Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
479 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Flesh & Buns was the first restaurant in London dedicated to steamed bao and Japanese drinking food. Expect fluffy steamed buns with gutsy fillings, plus loads more plates to share. This is unusual, yet addictive, Japanese-inspired food served in a Izakaya setting.
What 479 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
Food
4.1
Service
4.3
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
LV
LauraVS
London
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2020
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience5

Amazing food served in a contemporary way with excellent decoration! The asian fusion was great and the value also great for London. Service and attention to detail could be improved, especially since the staff kept forgetting orders and misunderstanding requests but overall great experience!

AR
AzeemR
London
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

amazing service and great food all put together with a great atmosphere

P
Ptjw1
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Nice place. Good food. Tables quite close together so you do feel like your sitting with others a bit. The wine is quite expensive for what it is.

ST
SylvieT
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Have been here several times and introduced others, highly recommend Crispy Piglet Belly, Wings or Hot Stone Rice. This is one place to introduce visitors to London in a shared atmosphere of good food

CM
ClaireM
London
5 reviews
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall1Food4Service1Ambience1

The food was great as always. Apart from a handful of staff the rest were obsessed with a “celebrity” who was apparently about to arrive and this made the service at best impatient and at worst just plain rude. Due to slow service we’d just finished our mains 30 mins before they’d told us our table had to be given up. The bill was brought before we’d even been offered dessert. We were told we had to leave the table and then sat with our cards on the bill for 15 minutes before anyone came to take payment. One waiter made a rude comment about a lack of a tip (we’d paid the 12.5% despite our terrible service as a couple of the waitresses were actually ok)

I’ve never felt so unwanted in a venue and I’m delighted I now live in Newcastle where I can get even better sushi and bao with actually good service.

ND
NicolasD
London
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, great value for money. Really like the place!

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm so pleased to read that you had a great experience at Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus! I hope it wouldn't be long until you will visit us again. Kind Regards,

Report
SL
SophieL
London
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Loved the pisco sour button on the table! Delicious food, especially the pork belly.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Sophie, Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to enjoy our happy hour, daily from 5pm to 7pm. “pisco sour 2 for 1” Kind Regards,

Report
M
vipManisha
London
59 reviews
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We love this restaurant and for the first time, tried Sunday lunch there - needless to say, delicious food as always. Korean fried wings are a must!

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your lovely feedback. Myself and the team are very happy to hear we met your expectations. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
ND
NellaD
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I honestly wish there was an option to award 6 stars for service.

The team were absolutely fantastic and couldn’t give them a better review.

Food was fantastic! Really looking to come back and see you soon.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, I'm so pleased to read that everything has been up to expectations. I will be sharing your kind comments with our team. See you soon!

Report
EC
EstherC
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Great food, pretty place. Music a bit too loud for me, but we had a great time

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for leaving a review and for letting us know you had such a great time. Please let us know next time you visit us so we can offer you a table away from the speaker. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
A
Anoxy123
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience2

Loud, busy and not as personal as the Covent Garden one. Food still amazing though.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us. It is certainly disappointing to hear your experience was overall not very satisfying. Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus is certainly committed to providing its guests with the highest quality of customer care. I will be sharing your comments with our team. Kind Regards,

Report
F
Farrah
London
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Great place for brunch and catch up with friends, especially if you enjoy a buzzing atmosphere.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you feedback on your recent visit at Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus. I am happy to read that you had such a wonderful time for brunch. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
MD
vipMarunaD
London
5 reviews
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience2

We had to wait 25 min for our table which was booked 3 weeks before, staff was very rude when we asked for our table, just said that we had to wait or we could leave!
At 11.55 pm they told us that we had to leave because according to what they said everyone should be out by midnight. Will never go back again! Same restaurant in Covent Garden much better

A
vipAziz
London
47 reviews
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Loved it! Great food great atmosphere great service.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your fabulous feedback and letting us know that you experienced a great service from start to finish and enjoyed our tasty food. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
NS
NatalieS
London
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I want to thank all the staff for their absolutely outstanding service. I dine out often and infrequently write reviews, but I was blown away by every team member's commitment to our experience. We chatted to so many people who were kind and patient, sharing the ways of working of the restaurant and recommending excellently. Thank you!

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for leaving a review and for letting us know that all of our team at Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus provided always outstanding service. I will kindly share your message with all of them. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

Table booked at 215pm. No one mentioned that the Kitchen closed at 245pm
Bar at 3pm.

