FIRE Restaurant and Lounge

4.3
1118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
Fire is located in the heart of Dublin in the popular Dawson St. area. Offering exclusive dining options in a historical dining room including the best private dining in Dublin. A mix of styles the current structure was built in 1891 as the Lord Mayor’s Supper Room. In the 20th Century, it was used as a cultural centre before returning to its original purpose of serving supper when it became a restaurant. The soaring ceilings of 19th century, stained glass windows and bronze sculptures are a few elements of this magnificent dining space. We pride ourselves on creating menus around locally sourced produce. Firmly committed to supporting sustainable local produce we serve the finest selection of meats and produce that Ireland has to offer. Our concept is very simple, take Ireland's finest raw ingredients and use original recipes to create exceptional dishes without getting too complicated.
What 1118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.3
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
PO
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

oLovely meal in Fire
Food very nice
Service exceptional
A little pricey
But worth it

Report
Helpful
CL
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excelente!!!!
Mejor restaurante de Dublín!!!
Recomendable!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
JG
Dublin
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

We came here for for my daughters holy communion, service was brilliant made her feel so special

Report
Helpful
JD
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Delicious food. Unreal service. Good value. Great atmosphere. What more needs to be said

Report
Helpful
SL
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Had a fantastic meal in Fire on Saturday night to celebrate a 4 year anniversary. The service was second to none and we were even treated to a personalised dessert to mark the occasion.

Report
Helpful
R
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

Staff were very friendly and a great effort was made on their part. Speed of service varied, especially towards the end.

Steak and sides were not seasoned well and fries served with the steak were very small.

Report
Helpful
FB
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food was gorgeous, staff were extremely warm and helpful.. ambience great!!

Report
Helpful
P
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had a spectacular meal, served by very attentive staff in a stunning setting.I will be recommending this restaurant to my friends and family.Its perfect for a special occasion.I will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
D
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 15 May 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 3Ambience 5

Great venue and food, nice wine selection.
Service in the cocktail lounge needs a bit of nudge to get a drink, definitely needs improvement.
Said that service and food in restaurant redeems itself very quickly. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
SP
2 reviews
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 4

We had food that was not cooked to the appropriate temperature, orders were incorrectly taken and the quality of the steaks were not good. We would not return.

Report
Helpful
VL
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

Nice friendly atmosphere to go pre theatre with friends or family staff very helpful and friendly nothing seems to be a bother, the only thing is the price for pre during the week should be €30 or a little under for the selection they provide

Report
Helpful
MR
1 review
Dined on 12 May 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Unfortunately the double cooked chips were a little soggy, however the rest of the meal was impeccable

Report
Helpful
2
San Antonio
28 reviews
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

It was good meal, not sure I would call this Fine dining. Would I eat there again maybe

Report
Helpful
GM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great food as usual. Very good selection of non-alcoholic drinks. The white sangria was delicious!

Report
Helpful
LW
Newcastle
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

Food was average, Sunday roast wasn’t even warm and all the beef was very fatty. Not worth the cost at all. €55 service charge added to the bill which we weren’t happy with. Wine and starters were nice but that’s it. Wouldn’t return for overpriced average food again.

Report
Helpful
FT
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 3

The restaurant is a beautiful setting. The menu limited and expensive for what it is. Service by staff who could not understand English very well, so order cocked up.

Report
Helpful
MF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Star service from start to finish , great location and ambiance and food was second to none

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear MatthewF, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent overall. Just a few small issues - as so often happens greeter attempted to seat us at a dreadful table beside a large family grouping were kids were let run around(!) within arms length but as an excellent response when we asked for a whiter table we were instantly accommodated. I ordered a bottle of wine but wrong year brought - I pointed it out and again it was properly dealt with - Sommelier did a superb job decanting a very expensive bottle for us - we were told it was last bottle ( were they keeping it back? Don’t think so) generally it’s a big group place ( Confirmation weekend) and it was a bit too noisy and lacking in sophistication ( a lot of very drunk people) for us at the time but very enjoyable nonetheless. Food was excellent-steaks as ordered etc.. it was a bit rushed but again we were warned we had 2 hours so no issue as we didn’t feel like lingering anyway. Main issue was re seating given the big groups a better effort could have been made to seat us and the few other couples in a quieter area but I don’t blame them it was very full ... Not a place for a quiet elegant dinner for 2 ! Only other comment is a general one - am I the only one who makes an effort with a jacket and proper shirt for an elegant dinner ? Ladies all made an effort but way to many men in jeans and T-shirt’s ....!!

