Chowder Pot IV
Get it delivered
Faye was our server. She was very friendly, courteous, and professional.
She brought our food out in a timely manner. The food is always delicious at the Chowder Pot. Thanks.
Service was great , food as usual was great and served in a timely manner
Perfect place to celebrate a birthday like we did. The food is excellent and service is prompt and professional. We were well accommodated for a 50th bday party of 12..... thanks again
Good relaxed family atmosphere.
Love the lobster tails and the strawberry daiquiris
Eh at best
Great service and value, even though it was part of the CT Eats Promo, they didn’t skimp on food or service. Definitely going back!
The appearance was not nice when entering the parking lot and the food was not fresh and had no taste
Food was fantastic, great value for the price. Will definitely return
Great food and great service. The staff is always so friendly and attentive and the food is always delicious.
I hadn't been there in years and decided to see if the quality of the food had changed. It hadn't. I was surprised that I really enjoyed my meal, although the cole slaw was a little too sweet and watery. I had a baked stuffed shrimp casserole that was very good.
Waiter was great for our large party He was very accommodating
Good food and plenty of it at a reasonable price. Normally a short wait to be seated. Our server was not as attentive as we'd have liked. But overall a nice night out.
Very poor service. Seated at 6:15 and took 45 minutes to finally get first drink. This location needs a full rehab as looks the same as 20 plus yrs ago. Food was average at best but at least not overpriced. Back in the 1980s and 1990s the Branford location was a go to family seafood restaurant on the shore. Wow how times have changed!
Winny, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied. Did you dine at the Chowder Pot in Hartford? You mention the Branford location which we are no longer connected to. If you would be willing to help clarify this it would be greatly appreciated. Please call us at 860-244-3311 and ask to speak to a manager. Sincerely, The Chowder Pot of Hartford
Service was less than adequate. Server was pleasant but not very attentive. Some of the order was wrong but corrected. Food really not up to expectations. Seated on time for our reservation which was at 7p reservation.
We still had to wait for awhile. The waitress barely spoke to us. The food was very good and plentiful. I usually order the seafood , but the last two times I hand the burger. It was huge. The décor is outdated, but truthfully , I don't mind. I wish they at least had a paper bag for leftovers, since CT. does changed their law about plastic.
Clam strips were substantial and tender. Scallops were also delicious. Prime rib was perfect.
We have rediscovered Chowder Pot after many years absence- Have a couple favorite meals.. prime rib for me (I know it's seafood restaurant..) and baked stuffed shrimp for dining partner. We can't seem to branch out! Both are excellent. Service has always been very good with nice personable staff every time. We will continue to go when we get our cravings!
The service was slow even after making/holding a table. Party of 10 arrived on time waited 20 mins. before being seated. Appetizers were served but the waitress wanted to wait before taking the Entree order. Someone had to leave the table to ask how much longer we needed to wait for our entree.
We had reservations, but still had quite a wait being Valentine's day. Service was poor, the waitress was seemingly overwhelmed. We had to call out to her over and over in order to get any service. Never received water, the waitress never checked in on us. By the time we did get our food, it was so late, that we just took it to go. Normally this is a good place, just a really bad visit this time.
The restaurant itself is nice place but the service was horrendous. We went there for Valentine's day and we realize that it was busy but the other waitresses were keeping up with all their tables. We saw our waitress when she took the order and when she brought the food and when she brought the check. She didn't give us straws and when we asked for them she nodded her head yes and never brought them, we got our straws from the waitress that was serving another table, who my I say she was doing an awesome job. We also asked for steak sauce and she didn't bring that back either. She was more focused on the table with multiple people and completely forgot us. The last time I had gone to the chowder pot was over 20yrs ago but I will never go back.
Amazing server. Awesome drinks even though they seem a bit weak and amazing food.
The service was slow. The food arrived cold and didn't taste as expected! The dining experience was not good and the price too high!
I had not been to Chowder Pot in many years. I remember the food being delicious and the portions being plentiful. I returned to Chowder Pot this week and, unfortunately, left disappointed. My dinner companion ordered the Seafood Imperial (dinner portion) and we were both surprised at how small the portion was...if that was the "dinner portion", what was the "lighter fare portion" like? The dish tasted good, but for the price charged...not worth it! I ordered fish and chips and it was served on a smaller sized dinner plate, which I assume was to make the disappointing portion look more plentiful. I was using a gift card that I received as a birthday present, so I didn't feel to bad about the whole experience. But I will not be returning.
Elena, Thank you for coming back after many years and taking the time to do a review. Glad you were happy with the quality of the food. Over the years prices have gone up as should be expected, but the seafood imperial and fish & chips portion has not changed. Sorry you were not completely satisfied with the experience and to hear you will not be returning. If there is anything more we could do please call us at 8760-244-3311 and speak with a manager. Sincerely, The Chowder Pot
Been here many times over the years but this was our last.
