Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour

4.2
1431 reviews
$41 to $100
Steakhouse
Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour is located in Harbourside Shopping Centre on level 2, home to many quality stores and eateries, the restaurant has excellent views of Cockle Bay and the city skyline.

Hurricane's Darling Harbour is open 7 days a week, Saturday's and Sunday's are open for all day dining from 12noon. Serving the same tantalizing food menu that so many of Hurricane's customers' have come to enjoy. Famous for our huge Ribs, and juicy steaks, all basted in our original secret recipe sauce, Hurricane's Grill will leave you wanting more every time you dine.

The restaurant have easy wheel chair access and are very close to public transport. Please be sure to advise our staff about any dietary requirements.

Please note: Additional 10% surcharge on Sunday’s and Public Holidays. Additional 1.5% surcharge for AMEX transactions. Cakage $3 p.p. (capped at $30)

Experiences

  • Melbourne Cup Lunch

    Nov 2, 2021 only

    Come celebrate Melbourne Cup day... A la carte Great prizes

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Extra space between tables
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Proof of vaccination required to dine indoors
What 1431 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
Food
4.2
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Energetic
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
Y
Youi
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience5

The food tasted really good, the deal breaker was the soft drink. There was no acid in it at all, it was flat and diluted. When we told the staff, they denied it, the owner of the store claimed to have tried it and insisted that it was our taste buds that was the problem. McDonald’s has better soft drinks then they do. I ordered a steak and ribs combo. I normally upgrade the ribs from a half rack to a full rack and get charged a little extra at hurricanes top Ryde city, they made me order it separately costing almost an extra $40. The steak and ribs tasted really good though. But the meal was ruined by the drinks.

J
John
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience3

The wrong beer was provided and no glass with the beer was given as requested.

Both my partner and my steak and ribs were very underwhelming this time around.

I understand that due to covid many of your experienced staff would have been let go or looked for other work. I think due to this you have many new staff that are still learning and although our meal wasn't the best this time, our previous experience has been good and hope to see you do once prove that in the future.

ST
SaraT
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

It needs an update
Ribs are great , chips seemed overcooked rice has heated up not fresh

W
Whatadissapointment
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

I've been there more than 3 times but their service and food quality absolutely changed. I think I would never go back there again.

RM
RadineM
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Truely enjoyed our meal, the food was spot on with a variety of different food ordered by our table.
From the Garlic bread, and Mac and Cheese to the Steak Ribs and Fish everything was brilliantly cooked to perfection.
The staff were very accommodating and professional. Great value as well.
Definitely going back again.

CA
vipCarolA
8 reviews
Dined on 18 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great evening 😊great staff & wonderful service with a view my family enjoyed 👏

H
Hana
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2021
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience3

Friendly, kind and quick service…. The ribs I ordered were very tough and hard to cut into, by the time I was able to get the meat off of the bone, it had gone cold and fatty. Beautiful views of the harbour. Quite expensive… Didn't realise there was a 10% surcharge for Sundays.

KK
KrishneelK
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such a nice out after being in lockdown for months on end, the staff were amazing and the good even better!

LC
LisaC
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall2Food5Service2Ambience1

Very disappointed. Asked for a nice table being our anniversary and we were near the toilet.
You had to call someone for service.

AA
AnthonyA
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience3

For a place that is known for their ribs to up and change them and not tell us a disgrace. I got the combo and was served baby back ribs and was told this is what comes with the combo by the manager

CA
ClaudiaA
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

My first time here and the food was absolutely delicious!

AL
AlanL
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2021
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience4

The standard of food seems to have dropped over the years. This is in comparison to my last visit 2 years ago pre COVID.
Our full rack of pork rib is over cooked till you taste bitter char. They are kind enough to replace a half rack.
Calamari portion is too small.

SW
SeanW
1 review
Dined on 14 October 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Ribs are back on the menu!
Not the first place we visited after lockdown however glad we came tonight. I've been craving Hurricanes ribs for months. Great food and service. Our waitress was fantastic.

TF
TashF
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Have been a customer many times but this time horrible we had reservation 8 and were rushed out before 9 had 3 people attend our table to let us know kitchen closing yet we had not even received our mains. No desert menu offered only had 1 drink no atmosphere at all! Menu shrunk, we were so selective who we chose to go to on opening day and left very dossapointed

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 14 October 2021

Hi Tash I am sorry to hear of your disappointment at your recent visit to Hurricanes Darling Harbour. I was the gentlemen at the front when you arrived and I wish you had let me know of your disappointment on the night I could have possibly rectified your evening. I hope that you choose to visit us again in the future so that we can win you back as a loyal customer.

