Gardens by Lotus

4.1
15 reviews
$41 to $100
Yum Cha
Located inside the famous Chinese Gardens of Sydney, The Gardens by Lotus is an exciting ‘Teahouse’ style dining and events space.

The tranquil ‘Chinese Garden of Friendship’ provides a unique oasis like atmosphere in the heart of Australia’s busiest city. The venue draws from both aspect of its location with its modern interpretation of a Chinese high tea during the day and a modern Sichuan dining experience in the evenings, as well as ‘The Blue Room,’ a private dining space for events, functions and special occasions.

Free entry to the Gardens when you dine with us.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks

Featured special offers

Select a special offer by choosing a date, time and party size

Bottomless Yum Cha

Dine in

A$69.00 per order

Starting Sep 19, 2020·Sun 11:00-13:30, Sat 11:00-13:30

YUM CHA at The Gardens by Lotus, promises traditional delicacies – balanced with staples that will ignite a sense of nostalgia. A tool to help you unwind into the weekend with family and friends, this is an experience for everyone. Sip on the finest Chinese tea, try something new and fight over the last dumpling – this is all encouraged.

What 15 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
Food
4.2
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
AC
AnnC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience5

Gardens by Lotus is a lovely place to dine, with serene beautiful setting, tables well spaced, excellent service. However, it is not proper yum cha, the food does not come round on trolleys and one simply has to take the dishes you are given. Some of the dumplings were nice, some very ordinary. I missed some of the more adventurous food one can get in a yum cha. The fixed price should have alerted me perhaps that there would be no choice, but it didn’t.
So, I think Gardens by Lotus should either introduce a proper yum cha, or just become a straight Chinese restaurant, nothing wrong with that. With that setting, and excellent staff, it could be a really good place for a weekend lunch.

B
Beee
Manchester
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience4

Long story short: Lack of communication between staff and kitchen for our table so had to constantly remind them about the dishes we had and were still waiting on throughout. Arrived at 12.55 for our 1pm booking, left at 3.30ish (suppose to leave at 2.30) because we were waiting for our final dish to come out. The dishes we received - some were good, others were sitting under the lights for too long so was luke warm and dry. Such a shame as could’ve been so great for our anniversary meal.
Oh and to top it off there was recording/interviewing happening next to us part way through our meal and they got all of there food instantly

MN
MissNG
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

One of the most authentic and delicious dim sums I’ve ever had since arriving in Sydney (kudos to the chefs!) Food came out at a steady pace and was all very tasteful, filling and substantial for the price; not to mention it’s truly bottomless meaning you can ask for seconds (only a few l items not reorder-able) so you really can’t go wrong!

The Gardens is a must-try purely for the value, taste & atmosphere, but in case you need more convincing: there’s also a waterfall feature you can sit near & the restaurant design is consistent with the rest of the Friendship Garden where it makes you forget you’re near the heart of a city centre!

We sat near the waterwall which was mostly calming, but because it was a corner table, we were ‘forgotten’ quite a bit once it got busier as our table kept running out of water 😭 It was also a bit strange that Garden guests kept walking through the rock wall would recommend implementing some signage so it’s made clearer for garden visitors & restaurant guests aren’t impacted. Music was also a bit to loud & modern which didn’t fit the traditional, tranquil atmosphere sadly :(

Staff was overall very nice, informative & helpful, but one other minor gripe I had was the presentation of some staff. I’m not normally judgemental on how people look (after all everyone’s entitled to present themselves however they wish to be comfortable with who they are!), but something I just couldn’t help but notice with one gentleman in particular was how unkempt his presentation was: his clothes were wrinkly & his facial hair was quite unshaven. Mind you he was still nice enough, but just thinking from a business perspective, wrinkles and scruffy hairs aren’t the most professional look >w<

All in all, we had a grade-A experience and can’t wait to return! Only deducted 1 star for very minor issues which are all easily resolvable~

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 15 November 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service and delicious food but overall it’s a bit rush for 90 mins sitting

L
Lind
1 review
Dined on 8 November 2020
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience5

Had the bottomless yum cha. A little disappointed with the level of service provided by some staff members. Most of the waiters and waitresses were lovely and happy to provide us with doubling dishes despite not having all dishes come out yet. We noticed one waiter kept giving our calamari dish to another table hence why the main waitress (wearing terracotta shirt) was very rude and abrupt when we asked if we could get another serving of a dish. Did not allow us to provide an explanation, it was a simple “no” and walked away. Quite rude. It’s a shame as everything else experienced was great.

AC
AlexisC
1 review
Dined on 7 November 2020
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience4

Good in total, but the pork and prawn in shui mai is still raw.

JC
JohnC
1 review
Dined on 7 November 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Most enjoyable. Loved the water dragons. Perhaps too many dumplings - variety please.

DB
DeeeeBaby
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I love the food, the place and the staffs so friendly. Shout out to Kurni, Head Chef, thank you for amazing food!!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We'll be sure to pass along your wonderful feedback to our fabulous Head Chef Kurni. Please come and join us again soon, we'd love to have you join us!

Report
BI
BIBIAN
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Staff around the restaurant are very welcoming. They have kept a well-performed social distancing rule as the distance between tables are precisely measured and set apart. The variety of food are worth its value so much, both me and my friends are satisfied with the food and the customer services. After YumCha, walking around the Chinese Garden is also a must-have activity! Overall, highly recommended!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi Bibian, Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending The Gardens by Lotus. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Bottomless Yum Cha menu and made the most of the beautiful scenery. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
MD
MDee
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The place was amazing and service was great. Food was of high quality but on the smaller portions, particularly we were only given one bowl of rice between two people which was disappointing portion for a set menu. Ambience can get a little noisy when there are kids around (we went on school holidays) but otherwise great experience.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi there, Thank you for the five star review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide some constructive feedback, we'll be sure to pass this along to the team. We hope to welcome you back through our doors again soon!

Report
PZ
PavlaZ
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience1

IVE BEEN HERE BEFORE AND LOVED IT!
THIS TIME WE CAME FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY AND IT WAS DREADFUL, FROM WHERE WE WERE SAT TO THE QUALITY OF FOOD, INCREDIBLY DISSAPOINTED...WE WILL NOT RETURN
!

L
Lara
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutley stunning. With our a doubt the best Yum Cha in Sydney.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Lara, Thank you for your lovely review! We do hope to welcome you back again very soon for more delicious Yum Cha!

Report
S
Sengwing
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience5

Lovely setting, unfortunately the quality of the food was well below expectations from Lotus.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Sengwing, Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal as you have with previous visits. We hope this won't deter you from visiting us at The Gardens by Lotus again, we hope to welcome you back to show you how fantastic a dining experience at The Gardens really can be!

Report
AT
AngelinaT
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

It is one time experience. Food is okay, i am very picky with asian food and i can say it is pretty standard food.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Angelina, Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest and valuable feedback that allows us to grow and improve as a business. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you would like to discuss further. We do hope this experience won't deter you from visiting again and hope we can welcome you back another time.

Report
SW
SophiaW
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Simply The BEST! Ambience, Scenery, Service, Food etc The ONLY Lotus in the yum cha Pond

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Sophia, Thank you for your wonderful five-star review! The team here are The Gardens are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and we really hope to welcome you back through our doors very soon!

Report

FAQs

Gardens by Lotus is rated 4.1 stars by 15 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.