Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River

3.1
23 reviews
$40 and under
Modern Australian
Welcome to Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River; Home to our Western Brewery, Events and Unique hand crafted beers. Margaret River is the special corner of the world in which our beer story began. Known for its relaxed lifestyle, beaches and scenic views, the brewery is a place to share a piece of our story. Enjoy Beers, Pizza and a little hit of Golf.
What 23 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.1based on recent ratings
3.1
Food
3.1
Service
3.6
Ambience
3.1
Value
Noise · Energetic
52% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MD
MarcellaD
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience3

Food was very bad. Poor quality. The only good point is the playground.

JO
JOANNEO
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such a great family spot, great food, service and beer 🍺 We especially loved the golf range and the kids play area 😁

J
Jules
1 review
Dined on 9 January 2021
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience3

Staff not very bothered or courteous. The food was not enjoyed by any of our table of 14. Very basic taste or not well balanced. With all the outstanding food in other breweries this was a dissapointment. Nice space but will not return. Sorry!

ED
EricaD
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2021
Overall2Food3Service2Ambience4

Did not like the fact the only option to pay is PayPass and for using it you get surcharged, not fair on customers. Service is poor have to line up to order food and re line up to order drinks. Menu selection is poor, not many options. No cold water l, self filling tap water.

JW
JWard
1 review
Dined on 7 January 2021
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience3

The chicken burger was not good. Hard, leathery taste and brown meat - I could only eat 1 bite

BA
BethA
1 review
Dined on 6 January 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience2

10 minute wait to be seated even though table booked in advance. 10 minute queue to place food order. Then five minutes to queue for a drink. Disturbed to see a food order delivered to a an unoccupied table. Blowflies crawled over chips and pizza until patrons returned to seats after a few minutes. Several staff walked past and did nothing. So unaware of how long their food had been sitting there it was eaten. Gross. Most certainly killed our appetites. No cups available at self serve water station. Had planned to settle in the arvo but bailed after first drink. Disappointed as we loved every other brewery we visited.

a
alexp
1 review
Dined on 6 January 2021
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience4

When we arrived we were greeted but this actually felt like we were being briefed. The staff, although nice, were only concerned about the functionality of the day ensuring we knew where and where not to order food.

The menu was very minimal with not many options. Pizza was a disappointment.

We always enjoy it for the kids as they have a good time. Other than this, it was an ok experience.

FF
FFWA
Perth
1 review
Dined on 5 January 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

Great family friendly venue. Lots of shade and big picnic tables that not close to other guests unlike another beer venue we went to on the previous day and we were jammed in like sardines !

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 5 January 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Amazing burgers and really hot jalapeño poppers would definitely go again.
beer is also amazing as you come to expect from colonial

MQ
MatthewQ
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2021
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Great place for families. A few seasonable beers on the drinks menu is needed to supplement the stable of regular beers.

D
Dizko
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2021
Overall2Food4Service1Ambience2

No internet/wifi to access table ordering system. Poor service made by staff when showing to table and advising on ordering/beer selection etc. Play ground not too bad and shaded a plus. Plenty of breweries starting to pop up and I feel this one will be left alone if it doesn't step up.

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Hello Dizko Thanks for your feedback, the ME&U ordering system was not in use during your visit which is why you were not able to access it. We have limited 4G reception at the venue and the local network was crashing due to the increased volume of signal traffic in the area over xmas. Apologies if your host didn't clearly explain the ordering process while you were being seated.

Report
SZ
SuzieZ
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2021
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience2

The food was terrible!
We ordered the burgers from the van & they were yuk, the pasta salad was too heavy to eat with burger... how about slaw instead?
Ordered 2 baskets of chips... I think they forgot the chips? It was covered in salt that no one could actually eat them... $20 in the bin!
It was quite so that was great which is why we picked New Year’s Day otherwise it’s far too busy.
Wait staff were miserable, drinks were slow.
What an experience & glad to say our 3 families will never be back as everyone hated it!

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Hello Suzi Thanks for the feedback, the food truck was operated by an independant operator. We will pass on your feedback to them. Apologies if the staff seemed tired, The entire SW region is experiencing a massive labour shortage due to COVID. The week you visited was one of our busiest ever and the staff were run off their feet. We will make sure more coffee is available to them before your next visit. Cheers CBCo

Report
NS
NattyS
Perth
3 reviews
Dined on 1 January 2021
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

Improved a lot since there last time! Food truck great for meals for kids! Play ground is perfect

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Thanks for the review Natty!! Cheers CBCo

Report
KP
KateP
1 review
Dined on 30 December 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love Colonial - great beer, delicious food, awesome atmosphere and friendly staff.

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Thanks for the positive feedback Kate, its has been a hectic summer so far!

Report
KM
KymM
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2020
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

All the outdoor activities like golf in the water were removed on visit. Our drinks and food orders got mixed up. Staff seemed overwhelmed and rushed. Big queue to get in despite booking. Music was good and playground was fine. No fans or sprayers in under cover outdoor area so very hot and sweaty on a hot day. We won’t be visiting again for awhile. Not what it used to be

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Hello Kym Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Yes, there have been long ques to get into the venue, the COVID register is adding a significant amount of time to the guest check in. We are doing our best to get everyone seated in the quickest time possible. We have recently installed 500sqm of shadesail over the beer garden we do our best to keep the tables in the shade during lunch service.

Report
RF
RonF
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great casual vibe, numerous bars but you had to go to main bar for soft drinks which they could inform you before seating you. We lined up at one bar outside to order drinks and were told only alcoholic drinks from that bar and then line up as second time for soft drinks.

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 4 January 2021

Thanks for the support Ron!

Report
BJ
BarryJ
1 review
Dined on 26 December 2020
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience3

Servings of food very small....
Waited for ever to use the driving range.

OS
OShort
1 review
Dined on 20 December 2020
Overall1Food5Service1Ambience2

The staff were very rude to me and my friends and the tables were never cleaned and rubbish left everywhere. Not a very nice day to have gone

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 24 December 2020

Hello OSHort, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the brewery. Firstly let me apologise that your visit didn't live up to expectations. We take customer service seriously and have counselled the bar staff working that shift. Its also disapointing to hear that the beer garden was not maintained to our usual standards. We have installed more bins in the beer garden to deal with the increased foot traffic during this coming peak season Eamon Clifford CBCo

Report
JM
JMill
1 review
Dined on 19 December 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great outdoor atmosphere, easy place to take kids.

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 24 December 2020

Thanks for the great review! Merry Xmas CBCo

Report
HA
HeidiA
1 review
Dined on 16 December 2020
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

Food was not great or what menu stated. Would not go again.

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River
Responded on 24 December 2020

Hello Heidi Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us. Which dish in particular were you not satisfied with? Did you talk to a manager on the day to voice your concerns? We take our jobs seriously and will always try to fix any issues on the spot to ensure everyone that heads to the brewery leaves with a smile on their face. Once I receive your feedback on the dish(es) I will pass your feedback on to the kitchen team. Best regards, Eamon Clifford Venue Manager

Report
OG
OliviaG
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience2

The food was very disappointing. Won't be going here again

R
Rebecca
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall2Food3Service2Ambience3

Food portions were so small for the price we paid. Very disappointed

C
Clint
1 review
Dined on 5 December 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Beers are developed so that they are now wins with every tap.

FAQs

Colonial Brewing Co. Margaret River is rated 3.1 stars by 23 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.