This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn More.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney

3.8
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
584 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$41 to $100
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Top tags:

Casual
Fun
Located in Sydney’s spectacular Darling Harbour, on the first and second levels of Harbourside Shopping Centre, Hard Rock Cafe Sydney is a prominent waterfront venue that will rock your senses with tantalizing food and drinks and an iconic music memorabilia collection.

Temporarily Opening hours, and menu apply, until further notice.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks

Offers

Kids Eat Free

Starting Aug 22, 2020·Sun 12:00-18:00, Sat 12:00-18:00

Kids Eat Free every weekend at Hard Rock Cafe Sydney!
Free kids meal for 10 and under with he purchase of any adult main meal.

Ladies Night at Hard Rock

Starting Aug 20, 2020·Thu 16:00-21:00

$5 sparkling and 2 for the price of 1 cocktails for Ladies at Hard Rock Cafe Sydney.

Happy Hour At Hard Rock Cafe Sydney

Starting Aug 20, 2020·Thu-Fri 16:00-18:00

$6 selected drinks Thursdays and Fridays, includes house beer, spirits and wines!

What 584 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.8
Food
3.9
Service
3.7
Ambience
3.6
Value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
HU
HashaamU
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Rocking place and awesome service. Food was piping hot and tasted great. Very friendly staff. Darling harbour view is a mega plus

SC
StevenC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience3

My club sandwich was not a true club because only one level , very little mayo which made it dry , seemed to put together with no care.
Drinks where horrifically expensive for what it was , a strawberry flavoured lemonade for $16 is insane , cocktails where only a couple of bucks more
You think with numbers down due to Covid that they would value your business and go all out , but no .
Very unhappy about this visit

A
Andy
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience2

It was nice, but a bit too pricey for the quality of food we had.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Andy, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We love that you enjoyed your meal with us, and sorry to learn that we did not provide a full Hard Rock experience, that makes our competitive price point worth the visit. We hope, on your next visit, to give you the wow experience, that we try to give all of our guests! Stay Safe and Rock On.🤘

Report
E
Ellie
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience1

Horrible food, warm drinks, people were way to loud. Food was way over priced... really disappointed

AC
AlyssaC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our experience was incredible. They went above and beyond for our anniversary. Service was amazing. Food was amazing. They even gave us a free sundae for our anniversary !

GL
GraceL
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

The staff member who served us was very nice and helped us when choosing what to order

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Grace, thank you for taking the time to share with us his wonderful feedback. A major part of the Hard Rock Experience is the customer service experience our servers give our guests, and we are delighted to know you had this experience. We look forward to your next visit. Stay Safe and Rock On.🤘

Report
RT
RobynT
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

awesome service all round
beautiful food
recommended definetly

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded 5 days ago

Dear RobynT, thank you for taking the time to share this amazing feedback. We are loving it so much, we will share with the entire team. And we hope on your next visit, we can impress just as much and you remember to pick up a souvenir from our Rock Shop! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
EM
EmilyM
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Really good food and service, hard rock is my favourite restaurant, go everytime i'm in london or honolulu

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded 5 days ago

Dear EmilyM, thank you for taking the time to share with us this amazing review. We could not be more happy to know that we lived up to your expectations as a serious, hardcore Rocker! We hope you picked up a souvenir from our Rock Shop as well, but if not this time, definitely when we welcome you back next time. Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Increíble place, amazing music and the best service

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to know that we lived up to your expectations, and cant wait to have you back again! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
DC
DuckC
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our waitress and the service team where wonderful the food was cooked to perfection would highly recommend coming for a feed
Kid friendly and most importantly is COVIDSAFE

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear DuckC, thank you for taking the time to share with us this feedback. We really enjoyed having you and the family here. And we look forward to you next visit! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
M
Matt
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great down to earth food, will be good when the regular menu comes back

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear Matt, thank you for taking the time to share this awesome review with us! We are going to share it with the whole team, as it rocked our world! Can't wait to see you back in the cafe soon! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
M
Maddieg
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great date night location, awesome service and wonderful food!!

