Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant

4.1
117 reviews
$41 to $100
Australian
Balgownie Estate is Bendigo’s oldest commercial Vineyard and has recently attained the coveted 5 Red Star Winery Award from James Halliday. Balgownie have been producing award winning wines from their first vintage back in 1972. Today you can visit the cellar door and taste from their extensive selection of wines made from hand harvested fruit grown on their beautiful old vines that are now over 50 years old.

Whilst here, take the opportunity to, dine in our restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our menus feature contemporary Seasonal Australian Cuisine, sourced from premium local suppliers. At lunch and dinner, we offer two or three course options and the Chef’s Selection six course degustation menu with matched wines. For Breakfast enjoy a romantic Champagne Breakfast (our version of it anyway…!) When our restaurant is closed we serve a picnic box for two that features a couple of chesses, a trio of cured meats, some fruit, pickles, biscuits and bread

Experiences

  • Group Wine Tasting

    A$10.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Wine Tasting Group bookings Taste 6 wines: Balgownie Premium Cuvee 2017 Black Label Chardonnay 2019 Silver Label Rose 2018 Black Label Pinot Noir 2017 Balgownie Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Receive 10% off any bottle of wine purchased through Cellar Door during your visit
  • Public Holiday 2 Course

    A$66.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    2-Course Main Menu including Public Holiday Surcharge
  • Public Holiday 3-Course Menu

    A$82.50 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    3-Course Menu including Public Holiday Surcharge
  • 2 Course Menu

    A$60.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Pre-Pay to secure your booking
  • 3 Course Menu

    A$75.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Pre-Pay to secure your booking
  • Champagne Breakfast

    A$35.00 per personPrepaid

    Apr 11 - Dec 31, 2021

    Breakfast with a View. Treat yourselves to a dish from our Breakfast Menu with a Glass of Balgownie Premium Cuvee, a glass of Juice and a Barista Coffee
  • Picnic Box for 2 ($45)

    A$22.50 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Picnic Boxes for two have 2 cheeses, 2 cured meats, bread, biscuits, pickles, mustards and a sweet treat. Please note charged by the person @ $22.50, but must be ordered as multiples of 2.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 117 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.1
Service
4.1
Ambience
3.8
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
Sham
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Beautiful location
Excellent staff
Yummy food
Would have like a larger selection but what we had was delicious

AM
AnnaM
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Nicest meal we have had for along time. It was a wet cold night we were nice and warm sitting outside. Staff were polite and efficient. Will go back again soon.

RK
RK3550
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Interesting menu, wonderful food, pleasant ambiance. Will return.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for that. We are really happy that you enjoyed your experience.

Report
BE
BarryE
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

The degustation was amazing. The whole experience was wonderful

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for placing this review we really appreciate it and are happy that you enjoyed your experience

Report
MD
MalcolmD
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely beautiful location! Ambiance was amazing, staff very friendly and helpful AND the food was AMAZING!!
Will definitely be back!!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for this review it really bolsters the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
SS
StuartS
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Was a very enjoyable lunch in a very COVID safe environment. Sat outside under the verandah. Wines were delightful, food delectable and service impeccable.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience

Report
H
Helen
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Have dined here a few times and it’s usually been good. However my meal and experience yesterday was really poor. My starter was really difficult to eat due to it swimming in pickling vinegar and caused me to constantly cough due to its high acidity. My eyes were literally watering and I could not finish it. My main meal was confit of duck and was fairly dried out and nothing special taste wise. We tried to order a pudding 90 minutes into our sitting and were told the kitchen was closed - due to staff having their lunch. Service was inattentive throughout the duration. We still hadn’t had our drink order taken by the time our food had arrived. Staff seemed too keen to hang out around the bar area chatting amongst themselves. Despite us being polite throughout we felt unwelcome by the end of the meal. Once they’ve got you and you’ve spent money they quickly want you out again. We were a small family gathering of just three and spent $375 which is annoying and I’m kicking myself at choosing Balgownie. The staff couldn’t even muster a goodbye as we left. Charmless and immature behaviour. Definitely not what hospitality is about.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We take all feedback (good & bad) very seriously and try to use this as a way to learn. We are very disappointed that your experience was not to your expectation. We will work very hard to address your concerns

