Employees Only

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
125 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$40 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Employees Only Sydney is a New York-style cocktail bar and restaurant in the heart of Sydneys CBD.

Table bookings are available for dinner only from 4 till 9:30pm.

Our extensive late-night dining menu is also available until 2.30am

Please contact us at reservations@employeesonlysyd.com for bookings up to 10 people.

PLEASE NOTE:
MANAGEMENT RESERVE THE RIGHT TO REFUSE ENTRY ON THE DOOR.

Featured special offers

Select a special offer by choosing a date, time and party size

Drinks Only

Dine in
Starting Jun 24, 2020·Wed-Sat 15:00-23:30

Award winning cocktails, with bar food menu available.

Dinner & Drinks

Dine in
Starting Jun 24, 2020·Wed-Sat 15:00-23:30

A la carte menu available until 10:00pm. Late night dining menu available 10:00pm to close. Award winning cocktails available all night.

Offers

Around The World Promotion

Sep 16, 2020-Oct 9, 2020·Wed-Thu 16:00-23:00

Send your taste buds on a round-the-world trip with our new internationally inspired cocktail experience. Enjoy four carefully curated drinks, each paired with a corresponding snack, you’ll be transported by the flavours of far-flung destinations.
Enjoy 4 cocktails for $50 or 4 cocktails and corresponding snacks for $75.

What 125 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.4
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Energetic
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CM
CaitlinM
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing service
The bar tenders were so lovely and created the best vibe for the night

Loved the fact that they all get in on the music and are enjoying themselves just as much as the customers! Makes a big difference for the night

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Caitlin, we get so happy to see customer reviews like this! At EO, our staff really do have as much fun as the customers and we're so glad we could contribute to your Saturday night vibe! We all hope to see you back again and having a good time with us again soon.

Report
KS
KaraS
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A great venue.
Delicious cocktails and great food.
Awesome vibe with entertainment.
My new favourite locale.

Employees Only
Responded a day ago

Hey Kara, thank you so much for your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Banksii and enjoyed the drinks, food and location as much as we do! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
P
Peter
Sydney / NSW
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always a friendly and warm atmosphere, love the place. Highly recommend

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Peter, thanks for the review! We're glad you can always rely on us for providing a nice atmosphere for you, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
KI
KayI
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This is my go to place

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

And Kayl, we're so glad to be! Thanks for the review.

Report
BN
BurdanN
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Always a fun night. Has the worlds smallest ladies toilets.

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi, we're glad you always have a fun night out when you choose to spend it with us! We're sorry our restrooms are on the smaller side! If you have any further feedback for us, please email us at maddison@tropicool.life. Thanks!

Report
C
Cashews
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

Very disappointing food

Nice cocktails
Good service

Dining area bit crowded for covid

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi, first of all we would like to thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed our cocktails and service! However, we are sorry you didn't have the best time during your recent visit to Employees Only. We appreciate your feedback on the crowding as we take the health and safety of our patrons seriously and will make sure this doesn't happen again. If you have any further feedback for us, please email us at maddison@tropicool.life. Thanks!

Report
b
brando
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Cocktails are the best as always, will always be back for the manhattan and steak tartare.

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Brando, we're so happy you always have a great time when you join us at EO! Hope to see you back to serve you that steak tartare and cocktails anytime!

Report
VV
VanjaV
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great venue and atmosphere. Would definitely come back.

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Thanks for the 5 star review!

Report
LF
LeoF
Sydney / NSW
2 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall2Food3Service3Ambience2

Very noisy space. We booked ahead, but because we weren't dining we were forced to sit on very uncomfortable bar stools despite the comfortable dining area being almost empty ( it was 10pm). It lacks the vibe we have come to associate with cocktail bars. We won't be returning.

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Leo, we're sorry to hear about your recent experience with at at EO. We usually pride ourselves on our service so if you have any further feedback for us, please email us at maddison@tropicool.life. We apologise you didn't enjoy your visit, but hopefully we can take any feedback on board and eventually see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review so that we can improve the experience for all our customers.

Report
c
carolineg
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great food and service. Very attentive staff and the cocktails were delicious

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Caroline, we're so happy you enjoyed our menu and service! And our staff can't to whip you up more of those delicious cocktails anytime you wish you join us again.

Report
SJ
SammyJ
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was really lovely. I thought the steak was a little overpriced but everything else was terrific. Service was bang on.

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Sammy, thanks for the feedback! We always try to make sure we take everything on board. We're so pleased that you enjoyed our service and still had a brilliant time with us!

Report
LL
vipLamiaL
Sydney / NSW
6 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing dinner and cocktails!!! Awesome Wednesday night vibe. Highly recommend it. Service and staff are all friendly and very attentive. Will definitely be back!! My fav place

Employees Only
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Lamia, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at Employees Only! We love to see people enjoying our cocktails and food as much as we do! And we can't wait to provide the same service if we're lucky enough to see you in again soon!