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. Your kind feedback has been passed on to both our front and back of house teams. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
B
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

This is the best restaurant for prawns. The jumbo shrimp are so delicious, not just the seasoning but the prawn itself too. I consider myself to be a prawn connoisseur as I am from South Africa and we have arguably the best prawns over there. These ones hit the mark, and I can definitely say that they are the best in Ireland. Their cocktails are delicious as well, a bit on the pricey end but I guess considering the restaurant, its not so bad.
The only qualm I had was the time taken to receive our orders, both drinks and food. It took a bit long to be quite frank, but once they arrived all was forgotten.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear Bini, Many thanks for taking the time to write the wonderful review following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant and thank you for your feedback on the prawns. We hope it's not too long before we get the chance to welcome you back to Fire when your travels brings you back to Dublin. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
PM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

Been there before and it was fine.This time meat overcooked. Vegetables tired. 2finger indentations in my wife's dessert. Not good. Monkfish was undercooked.

Report
Helpful
JW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 3Ambience 4

Went for the tomahalk steak but end it much smaller than expected and had no flavour at all. The rib eye from Aldi was much nicer. Disappointing in the extreme given the price

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear JustyneW, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that you found the Tomahawk flavourless. Had you mentioned your concerns to the server or manager during service check we would have gone above and beyond to rectify it. I hope this does not deter you from joining us in the future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
LM
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We ordered the filet and the prawns. Excellent! And the raspberry and honey smash cocktail was perfection!

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear LibbyM, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
CM
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I treated my dad for his birthday and oh what a treat it was. He loved every minute. The staff treated him so well and wrote happy birthday on his dessert. The food was glorious and he is still talking about it days later. Amazing value for the Sunday roast too. Thank you Fire!

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear CiaraM, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your dad's birthday a special one. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Attentive staff. Enjoyable food and nice atmosphere.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear Michellew, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Very beautiful building and the service was top notch, couldn’t have asked for better.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
K
Tokyo
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 3

Lamb chop was grilled too. Pink is the best.
I requested wine list but waitperson haz no koelrdge of wine. No sommelier sefved.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear baronK, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm disappointed to see that you rated us 3/5 stars. I'd like to apologise if your server was not able to assist you with the wine order. I hope this does not deter you from joining us in the future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
HO
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent customer care & lovely tasty food, good atmosphere. Will definitely recommend it to friends

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear Hodge, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
AG
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I’ve been to Fire on numerous occasions and different times.
The ambiance staff food are consistently very good.
The pre theatre menu excellent value for money and a great choice.
I would highly recommend Fire for all and any age group and function.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 10 May 2019

Dear AnnemarieG, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I'd like to thank you for your continued loyalty throughout the years. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
GS
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

Un ristorante che si mostra per quello che non è...grande sfarzo, grandi aspettative ma di fatto il cibo è assolutamente nella media e il servizio non è all’altezza dei grandi ristoranti. In ogni caso non si mangia male, le materie prime sono buone e mediamente ben cucinate.

Report
Helpful
AH
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

We had a great evening at Fire restaurant, food was great and the ambiance was great. Will be back for another visit.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear AngieH, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to us in the near future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
I
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It took us four years to eat at FIRE and it was definitely worth the wait. The building itself is beautiful, both inside and out. We were greeted very professionally when we arrived, just before we ordered some pre-lunch drinks made by a very knowledgable barman. The dining area was very impressive as was the service - and the sirloin was quite possibly the best steak I have eaten. We will be returning as soon as we are next in Dublin, as well as also wanting to visit the sister restaurant, SOLE.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Ian8, Thank you sharing your feedback. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. All our meat is locally sourced and are designed by our hard working culinary team. Your kind comments has been passed onto both the front and back of house teams who are more than delighted to receive them. We can't wait to welcome you back to us here in Fire and also in SOLE when your travels brings you back to Dublin Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
MD
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We went for Easter lunch at Fire, it is a very nice place and the service is impeccable. We ordered a beef roast for two, and we got a massive piece of beef with 3 lovely pots with vegetables. The quality of beef was not as great as the look unfortunately, as it was pretty chewy, but it might just have been an unfortunate cut. Pity, as it was expensive, but I would definitely give it another shot.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear MartiDM, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm delighted to see that you had a wonderful time with us but I'm disappointed to see that you did not enjoy the cut of beef. I'd like to apologize if you felt the quality did not meet your expectation as this is something that we do not hear about our Sunday offering. I have passed on your comments to our culinary team who is looking into this further. We hope to see you back with us in the near future Kind Regards Jibin Thomas Rest. Manager

