Birdcage Bistro & Bar

4.7
16 reviews
$40 and under
Tapas / Small Plates

Top tags:

Casual
Indulge in classic and signature cocktail creations by resident mixologist and manager, Ms Ali.
Sample our bespoke wine list created for our Main Beach Village community by renowned sommelier and wine merchant, Mr Darren Davis.

Let us take your taste buds on a journey across the continents from the Mediterranean to the Orient. Satiate in the creative cuisine of sharing plates by Master Chef Jay Soon.
What 16 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
Food
4.6
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.4
Value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
KY
KarenY
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing new bar restaurant didn’t disappoint! We will be back regularly!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely food and atmosphere. Very friendly service

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Wonderful food and service

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon

Report
AJ
AndrewJ
1 review
Dined on 1 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Just what Tedder was missing. Fine dining food, small plates sharing. Great menu and excellent wine list at reasonable prices. Service was great and ambience nicely intimate.
Acoustics could be improved as a bit too loud.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Andrew, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! As a new venue seeing feedback like this really makes it all worth it! And we agree with you on the accoustics, and we are working with a sound engineer to find a solution to rectify this. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report
SC
SteveC
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing, great service and brilliant food, thoroughly recommend

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Steve, thank you so much for your review! We can't wait to see you again

Report
KH
KathyH
2 reviews
Dined on 27 May 2021
Overall5Food4Service3Ambience5

We loved it overall. like the feel of the place very much. the manager is warm, friendly and welcoming. Two of the dishes we had were delicious taste sensations.
Our waitress let the side down. Not overlay friendly didn't not know the menu and when asked a question about one of the dishes and rather than say she would check she sad she didn't know and that was as much as she was prepared to do.
she then took our order for the third dish down wrong.
Apart from that we will be back.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Kathy, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your food and our fantastic manager, Ali. We do appologise that your experience with your waitress was not up to scratch, as a new venue, we are still ironing out some kinks, which we hope should be rectified with on-going staff training. This is definitley something we are committed to continually working on, and we are very happy to hear that it does not deter you from coming back.

Report
MP
MichaelP
2 reviews
Dined on 25 May 2021
Overall2Food3Service2Ambience4

The waitress was very pushy, at our elbow constantly which became extremely annoying.
We were early for our booking and knew we had at least a 2 hour window to enjoy our dinner. It just seemed like she wanted us to eat and leave. Not a pleasant experience.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Michael, we are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a pleasant one. Our intention for every guests is that they enjoy their dining experience, and don't feel rushed... your comfort and experience is our priority. We do take all feedback onbaord as opportunity to continually learn and improve, so please be assured that this will be addressed with the team in staff training. As a new venue, we do hope you give us another opportunity to give you a 5 star experience.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
3 reviews
Dined on 23 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was amazing! Really enjoyed being able to choose small plates with wonderful different tastes and flavours

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Thanks so much for your review. We spent a lot time getting the menu perfect, and we are glad to see that people are appreciating the share plate style. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Report
ML
MadonnaLeahFoodLover2021
1 review
Dined on 23 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wow! Absolutely loved this beautiful restaurant Birdcage! Intimate and eclectic setting, outstanding food and service. What a refreshing dining experience that takes me back to the best of the best. We’re coming back soon!
Thank you.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Madonna, that you so much for your amazing review. The whole team have worked so hard over the past few month perfect all the details, from the fit-out to the menu to the cocktails, so it makes us truly happy to see that being appreciated. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report
TL
TerriL
3 reviews
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

At last something new and trendy for Teddar Ave

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Terri, thank you for the feedback. We have worked very hard getting every aspect just right, so it is great to see that being aprreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report
TM
TheMavs
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

As Main Beach locals, we were excited to have a new restaurant open in Tedder Ave. My husband and I booked for dinner with another couple. Birdcage Bar and Bistro exceeded our expectations...the food and service was excellent, and the cocktails were even more delightful! Ali, the Manager was so welcoming and Emily, our waitress, was very knowledgeable on all the food and made wonderful recommendations. Loved having share plates with our friends which took our tastebuds on an exotic journey from East to West. Already have some favourites that we'll be going back for, but so many other options on the innovative and creative menu. Highly recommended!

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

WOW! Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We are absolutely loving being on Tedder and getting to know all the amazing locals such as yourselves, we are really starting to feel like part of the community. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Ali, Emily, and the Chef, who will all be thrilled to see that they made your experience so enjoyable. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon, and if you haven't already tried it, I would highly recommend the Ćevapi.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fun, relaxed, our second time there will be back

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon for your 3rd visit!

Report
JL
JulieL
London
2 reviews
Dined on 20 May 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Food excellent, so tasty and fresh service excellent, however the noise level is high, acoustics need attention.
Whilst a surcharge on public holidays is acceptable on weekends not so.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 4 June 2021

Hi Julie, thank you, we certainly value all feedback, and can agree that acoustics need some work, we are working with a sound engineer trying to rectify this issue as soon as possible. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and the fresh produce. As for the surcharge, please know that this charge is not for us to make a profit but contributes towards additional operating costs incurred on weekends such as increased staff wages. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report
I
Irsandvam
1 review
Dined on 15 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

The food was enjoyable. The ambiance and service nice enough however, the seating includes stools. Not comfortable at all.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 18 May 2021

Thank you for coming out to support us in our opening week, and taking the time to leave feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the food and service. We did try to find alternate chairs, but given the size of the venue high back chairs unfortunately just weren't a feasible option. Thank you again for your support and we hope to see you again soon

Report
L
Lani
1 review
Dined on 12 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely delicious share plates. Generous servings and gorgeous presentation.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 18 May 2021

Hi Lani, thank you so much for coming out to support us in our opening week. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed the food and the presentation. Our Chef's spent a considerable amount of time planning the menu and perfecting the presentation, so it wonderful to see it being appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report
JM
JennyM
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 11 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Can highly recommend this restaurant. The food was wonderful, the service fantastic and the ambience great. Will certainly be going back there.

Birdcage Bistro & Bar
Responded on 18 May 2021

Hi Jenny, thank you so much for coming out to support us in our opening week, your patronage means the world to us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report

FAQs

Birdcage Bistro & Bar is rated 4.7 stars by 16 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.