Report
KP
KarenP
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great food and service. Lovely outlook to the vines. Highly recommend

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 August 2021

Thank you for this review, we really appreciate the positive comments

Report
MJ
MetalJ
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Excellent food, beautifully presented. The setting is great too

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 August 2021

Thank you for writing this, the team are very appreciative of the nice feedback.

Report
MA
MexAussie
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

We wanted to check it out for some time. What a great place, great service, beautiful food and amazing wines. Will definitely come back

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 August 2021

Thank you for this nice review. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
ND
NeilD
9 reviews
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall4Food5Service2Ambience3

Once again, the food was exceptional, but the service during the early part of our lunch was poor. It picked up when a different waitress looked after us when our main course arrived. The sub-standard service have been due to the fact that there were only 2 or 3 tables of people having lunch. This must have been a glitch as we generally find the service to be very good. On a brighter note, the food was simply outstanding. The best meals we have ever had at Balgownie. I recommend Balgownie Estate to everyone who enjoys great food, beautiful wine and a stunning location.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We take all feedback very seriously. I am glad you enjoyed the meal and I apologise for the poor early start. As you mention I hope that this was a glitch, but will have a chat with the team and ensure we iron that out. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Report
M
Maryrose
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience3

We enjoyed our evening at Balgownie, however, we were sat at a table for 2 by the door which made it uncomfortably cold with a blast of cold air each time someone entered or exited. Could I suggest a barrier/folding screen here during the winter months for this table?
I really appreciated the ability to have gluten and dairy-free options and the apology and offer of a free drink when my order was delayed with one of these features being missed initially in the kitchen.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. We value our guest's feedback greatly. I am glad that the team recovered from the error with an apology and managed to make your overall experience a positive one.

Report
e
ellebell
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience3

Vegetarian option not available. Was ok wouldn’t rush back!
Partner ordered steak and said pretty average but chicken wings were good!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 5 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to your expectation. I will provide your feedback to the kitchen.

Report
IH
IanH
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

The dishes we chose were unusual and delicious! Service excellent. Will return.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 5 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are always delighted when we get positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
GR
GlennR
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Will definitely be back and recommend it to others. charcuterie board option would enhance a great menu

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 5 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report
h
hagfamilyroadtrip
1 review
Dined on 21 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The ambiance was lovely and the food was great and very good value for what you get. Beautiful food, fresh and tasty. The sparkling wine was divine. Good for families too a kids menu I was envious of.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 23 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We really appreciate it and are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report
AB
AmandaB
1 review
Dined on 20 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Throughly enjoyed our breakfast. Food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 23 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the food and experience here.

Report
SB
SamraB
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Outstanding food and exceptional service. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 23 June 2021

Thank you for visiting us and then for taking the time to make your review. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback.

Report
AD
AbbeyD
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2021
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience1

For the price per item, the vibe of the restaurant was daggy and in need of a fresh ambiance. The experience of dining here felt rushed and exposed. The food was lovely but served very quickly for a 3 course menu.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 23 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We are sorry the experience did not live up to your expectation.

Report
SO
SarahO
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meals for dinner paired with a Balgownie Pinot noir which was exquisite. We then spent the evening in a hermitage house deluxe room, it was all so lovely. Then breakfast in the morning at the restaurant was delicious and the coffee was great. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 19 June 2021

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to make this review. We are really glad you enjoyed your experience.

Report
J
Josie
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

Amazing food and amazing service, highly recommend

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make these comments, we really appreciate them and of course your custom.

