Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant

4.4
442 reviews
$41 to $100
Modern European
Geronimo: A fresh take on European tradition.
Our aim is to delight, day and night. This is an experience designed to share, from our in-house cellar that boasts wines and spirits both local and global, to our grazing-style dinner menu.
Lunches and coffees with friends, afternoon cocktails and tapas in the sun, a special dinner to impress a special someone (or your business associates)- we are here to help you enjoy it all.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 442 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
Food
4.5
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Energetic
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
C
Chris
Melbourne
2 reviews
Dined on 14 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our last day in Launceston required a special eating out event and we selected Geronimo for it. It didn’t disappoint - fabulous food, atmosphere, and timely and friendly service. We had a wonderful position overlooking the pretty park opposite it. Look forward to our next visit. Thanks Geronimo team, it was a fabulous experience.

RF
RebeccaF
1 review
Dined on 11 April 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

The entree and dessert option was just right for a relaxed Sunday evening meal. The atmosphere was good, service was polished, food arrived relatively quickly and we enjoyed every dish we chose. We will definitely return.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. So glad you had an enjoyable Sunday evening with our small plates and dessert option. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney
2 reviews
Dined on 10 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We are travelling through Tasmania on our honeymoon and choosing great food and dining experiences was high on our list of must dos.

We researched most of the restaurants during our trip and booked in advance. These included top restaurants in Hobart and on the east Coast.

Our trip to Geronimo was a last minute decision due to a change in travel plans and it was without doubt our best dining experience to date!
The atmosphere was fantastic, the food exceptional, but best of all was the service
Timothy and Lachy went out of their way to provide a complete dining experience... it was such a treat to dine here.
We had the 5 small plates including the croquettes, cauliflower, beef ravioli, butternut pumpkin fritters and checked and prawn dumplings

Lachy recommended some fantastic wines and Timothy spent time recommending the menu

What a fantastic place! We cannot wait to plan another trip back to Tasmania, landing in Launceston first this time so that we can go to Geronimo again on our first and final day

Thank you!
Yonika and Ben
Lennox Head

TP
TahliaP
1 review
Dined on 10 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The service was lovely and the food AMAZING, our family of 4 loved sharing dishes and the atmosphere was great.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Thalia, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Sounds like you and your family had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for the support, hope to see you again soon.

Report
K
Kasia
1 review
Dined on 9 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A great way to end our trip to Tasmania. Great food, excellent service and great laughs.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you Kasia, so glad you had a great trip to the island. Very happy you ended your trip with us and we can keep you wanting to return! Dining is always better with excellent service and lots of laughs. All the best, hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney
2 reviews
Dined on 8 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food and service

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you!

Report
LB
LindaB
9 reviews
Dined on 3 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great food, amazing service. Highly recommended

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 8 April 2021

Thanks so much Linda, hope to see you again soon.

Report
NW
NicholasW
1 review
Dined on 3 April 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Overall okay, but service pace and attentiveness was clunky and didnt feel overly warm or welcoming. I expected better for the prices being charged.

DC
DanielC
1 review
Dined on 3 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Very comfortable, relaxing and tasty lunching experience.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 6 April 2021

Hi Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent dining experience with us. So glad you love our comfortable space as much as we do. Thanks for the support, hope to have you dine with us again soon.

Report
JT
JonT
1 review
Dined on 28 March 2021
Overall2Food4Service1Ambience3

Good that you can pick your wine from the shelf. We had a poor service experience which the floor manager handled well.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 6 April 2021

Hi Jon, Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you like our in house cellar options, there is certainly a lot to choose from. Apologies your service was not up to our normal level, we have just hired a new intake of wonderful staff and we do hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you the wonderful Geronimo experience that we are all about.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

One of the party was unwell and the night had to be called short. She was unwell before we arrived so we know the restaurant was definitely not at fault. Even so, the food we had was incredible, the service impeccable and when we left, the staff were far more concerned with our party’s wellbeing and provided a significant discount and let us know they love to see us back. We already have reservations to go back and finish the meal.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 26 March 2021

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I do hope your friend is now feeling better. We're looking forward to having you dine with us again to show you the whole Geronimo experience. Cheers

Report
A
Ajax
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Out of this world ...Excellent food and cocktails.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 March 2021

Hi Ajax, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Sounds like you had a fantastic visit, we're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers

Report
SM
ShariM
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Our waitress Lucy was absolutely fantastic. We have never come across anyone like her. She was incredibly helpful with all sections of the menu and knew it inside and out. She made it much more than just a dinner experience, she was so interactive and was so enjoyable to have assisting us on the night.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 March 2021

Hi Shari, Thank you for such a beautiful review. Thanks so much for your visit, it was a pleasure to have you dine with us at Geronimo. Thats so lovely to hear, ill be sure to pass this onto Lucy. She's our amazing manager that certainly takes pride in her job. We think she's absolutely fantastic also! Thank you for your support, we look forward to having you dine with us again soon Cheers

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on 18 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

