Acre Camperdown

3.9
1021 reviews
$41 to $100
Australian
acre Camperdown has been transformed into an Italian farmhouse.

The new Italiano a la carte menu features exciting additions as well as
tried and true classics, sure to satisfy everyone’s Italian cravings.

Expect to see fresh antipasti, homemade pasta, seafood and of course lots of Italian sweet treats.

acre is a farm food-focused venue located within Camperdown Commons; a community initiative on the site of the former
Camperdown Bowling Club.

Our 'farmer's home' restaurant takes in expansive lawns,
courtyards, terraces, decked and kid's areas
whilst our all-day offer within our repurposed shipping container offers pastries and baked goods daily.

A plethora of weddings & events spaces provide
ample opportunities for workshops, cooking classes,
meet-the-maker and corporate opportunities, product launches,
large scale celebrations and more.

Please note any tables 8 and over incur a 10% service charge.

Experiences

  • Italiano Set Menu

    A$70.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Enjoy our 3-course acre Italiano Set Menu for $70 per adult, created from the chef using this season’s fresh ingredients! Kids can order from the Kids Menu on the day.
  • A la carte Italiano

    Multiple dates available

    The new Italiano menu features exciting additions as well as tried and true classics, sure to satisfy everyone’s Italian cravings. Expect to see fresh antipasti, homemade pasta, seafood and of course lots of Italian sweet treats. If last year’s Italiano activation was any indication, tables will be snapped up quickly, so please be sure to book now to avoid any disappointment.
  • Italiano Set Menu

    A$70.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Enjoy our 3-course acre Italiano Set Menu for $70 per adult, created from the chef using this season’s fresh ingredients! Kids can order from the Kids Menu on the day.
  • Breakfast A La Carte

    Multiple dates available

    Breakfast a la Carte Menu - Served from 10.00-11.30am

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1021 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
Food
3.9
Service
4.3
Ambience
3.6
Value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SS
StevenS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Excellent quality of food and service. Would highly recommend.

JH
JennyH
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delicious again - the food is great, the staff are lovely. The dining room is lovely.

PA
PankajA
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food was delicious, Staff very friendly and joyful. They catered to our every request, although there were limited items to choose from, everything was top notch.

It's a pity they are closing down, go and enjoy while they are still open till end of may.

SP
SamanthaP
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a group booking at Acre for 20 people.
The staff were outstanding. They looked after us and were very attentive.
The food was delicious.
We are very sad they are closing if a few weeks.

RW
RobW
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We went with our mothers for Saturday lunch. The atmosphere was great, the food was delicious and the waiters were friendly and helpful. We all walked out saying what a great time we had.

AO
AmandaO
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

I had my birthday lunch at Acre and am very happy with my decision to celebrate there. The food was delicious and the wait wasn't too long. The waiter was very accommodating as we had 21 people and a few dietary requirements. Am sad to hear that Acre is closing down at the end of the month, it's such a beautiful location for special occasions.

EG
ElizabethG
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was an absolutely stunning meal given to my partner and I as a gift voucher for Xmas. We love Italy & Italian food & it was delectable. We are devastated you are closing at the end of May 😔 Even though we live in the Blue Mountains we will try and come again before you close .

Acre Camperdown
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
P
Peekaboo
2 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely least moment discovery, shame is closing down will be missed!

GR
GisellaRH
1 review
Dined on 19 April 2021
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

Not the best option for Vegans/Vegetarians. Few options

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

Hi Gisella, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent visit. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us improve and grow.

Report
MJ
MeganJ
3 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A lovely brunch spot that feels like a respite from the hustle and bustle of the city despite being just down from Newtown. Friendly and warm service and lovely food. Loved sitting on the deck outside overlooking the lawn and veggie garden. Very sad this venue is closing next month.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

Hi Megan, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We hope to see you again.

Report
NS
NatalieS
1 review
Dined on 11 April 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

come here before it closes! warm and cosy for autumn !