The new management is awful:
We were greeted promptly and appetizers came out in good condition but it was downhill from there.
Salads came out at same time as main course which was over cooked meats and partially cold. The lobster was perfect but the rest, no so much.
Quality of the beef isn’t what it used to be, they were out of prime rib (poor planning), waitress kept forgetting our drink refills and rarely came by the table... mind you, it was a Sunday night, the place was dead - maybe 2 other sets of customers in the whole place.
All severs AND the manager were chit-chatting around the bar the whole time we were there.
Serious delays in main course, drinks and sides getting to our table.
My wife almost lost her mind!
The only thing stopping her from it was my telling her that I just wanted a peaceful birthday dinner.
The place was a bad choice, so we won’t be back again.
Phil, Thank you for visiting and taking the time to fill out a review. Sorry to hear you were unhappy. Would likle to hear more about your visit, was anything done to correct the mistakes we made, did you speak with a manager, etc? If you would be willing to call 860-244-3311 and speak with a manager it would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, The Chowder Pot
This was one of my mother’s favorite places to dine so it was only fitting to stop in while visiting Hartford. From the salad with the scrumptious Gorgonzola dressing to the main entree everything was delicious. We were not disappointed and had plenty to take home for lunch the next day.
Made RSVP for 845. We didn't get seated until 945. Unacceptable
Normally we always have a good experience but was disappointed this particular night, you were out of prime rib and rib eyes. It was only 7:15 on a Saturday night.
The Seafood Imperial is delicious. Second time I ordered it this year - both superb. We had the stuffed mushroom appetizer which was very good but not quite as good as the last time. I wish they would give you 6 instead of 5 so more easily shared - one more for the same price would also be a better value.
Hostess sat us away from a loud table which allowed them and us to enjoy our conversations.
I like the 1/2 or full carafe options versus the glass.
Waitress could have been a bit more attentive to water glasses but otherwise pleasant and good service.
Normally we have a great experience but this was not the case this last time. Our waitress was flustered. She spilled our wine when giving them to us, rushed our appetizers and then waited 20 mins to come back and get our food order after we had eaten our appetizer. She almost spilled my dinner on me, and forgot a sauce or something because our lazy crab casserole was so dry. There were also shells in that and our lobster bisque so someone was careful at prep time. She gave us the wrong check and it took forever to get a new one, and then we had to flag a passing hostess to pay because our waitress was no where to be seen. She had also spilled a tray of food when she was cleaning a nearby table and food was everywhere. We saw 3 people cleaning the mess and no one wiped the railing that was covered in food. We flagged a random waitress to let her know and she cleaned it right away. This was after it had been there for 15 mins. Honestly it was a very depressing lunch out. I’ve never had a bad experience before but this was just ridiculous.
Terribly disappointed in our most recent experience. We were seated in a back room that looked like a cafeteria and was freezing cold. I had to eat dinner with my coat on. I have cancer and had asked for a table in the main dining room, which was denied. Our food was served cold, and it was greasy. The only halfway bright spot was a friendly waitress, but she was very overworked. We are regular customers, and the treatment we received was very unacceptable!
Anonymous, Sorry you were not happy with your most recent visit. You sat in the Admiral's room which we use on busy days when the main room is full to help keep the wait times at a minimum. Saturday was very busy with the Taste of Hartford promotion we had going on. We would like to hear more about your visit, if anything was done to address the issues you had while you where here. If you can call 860-244-3311 and speak to a manager it will be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, The Chowder Pot
Very loud. Food was fine. Nicely flavored
Went for my boyfriends birthday during restaurant week. We both got the lobster bisque which was outstanding, the homemade bread was incredible, and the raw oysters were very good. For our entrees we both got the stuffed lobster which was okay. We didn’t know what to expect but the lobster comes with a lot of stuffing. The stuffing was good but I prefer steamed lobster with some lemon and maybe butter over it. Would return to try more!
The food is excellent. The service is a bit slow. Call for a reservation because ways busy.
The cheesecake topping should have been real strawberries.
Bigger chunks of crab in casserole would be better than shredded pieces.
Too much butter in the baked stuffed shrimp dish.
Ran out of squash.
Everything else was very good.
Love chowder pot. It’s even better during Taste of Hartford or on a Why not Wednesday
I drove 32 miles to have dinner there and it was well worth it. Food was excellent and our server Ashley was superb.
I always love the bread, it is warm and buttery and the best around. I had the fried clams and this time they were not meaty. But they gave me a lot. It was my fault I didn't say anything. We had the onion rings they were good. They were busy and the waitress was hard working. The hostess that always seems to be there at lunch is also the best hostess ever. I should tell her next time. .. a Tall blonde with a white sweater.
I will be back. Impressed with large menu, but I seem to always get the clams.
Had the lobster mac and cheese. Yummy
Always a great meal at Chowder Pot! Lots of food and reasonable prices!