As we were a bit early we sat at the bar & were served by the very attentive bar person. The whole space had a wonderful ambience. The options on the menu were excellent & the portions, especially the ‘large plate’ were very generous...for me not to be able to finish off a plate just doesn’t happen, but 5 pieces of Pork Belly between the two of us, after the ‘small plates’ defeated me!! Every choice was beautifully presented & tasted amazing & there is an excellent wine selection from the racks on the side wall. The staff were attentive & friendly. A very memorable evening & we’ll definitely go back next time we are in Launceston.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 March 2021

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed and wonderful review. Sounds like you had a memorable evening with us. We've just hired a few new staff members and its so great to hear such lovely feedback, we'll be sure to pass on your review. The bar seating is often the best to be in the middle of the action and always fun watching the world go by whilst enjoying a fantastic cocktail and snacks. Thanks for your support, looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
AB
AlanaB
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Best service I think I’ve experienced in Tasmania for a very long time. The tasting plates were delicious, as were the cocktails. Thank you, we will definitely return.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 March 2021

Hi Alana, Thanks so much for visiting us at Geronimo. It was an absolute pleasure to have you dine with us. So glad you love our cocktails as much as we do. Looking forward to seeing you next visit to the island.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Brisbane
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience3

The small plates were all very heavy and oily. The waiter was really lovely, but seemed to be the only one on the floor and was run of his feet and not able to keep up with drinks orders.

MC
MarniC
1 review
Dined on 11 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service, friendly waitstaff & the food was amazing.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 26 March 2021

Thank you Marni, looking forward to seeing you on your next visit Cheers

Report
ME
MichaelE
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and atmosphere, an enjoyable evening out and the share menu was a very high standard.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent experience with us. So glad you loved everything, we look forward to having you dine with us in the future.

Report
BP
BillP
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2021
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

The service was very good. I thought the menu needed more cohesiveness. For example the cauliflower was tasty , the dumplings and broccolini was tired bland .
The prawns were tasty as was the nduja pasta. The desert starinese cream caramel was perfect.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback Bill. We love to give our customers great service. We're currently working on a new Autumn menu which im sure you'll love. We love the Nduja pasta too and you cant leave without trying the creme caramel. Hope to see you again soon, your support is greatly appreciated.

Report
S
Sharni
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely loved every bit of Geronimo - food, service, drinks - 15/10. Bravo. If you want somewhere cool and delicious to eat, this is it!

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Hi Sharni, Thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you dine with us at Geronimo. Thanks for your support, we look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report
KA
KimA
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience3

Great variety and value for money. Plenty of food. Great wine selection.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Thanks Kim, your support is greatly appreciated. Hope to have you dine with us again soon

Report
e
eacl
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2021
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience3

Absolutely hate the 3 options for meals and would much prefer the freedom to order what we choose, not what is dictated by the different tiers.
Also we were not told that there was wine by the bottle (apparently you can chose a wine and pay corkage). We ended up ordering by the glass which was limited. Have been to Geronimo 4 times before and enjoyed, so our latest experience was disappointing.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Hello, Firstly thank you for your continued support. Sorry you didn't enjoy our evening set menu offering. We've had wonderful feedback in regards to the menu however we understand each guest has different needs. We currently have 13+ wines each day that we are pouring which we believe is very fair, apologies you were not informed about the wine cellar, ill be sure to follow this up. Thanks for your feedback.

Report
GC
GeorgaC
Sydney
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Having good company helps with overall enjoyment of the night

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Thank you Georga. Certainly agree with you, good company makes the good food all that bit better. Thanks for stopping by!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 4 March 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Food was really good and the waiter was great. The reason I am writing this review is so I don’t get bombarded by emails asking me to review. As a business if you want to go online it would be good to stop getting pestered.... I get way too many emails

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, its greatly appreciated as is your continued support. Cheers

Report
P
Parvathy
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2021
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience4

I felt the grilled prawn which is a starter, lacked flavour. The wagu beef fat fried potato was too salty which when brought to the waiter's notice he offered us free salad which was a good gesture. But unfortunately the leafy salad had a apple cider dressing which ended up not complementing the dish. But overall the service was really good. Thanks

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback from your visit with us. Our new menu is about to launch and we'd love to have you back to try our new dishes. So glad you loved our service!

Report
JG
JohannaG
1 review
Dined on 27 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great meal, innovative menu and timely execution. A must do experience in Launceston

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 2 March 2021

Hi Johanna, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us at Geronimo. We look forward to having you dine with us next time you're in Launceston.

Report
J
John
Melbourne
1 review
Dined on 25 February 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

A good concept for Launceston with a tapas type of feel augmented with large mains. It is a bit expensive food wise but the wines are very well priced and an eclectic range with something for everyone. Service was excellent and access easy.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 11 March 2021

Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It was a pleasure to have you and your group dine with us. Sounds like you had a great time, hope to see you again in the near future.