Report
S
Sharonk
1 review
Dined on 24 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service1Ambience3

There were many elements to the dishes and less than half were successful. The wine service wasn't up to restaurant standard.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 5 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take all of our feedback very seriously. We are disappointed that your experience was not to your expectation.

Report
K
Karen
6 reviews
Dined on 23 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a wonderful meal at the Balgownie restaurant. The food was amazing and the service exceptional.
The menu had so many yummy options it was hard to choose!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report
HK
HeatherK
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I don’t think you could pick anything on the menu that wouldn’t be delicious.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for your kind review, it is much apreciated.

Report
A
Andjd
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2021
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience3

Very disappointing experience. The wine tasting was okay, although little knowledge of the different varieties was imparted. We ordered the 2 course lunch and after our drinks arrived the waiter made a great fuss about a "complimentary" slice of bread! The entrees were fine but the dirty plates remained on the table for a full 25 minutes. The main course of gnocchi was inedible and not crisp. The duck was minute(thumb size) and overcooked with a taste of beef from the char grill, the lentils were cold and hard although the vegetables were good. Once again the staff failed to come anywhere near us, only asking about our meals some 20 minutes later.
There was no lack of staff, they were just not up to scratch, no one seemed to be in control of the dining experience - a lack of professionalism. Less party time behind the bar and more attention to the paying customers please. We will not return or recommend Balgownie.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I apologise that it did not meet your expectation. I have already expressed your (and my) concern to the team.

Report
MG
MichelleG
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The experience at Balgownie Bendigo was unmeasurable. From the quality of the immaculately prepared food, the wine and the ambiance, to the friendliness and warmth of the staff, much love and care had been taken to make it one of the most pleasurable and memorable nights we’ve had. Definitely recommend it to anyone, but especially those looking for a romantic night with all the trimmings. Can’t wait to go back there!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking time to review your experience. I cannot tell you how much it means to the team when they get such a great review. We do try hard to get it right for our guests, and this shows the team that often they do.

Report
PJ
PedroJuana
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went for 3 course meal during mother's day and my wife was so happy and satisfied so I guess that makes me a great husband. Thanks to Balgownie. They have no qualms with our baby being in the restaurant. We were worried because of its fine dining ambiance. Food is superb. Service is fast and great. Their Cuvee is so good. I got what I paid for. Will definitely come back.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you so much for this positive review. We are happy we helped make you a greater husband! On a serious note, thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

Report
B
Bendigo5
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3Food5Service1Ambience4

The food was amazing but there wasn’t staff coming over to ask if we wanted another drink, I had to get up and go to the bar to order them.

It is also really dark outside in the car park and driving down the drive way it’s hard to see where to go to the restaurant so some lighting would be good

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your experience . We take our feedback seriously and to heart. I have addressed you concerns with the team. Regarding the lighting, we agree with you. To be honest I started in December when the light was not a problem, but recently I have noticed the need for some additional lighting. I am working through this with an electrican and hope to remedy the situation shortly.

Report
F
Fleur
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

The staff were great, food was delicious and well priced!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking time to review your experience, we are really happy that you enjoyed it.

Report
KM
KimM
3 reviews
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience2

I love supporting local businesses and the growers , suppliers and producers they help.
I was so looking forward to this and had heard great reviews.
I’m not sure if it was an off night for staff but it didn’t live up to expectations.
I booked a table inside, which I guess we were but just. We were sat by an open door which meant it was cold and every person coming in and out passed us.
We ordered and the menu sounded lovely and we celebrated with our first drink.
Our first couple of dishes were lovely.
Main arrived and my favourite dish is duck. It was the smallest duck breast (with no crispy skin) and loads and loads of wilted greens that overtook the plate and sauce.
Plates cleared and dessert spoons put out but no offer of more drinks.
We watched lots of desserts get served for guests who arrived after us but nothing coming our way.
My partner never complains but after 35 minutes of staring and wondering where our dessert was he was ready to leave.
He managed to catch the eye of a waiter and we enquired when we might get our dessert and it was clear we’d been forgotten as they said they were just preparing it. I asked for another drink which came with dessert. I would have probably had a couple if they asked.
Overall we left disappointed with the experience. The food was lovely but it’s not just the meal that makes it a dinner and it’s not a cheap one at that. For similar expense we could have had fine dining.
I hope if we return it improves.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience. We are so sorry we did not match the experience to your expectations. I will definitely address the team regarding the timing, as it does seem that you did not get us at our best.

