Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union

4.4
2953 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Good for a Date
Daniel's Broiler-Lake Union features USDA Prime Beef.

Spectacular views of South Lake Union are available from every table and outside waterfront dining is available during warm weather. *Daniel’s Broiler-Lake Union includes a 20% service charge on each guest check. Daniel’s Broiler retains the full service charge and compensates team members in the form of wages, commissions and benefits.

Special Offers

What 2953 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
Food
4.4
Service
4.5
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Quiet
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 2Food 3Service 2Ambience 5

Not our normal experience at Daniel’s.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded a day ago

Hello there, we are so sorry that your trip was disappointing. We would really love to make it up to you. Would you be willing to send us a bit more information, your name, the name on the reservation, and the best way to contact you?

Report
Helpful
BC
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We were seated immediately at a window table as requested. John's service was flawless and the food was absolutely superb. My only suggestion would be to broaden your selection of IPAs. For a restaurant that touts its exceptional selection of wine and spirits, having just one single IPA is nearly criminal behavior in the NW.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded a day ago

Hello Bill, we are so happy to hear you had a great time with us. It's always good to hear from our guests. We do really appreciate your feedback about the IPAs too. We will be sure to pass that on to our team. Hopefully, we have more options before the next time you visit. :) Have a good day.

Report
Helpful
b
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 3

A nice place for a business lunch. Would recommend.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 3 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you have a great day!

Report
Helpful
BB
San Diego
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 3

I very much wanted the prime rib. It was not even 7:00 PM and they were out. Seriously? Explained as...well sometimes we have some left over so we order less. Well, and sometimes you have unhappy customers. The view is great...if you have a window seat. If not...then not worth the premium price.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Blair, we're so sorry to hear that we disappointed you. We're sure it was frustrating to not be able to have the prime rib like you wanted. We have passed your feedback on to our team to adjust things for the future. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the true Daniel's Broiler experience.

Report
Helpful
AF
Seattle
18 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We waited ten minutes to be seated because they were getting a special table ready for us, against the window, and it was worth the wait as the view was absolutely gorgeous.
My NY strip, medium rare, was superb, and I loved the huge, fully-loaded baked potato. Brussels sprouts were perfect. My companion had the Halibut special; it was excellent.
Even the bread, with soft salt-crystals-on-top butter, was delicious.
Service was impeccable.
We had absolutely no disappointments about our experience. Very pleased.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 3 days ago

Hello Allen, thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're happy you had such a great experience and that the special table was worth the wait. We hope to see you and your companion again soon. Have a great day!

Report
Helpful
TK
Portland
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Our entire experience was amazing. The service was impeccable. From the moment we sat down we were saturated with service. We decided to take my husband's cousin from California to dinner at Daniel's because he loves soaking up everything Seattle has to offer. We thought a visit to Lake Union would be perfect. I wish I had my receipt with me so I could acknowledge the server in this review, but she was amazing. From her recommendation for my cocktail, to her genuine interaction with a couple of goofball guys I was dining with. She was spot on with every suggestion, comment and overall service. We started with cocktails and appetizers. We got the seasonal Caprese salad and the cold platter of oysters, Dungeness crab and jumbo shrimp. The seafood was all fresh and so delicious and the presentation was beautiful. Next we had our salads-Caesar, Beet salad and a Wedge. Again, beautiful presentation and so good. And now onto our main course. I ordered the Filet and Lobster, my husband ordered the Delmonico steak and his cousin ordered the Ribeye (well done). Now as much we gave him a hard time for ordering his steak well done, again the server with impeccable sense of customer service recommended he order the steak medium well +. I didn't try any of my husband or his cousins food, but my filet and lobster was to die for. I ordered the Rogue Creamery blue cheese topping and it was so good. The filet was nice and tender, the lobster was a good size and cooked perfectly. The best part was after our feeding frenzy of appetizers, salads and main course, I had leftovers-who has steak and lobster for lunch you ask? This girl! The only negative thing about our whole experience would be my husband didn't do valet parking and we got a ticket in the lot in front of Daniels (frowny face) and I forgot my gift certificate that I had sitting at home. But glass half full me says-"Yeah! We get to go back to Daniel's again!"

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Teresa, thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. It's so great to hear when our guests have such a positive dining experience. It sounds like we'll be seeing you again soon and that you'll remind your husband to use the valet next time. ;) Have a great day!