Report
ST
SamT
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

Came for the cabaret show but unfortunately missed it as the show started late and our reservation time was ending.

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hi Sam. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you'll visit us again soon and we'll make sure we're running on time!

Report
P
Pauly
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great Food, Great Drinks, Great Service, Great Time

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hey Pauly! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and we're so pleased to hear you had such a great time at EO!

Report
VR
VictorR
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

EMPLOYEES ONLY is reminiscent of one of those 'Mafioso' haunts u see in the movies - it has the entry and impression of a Private Club

Its basement location lends to an ambience of exclusivity and you are made to feel VERY welcome on arrival (squeeze in for a TAROT reading en route to your table - IF u can?!? Its THAT popular)

Service is enthusiastic and attentive - can be found a bit 'wanting' during busy times BUT will always snap to it if you give them a wave

Dining there has a REALLY COOL VIBE.

LOVED the music choices this young DJ brought to the table - but despite writings to the contrary....EMPLOYEES ONLY is definitely NOT a speak easy. Enjoyable nonetheless

COCKTAILS are fun and unique - give the READY FIRE AIM. PINK FLAMINGO and AMELIA a try while DESSERT cannot be enjoyed without an ESPRESSO MARTINI

The MENU certainly sounds impressive but can say with certainty that it is OK. The Gold Laced Steak is certainly tender and succulent whilst the SEAFOOD Linguini is a charm. Servings are not overly generous so best bank on the full 3 courses to ensure u leave satisfied.

DRAG SHOWS are twice nightly at 7:30 and 9:30ish PM - they provide an interesting dramatic pause to your visit and are really over before you get to think whether u enjoyed it or not.

EMPLOYEES ONLY revels in its CBD geographic locale. Its a place you visit for Special Occassions and i will certainly go there again.....just not in a hurry 'cos i need to SAVE UP first

;)

Victor Reyes

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hey Victor! Thank you for your lengthy review and your feedback! It was awesome to read. We're pleased to hear you'll pay us another visit and we'll be sure to take your feedback on board.

Report
KS
KaleeS
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2020
Overall2Food3Service4Ambience2

Nice venue, great service from staff. Food was okay but pricey. The level of the music played all through dinner made any conversation extremely difficult. What could have been a great ambience was ruined by this.

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hi Kalee. Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We'll take it on board in regards to music levels. We hope you'll pay us another visit again soon?

Report
MD
MilankaD
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such a vibe! Loved it. It’s everything Sydney needs.

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Thanks Milanka for the fantastic review!

Report
D
Disappointed
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

I used to go to New York mother ship when I lived there so had a big expectations. The drinks were good but food is basic and service needed improvement. The bathroom design was very disappointing with very small cubicles for so called trendy bar. Also, I saw no social distancing measures were considered in layout of tables.

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hi there. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. Please note, we take all precautions necessary and more to keep our customers and staff safe whilst they are at EO. We take social distancing, along with hygiene requirements very seriously and we can assure you that we are following these procedures to a t. If you do however have any feedback for us, we'd love to chat to your further about it. Please reach out to us a maddison@tropicool.life. Thanks!

Report
LL
vipLamiaL
Sydney / NSW
7 reviews
Dined on 20 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing venue. Best service and food was awesome!!! Golden steak and barramundi was delicious. Cocktails are the best. Can’t wait to be back again. Coolest place in Sydney!!!!

Employees Only
Responded on 1 September 2020

Thanks Lamia for the fantastic review! We hope to see you at Employees Only Sydney again very soon!

Report
TK
TraceyK
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Main courses were outstanding, dessert of passionfruit creme brûlée disappointing.

Ambience great, drink were great.

Would definitely go back but I would have dessert elsewhere

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Tracey. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it! We'll be sure to take your feedback on board. We hope to have you back at EO soon!

Report
JS
JessicaS
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

The prawn pasta was very salty. Other than that very much recommend it

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your feedback, we really appreciate it!

Report
ET
EmmaT
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great bar for post dinner cocktails and a show! will be back!

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks Emma! We're so pleased to hear you had a lovely time at EO!

Report
P
Peter
Sydney / NSW
4 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

excellent as always ........................................

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks for the 5-star review Peter!

Report
LH
LisaH
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Overall great experience. Great venue, cocktails, food and service.

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks for the 5-star review Lisa! We hope to have you back again very soon!

Report
MR
MatthewR
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing bespoke NYC bar in the heart of Sydney CBD. You do not want to go anywhere else it's the best little bar !!

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Matthew! Wow - what a fantastic review! We hope to enjoy a drink with you again soon Matthew!

Report
V
Vanessa
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

We had high expectations, but the food was disappointing, the steak was chewy, the barramundi and the linguini flavourless. The passionfruit creme brûlée was super runny under the sugar crust
The scallops entrée was amazing and the milk chocolate tarte also
The ambiance atmosphere and Cocktails i will probably come back for but not the food sadly

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Vanessa. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and we appreciate your honest review. We will pass your feedback onto the team and will be sure to look into this further. Thanks again Vanessa and we do hope you'll give us another try soon!