Report
Helpful
MD
Portland
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 3

Everything very nice except we got charged for 2 beets even though we had asked to return the first one of them as the Lime juice used was too overpowering.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear MickD, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
CA
Tampa
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 1Ambience 1

I was meeting an old college friend I haven’t seen in a year. It was the first time I went to Fire and I wouldn’t go back. The food was lovely a little overpriced but the service was annoying. We sat outside on the balcony at 6pm on a sunny evening and it was quiet only two other tables. The waiters I think there was 4 kept coming over and asking us to order. I nicely told the waiter I’d call him when we were ready but that just meant the other ones came over instead. It was very annoying and we felt so rushed we ordered, ate and left. My friend said she wouldn’t go back either. There are plenty of restaurants in Dublin with similar menu so I will just go there instead.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Cathyh, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us.I'd like to sincerely apologize if you felt that you were rushed as this is not how we look after our guests. I hope you will reconsider and join us again in the future. Below are my contact details and should you wish to book again with us,please contact me directly and I'll make the necessary arrangements. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager restaurantmanager@mansionhouse.ie

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

The front of house downstairs, were so pleasant and friendly! But in the restaurant, was a completely different experience, which is a shame!

Report
Helpful
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 April 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Great spot. Was fun. But they didn’t acknowledge my husband’s birthday even though it was all over the notes of the reservation. Others got a song and a mini dessert amenity with a candle in it. Just saying

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant but I'm disappointed to see that your husband's birthday was not acknowledged. I'd like to apologize if this ruined your special evening. I hope this does not deter you from joining us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
j
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 5

Arrived to a lovely door host. Bar completely empty when we arrived, had to wait quite a while to order drinks. Cocktail was horrible and very syrupy. Barman flat and ignored us. Upstairs we waited ages to place our order. The girl who was serving us was clearly new and very under trained. She was very sweet and did her best. Waited over 45mins for our food, we only had mains. Vegetables came out and then we had to wait again for the steak to arrive. Food was good, but certainly not worth the wait. When bill arrived it was incorrect and we had been overcharged. For what was a romantic birthday dinner we left very disappointed.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Jonathanl, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'd like to apologize for your experience and I agree that there was a slight delay of 2 mins for your steak to come out after sides as it was under cooked when our chef on duty inspected it. I do recall that the wait on your mains from the time of ordering was 28 mins as the order was fillet steak cooked medium. I hope this does not deter you from joining us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Rest. Manager

Report
Helpful
AB
Cork
3 reviews
Dined on 16 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It was my friend’s big birthday and I wanted to take her somewhere special to mark the occasion. Great welcome, great and knowledgeable staff and oh wow the best rib-eye (my fave) steak I’ve eaten in Dublin without a doubt and I’ve eaten a lot of steaks in Dublin! Juicy, marbled, cooked to medium perfection! My friend isn’t a dessert eater, I tried and failed but our lovely waitress brought her a lil dessert complete with a happy birthday message written in chocolate and a candle! Perfect touch - thank you so much.

I would recommend Fire for occasions or everyday dining just because of the superb service & food, I’d pay a bit more for this.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear AntoniaB, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant and that we were able to make your friend's birthday a special one. We can't wait to welcome you back to us to celebrate another special occasion. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
KC
New York Area
43 reviews
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food was a little pricey, but was excellent, as was the service we received.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear KellyC, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit with us here at Fire Restaurant & Lounge at the Mansion House. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards, Jibin Thomas Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
s
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 1Food 3Service 1Ambience 2

Quite possibly the worst service I’ve ever received at a restaurant in my life. I had to at multiple times ask the manager to get service at our table. After numerous complaints still got charged full pop. Was shocked that even dessert and/or coffee was comped even after multiple apologies from different managers. A truly disappointing experience all around.

FIRE Restaurant and Lounge
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Suzman, I'd like to apologize for letting you down on this occasion and I can assure that this is not the standard that we strive towards here in Fire Restaurant.It was a once off incident and it is not the norm here in Fire.As i dealt with you personally on the night,I did offer drinks for you and your group in the lounge which you kindly refused. Once again I'd like to sincerely apologize and I hope this does not deter you from joining us in the future. Kind Regards Jibin Rest. Manager

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28