Report
MB
MinaB
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2021
Overall1Food2Service3Ambience2

Really didn’t like how diners are forced to chose set packages. The set menu and not versatile and not good value for money. Wouldn’t come back or recommend.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 February 2021

Hi Mina, Sorry you didn't like our set menu options we currently have available. We have many different options for the menus as we understand each diner has different needs. We've had wonderful feedback from our set menus and they are advertised front and centre on our website for you to view before you dine with us, we certainly don't hide the fact this is our current offering. Should you not wish to partake in the set menu we also do have an A la carte bar menu & lunch menu.

Report
AO
AnnaO
London
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

An excellent restaurant- great for couples, groups etc. the food and flavours were great. The service was spot on.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 2 March 2021

Thank you so much for your review Anna. Sounds like you had a great visit. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report
S
Stacey
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Lovely place to dine, food is to a high standard, serving sizes are good. Nice wine list and an amazing cocktail menu.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 23 February 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us from your recent visit. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us. High quality food, wine and cocktails is what we love at Geronimo. Hope to see you again soon.

Report
SG
SallyG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 18 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful! The five dishes we chose were just outstanding, and the service was faultless.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 23 February 2021

Hi Sally, Thank you so much for your kind review. Sounds like you had a wonderful experience with us. Thanks so much for the support, we're looking forward to having you dine with us soon.

Report
JL
JoLane
3 reviews
Dined on 17 February 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience3

The starters were good - but the mains were very ordinary - but expensive - VERY ordinary. Even when I pointed out one dish did not match the menu description - she just said 'I'll pass this on' (she agreed too with my complaint). We left it but still was charged for it. Fine dining prices, cafeteria dishes.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 24 February 2021

Hi Jo, Thank you for leaving us some feedback from your recent visit. I do apologise your visit was not up to our Geronimo expectations. I will be following up with our waitstaff from the evening of your visit to address the issues that you have raised here to make sure these things don't happen again in the future. I do hope you will give us another go in the future so we can make sure to give you the Geronimo experience that people love. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report
BF
BrisbaneFoodLover
London
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

I don’t mind spending $$ on good food but this felt expensive for what you get. The food was reasonably tasty but not remarkable. The starters in particular were underwhelming - they were essentially $7+/item - per dumpling (meh), per ravioli (undercooked), pumpkin fritters (yum) etc. also ordered- drinks and they were pretty average - far too much tonic for a g&t for example. Overall we were looking forward to this place but left feeling underwhelmed.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hello BFL, Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us. I do apologise your experience wasn't up to our normal Geronimo standard that we're very proud of. We would certainly love to give you the full Geronimo experience that people love on your next visit to Tasmania. I'll make a note on our system should you return and we can show you what so many people love about Geronimo. We do hope you had a great trip to our island.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience2

The 5 small plates were good, although ‘small’ was not used lightly. The main course to share was the seafood. We were expecting perhaps a selection of small seafood/shellfish as it was labelled as fresh market seafood. We were served just a piece of fish fillet. The fish itself was nice, however not worth the $50 price tag.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hello, Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit. Glad you loved our small plates, they are designed to offer you a taste of 5 different dishes to start your culinary journey with us. Apologies if there was a miscommunication of the market fish, I will certainly follow this up. As the cost of fresh seafood is extremely high, we do our best to keep our prices as competitive as possible without compromising on quality. I do hope we will see you again in the future. Thank you

Report
PB
PeterB
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Unbelievable dinner and service. Lucy, our amazing waitress was knowledgeable, kind, attentive and made our Valentines Day dinner a truly amazing experience

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hi Peter, Thank you so much for the support and choosing to celebrate Valentines with us at Geronimo. It was an absolute pleasure to have you dine with us. We're so glad you loved everything on the evening. Lucy is our superstar Manager, isn't she great! Looking forward to hosting you again for another memorable evening soon.

Report
N
Nick
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Prompt friendly service from our server Beck who explained the menus and drinks very well. The food was superb and more than enough and the kitchen was accommodating with a special request. Overall good value as well.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hi Nick, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Bec is a superstar who is very knowledgeable, glad you loved her service as much as we do! It wasn't a problem at all to accommodate your dietary requests. Thank you for being such great guests, we look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report
AH
AmyH
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our waitress, Bec, was fantastic!! She made us feel welcomed and was always checking up on us.

We will be back

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hi Amy, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review. Lovely to know you had a fantastic evening with us. It was a pleasure to have you celebrate Valentines day with you. We think Bec is pretty great too! Looking forward to having you dine with us again in the future.

Report
KS
KylieS
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delicious and tasty food in just the right amounts.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 17 February 2021

Hi Kylie, Thanks so much for leaving a review. So glad you loved the Geronimo experience. It was a pleasure to host you and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Report
BM
BenM
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such an amazing dining experience. A true culinary delight, we will definitely return

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 16 February 2021

Wow, thank you so much for leaving such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you dine with us, we're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
JJ
JJJJ
Melbourne
15 reviews
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fabulous location, staff and food. Worth every penny!

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
Responded on 16 February 2021

Thank you so much for your review. So glad you had a a wonderful experience with us. It was a pleasure to have you join us. Thank you for the support.

Report

FAQs

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (03) 6331 3652.

Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant is rated 4.4 stars by 442 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.