Entertaining clients. Waiter indifferent when I mentioned it.
I’d never go back.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review and providing us with this feedback for us to use constructively and move forward as a business. Unfortunately our Kitchen closes at 3pm, and the last food order is at 2:45pm, to give enough time to our guests to order. On behalf of the restaurant, I do apologise that your lunch wasn't the experience that you were expecting, I have investigated and addressed the issues you have raised with the team. Kind Regards,

Report
CG
vipCityGirl
London
26 reviews
Dined on 27 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Decent enough food, but not overly impressive. A good variety of dishes chosen - sashimi, Korean fried chicken wings (like eagle wings!), calamari, frito mixto, chicken yakitori, ceviche (2 types) and pulled beef buns. The novelty button on the table for “press for pisco” was handy enough and the house sake went down well. Might visit again for a lunch to try the rice bowls.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, I'm so pleased to read that everything has been up to expectations, please come visit us soon to try our poke, served from Monday to Friday at lunch time. See you soon!

Report
M
vipMk12
London
19 reviews
Dined on 27 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Loved everything! Perfect food, drinks, service and atmosphere.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your review. I'm so pleased to read that you've enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you back soon to Flesh and Buns. Kind Regards,

Report
IB
vipIsabelB
London
28 reviews
Dined on 26 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing food as usual, friendly staff and fast service.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your fabulous feedback and letting us know that you experienced a friendly and fast service from start to finish and enjoyed the quality of our food. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
DT
DanielT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 24 February 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Great food for sharing and the pre/post theatre menu is very good value :)

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you feedback on your recent visit at Flesh and Buns. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service1Ambience5

Absolutely horrible front of house staff (rude, rushed us through our meal even though we were on time for our booking, kept telling us they had another party after us that needed the table) but food was great and ambiance is fun and buzzy.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to Flesh and Buns. I was very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. At Flesh and Buns we hold ourselves to much higher standard and please be rest assured that I have investigated and addressed the issues you have raised with the team. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you soon again.

Report
R
Ruby
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall1Food4Service1Ambience4

Service is very rude. Expect them to kick you out 10 mins before the 2 hour slot even if the whole area is empty.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately due the success and large amount of bookings for brunch, we normally do the last top up ten minutes before your 2hrs sitting to be able to organise ourselves for next reservations to come. Please be rest assured that it is not our intention to make you feel rushed. I hope on your next visit you come away completely satisfied.

Report
MP
MonaP
London
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Excellent food, great drinks and friendly service in a vibrant atmosphere.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us an amazing review, myself and the team are very happy to hear we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report
MP
MP326
London
10 reviews
Dined on 21 February 2020
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience3

The food is really good and the venue lovely.
Service is not so great. I had to ask 3 times to have my wine topped up as our bottle was kept very far. The staff looked over stretched and it was hard to get anyone’s attention!
The ladies by the counter as soon as you walk in we’re not friendly or helpful.
However, the waiters who brought our food was lovely.
So mixed review.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. At Flesh and Buns we hold ourselves to much higher standard and please be rest assured that I have investigated and addressed the issues you have raised with the team. Kind Regards,

Report
KB
KarenB
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

Almost too helpful, after we had an explaination of the menu we were then asked 4 more times if we needed any help with the menu whilst we were discussing options. The food was tasty and came together as we requested (we ordered off the starters and main menu for sharing). It was easy to book a table and we werent too close to the next table. Would receommend

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Each and every feedback is very valuable information to us you can ensure that I have shared your feedback with our team. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you soon at Flesh and Buns again.

Report
CK
CamillaK
London
7 reviews
Dined on 17 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Best chicken wings I’ve ever had, rest of the meal was nice and really well presented but not the most incredible.
I did order the pork belly and the duck boas though, so could be because they’re both quite fatty meats
Service was really good, presentation was really good and ambience was really cool

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Guest, Each and every feedback is very valuable information to us you can ensure that I have shared your feedback with our team. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you soon at Flesh and Buns again.

Report
A
Anna
London
1 review
Dined on 17 February 2020
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience2

The food was disgusting and overpriced. Sparkling water cost us £4!!! Everything didn’t taste nice

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 10 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us. It is certainly disappointing to hear your experience was overall not very satisfying. I'd suggest coming back at try our amazing 3-course Pre-theatre menu available daily until 18:45pm for only £24 per person. Just to let you know- the price for water £4 is for a big bottle (750ml) . Apologies for inconvenience caused. Kind Regards,

Report
L
Luv2dine
London
1 review
Dined on 17 February 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great concept super good loved the buns. My daughters loved the katsu curry and the crispy duck. Something for everyone on the menu. Very attentive service. Great ambience too.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us. I'm glad to hear you had a great meal, I will be sharing your kind words with the team. Kind Regards

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

A lovely place with creative food and a great staff. I would return the next time im in London

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Guest, Each and every feedback is very valuable information to us you can ensure that I have shared your feedback with our team. Looking forward to see you next time you come to London again.

