Best Girl - Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Wine Down Wednesdays
Enjoy 20% off all wine bottles from our list!
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: 30 July 2019
Ends: 31 July 2118
Availability: Wed 17:00-22:00
Free Corkage Mondays
Join us for dinner on Monday and BYOW!
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: 24 July 2019
Ends: 25 July 2118
Availability: Mon 17:00-22:00
Saw this trending online and just had to check it out. I had the fish sandwich and my bestie chose the burger and we both enjoyed our meal very much along with the great customer service, we look forward to returning very soon.
Nice place... better than Zinqué! We only got desserts but even better after the concert!
Cool space. Food and drinks were pretty good. Service wasn’t bad but nothing impressive. Overall we had an enjoyable time. Tables upstairs are tiny. We had to keep water bottle and bottles of wine on the floor next to our table to provide room for our plates.
The food on New Years Eve was absolutely amazing. The server was extremely accommodating to special orders. We couldn't be happier with the dining experience.
Hi Tracy, Thank you so much! We're so pleased that you chose us to celebrate NYE at. We know how big of a decision that can be! So happy to hear that you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
Our New Year’s tradition is to have dinner at Best Girl before a show. The best way to end and begin a New Year!!! Amazing dining experience. Staff is wonderful.
Thanks so much for the kind words. We're absolutely flattered to be part of your NYE tradition. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
Fun place for brunch. Great food and yummy cocktails.
Thanks so much for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again soon, Brett General Manager
The lady which brought us the dood was very nice. Very service oriented
Hi Michael, Thanks so much for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
The food is always amazing and though the staff are nice they have know professional restaurant experience or training. I’ve been there thrice. They’re way too laxed and spill cocktails upon landing. But the kitchen esp the patisserie chef is amazing.
Thanks for the review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoy the food but I'm sorry that there was an issue with the service. Spills do happen from time to time even to the best trained folks. Hopefully we were able to take care of any cleaning expenses you may have incurred from this. I'll send you my contact information now as I'd love to follow up. Cheers, Brett General Manager
Great time, and great food!
Thanks so much! We appreciate you choosing to spend your holiday with us. Cheers, Brett General Manager
The food was just not good. Noodles in the pasta were not cooked properly
Hi Ramon, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. I'm going to send you my contact info separately. I'd love to hear more about your experience and hopefully invite you back in sometime soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Awesome food and service
Thanks so much! We're thrilled you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you back soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Date night for me and my husband, before Anita Baker concert at Staples Center
Thanks for joining us before the show, hope it was great. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Our baked eggs were overcooked and the server never checked in. Sad to say this was sub par!
Hi Lara, I'm so sorry to hear that your eggs weren't cooked to your liking. Your server definitely should've checked back in, we would've gladly remade them or prepared something else to your liking. I'm going to send you my contact info separately. We'd love the opportunity to have you dine with us again. Best, Brett General Manager
It was good but I thought it would be better. The service wasn't great. I got a frittata which was good but not anything amazing. My friend felt the same about her eggs benedict ("dropped eggs"). I also thought it would have better ambiance being at the Ace.
I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't live up to your expectations on your recent visit. I'm going to send you my contact information privately, I'd love to hear if you have any ideas of how we could do better next time. And we'd love the opportunity to wow you sometime in the future. Best, Brett General Manager
Thanks for the review Gerald. Hope to see you again sometime soon! Cheers, Brett General Manager
Great spot to hang and talk
Thanks for the review. So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
You are too packed in and the tables are tiny. The waiter was very nice. We liked that the restaurant was right next to the Ace Theatre. Downtown LA is a nasty place though, dirty, homeless people everywhere, it is sad and depressing.
Hi Bruce, I'm very glad to hear that your service was good for your dinner on Thursday. Sorry that the table wasn't to your liking. I've made notes in your profile based on that feedback should you dine with us again. Best, Brett General Manager
Sat immediately. Vase provided for my flowers. Knowledgeable wait staff. Best of all great menu that wasn't overpriced... Thank you for an awesome dinner...