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear Maddieg, thank you for taking the time to share with us this awesome review. We love the feedback and will share it with the whole team. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Cafe soon! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
DB
DavidB
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

like all Hard Rock Cafe, great food and great atmosphere

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear DavidB, thank you for taking the time to share with us this awesome review. We are sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations, and we will ensure our service is beyond reproach on your next visit! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
KJ
KristianJ
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was an overall really good experience. Food was Good, customer service was good, staff were great, location of the seating was good and just an overall good night.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear KristianJ, thank you for taking the time to share this rocking awesome review. We are delighted to know that you had such an awesome exprience with us, and we hope to see you again, soon, for a repeat performance. Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
JJ
JessicaJ
London
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Food and service was amazing - can’t wait to go back

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 13 September 2020

Dear JessicaJ, thank you for taking the time to share with us this awesome review. We are looking forward to your next visit where we can really blow your socks off! Stay Safe and Rock On! 🤘

Report
L
Larissa
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Perfect food, perfect drinks, friendly staff. If i was to be picky and pick one fault, maybe the music was alittle too loud.

RG
RGJM
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 16 August 2020
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience2

I know COVID has affected a lot but the standard of food was dreadful. Old burger buns, nachos was corn chips with cheese and processed lumps of chicken, no guacamole no salsa nothing.
Even if you only have a small area open and half the menu, make an effort with what you have.
Overpriced especially for this quality or lack of.

CS
CassieS
Sydney / NSW
14 reviews
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Dined here Saturday night. Was great food and service

PM
PaulM
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Thanks Hard Rock for the Virginia Lilly’s acoustic gig Friday night. Great to see you making music happen in these difficult times.

rock on!

N
Nora
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent service from all staff members. Highly recommend.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 16 August 2020

Dear Nora, Thank you for taking the time to share with us this wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you had a fantastic time with us, and we showed you the proper Hard Rock spirit, whilst still wearing masks! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Stay Safe and Rock On!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2020
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Couldn’t even get into the venue everything was shut up. Come here to celebrate my girlfriend’s 21st birthday and we couldn’t even enjoy some of the good food we saw on the sites menu. Very disappointing considering we were able to reserve a table and everything and not even be able to get into the venue we ended going to a nicer restaurant down the road.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney
Responded on 16 August 2020

Dear Anonymous, we are sorry to hear of the unfortunate circumstances of your almost visit to us. After investigating how we let you down, we discovered that according to our data: your reservation was made for last seating, at the last minute. Unfortunately, we only hold tables for 15 minutes, and in this instance, arrival after that, without warning, led to the reservation being cancelled. We are delighted that you found a great venue to celebrate in, and belated Happy Birthday to your GF.

Report
BC
BonnieC
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love this place. Delicious cocktails and rock vibe. Staff are always friendly and service fast

T
Tanyah
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This is the first time eating here,our waitress was friendly and even gave us ice cream with a candle in it for my partners birthday.
Food was big serves.
Food was also yummy and fresh

e
emmah
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience4

Food and service was great. However, the let down was the completely shrunken menu, meaning the two items I wanted to order were not on the smaller menu. It was very disappointing. If I wasn’t sitting down and committed I would have left. However the food is still good and the service is friendly

KT
KaterinaT
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience5

The staff were very nice and friendly and the food is soo good.

DS
DavidS
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 23 July 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience2

Usually too loud to talk butmusic was ok thus time. Staff great food good

JH
JasonH
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience3

Very disappointing table was not even held the menu was very poor we chose to leave and eat elsewhere

AC
AnastasiaC
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was great to see Vicky is still with HRC. She has been a wonderful server going back over 20 years when HRC was situated in Crown St

JC
JoanneC
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2020
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience2

Shorten menu and vibe is not as good as it used to be some staff were not very friendly. Might come back once covid is done but not before

CS
CassieS
Sydney / NSW
14 reviews
Dined on 9 July 2020
Overall3Food1Service2Ambience3

Fined out on Thursday for my birthday with my husband. Went in for cocktails and some snack food .

Had our temperature checked- 37 entrance person sorta hesitated at our temp readying ( normal is between 36.5 and 37.5) we had to explain we had just walked from the rocks to darling harbour in 40 mins and was a bit hot from it. And we are not sick , no signs of ur a s was healthy. Normal is between 36.5 and 37.5) she finally let us in.

We were seated and I mentioned to the server it was my birthday and would like ladies night cocktails (it was a promo for Thursday)

I was told the menu was Digital , I scanned it with my phone -was simple

We ordered 2 cocktails and garlic bread.

Garlic bread was terrible, we didn’t order anymore food

because of that, but the cocktails were great.

Service was alright .
We asked to pay extra for a souvenir glass.

Got the hill , he charged us full price for both cocktails not the half price it was advertised.