Report
MM
MabelM
2 reviews
Dined on 23 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

How can you go with the view here. We asked to be seated outside even though its freezing as all the windows inside with a view were taken. Luckily there were some great heaters out there so we were very comfortable.
Our waiter was so funny it was there first day but they did great and made us laugh all night.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Hi Mabel, thank you for the feedback. It's always lovely to get great feedback on the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
DC
DamianC
1 review
Dined on 19 June 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience5

The chicken in the chicken burger was dry. The service was lack luster - we had to ask for water and not one of the staff were overly friendly or enthusiastic. I actually caught two staff members having a gossip about other patrons in the place. Over priced and food quality needs an overhaul

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Dear Damian, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment at your recent visit to our store. We take the quality of our food and the quality of our service very seriously, and we pride ourselves on offering both of these without question to all our customers. We will investigate the issues you have brought to our attention to ensure that the staff involved are counselled so that this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback, which helps us grow and better train our staff.

Report
BH
BriannaH
1 review
Dined on 19 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great view with great customer service and food 😋

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Hi Brianna, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. Thank you for the feedback, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
M
Melis
1 review
Dined on 19 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was amazing and so was the service! Would definitely come back!

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Hi Melis, It's always great getting feedbacks like this. We are glad to hear you had a good time at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour. We can't wait for you to come back. See you soon. :)

Report
NM
NathanM
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful food all round great service

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Hi Nathan, thank you for the 5 stars review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
HD
HelenD
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

We made an early booking(5.30pm)as we had a theatre show to go to,waitress was lovely and offered us inside or outside seating-we chose outside,nice table with great view.We ordered and food arrived in a timely manner. My one complaint was that my husbands rib eye steak arrived first and it was probably another 5 minutes or so before my seafood platter arrived.The veges he ordered arrived a few minutes after my meal.I understand a large table of guests not recieving meals all at once,but for a table of two, surely meals could be served together,especially when it wasnt even busy yet?As a result my husbands meal cooled substantially as he wanted to wait for my meal to arrive.Im sure the steak and chips would have held up well under heat lamps while the seafood platter was being put together.Also in regards to the seafood platter,I do not understand the pilaff rice on the plate?was this to prop the seafood up?I feel chips would have been a much better accompaniment!Overall the meals were nice,although my salmon wasn't medium as ordered and uncrumbed prawns were overcooked.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 24 June 2021

Dear Helen, thank you for taking time to leave a review and bringing the serving time issue to our attention. We will discuss this with our Executive Chef as we are always looking at ways of improving service. We apologized for any inconvenience we may have caused you, and we hope in the future you give us the opportunity to make it up.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience1

Understanding it’s a public holiday however the staff blatantly lie about reservations and when asked questions.

At the door they indicate they have no tables yet we were able to book through the app easily.

We booked at 3pm we arrived early and were told to come back in 15 minutes when we returned again waiting at the front they finally gave us a table next to a Family of four adults and 8 children who were throwing food at each other and taking up the walk way that rather than the waiters saying excuse me to move the children they chose to bump into me not on one or three occasions but at almost every passing.

The restaurant started to get empty with four other tables available we politely asked to be moved (46 minute after ordering and still no food) we were told no ( by a senior staff) and that they are seating people however there were four available tables - a young waiter saw I was getting bumped and noted the other available table so he must have told the senior staffer to reconsider the request because he had come back and moved us apologising for the senior

Various tables that arrived and ordered after us received their food before we did- just shows that they need more staff our food arrived almost an hour after being seated and ordering.

Additional pieces of stepped on meat, chips mashed, water, food all the sorts were all over the floor the tables and chairs (chaos at its finest)

The food was ok - used to be much better but the staff (senior front staff) were obnoxious and rude. On a public holiday hire more staff ones to clean, ones to serve, ones to just be available for customers.

Don’t give customers excuses and eye rolls especially when the bill is wrong (extra items not ordered) and they tell you about it.

This is the second time I’ve had a sour experience with the front/senior staff the waiters are amazing but the senior/managers need to humble themselves and remember what customer service is.

KY
KristyY
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience1

Service was slow, we waited 20-25 mins for our first drinks. We had to flag a waitperson down to get cutlery after our meals had been served. We had to flag someone else down for a second drink. Food was nice, wouldn’t visit again though for the price. There’s a lot of other places along the waterfront at Darling Harbour with better service and value.