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

atalie, thank you for your wonderful feedback from your visit - we appreciate and value you taking the time to leave 5 stars, we will see you again soon!

Report
KH
KylieH
4 reviews
Dined on 11 April 2021
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience4

Enjoyed dinner with 7 - menu remains varied with good options for all. Was last visit with the recent news of closure.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

Thank you Kylie, we really appreciate the wonderful comments and the 5 stars!

Report
K
Karen
1 review
Dined on 10 April 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

We came here for lunch with family and ordered a few dishes to share. Their house-baked foccacia was amazing. The pasta dishes were a bit smaller than expected, they were good but not exceptional. We wanted to order the John Dory but unfortunately no stock came in that day. However what we did get the Florentine steak and porchetta were amazing. Loved the openess of the place, which made it possible for me to wheel a pram around and also take baby for a walk when she became a little unsettled.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

Hi Karen, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us!

Report
I
Innerwesterdiner
1 review
Dined on 28 March 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience4

Terribly slow food which wasn’t worth the money charged.
Staff were impossible to get a hold of and were literally clowning around together instead of getting food out.
Not worth it for your special occasion

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. If you are willing, we would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience and address the comments you have relayed. Please reach out to us directly via email with your best contact details for us to be in touch.

Report
S
Sarah
2 reviews
Dined on 27 March 2021
Overall2Food3Service3Ambience2

A large space means it’s great for groups. The spot lights make lighting thinks dark in places and bright elsewhere. Food is tasty but the bill was higher than anticipated

JR
JRosado
1 review
Dined on 26 March 2021
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience3

They did not notice that my booking was for a birthday despite having noted it when making the booking. The food was wonderful. The service was attentive and prompt. The noise level and placement of tables given the light attendance at the hour (7-9pm) could have been better as we were in between two large (somewhat loud) tables and were a table of 3 celebrating a birthday quietly.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 29 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent visit and thank you for the positive comments on the food. Your feedback is valuable to us and we hope you'll notice an improvement on your next visit.

Report
GR
GregR
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Perfectly prepared and tasty food
Service was the best we have experienced
Highly recommended

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 29 March 2021

Hi Greg, thank you for your wonderful feedback from your visit - we appreciate and value you taking the time to leave 5 stars, we will see you again soon!

Report
a
adishoftrish
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2021
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Ordering a cake online to have at the restaurant is confusing. The questions need to be rewritten. Even after eventually ordering the cake I did not get the one that I had specifically ordered. Although I did end up getting the cake for free that is not the point. I wanted a dairy-free, gluten-free cake and that was not supplied.
I had heard that customer service at the restaurant was poor but I must say our waitress was very obliging and helpful. Thanks to her we had a love meal.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 29 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we appreciate and value your candid comments which allow us to address improvements. We hope you’ll notice an improvement on your next visit.

Report
TB
ToddB
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2021
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience5

4 x country breakfasts.

All components had been in the Bain Marie FAR TO LONG.

Terribly dried out cooked hours before.

No butter...

All adults in the group said they wouldn’t go back with that food.

If the food was $3 it would have been overpriced.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 29 March 2021

Hi Todd, thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. If you are willing, we would like the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience and address the comments you have relayed. Please reach out to us directly via email with your best contact details for us to be in touch.

Report
LF
LaurenF
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2021
Overall1Food1Service3Ambience3

Very disappointing. Food was bland. Booked for breakfast, was told we only have one hour! Staff were fine but not a great experience for the price. Maybe lunch is better?

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 29 March 2021

Hi Lauren, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate and value all our feedback as it helps us improve and grow. We hope you notice an improvement on your next visit.

Report
JA
JackieA
1 review
Dined on 19 March 2021
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Great setting - like the countryside in Camperdown! Matched by lovely wines and food.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 March 2021

Thank you Jackie for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love this place!

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 18 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
MC
MichelleC
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2021
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience3

Not authentic Italian at all. Most flavourless pasta and beef Florentine I’ve ever had.
The restaurant has a great location but the food is a real let down. Might need to revisit the menu and find their speciality because it’s definitely not Italian.
Also lost the mark with farm to table concept as menu made no mention of local produce used.