I couldn’t be bothered to question it and just paid and left

We collected our souvenir glasses from the rock shop.

Overall it was nice cocktails but food pretty poor . Service was alright .

ST
SharronT
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food and sevice was good.
Noisy kids screaming and running around

HI
HamitI
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience5

The 3 Nachos were pretty dry , not a lot of sauce . We have had this other branches no problem . Even burgers not a lot of flavour

CB
ChloeB
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall1Food1Service4Ambience2

Food was disgusting and was waiting a hour for it , the starters came out so late it arrived with main meals

g
gemmmmm
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

Service was good when we first arrived but once seated it took a long time for our order to be taken/drinks to arrive/food to arrive/and get the bill. My food was good personally but others at my table had very undercooked meat and cold fries. The blue hawaiian drink was very lovely. Proves we’re pretty good. Music was fun and made a good atmosphere but possibly a little too loud.

TM
TanyaM
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience2

Food and coffee took longer than expected. When food arrived the burger was cold and also the fries weren't very hot. The burger was extremely dry, no sauce and bread bun fell apart. Luckily we dine at Hard rock often and it's usually very nice.

L
Len1
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

service was good, and food came through quickly... even though we were a table of 9 people.

Good value.. would definitely come back

D
Derick
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience5

The burger was a bit dry and overcooked and the dessert (brownie with ice cream) was disappointed because the brownie was overcooked and the ice cream scoops were too small.

The ambiance is great, great songs and the service is ok.

VP
VanessaP
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience4

Very Very packed - Sat evening. Was a fun venue for teen birthday. Booked but yet still waited 35 mins for table (why?? - Reception staff pretty offhand). Food ok (sent some back which was credited) but outstanding service from waitstaff and made lovely fuss of birhday girl which overall was the making of the evening. Would like to have seen some more recent exhibits. Overall Ok but not raving - memorable for TABLE staff experience - well done!

JK
JK123
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

We made a booking to allow sufficient time to get us to a show (booking for 1745). The booking response was we “will hold your table for 10 minutes”. We arrived on time and were given a buzzer to wait for seating. I asked how long the wait would be because we were on time constraint due to a theatre booking. We were told about 5-10 minute and to wait in bar area. $20 bar cost and 30 minutes later I asked how much longer we would need to wait and how long it would then take for food. I was referred to manager who was extremely rude did not let me speak and when I asked him to let me finish speaking but he just kept speaking over the top of me in front of many other guests. He said it was worldwide policy not to hold booked tables. I suggested that they include this information on the booking website as people plan their bookings around other arrangements. At this time my buzzer went off. I explained to the lady who seated us that we were now in an hurry (show started at 715 with a 15 minute walk). She said she would explain to Thomas and he would look after us. Also said she would bring additional menus (only one on the table for 3 guests). Thomas kingly can yo tale out order about 5 minutes later however we had not received menus. He brought these quickly and took out order. At which point we handed him a dirty fork which was left on the table. Our food can about 15 minutes later at which pint we had 10 minutes to eat it. I asked for the bill twice to 2 different people. Eventually we received it. By time we had 5 minutes to run through Darling Harbour to get to our show. Thomas was extremely helpful, (thank you to Thomas) however it was a little bit of an insult to highlight that there was an option for tipping after our evening had been ruined.
I suggest you remove any booking options for this restaurant if it is not part of their “worldwide policy”. Extremely disappointed.

HM
HelenM
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

The Hard Rock Cafe of years ago seems to have gone - the memorabilia nowadays feels minimal and token and aside from some tvs showing music videos you could be in any diner or RSL style bistro. The food is fine, nothing wrong with it but not particularly special - the meat in the burgers is the exception, they still do really good homemade burger patties. The steak with potato in an ice cream scoop shape with some steamed brocolli/cauliflower/carrot was not something I’d write home about and really resembled something served on a 1985 dinner table on steak night. The service is fine - the waiter introduces themselves, your order is taken and they come when you ask for the bill. The wait for food seemed long given we had booked a table for 5:15. We ordered at 5:25pm and the drinks arrived 5:40 and meal appeared sometime after 6 (a burger and a steak). We didn’t get dessert as we couldn’t be sure we would be served in time for our concert over the road.
Not a bad meal but when there are so many nice places to go nearby and the uniqueness of the Hard Rock has disappeared, we wouldn’t bother returning.

FAQs

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (02) 9280 0077.

Hard Rock Cafe - Sydney is rated 3.8 stars by 584 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.