Report
Helpful
FG
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Marriage dinner was perfect

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 5 days ago

Wow, we are so honored that you chose to have your marriage dinner at our restaurant! We sincerely appreciate your five-star feedback, and we hope to see you back again soon! :)

Report
Helpful
CP
Seattle
7 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Congrats on job interview!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for this perfect score, CharleneP! Have a great rest of your day. :)

Report
Helpful
LC
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

The only poor part was one of the espressos ordered had hair on the cup. A new one was brought to us and maybe it should have been comped. Otherwise the waiter was good and Liam was wonderful and we always had water and dishes removed promptly.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 5 days ago

Hi there, LolaC. We are disappointed to hear that you found a hair on your cup, however we are glad to know that we were able to bring you a new espresso. Thank you so much for letting us know about this and we sincerely appreciate your review! We hope to see you back again soon for a dining experience that will exceed your expectations, so that we can earn that last star. Have a wonderful rest of your day! :)

Report
Helpful
KS
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

I was disappointed as I'd requested a view table because we were celebrating my husband's birthday, and we had never been there. The food was good, but nothing particularly stand-out. The service was a bit slow, and the cheesecake was "gritty" not creamy. For the money, I think we'll stick to The Metropolitan Grill when we want steak.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 5 days ago

Hi there, KarenS. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your dining experience with us fell below your expectations, but we do hope you'll give us another chance in the near future. We'd like to show you the excellent service and food quality that all of our guests should receive when they dine with us. We will be using your feedback to improve and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
7 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Minh was great!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 14 July 2019

Thanks for the review! We're glad you liked your food. :)

Report
Helpful
NR
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Food & service are great, but they keep raising the prices, and have a mandatory 20% gratuity. My last bill was almost $500 for four people. Just getting too expensive to enjoy.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 5 days ago

Hi there, NathanR. We really appreciate you taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us. We do our best to offer competitive wages to our employees, in order to attract top-tier industry talent. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and we will be using your feedback to help us improve.

Report
Helpful
SS
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

With the menu prices overpriced and a 20% service fee to the owners and NOT the servers, it was hard to believe we needed to tip our usual 20% on top. I thought the prices went up to cover wages. The 20% service fees is worded poorly and hard to believe we needed to tip too. Not worth it! Not outstanding service either. Waiter took the valet ticket from us but forgot to give it back showing we paid for it.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded 4 days ago

Hello Susan, we are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience when you visited us. The service charge is distributed to our team members in the form of wages, commissions, and benefits but we understand that this can be frustrating. We would love a chance to make things up to you and to speak to you more directly about this. Can you send us your last name, the name on your reservation, and an email address or phone number to contact you at? Thanks for your feedback.

Report
Helpful
OT
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 4

Had to send my steak back as it was over cooked, wanted to enjoy a steak dinner as my brother was in town sadly we ended up eating at different times ☹️.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 11 July 2019

Hello, we are sorry that our steaks were disappointing during your visit, especially, with your brother being in town. Thanks for letting us know. We hope we can make this up to you on your next visit.

Report
Helpful
p
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 9 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Still our favorite place to eat, but the furniture is starting to show its age.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 10 July 2019

Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing this valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your review and we will be using this information to help us improve. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 9 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Best place to grab lunch when in the area.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 9 July 2019

Hi there! We're so glad you chose to leave us this five-star feedback. We hope you'll be grabbing lunch with us again very soon! :)

Report
Helpful
j
San Francisco
15 reviews
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great service fantastic food

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 10 July 2019

Hi there! Thank you so very much for your kind words. Both superior service and food are highly important to us, so we're very glad that this was your experience. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope you have a great day!

Report
Helpful
CO
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 3

I felt that our waiter was not very communicative with us, nor did he have rhythm with kitchen. There were many things that were disappointing. The prices have increased at this restaurant over the past 6 months and I do not feel it is worth the money at all especially because the tip is automatically added to the bill. ;o(

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 10 July 2019

Hi there, Conniel. First, we'd like to thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We'd also like to apologize that your experience this time around fell below your expectations. This is not the kind of impression we want to leave with any of our guests, and we really hope you'll give us another chance. Next time around, we'd like to show you the exceptional dining experience you should always receive when you dine with us.

Report
Helpful
d
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great place to go for special occasions. Prices high and mandatory 20% tip. I would have tipped 20% as service was so good.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 10 July 2019

Hey there! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your service as well as your entire experience at our restaurant. Thank you so much for this kind feedback. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report
Helpful
JB
Seattle
6 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Fabulous dinner from start to finish!
Would recommend for a special night out to celebrate...