Thank you so much for the kind review! So glad to hear that you had a nice experience. We're so pleased that you chose us. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Our (2) roasted chicken plates arrived very dry but we pointed it out to the wait staff and they were more than accommodating, they even sent us some delicious bread and butter while we were waiting. The pasta and oysters and salad were wonderful. We’ll be back!
Thanks so much for the review. I'm certainly sorry to hear that the first attempt wasn't perfect but I'm glad we were able to get it right in the end. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best, Brett General Manager
Thanks so much! And we agree, Ruth is great! Cheers, Brett General Manager
Great food, great service! Not even crazy loud - we could converse! We’ll be back.
Thanks so much for the kind words! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves on your recent visit. Hope to see you back soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
We had only starters, but it was kind of different from the start.
There is one tea light candle on the table making it very hard to read.
I saw oysters, cocktail sauce and what I thought was the vinegrette... ordered it only to ask our server if it was horseradish. and she said yes. Turns out it was the vinegrette in the horseradish, so when I thought I was adding horseradish to my cocktail sauce it was something else. I put a little on each oyster as I do and couldn't taste the oyster very much.
They make different drinks from upstairs so a little strange getting the same drink in a totally different way.
Our server also didn't deduct the disco
unt percentage when I gave her the card, so perhaps we just had a bad server. That night.
Hi Darcy, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. That night we were out of our regular candles. I'm sorry they didn't illuminate as much. Regarding drinks, while Best Girl and Upstairs are both part of Ace DTLA, they are separate restaurants with totally different menus. Also, I went ahead and found a copy of your check and I can confirm that the 10% destination discount was applied. I'm sending you my contact info now to continue the conversation. Brett General Manager
Pre concert dinner ... portions small ... drinks OK but expensive ... loud ... mediocre at best.
Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry that you didn't find value in the options that you ordered. We definitely strive to provide the highest quality ingredients and keep our pricing in line. Let me know if you're in the area again, I'd love for a manager to walk you through the menu and point out some of the dishes that are larger in size as there is quite a bit of variability between them. Best, Brett General Manager
Reserved a table for 4 at 8pm for Thanksgiving dinner. Since this was a holiday, the reservation web page requested a credit card. Arrived as 8:12pm. I was told that since I was more than 10 minutes late, my reservation was removed from the system. After waiting for some 20 minutes I was told they could seat us in 40 minutes more. What was my credit card taken for, then? Why wasn't I called? Why didn't the website clearly indicate that being more than 10 minutes late meant cancelation? The receptionist (maitre d'? Whatever the term is) didn't even attempt to provide answers to any of my questions, and instead accused me of being loud and impolite – neither of which was true. We asked for a manager, waited another 10 minutes, and then asked someone *else* to call a manager, who then arrived. He arranged a table for us. We finally got our food around 9pm. I won't say the holiday dinner was ruined, but it was certainly an unpleasant experience. I won't be eating there again soon, and I was a regular until now, dining there two or three times a month for a few years.
Hi Redya, I'm very sorry that you had such a terrible experience on Thanksgiving. It was an extremely challenging service for us, and we made a number of mistakes. Please know we are reviewing every aspect of the day and will be making changes to ensure it never happens again. I'm going to send you my contact information separately to continue the conversation. We'd love the opportunity to win you back if you'll give us another shot. Best, Brett General Manager
We chose this restaurant among other options for our Thanksgiving dinner. We were informed when we sat down - not that late in the evening, 7:45 pm- that they were out of one of the three appetizer choices (the one we all wanted) and one of the three dessert options (which most of us wanted). Very disappointing - but the restaurant wasn’t terribly apologetic. It was also so dark we could hardly read the menus. We had to ask for many additional candles.
Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry that you had a negative experience on Thanksgiving. It was definitely a very challenging day for us and a number of mistakes were made. Please know we're carefully assessing what went wrong to prevent it from ever happening again. If you're willing to give us another chance, or if there's absolutely anything else, I'm sending you my contact information separately now. Best, Brett General Manager
We came here for Thanksgiving dinner because our plans fell through. The food was good. Drinks very expensive. Vibe great - lots of young people, noise, and energy. My husband and I, 67 & 68 years, enjoyed ourselves completely. Would I come back just for the food? No. Would I take someone from out of town to get a feel for DTLA? Sure!
Hi Benita, Thanks for the review. Sounds like you overall enjoyed your experience which we're so glad to hear. I'll send you my contact info separately so that next time you're in one of our managers can say hi. We'd love the opportunity to achieve better than 3 stars next time and would happily point out some of the menu items with great value. Best, Brett General Manager
We were there for the Thanksgiving pre fixe menu, after hearing rave reviews. Understand that holidays are tricky to plan for but when all but one of the options is sold out it's rather disappointing. 3 stars for the food because most of what we received was very good. The issues may have stemmed from our server who really didn't seem to know the menu, leading to a vegetarian getting a dish with meat, no big deal swap for something else. Replacement fish was raw, inedible. However, three of the four in our party thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. And the management was nice enough to adjust for the issues on the check. The cocktails were fantastic and the ambiance is great. With that in mind we'd like to go back in the hopes of proving our visit was a fluke due to the trials of holiday service.
Hi Emily, Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. Thanksgiving was definitely a challenging day for us and we honestly made a number of mistakes. We're sorry for disappointing you on such a special day. I really appreciate your willingness to dine with us again. It's good to know that you're willing to give us another chance. I'm going to send you my contact information separately to continue the conversation. Best, Brett General Manager
The main problem was the temperature in the dining room. It was a cold and rainy day and the inside of the dining room was quite cold.
Hi Hilary, Thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you didn't have a better experience. We are aware of the temperature issues and working to find a resolution. Believe me when I say we have our thermostats up fully currently but they're struggling to keep up. We hope to have a resolution soon, and would love for you to dine with us again at that point. Please let me know if you're open to giving us another shot Best, Brett General Manager
Hotel restaurant with overpriced food because it doesn't meet expectations for dollars spent. Service was good. Parking was challenging and restaurant was cold inside. Everyone wearing jackets while eating. Went for the Thanksgiving 3 course menu. Arrived at 3:00 and the scallops were already gone. They also changed the fish selection from Steelhead to Salmon (similar, but a different fish). Would not recommend for anything other than a casual lunch break while staying at the hotel.
Hi Stevie, I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Thanksgiving was definitely a trying day for us, and we made a number of mistakes. Please know that this day is not indicative of our normal operations. We're reviewing every misstep and will be taking action to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We truly appreciate your feedback as this will help us get better. I'm going to send you my contact info to continue the conversation. Best, Brett General Manager
Delicious and fun. Loved having chilled oysters and cocktails. Great service.
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed everything! Thank you very much for the kind review, and we hope to see you back soon. Cheers, Brett General Manager
Super unique space, fabulous service and incredibly tasty food! We made reservations prior to a show later that evening at the Ace Theater. Super convenient and the perfect compliment to the amazing music act playing next door!! Really fun time because everything about the evening was flawless!!
Hi Eddie, Thanks for the kind words. It truly warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed everything. The Theatre is definitely our crown jewel here at Ace DTLA so we're glad you got to experience it. Hope to see you back in the restaurant sometime soon. Best, Brett General Manager
The space has a cool vibe and has always been bustling when I've eaten there. Drinks were good, with some very unique specialty drinks. Prices typical for the area. Food is OK--at our table, ranged from average to good. Maybe we should have ordered differently? They were rather busy, so it was slow at first--but food came quickly, nice and hot (or cold for salads) so that was great. Overall, a nice ambience and an easy, reliable stop before a show at the Ace. Just be sure to make a reservation!
