Gardens by Lotus

4
33 reviews
$41 to $100
Yum Cha
Located inside the famous Chinese Gardens of Sydney, The Gardens by Lotus is an exciting ‘Teahouse’ style dining and events space.

The tranquil ‘Chinese Garden of Friendship’ provides a unique oasis like atmosphere in the heart of Australia’s busiest city. The venue draws from both aspect of its location with its modern interpretation of a Chinese high tea during the day and a modern Sichuan dining experience in the evenings, as well as ‘The Blue Room,’ a private dining space for events, functions and special occasions.

Free entry to the Gardens when you dine with us.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Experiences

  • Bottomless Yum Cha

    A$69.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    YUM CHA at The Gardens by Lotus, promises traditional delicacies – balanced with staples that will ignite a sense of nostalgia. A tool to help you unwind into the weekend with family and friends, this is an experience for everyone. Sip on the finest Chinese tea, try something new and fight over the last dumpling – this is all encouraged.
  • $35 Set Menu

    A$35.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Mushroom Spring Roll. Prawn Har Gow. Pork & Prawn Siu Mai. Kung Pao Chicken w/ Cauliflower OR Steamed Barramundi Fillet w/ Soy, Ginger & Shallot. Asian Greens w/ Soy & Sesame. Steamed Rice. Add Dessert $5pp Eaten Mess w/ Mango, Chantilly Cream, Biscuit Crumb.
  • $128 LNY Banquet

    A$128.00 per person

    Feb 10 - Feb 14, 2021

    Special 10 Course Lunar New Year Banquet - Prosperity salad Oyster with soy, ginger and yuzu Dim sum platter (Xio long bao, Jade prawn) Crispy skin duck pancakes with cucumber and spiced hoisin sauce Steamed whole fish with ginger and shallots Wok fried King prawns with salted duck egg yolk sauce Brooklyn Valley beef short ribs with aged black vinegar, garlic and chilli Steamed Asian greens with soy and sesame oil Steamed crab rice with tobiko Golden ingot puff pastry
  • $168 LNY Banquet

    A$168.00 per person

    Feb 10 - Feb 14, 2021

    Special 10 Course Lunar New Year Banquet - Prosperity salad Oyster with soy, ginger and yuzu Dim sum platter (Xio long bao, jade prawn, pork and prawn siu mai) Crispy skin duck pancakes with cucumber and spiced hoisin sauce Steamed whole fish with ginger and shallot Pan fried wagyu rib eye with crunchy brussel sprouts Live lobster with ginger and shallot sauce Asian greens with soy and sesame Steamed crab rice with tobiko Golden ingot puff pastry

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 33 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
Food
4.0
Service
4.5
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
NM
NicolaM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I was blown away by the serenity while being right in the city. Amazing gardens and food. Will definitely be back!

L
Leah
1 review
Dined on 9 January 2021
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience4

Good food and vibe but not worth the price for weekend yamcha tbh. It was more like course meal not like all you can eat. It was a good experience but wouldn’t go again for yamcha but for weekday lunch/dinner.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Leah, Thank you for your honest review of The Gardens by Lotus. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and appreciate your valuable feedback on your experience. We hope to welcome you back through our doors again soon!

Report
S
Sesannos
1 review
Dined on 2 January 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Good food, a bit pricy but worth it. Very pleased service and also satisfying atmosphere!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Sesannos, Thank you for your lovely review of The Gardens by Lotus! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and appreciate your feedback! We do feel our prices reflect the quality of the food and are glad to see you agree! We very much look forward to your next visit to The Gardens!

Report
ML
MammaL
1 review
Dined on 20 December 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

Overall it was an enjoyable experience with the serenity of the chinese gardens. The food was average, some good dishes (prawn dumplings) and others very disappointing (the roasted duck pancakes appeared to be days old and just reheated in microwave as it was very dry and chewy). The service was good and attentive.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughtful review of The Gardens by Lotus. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your service from the team and will be sure to pass along your feedback to the kitchen for review. We do hope to welcome you another time soon!