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 9 July 2019

Hey there, JayB! We sincerely appreciate your kind words. We are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time at our restaurant, and we'll definitely be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks so much for sharing your review with us!

Report
Helpful
M
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 1Ambience 4

Our waiter was not the friendliest , I think the fact the gratuity is already added has to do with it . They don’t try as hard to go above and beyond . He did not check on us for refills, he did not get our order right , and got a attitude when we asked for bread . It was a beautiful view but for the price the food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
GM
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Lovely food and very attentive service.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 6 July 2019

Thanks for the review, Gavin. We're glad to hear your enjoyed your visit. Come back anytime.

Report
Helpful
LL
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 2

Average at best. Requested a window view w the understanding that may not happen however we were wedges in between 2 very large and loud parties while having a crappy view. For 3 of use the nil was over 400.00 and the food; especially the lobster; wasn’t anything special. Been to Daniels 3 other times w the same food and ambiencee experience and we won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
MJ
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

I would recommend Daniel’s for its ambiance, perhaps for a special occasion or out of town guests. Food quality is good but overpriced. Service was acceptable, nothing exceptional.

Report
Helpful
g
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 4

On vacation, we booked dinner in order to enjoy the July 4th fireworks at Lake Union, a 9:30 reservation. The food was good and perfectly made to order. We had crab cakes, king salmon and grass fed filet. The best was a Brussels sprouts side, because it was the only dish that came out hot, since they forgot it with the main course.

The craziness of trying to serve in a timely manner with the fireworks, and so busy, resulted in long wait times for courses and our main course was barely warm. Some other diners seemed to be served in a timely manner, but it was hit or miss. They even had expediters but it wasn't very effective, as the young ladies stood there, not very attentive. It was at least 50 minutes between the appetizers and main course. The restaurant did cut a bit off our bill and apologized for the delay and the not hot food. (There was also a need for a Heimlich for a choking patron, so we were understanding about that, but this happened after an already long wait.)

Fireworks view from south side of lake was good, but a bit far off. We’ve seen better: in Houston for example, we were closer, could hear the synchronized music, and the display was more dramatic especially at the end.

Transportation: easy to get there from University District with carshare, but the return was challenging. Although we left at least an hour after the fireworks were over, the traffic was still insane. Uber was $30; it took the driver 15 min to get to us and he was quite close.

Bottom line, this is probably a great restaurant, with very high prices, and normally worth it. Our kids recommended it, as it’s on their list of favorites in Seattle. But we won’t be returning on a holiday.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 6 July 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that the service was so slow during your visit. Even on a holiday, that shouldn't be the case. We always want our guests to have the best experience possible. Hopefully, we can make it up to you if you do have chance to come by again.

Report
Helpful
LK
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent 4th of July dinner and fireworks!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 7 July 2019

Thanks for the review! We're glad you had a great 4th of July. :)

Report
Helpful
M
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Anniversary

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 9 July 2019

Thanks so much for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! We hope to see you again soon and we appreciate your review!

Report
Helpful
R
Seattle
36 reviews
Dined on 2 July 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

One of our goto restaurants in Seattle. Everything about our visit was excellent. Thanks All!!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 4 July 2019

Thank you, Russell! We're always glad to see you and really appreciate you leaving this review. Happy 4th of July!

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

It was a wonderful. No long wait really nice staff and very tasty food. I loved how they actually made sur that our steaks were cooked to desire. It was my gf's sisters first time to America and she had never had "real steak" you guys left a good impression on her. The oysters were great too. Thanks again.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hey there, Azaryah! Wow, we are so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely and memorable experience at our restaurant. We truly look forward to creating more wonderful memories with you in the near future. Thanks for dining with us and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Report
Helpful
DW
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Very nice meal. Kevin our server was very attentive without being a bother. The only problem was the self righteous millennial woman with the foul mouth sitting behind me.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hi there, DanielW! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We really appreciate the five stars and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report
Helpful
R
Seattle
2 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent restaurant, great service, and a nice view of Lake Union. We celebrated my wife's birthday by sharing our steak and salmon entrees with each other, and we finished by sharing a piece of delicious carrot cake. Great meal!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hi there! We are so happy to know that you were able to enjoy your dining experience with us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and your dessert, and we'll be looking forward to hopefully seeing you back again very soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent service and food!