Thanks so much for the kind words! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I'd say with the wide variety of dishes on our menu, some are definitely more simply prepared, while others are more adventurous (and to me personally, more exciting.) We're more than happy to provide some recommendations next time you're in. Best, Brett General Manager
We only had an hour to eat before a show at the Ace Theater and our waiter was great — friendly, quick, attentive, etc. The food was yum and it was a great dining experience from start to finish. Will definitely be back.
Thanks so much for the kind words! So glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Brett General Manager
The Bucatini a Cacio e Pepe is outstanding!! The Los Besos cocktail....mmmmmm
Thanks Kelly! Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Very overpriced and not good tasting. considering two chefs are credited for the menu, you would think they would take more care of the flavors. Shrimp were stringy and crab cakes bland.
Hi there, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. We definitely do care a lot about our food and flavors, so I'm disappointed to hear that your dishes didn't live up to your or our expectations. I'm going to send you my contact information privately. If you're willing to give us another shot, we'd love to show you how excellent our kitchen can be. Best, Brett General Manager
I would recommend it only for certain things. Now, I should say that I was there for dinner before a very popular performance and so it was probably noisier and more crowded than usual. It is very much a streetside cafe. Trendy, smart casual dining maybe, but not really classy.
The place has a lot of energy, and it seems like a fun place to hang out and have drinks and appetizers. But I had booked a dinner reservation, and by the price level on the menu, I had expected fancier decor and a quieter vibe, and just someplace that lent itself to a more leisurely meal.
The food is good, but not great, and the portions are small for the price level. The entrées don't seem to be accompanied by much, but it is not presented as a small plates focused place. (Yet bread and butter are on the Starters menu, and cost $8.). My partner's $17 burger was pretty average, also a thin patty and very salty. Also, I would have expected more choices on the menu -- that like most places touting the freshness and quality of their ingredients, there would be daily specials or seasonal offerings that were not on the printed menu. But our waiter mentioned none, and we saw nothing posted.
So I'd say that if you are going to the theater or are in the area, Best Girl might be a good place to grab a quick bite, but I wouldn't plan your evening around the meal.
P.S. Apparently, guests are allowed to draw on the whitewashed walls. There are some excellent sketches around the room. So if that is an attraction, heck, you can sip drinks and eat trendy appetizers while doing it.
Hi Eilish, Thanks so much for your note, we certainly welcome the feedback. Our show nights are definitely on the busier side. If you're looking for a different vibe I'd recommend checking out lunch or brunch. Regarding variety, we do sometimes have specials in addition to our menu, but on those very busy theatre nights we usually stick to the extensive menu we already serve. And the artwork on the walls is actually from the well known Haas Brothers, who come in periodically. Cheers, Brett, GM
This is the second time I have dined at Best Girl and absolutely love this little neighborhood gem. A great place before or after a show at the Ace Theater.
Hi Jodi, Thanks so much for the kind review! Hope to see you back soon. Please don't hesitate to drop me a line, I'd love for one of our managers to come say hello next time you're in! Best, Brett General Manager
Ate lunch/brunch here before going to the Theater at the Ace (Psycho). Our server was excellent and made some great recommendations. It was a burger kind of day, so Patty Melt and Burger was lunch. We had the Mimosa's for two - a bottle of bubbly and fresh squeezed juices: orange and ruby grapefruit. We saw some cocktails go by that looked wonderful too. We'll be planning a return trip to try different food and drink.
Hi Karen, Thanks so much for the review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself at Best Girl. Hopefully the show was just as good! Let us know next time you're in so one of our managers can come say hello. Best, Brett General Manager
Interesting and varied menu.
Pet friendly outside patio.
Parking on site.
Nice rooftop bar.
Hi there, Thanks so much for the kind review! We LOVE dogs, so please always come by and sit on the patio. We've got treats at the coffee bar too. Hope to see you soon. Best, Brett General Manager
Always consistant. Never a disappointment. Interior is a bit loud. Great pre show dining option.
Hi Debbie, Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself! Inside can get a touch loud for sure. But when the mezzanine is available it's often a quieter option. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Brett General Manager