Report
SM
StuM
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went for our work Christmas lunch and had a sensational time. Food was excellent, service was fantastic and the setting is amazing. Smack-bang in the middle of the Chinese Gardens you dine overlooking the ponds and next to a waterfall. Will definitely be back!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Stu, Thank you for your lovely review of The Gardens by Lotus! We are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience and that we could tick all the boxes for you. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 17 December 2020
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

I was embarrassed to take clients to lunch here. I’m a fan of other Lotus but this was awful. Despite the nice setting in the gardens and the food being ok, we had some of the worst service I’ve experienced. The set menu was very limited and small. They gave us 2 plates that were smaller than a average lotus main, to share amongst 6! We ordered beers and a bottle of wine. Waitress dumped the wine on the table and no beers and just left. We asked where the beers were and she said, ‘we’ve run out so you can just have the wine’... oh ok thanks - Lotus can be great but they need to ensure the consistency across their brand, you never know what you’re going to get unfortunately.

HO
HangO
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

great location for Yum Cha! Food ands service was great.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your great review! It is fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable dining experience and we hope to welcome you back through our doors again soon!

Report
AB
AngelicaB
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

Although the food looked aesthetically pleasing my friend and I found the yumcha was pretty average in terms of taste and variety. There are definitely better yumcha place shut for the location and the included Chinese garden ticket, it was worth the price. The variety of food was also limited, lacking yum cha favourites like chicken feet and tripe. The views of the garden was pleasant though the service was a bit slow compared to other yumcha places and there were small portions brought out one by one for each table rather than a typical yumcha with push carts, the result was longer wait times and slow service times.

AC
AdrianC
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The bottomless yum cha is a must try. You won’t regret it.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Adrian, Thank you for your kind words and for recommending The Gardens by Lotus! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much and we really hope you will join us again in the near future!

Report
MS
MarieS
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely experience highly recommended. Wish we could have picked which items on the menu we wanted and when. Everything came out so quickly that by the time you had some of the items they were cold. We weren’t offered any tea either which was sad and wished for the amount paid that you get a free drink. Nevertheless it was beautiful!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Marie, Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback - we will be sure to pass this on to the team for discussion and review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for recommending The Gardens by Lotus! We do hope this means you will be joining us again soon!

Report
J
Jasmine
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall3Food4Service1Ambience5

Service was very poor and food came out extremely slow. We waiting for our food for a long time.

JI
JIMMY
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience5

While staffs are friendly services is not up to standard. Not very organise. Foods are ok but it takes forever for them to serve.

D
Dontrecommend
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience3

We sat and waited for 3 hours in total for every dish to be served. The waitress said they were double capacity and the kitchen was struggling to keep up with all the diners. We didn’t order extra dishes due to already being sat for 3 hours. Received the wrong drinks. Not worth $70. Would not recommend.

GC
GraceC
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

We got the best seat of the house for my hubby's birthday, which was really great. The selection was huge and service was very speedy. No waiting for food to arrive, that's for sure. It keeps coming.
We were so full by the end of round 1. We can't possible eat more.
Definitely a great experience that I would recommend due to the novelty of the peaceful and beautiful location, though the table next to us was a riotous group of teenage girls :(
Perhaps the only criticism is that it is way to expensive for what you get. We paid $140 for 2 people for our Sunday seating. The food was good but definitely not 'din tai fung' great.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Grace, Thank you for your lovely review of The Gardens by Lotus! We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do feel as though our prices reflect the quality of the ingredients used., however we will be sure to pass this along. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gardens by Lotus.

Report
HT
HTfood
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

Food is lovely and you get chances to reorder your favourite dishes and then you are allowed to walk around the gardens which is lovely!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review of The Gardens by Lotus! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and we really look forward to your next visit!