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We really appreciate your kind review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your day!

Report
Helpful
b
Seattle
7 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

I found my steak to be a bit tough but probably my fault since I ordered medium-well. The flavor was good, though. Next time will back off one notch on how done I order my steak.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hi there, bass. Thank you so very much for sharing these details with us about your experience. We're glad to hear that the flavor of your steak was good, but we hope to get it perfectly to your liking next time around. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
Helpful
ME
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 4Ambience 4

Unfortunately, the food at Daniels was disappointing. Our appetizers and main entree were luke warm.
The restaurant was not overly busy. For the money paid for the meal, I expected the steak and potatoes to be hot when served.
As it was a special occasion we decided not to complain and ruin the mood at the restaurant. We choose Daniels based on the reputation, location and ambiance. Unfortunately the most expensive part of the evening, the food, was very disappointing.
Our server was pleasant, however, our plates remained on the table longer that they should have, again, given the restaurant was not that busy.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hi there, MicheleE. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We are quite disappointed to hear that your dining experience fell below our own standards, and we'd love a chance to look into this further, so that we can hopefully make this experience up to you. Will you please respond with the name on your reservation, so that we can reach out to you directly? We hope to hear from you soon and again, we truly value your feedback.

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 2Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

We went to Daniel’s for our anniversary. Unfortunately, we didn’t receive the best service. We felt like our waiter was inattentive and not interested in our experience. We planned to order wine with our meals but never received a chance. My husband’s steak was more well-done than he liked on recommendation by the waiter. On the other hand, my meal was quite delicious.
Overall, we were disappointed because we have enjoyed previous visits to Daniel’s but felt like it missed the mark for our anniversary celebration this year. Too be honest, we felt a bit out of place dining at Daniel’s and the experience was not my favorite. We think it may have been because we looked possibly “too young” and out of our element.

Report
Helpful
N
Seattle
7 reviews
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Three of us in the group had steak. It was arguably the best steak house in seattle, or at least in SLU area. The ambience is upscale, the view is breathtaking and the service is very professional and friendly. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner, for a celebration, or a business dinner, etc.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 3 July 2019

Hi there, Nandi! We truly appreciate this excellent review! It feels so great to know that you enjoyed your steak so much and that you received top-notch service during your visit. This is exactly the kind of impression we want all of our guests to leave with. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report
Helpful
CM
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great steaks1 Kevin was our server who provided great service.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 26 June 2019

Hi there, CleveM! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you had a wonderful dining experience with Kevin as your server. We will be sure to pass this information along, and we do hope you'll return to dine with us again soon! Have a great day.

Report
Helpful
T
Seattle
10 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Stopped in for a late dinner. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. She had great suggestions to support a special diet that turned out perfectly. Timing, attention and preparation were spot on. Steak and Halibut were cooked perfectly. This was a much better experience than we had at Daniels downtown. Forced gratuity was earned with great service this time.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 26 June 2019

Hi there! Thank you so much for this excellent feedback! We are quite pleased to know that you had such an amazing dining experience--this is the kind of service we aim to provide for each of our guests every single day. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and we hope you'll return for more wonderful experiences in the future! Have a great rest of your day.

Report
Helpful
SB
Seattle
16 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The location was fabulous and the food was 5-star top notch. I’m glad there was some prime rib available. The meat was so tender you could almost cut it with a fork. And So flavorful. We dined at 6PM on Saturday and didn’t have to wait. We sat at a table by the window overlooking Lake Union and it was gorgeous.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 26 June 2019

Hi there, SnorkBeetle! We really appreciate this excellent feedback. We are so pleased to know that your prime rib was cooked exactly to your liking and that you enjoyed the gorgeous views at our restaurant. Thank you for your review and we'll definitely be looking forward to your next visit!

Report
Helpful
OT
Denver
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 4Ambience 2

We had a date night at Daniels Lake Union this past weekend and the food was terrible. The bread was really really dry and the food overall was just bleh!? Nothing that’s says Daniels. Pretty sad.

Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union
Responded on 26 June 2019

Hi there. We sincerely apologize that the food quality you received during this visit was not up to par with what you've come to expect from us. We'd really appreciate the opportunity to make this experience up to you, if possible. Will you please respond with the name on your reservation, date of your visit and your preferred method of contact? We hope to hear from you soon and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. Have a great day!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
74

Tweets by Daniel's Broiler - Lake Union