Report
CM
ColinM
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and drinks, highly recommend the scallops. Short 2 hour booking time the only issue as experience seemed slightly rushed.

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Colin. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your feedback!

Report
G
Gilli
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Awesome! Entertaining great atmosphere

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks Gilli for taking the time to review us!

Report
AC
AnilC
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Fantastic venue, the service was best I have experienced in Sydney, food and entertainment was fabulous, overall great place to dine with friends and loved ones, most likely will dine there again. Cheers

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Anil. Thanks for the 5-star review! We do hope you and your friends will dine again with us very soon! Cheers Anil!

Report
GS
GeorgiaS
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Amazing food and atmosphere
100% would return and recommend

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hi Georgia. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for the wonderful 5-star review! We hope to have you back at EO again very soon!

Report
D
Daniel
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

One of the top bars in Sydney. Great food and ambience. Chris the bartender and Anisse the waitress were fabulous. Our group didnt have a bad word to say about this place. Would highly recommend

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks Daniel for the wonderful review! We hope to have you back at EO very soon!

Report
CG
CharG
1 review
Dined on 29 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This restaurant is hard to beat. The cocktails are delicious, the food outstanding, service is friendly and the music playlist has you dancing in your seat. Would not recommend highly enough! We will be back.

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Thanks so much for the raving review Char! We hope to have you back at EO very soon!

Report
JB
JBCR
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience3

Dancer was amazing. We only snacked on the menu.. so can’t really judge too much. What let us down was the rude host. He had an attitude when talking to us, also watched him speaking the same way to others.

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hey JBCR. We're really sorry to hear about your recent experience. We'll be sure to take on your feedback and will chat to the team. We'd love it if you gave us another chance. Cheers!

Report
JM
JMac
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2020
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

Nice cocktails but pretentious staff and not much ambience. Won’t be back

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hey JMac. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. If you have any feedback for us, we'd love to hear it and would love to turnaround your experience. Please get in touch with us via our website or socials! Thanks!

Report
JG
JulesG
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This place is a hidden Gem! Food was outstanding and service was great! Will definitely be back!

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Hey Jules! Thanks for the fantastic review! We hope to see you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2020
Overall5Food3Service5Ambience5

We had an amazing evening.
The service and staff are incredible, we didn’t have dinner just drinks but the ambience and vibe was just perfect.

Def would go back and a huge shout out to their staff who were brilliant and caring

Employees Only
Responded on 18 August 2020

Wow what a fantastic review! Thanks so much for your awesome feedback. We hope to have you back at EO soon!

Report
DL
DimitriL
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Bouncer at the front was exceptionally rude. We entered stayed for 5 minutes and left

Employees Only
Responded on 21 July 2020

Hi Dimitri. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience. We will investigate this further. If you have any further feedback, please email maddison@tropicool.life. Thanks Dimitri.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall3Food1Service5Ambience5

Service was lovely - management was kind enough to reseat us when I pointed out that the tables were crammed together. The couple next to us mentioned that they were uncomfortable with us being so close, so our very kind waitress relocated us to a corner.
The ambiance of the restaurant was super-fun, the styling was fabulous, it had a great vibe. The drinks were wonderfully presented.
The food was alright - I had the ceviche, my friend had the seafood pasta - I wouldn’t go back for the food. The ceviche was unbalanced - pure acid, with nothing basic to takeaway from the heavy citrus. The seafood in my friend’s pasta was overcooked and rubbery - but with two meals bringing us close to $60, we ate it. The bread with truffle butter was nice!
Best part of the night was Lily, the psychic, in the booth on the way out! Really generous and such fun!
Overall, go for drinks and the beautiful interior!

Employees Only
Responded on 21 July 2020

Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback. We'll be sure to pass it onto the team and investigate this further. We do hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report
E
Elllie
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

Shocking service, we were sat for almost 30 minutes in the restaurant part before being asked for drinks. Food was very slow to come out (it was a Saturday night) and other tables received their food before us. The gold leaf steak is really nice, however my friends risotto was so salt it was almost unpalatable. The atmosphere is great and the cocktails are very good. The live burlesque is a hit. Would be an incredible venue if the service improved and the food was just that extra bit better. Would recommend for fun drinks but not for a nice meal.

Employees Only
Responded on 21 July 2020

Hi Ellie. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience and we do hope you'll give us another chance. If you have any further feedback, please email us at maddison@tropicool.life. Thanks!

Report
BW
BronwynW
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Would highly recommend employees only. I have been there a few times now

Employees Only
Responded on 21 July 2020

Thank you for the great review!

Report

FAQs

Employees Only is rated 4.4 stars by 125 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.