Report
AC
AnnC
1 review
Dined on 22 November 2020
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience5

Gardens by Lotus is a lovely place to dine, with serene beautiful setting, tables well spaced, excellent service. However, it is not proper yum cha, the food does not come round on trolleys and one simply has to take the dishes you are given. Some of the dumplings were nice, some very ordinary. I missed some of the more adventurous food one can get in a yum cha. The fixed price should have alerted me perhaps that there would be no choice, but it didn’t.
So, I think Gardens by Lotus should either introduce a proper yum cha, or just become a straight Chinese restaurant, nothing wrong with that. With that setting, and excellent staff, it could be a really good place for a weekend lunch.

B
Beee
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 21 November 2020
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience4

Long story short: Lack of communication between staff and kitchen for our table so had to constantly remind them about the dishes we had and were still waiting on throughout. Arrived at 12.55 for our 1pm booking, left at 3.30ish (suppose to leave at 2.30) because we were waiting for our final dish to come out. The dishes we received - some were good, others were sitting under the lights for too long so was luke warm and dry. Such a shame as could’ve been so great for our anniversary meal.
Oh and to top it off there was recording/interviewing happening next to us part way through our meal and they got all of there food instantly

AS
AnnieS
1 review
Dined on 21 November 2020
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience3

Was very disappointed with the entire experience. Was expecting all you can eat yum cha however we were allocated 1.5hrs for our seating time there but we ended up waiting for 3 hours to still be receiving dishes on the menu however by the end of it we still did not end up receiving everything on the menu. Was very disappointed with the pace of the delivery of each dish, was waiting up to 30 minutes at times for the next dish.
Overall very bad value for money as we didn’t even receive all the items on the menu let alone be able to reorder dishes. Portions were also very small and given that we already waited so long for the first servings of dishes, it would have been more beneficial if we went to a yum cha restaurant instead as our booking was quite pricey and we would have had a better experience there.
The tea was nice though.

MN
MissNG
1 review
Dined on 21 November 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

One of the most authentic and delicious dim sums I’ve ever had since arriving in Sydney (kudos to the chefs!) Food came out at a steady pace and was all very tasteful, filling and substantial for the price; not to mention it’s truly bottomless meaning you can ask for seconds (only a few l items not reorder-able) so you really can’t go wrong!

The Gardens is a must-try purely for the value, taste & atmosphere, but in case you need more convincing: there’s also a waterfall feature you can sit near & the restaurant design is consistent with the rest of the Friendship Garden where it makes you forget you’re near the heart of a city centre!

We sat near the waterwall which was mostly calming, but because it was a corner table, we were ‘forgotten’ quite a bit once it got busier as our table kept running out of water 😭 It was also a bit strange that Garden guests kept walking through the rock wall would recommend implementing some signage so it’s made clearer for garden visitors & restaurant guests aren’t impacted. Music was also a bit to loud & modern which didn’t fit the traditional, tranquil atmosphere sadly :(

Staff was overall very nice, informative & helpful, but one other minor gripe I had was the presentation of some staff. I’m not normally judgemental on how people look (after all everyone’s entitled to present themselves however they wish to be comfortable with who they are!), but something I just couldn’t help but notice with one gentleman in particular was how unkempt his presentation was: his clothes were wrinkly & his facial hair was quite unshaven. Mind you he was still nice enough, but just thinking from a business perspective, wrinkles and scruffy hairs aren’t the most professional look >w<

All in all, we had a grade-A experience and can’t wait to return! Only deducted 1 star for very minor issues which are all easily resolvable~

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 27 November 2020

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review of your experience at The Gardens by Lotus! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate you providing such constructive feedback as this helps us to learn and grow as a business! We are happy to see that you are excited to return and we look forward to your next visit!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 15 November 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service and delicious food but overall it’s a bit rush for 90 mins sitting

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 27 November 2020

Hi there, Thank you for your honest review and valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report
L
Lind
1 review
Dined on 8 November 2020
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience5

Had the bottomless yum cha. A little disappointed with the level of service provided by some staff members. Most of the waiters and waitresses were lovely and happy to provide us with doubling dishes despite not having all dishes come out yet. We noticed one waiter kept giving our calamari dish to another table hence why the main waitress (wearing terracotta shirt) was very rude and abrupt when we asked if we could get another serving of a dish. Did not allow us to provide an explanation, it was a simple “no” and walked away. Quite rude. It’s a shame as everything else experienced was great.