Report
DN
DavidN
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

The wine tasting process was not ideal, it was too slow and we were charged extra for the premium wines. Wine tasting could be handled better and the service done in a more efficient/customer service friendly way.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We rely on feedback to improve our offering. We recently brought in the premium wine tasting fee for the more expensive wine so that we can make them available for tasting for those that want them. It has been fairly well received overall. I think that maybe you caught us on a bad day as we have found that the way we conduct our wine tastings has been very popular compared to the traditional stand at a bar approach.

Report
A
Allannah
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

We have usually enjoyed our experience at Balgownie but this time it was incredibly disappointing! All four of us were disappointed with both entree and main. My husband got steak and it resembled skirt or bbq steak (cheap cut) .

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sad to hear your experience did not match your expectation or indeed previous experiences with us. I can assure you that we only get the best steak and ingredients in general.

Report
J
John
2 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience3

We had the 6 course degustation menu and that was very good value and service size; it would benefit though from a menu to let you know what each course is and the wait staff were not able to assist much. Recognizing this is a winery restaurant it would also be good to have some other wines as options, especially champagne.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are glad your enjoyed the 6 course Chef's tasting menu. We actually just changed the menu up a little recently and now offer a more complete experience as we now serve matched wines for each course as part . We do have our own sparkling and fairly extensive list of wines t, we have tried putting on other wines (and have a few remaining on there) but to be honest they just don't sell well.

Report
FB
FranziskaB
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food was amazing!
We ate the gnocchi and the lamb, vacant for it better than that!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to make this review and indeed your custom.

Report
DW
DebbieW
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2021
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience1

We would not recommend this restaurant the food was very average unfortunately nothing like the beautiful Balgownies in Yarra Glenn very disappointing to say the least really lacks ambience also.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sorry your experience did not match your expectation.

Report
AC
AndreaC
3 reviews
Dined on 19 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience3

We tried the chef's sampling menu which says 6 courses. What we didn't realise was that 6 courses didn't mean 6 dishes, in some rounds 1 course was 2 dishes. This meant that there was more food than we thought and we made the mistake of asking for another round of their delicious bread. The food was outstanding, out of the 11 dishes that we had between the two of us, only 1 was average (the zucchini flowers), the other 10 were delicious. Highly recommend, but don't get extra bread as there is more than enough food.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for such a positive review. The team is always so excited to get the positive reviews. We really appreciate the time you have take to write this for us.

Report
AM
AndreaM
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent food and wine. Great options of vegetarian and vegan on the menu.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate you putting pen to paper (so to speak) and for visiting us as well!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Gorgeous food, excellent service, lovely location

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for making time to review your experience and hope you can return some time.

Report
TF
TaniaF
7 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience3

Food was very pleasant though serving sizes were small. Ambience in the restaurant was lacking. In better weather it would be very pleasant to sit outside.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are constantly trying to make our restaurant better and can only do this successfully when people give feedback.

Report
DM
DanielleM
1 review
Dined on 16 April 2021
Overall3Food1Service4Ambience2

This is one of the worst meals I have ever had. And value for money was disgraceful.
I would never eat here again.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send your review, all feedback is welcome. We are disappointed that you were not as happy with your food as we would have liked. It would be helpful to us if you could advise some specifics so we can try to improve.

Report

FAQs

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant is rated 4.1 stars by 117 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.