Staff also were very unresponsive and just not capable. It’s like we were invisible as soon as we were seated. No one came to serve us for 20mins or explain the menu or offer drinks. Took 1hr between entree and pasta. Only once we raised a complaint were we served with some enthusiasm or even noticed.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 March 2021

Hi Michelle, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback from your visit. We would like to find out more about your experience and address the comments you have conveyed. If you are willing, please reach out to us directly via email with your best contact details for us to be in touch.

Report
VS
VasuS
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Nice ambience . Tasty food . Friendly staff . Awesome

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 18 March 2021

Hi Vasu, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We hope to see you again.

Report
MJ
MardeeJ
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience4

We requested outdoor seating in the booking, however when we arrived we were informed that outdoor seating is not table service. We moved outside nonetheless because indoors was very noisy and not helpful when you have elderly dining with you with hearing aids! So we moved outside and I had to coordinate the menus for the table, water etc. The waitresses were all lovely and accommodating when I directly asked questions, but not forthright in providing for us in facilitating out movement. The food was very expensive for what you get. However I ordered the fish, it was amazing! In peak growing season, the vegetable garden would be beautiful, however we went during 'green mulch' which looks like plastic and heaped greenery on soil. Wouldn't necessarily go back, but would be interested to experience breakfast during a season when the grounds look beautiful.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 3 March 2021

Hi Mardee, we appreciate you taking the time to review. Your feedback is invaluable to us and helps us better understand all aspects of the guest's experience. We hope to see you in venue again soon.

Report
LH
LisaH
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Fabulous service. Fantastic grounds. Great for families with kids but also without! Will definitely return.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 2 March 2021

Thank you Lisa for taking the time to leave a review! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us!

Report
MG
MoniqueG
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2021
Overall3Food3Service1Ambience4

Geoup of 4 for breakfast. The food was lovely, unfortunately the service detracted from the ambiance and food. We were one of the first to sit down and the last to order food and coffee. We had to ask someone if they will take our order. Then multiple times asking for table water. May go again and try the Italian menu hopefully service is more attentive then.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 18 March 2021

Hi Monique, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback - I will address your comments with the team and we hope you'll notice an improvement on your next visit.

Report
AS
AndyS
1 review
Dined on 27 February 2021
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

Antipasto plate consisted of six very thin slices of three types of cold meet with a few olives and some chilli. Not much imagination went into presentation, but - $26!? Two pieces of bread - $8 extra - really!

Pasta dishes were tasty, a good size and reasonably priced with one vegetarian option.

Green salad dressing was way over salty (perhaps an accident in the kitchen?). No reduction in bill was provided, but a tip was requested!

This is the second time visiting Acre and most probably the last.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 3 March 2021

Hi Andy, thank you for your feedback. We are soon to make some seasonal menu changes so if you choose to visit us again, we hope that you will leave feeling happier on your next visit.

Report
RS
RyanS
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2021
Overall3Food1Service5Ambience4

Great location, great service but really substandard food.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 1 March 2021

Hi Ryan, thank you for taking the time to review - we value your feedback.

Report
ST
STAR27
3 reviews
Dined on 20 February 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

The booking was for a small gathering of seven. It was my daughter’s birthday. I bought a $65 cake in-house to be served on the day. The cake was dry (like it has been sitting in the fridge for two days). Nevertheless, it was a beautiful looking Chocolate Cake. The food was fine but don’t expect big servings for the price you pay. The service was slow unfortunately. We were sitting staring at the cake for 10-15mins until I had to ask for the plates and cutlery. I guess they were busy. Anyway, overall it is a nice looking venue with a relaxing ambience.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 22 March 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we appreciate and value your candid comments which allow us to address improvements. We hope you’ll notice an improvement on your next visit.