AC
AlexisC
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 7 November 2020
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience4

Good in total, but the pork and prawn in shui mai is still raw.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 1 December 2020

Hi Alexis, Thank you for honest review of The Gardens by Lotus. We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your pork and prawn shunyi, we'll be sure to pass along your feedback to the team. We hope to welcome you back again another time soon.

Report
JC
JohnC
1 review
Dined on 7 November 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Most enjoyable. Loved the water dragons. Perhaps too many dumplings - variety please.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 1 December 2020

Hi John, Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience3

The set menu was really disappointed
It’s like frozen foods

DB
DeeeeBaby
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I love the food, the place and the staffs so friendly. Shout out to Kurni, Head Chef, thank you for amazing food!!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We'll be sure to pass along your wonderful feedback to our fabulous Head Chef Kurni. Please come and join us again soon, we'd love to have you join us!

Report
BI
BIBIAN
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Staff around the restaurant are very welcoming. They have kept a well-performed social distancing rule as the distance between tables are precisely measured and set apart. The variety of food are worth its value so much, both me and my friends are satisfied with the food and the customer services. After YumCha, walking around the Chinese Garden is also a must-have activity! Overall, highly recommended!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi Bibian, Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending The Gardens by Lotus. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Bottomless Yum Cha menu and made the most of the beautiful scenery. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
MD
MDee
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The place was amazing and service was great. Food was of high quality but on the smaller portions, particularly we were only given one bowl of rice between two people which was disappointing portion for a set menu. Ambience can get a little noisy when there are kids around (we went on school holidays) but otherwise great experience.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 23 October 2020

Hi there, Thank you for the five star review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide some constructive feedback, we'll be sure to pass this along to the team. We hope to welcome you back through our doors again soon!

Report
PZ
PavlaZ
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience1

IVE BEEN HERE BEFORE AND LOVED IT!
THIS TIME WE CAME FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY AND IT WAS DREADFUL, FROM WHERE WE WERE SAT TO THE QUALITY OF FOOD, INCREDIBLY DISSAPOINTED...WE WILL NOT RETURN
!

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Pavla, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear you had such a negative experience with us. We would love to hear more about your experience to see how we can improve the experience for all our guests. We will be sure to pass this along to the team for review. Kind Regards, The Gardens by Lotus Team

Report
L
Lara
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutley stunning. With our a doubt the best Yum Cha in Sydney.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Lara, Thank you for your lovely review! We do hope to welcome you back again very soon for more delicious Yum Cha!

Report
S
Sengwing
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience5

Lovely setting, unfortunately the quality of the food was well below expectations from Lotus.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Sengwing, Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal as you have with previous visits. We hope this won't deter you from visiting us at The Gardens by Lotus again, we hope to welcome you back to show you how fantastic a dining experience at The Gardens really can be!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
3 reviews
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful food great staff

Gardens by Lotus
Responded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and service and we really hope to see you back again soon at The Gardens!

Report
AT
AngelinaT
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

It is one time experience. Food is okay, i am very picky with asian food and i can say it is pretty standard food.

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Angelina, Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest and valuable feedback that allows us to grow and improve as a business. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you would like to discuss further. We do hope this experience won't deter you from visiting again and hope we can welcome you back another time.

Report
SW
SophiaW
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Simply The BEST! Ambience, Scenery, Service, Food etc The ONLY Lotus in the yum cha Pond

Gardens by Lotus
Responded on 29 October 2020

Hi Sophia, Thank you for your wonderful five-star review! The team here are The Gardens are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and we really hope to welcome you back through our doors very soon!

Report

FAQs

Gardens by Lotus is rated 4 stars by 33 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.