Report
P
Patri
London
9 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Food very good as always, the waiting staff nice and friendly. But the hostess the is the first person you see when arrive to the restaurant was very rude and makes the welcoming very awkward, looks like she wasn’t happy at all working on Sunday

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Patri, Thanks for your review and providing us with this feedback for us to use constructively, I do apologise that your experience wasn't to the standard that we are known for. I can assure you that I have shared your feedback with our team, I truly hope this hasn't affected your overall view of Flesh and Buns.

Report
CD
CandaceD
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Sushi was lovely, the rest of the food from the duck, crab, squid and buttermilk chicken was under seasoned and this was way below my expectations. Drinks were really good! And the desert was good as well. The mains were the let down. Nice vibe inside the restaurant though.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to read you had some negative aspects to your experience and I hope on your next visit you come away completely satisfied. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards,

Report
LL
LeeLee
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

I went for my birthday and i am disappointed by my experience. Service was poor in some ways (not by everyone) - i was given a terrible table in front of the kitchen where the food steam burnt my eyes (after complaining we were moved) and was pestered by staff to order while i was waiting for my friend to arrive. The food was awful - crispy squid and soft shell crab were flavourless, oily, and just coated in flour with a watery sauce on the side. The sushi however was lovely. The crispy duck leg was disgusting. No seasoning at all, not even a bit of salt, not crispy, just oily. The korean fried chicken was coated in the same floury batter as the seafood, and tasted of nothing but black pepper. The desserts were alright, but the sticky toffee pudding was horrible. I couldn’t even swallow it. It had a strange savoury taste and a phlegmy texture. I did find it very sweet and lovely that the staff sang happy birthday to me, and also gave us 3 free desserts, and took the duck and chicken off the menu. I am sad to say I probably won’t be returning, unless just for sushi of the drink (the lucky cat cocktail was divine!)

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us. It is certainly disappointing to hear your experience was overall not very satisfying. I'm also glad that the staff look after you properly and manage to take the food off your bill at the end of the evening. Looking forward to see you again for sushi and drinks. Kind Regards,

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

the tasting menu is very good and service is nice

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review, myself and the team are very happy to hear we met your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
DA
DrAM
London
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience3

We enjoyed the starters - softshell crab and chicken wings. The yellowtail tiraditos were described as "marinated". However it had a strong chilli sauce/chillis on it which totally overpowered the fish.
The main was disappointing: chicken from the specials (described as lightly smoked) and a beef dish. Both entirely tasted of smoke, which was a shame, as the texture was nice. I was left with a hard to shift bitter taste. In an effort to do so, we ordered the sticky ginger pudding. The sponge was nice, the ice cream less so, but there was a crunchy topping (not mentioned in the menu) which also left a bitter after taste.
Service - waiter was fine, though could have mentioned chilli and to avoid 2 smoked dishes. Ambience - unfortunately a large rowdy group was sat nearby, which meant we had to shout at each other to be heard.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us. It is certainly disappointing to hear your experience was overall not very satisfying. I will definitely take your comments on board and highlight them to our Head Chef and the Team . We would like to apologise for the inconvenience this has caused to you and your guests. Kind Regards,

Report
BC
BrunchCouple
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went to Flesh and Buns for their weekend brunch menu. My wife and I were unhappy with our table and the staff moved us straight away. The food was excellent, as was the service. We have been to a number of bottomless brunches, as this was one of the best. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend to others.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review and letting us know that all of our team at Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus provided fantastic, friendly and attentive service. We hope you can join us again for brunch in the near future.

Report
R
Rachel
London
8 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing afternoon brunch and good value for London! Ada was our waitress and she was amazing :)

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 9 March 2020

Dear Rachel, Thanks for leaving a review and for letting us know you had such a wonderful time. Our team at Flesh and Buns, look forward to welcoming you back in the near future . Kind Regards,

Report
t
troxy
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food is delicious! good variety, something for everyone, great portions! great cocktails!

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Troxy, Thank you for sharing your review. I'm so pleased to read that you've enjoyed your meal. I hope it wouldn't be long until you will visit us again. Kind Regards,

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Orlando
3 reviews
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience3

Cute place, bad service and basic food. Nothing special.

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It saddens me to read that you left disappointed on your recent visit at Flesh and Buns Oxford Circus. Each and every feedback is very valuable information to us you can ensure that I have shared your feedback with our team. Kind Regards,

Report
RF
vipRoshniF
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great and very attentive service. Food very good as well

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for your amazing feedback on your recent visit. Our team really do love going above and beyond to ensure all our guests get exceptional service. Looking forward to welcoming you back again. Many Thanks,

Report
OC
OC30
London
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

One of my favourite places to eat. Food is fab and the service is great

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for leaving a review and for letting us know you had such a wonderful time, I will be sharing your kind words with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Many Thanks,

Report

FAQs

Flesh & Buns Fitzrovia is rated 4.4 stars by 479 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.