Report
KB
KieronB
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A delicious and thoughtfully put together Valentine's Day menu, including a wonderful San Valentino cocktail! The service was friendly and professional and helped make our night a really special one.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 17 February 2021

Thank you Kieron, we are thrilled you enjoyed your Valentine's Day with us - see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wonderful experience, combined birthday / Valentines Day celebration. Food was wonderful.

Will be going back soon enough.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 23 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us 5 stars, we are thrilled you had a lovely Valentines / Birthday - see you again soon!

Report
CB
CouldveBeenGood
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2021
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

1) The standard of service rather terrible. It's no fault of the wait staff who were courteous and friendly - it's just that it was fully booked and the ratio of diners to wait staff was horrendous.
2) We found that the standard of food has dropped - both in terms of taste and quality. The watermelon in the salad had been left sitting for too long, and there was sand in the green salad.
We're disappointed as we were fans of Acre in the past. We wouldn't rush back to dine here.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 15 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are disappointed to hear we were not as attentive as we should've been on what was a very busy Valentine's Day. We value and appreciate your feedback and hope that we can have the opportunity to win back your patronage in the near future.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
3 reviews
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience3

It’s ok, nothing special. I wasn’t a fan of my main.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 23 February 2021

Thank you for your feedback

Report
E
Elizabeth
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall2Food5Service1Ambience5

On the night we dined, it was obvious that the restaurant was short staffed. It was a while before we were acknowledged. There were also items on the menu not available even though it was a 7.30pm booking. There was also 2 choices of sparkling wine not available but on the wine list. One of the diners entree was missed but put on the bill.

The food was great but overall experience was disappointing

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 15 February 2021

Hi Elizabeth, thanks you taking the time to feedback after your dining experience. It sounds like we may have missed the mark on this occasion and we hope to have the opportunity to show you a better time on your next visit.

Report
SD
SoniaD
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience4

We were really disappointed. This is a local venue and could be amazing as the physical restaurant is lovely. The food was very basic and obviously not ‘home grown’. The basic Parmesan and greens salad had packet cheap Parmesan and no balsamic. The pasta in the linguine was clumped together.
On the request of salt for the burrata and tomato entree it took the wait staff a good 25min to find any salt (after searching all grinders). The beautiful long tables in front of the open kitchens were covered in clutter and rubbish. The plants outside the bathrooms were dead with rubbish around them.
It is such a shame as we would love this restaurant to be a destination place for delicious local food, packed with flavour but it isn’t. We eat out regularly and love spending money on amazing food but this isn’t cutting it. There just seems to be no care or love being injected into the place. We have tried a few times but every time we are really disappointed. It would be so easy to get this beautiful venue serving quality amazing food with a great local ambience. I hope they can get it together but so far it is well below average. The staff were friendly which was the only plus.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 16 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and your comments are taken into consideration. After what has been a devastating 12 months for the hospitality industry we thank our local community for their support and all feedback is valued and appreciated.

Report
B
Bishop
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience4

Have been a few times, generally pleased, but this time the 2 pastas ordered were like a soap, not great

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 15 February 2021

Hi Bishop, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, we will brief the kitchen team in regards to your feedback about the pasta and we hope to see you another time in the future.

Report
B
Bena
7 reviews
Dined on 13 February 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Food and service was great and we loved the atmosphere.

Acre Camperdown
Responded on 16 February 2021

Thank you Bena! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
N
Nicefram
1 review
Dined on 12 February 2021
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience5

As a user, I’d prefer to not be obliged to write a review. This textbox should be optional.

CL
CharlieLeung
Denver
5 reviews
Dined on 7 February 2021
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience2

Bistecca alla Fiorentina not charred enough. Potatoes more boiled than roasted. Watermelon salad had puddle of liquid at the bottom. Excellent produce, very average cooking technique. Everything we ate made us think of other restaurants where the same dishes are executed better. Staff took feedback well but were not working as an effective team. There is no need to come to this place I'm afraid.

FAQs

Acre Camperdown offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (02) 9194 3100.

Acre Camperdown is rated 3.9 stars by 1021 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.