking is packed.

RM
ReneeM
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

La Vie is such a vibe! Looking for the perfect brunch spot... Here it is!

C
Chelle
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was great but if you have a dairy allergy, I would not recommend.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience5

The interior dining room was gorgeous. The outdoor patio on floor 4.6 was cute. Service was slow at 10:30am for Sunday Brunch. We could not order/eat enough food to make it worth $49 per person. Highly recommend the Tartine Trio (we started and ended with it). They were out of regular sugar but no one told me until my coffee was cold and after I asked 3 different staff members.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall2Food2Service5Ambience5

The ambiance was spectacular however the food was mediocre.

I ordered the lamb chops and my lady ordered the roasted chicken. The lamb was cooked to perfection and hand a wonderful flavor. The roasted chicken was dry and tasteless. The plating was awful. The chicken was just thrown over top of a vegetable medley that was just as tasteless as the chicken.

All in all I don’t see myself having dinner at this restaurant again.

ST
vipSwampThang
Hawaii
7 reviews
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience2

I rarely review, but I was disappointed with our experience at La Vie. I selected the restaurant as it appeared to be an upscale restaurant for our special night out. The restaurant was very noisy and not the noise level we were expecting considering the price points on the menu. Additionally, the service was lacking. After sitting for about 10 minutes and then having a server engage with the table next to us in a matter of minutes without their complete party was disheartening. We asked the server for some help and was asked "do we know who our server is?" Amazing since this server is the first person we spoke with besides being provided water by the bus staff. The food was not bad, but was overpriced in our opinion. Finally, there is an automatic 20% service charge no matter the size of the party. We had a party of two that experienced sub-par service where if given the choice, I wouldn't have tipped 20%. Suffice it to say, we will not be coming back to La Vie.

J
Jpel
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great drinks, food and service. Very trendy and was loud at times.

La Vie
Responded on 21 July 2021

Hi Jpel, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback - we really appreciate it! Best, Geoff

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience4

It’s a great experience at La Vie however, it’s up charges for shrimp and scallops is outrageous and overpriced! I’d probably go back but I’m also going to always mention it being overpriced and it being a place to go if you haven’t been… because the overall experience was very basic… but overall it’s a decent space to go to!

YE
YESs
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a wonderful experience at La Vie! The food was amazing! The ambiance was amazing! The staff was amazing! The drinks...you have got to come and see for yourself 😍

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2021
Overall3Food5Service5Ambience4

The A/C was off and made the heat in the room unbearable combined with the humidity. It was not worth the value of the food granted it was delicious. Not worth my time going to LiVie in general. Fix your A/C or compensate me.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food and drinks was really good. Our waiter was very attentive and made sure we enjoyed our experience. We even had a personal note from the general manager wishing us a happy anniversary.

FAQs

La Vie is rated 4.7 stars by 1617 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.