TC
TroyC
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing food and great atmosphere. Definitely great value for money. Dat outside and the view of the harbour was divine.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Hi Troy, thank you for the amazing 5 stars review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
M
Melissa
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience1

Definitely taken a turn for the worse over the past 8 years I’ve been visiting. Don’t think I’ll be making the effort to come back. Ribs are now average at best, definitely not worth the price. They always stuff people in at Darling Harbour and it’s a fight to get to your table. People constantly bumping into the baby in a high chair because there’s no room. Only thing still going for it is the mushroom sauce.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Dear Melissa, thank you for your feedback. As a long standing, loyal costumer of Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour, we appreciate you taking time to message us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal this time. Hurricane's Grill strives to ensure that the quality of our food is of the highest standard. We will address the issue you mentioned to the relevant staff. We are sorry that your experience didn’t match your expectations, and we hope you give us the opportunity to make it up.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience4

The guy at the front checking guests had bookings was rude to Asian couple in front of us blaming him for saying his name wrong & couldn’t find his booking then found it, no you didn’t hear or understand him. As we were waiting let his friend queue jump and seated straight away. Service was slow for drinks and food. Food is always good though

T
Tobias
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This place is always above expectations! I like to make a day trip to come down to Sydney just so I can experience Hurricains. Introducing new people to this place is a must. Gives me a good excuse to come down more often.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Wow, your review made our day, Tobias. Thank you so much for this amazing feedback. We can't wait for you to come back to Sydney and stop by for a visit. See you soon. :)

Report
EH
EmmaH
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Very busy and noisy, it great atmosphere, food and staff

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Hi Emma, thank you for taking the time to leave us this 5 stars review. We are glad to hear you had a great time at our restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
LC
LeahC
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Fast service, even though it was very busy, and they were fully booked

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Hi Leah, thank you for dining at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour, and for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
KN
KiahnaN
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience3

Amazing food, definitely worth the money. The service is top notch and they look after you through your experience

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 18 June 2021

Hi Kiahna, thank you for the 5 stars review. It's always lovely to get great feedback on the team. We can't wait for you to come back. See you soon. :)

Report
E
Erv5
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

More promos and discounts for celebrations (eg. birthday celebrants, student discount, etc)

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 11 June 2021

Hi Erv, thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate your insight about the promotions and discount. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
JS
JamieS
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience1

The food was out fast garlic bread was un eatable and the ribs and serving size was very small drinks were about after the main was served up

KW
KylieW
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a beautiful meal wish I knew about the restaurant famous for their ribs but will have that next time. Only thing to improve would be the bathroom facilities doesn’t match the quality of the restaurant, it needs some serious upgrading.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 11 June 2021

Hi Kylie, thank you for the 5 stars review. Thank you for the feedback about the toilets facilities, I will definitely share with our management team. We can't wait for you to come back to try our ribs. See you soon. :)

Report
KD
KatharineD
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great venue with stunning views of Darling Harbour and mouthwatering food. You must go there

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 11 June 2021

Hi Katharine, thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report
BH
BellaH
2 reviews
Dined on 3 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Ribs Ribs Ribs
How can you go wrong with the classic Hurricanes Pork Ribs with a view to die for.
Fantastic cocktails and friendly service.
Thank you to the team and the Brazilian manager for looking after us

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 3 June 2021

Hi Bella, thank you for the amazing feedback, Thulio is great, isn't he? You review made our day. We can't wait for you to come back. See you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent food..
The staffs are friendly
Would love to come back again..☺️☺️

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 3 June 2021

Hi there, thank you for the 5 stars review. Our staff will be happy to read what you wrote. We can't wait for you to come back, see you soon! :)

Report
SW
StevenW
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience1

Total overhaul required. Seats uncomfortable. No ambience. Food below standard at price point.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 3 June 2021

Dear Steven, we really appreciate your feedback. As we are always looking for ways to improve guest experience, we have addressed the issue to the venue Manager. We are sorry that your experience at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour didn’t match your expectations. We hope in the future you will reconsider come dine at one of our restaurants.

Report
NK
NickK
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall3Food4Service5Ambience4

Good table one wrong order food wasn’t hot was warm food was good service from staff was very good

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 31 May 2021

Dear Nick, thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We will address the food issue with the relevant staff. Thank you!

Report
JS
JohnS
1 review
Dined on 28 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Very good food and great service from our waitress, who was open to have a friendly chat and joke.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 31 May 2021

Hi John, thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We hope to see you again in one of our venues. :)

Report
PH
PHILM
1 review
Dined on 28 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

My last visit prior was 2010 and that was so great experience to be back. Looks like i will be more frequent fr now at least once a month. I had 5 of my mates who celebrated my birthday with me and one of my beat birthdays so far. I can certainly recommend to my friends and work colleagues the best food, ambiance and the very helpful efficient fun staff making our dining experience the highlight of my birthday this year. Good job and job well done to the chef and the entire staff. All the best for the future. 🎉

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 31 May 2021

Hi Phil, thank you for dining at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour. This review made our day! We are looking forward to seeing you again really soon! :)

Report
HH
HollyH
1 review
Dined on 28 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Great menu and atmosphere! Portions are on par for theprice you pay for.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour
Responded on 3 June 2021

Hi Holly, thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time at Hurricane's Grill Darling Harbour. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Report

FAQs

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.

Hurricane's Grill - Darling Harbour is rated 4.2 stars by 1431 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.