This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn More.

81 Beach Street

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1890 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Casual Dining by the Sea.
81 Beach Street in Deal is a celebration of what makes good restaurants great. Priding ourselves on local Kent ingredients and suppliers we create fine food without the fuss. Located on Deal's seafront in a beautiful period building, 81 offers a cosy and warm atmosphere, complete with stunning views!
Look out for our Special Set Lunch Menus and also our new Vegan Menu!

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1890 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
Food
4.4
Service
4.2
Ambience
4.4
Value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
C
kristinC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Consistently delicious meals with friendly service

DB
DenisB
Kent
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Really great as usual.

SY
SheilaY
London
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Excellent starters and main courses and very good service with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

DP
DerekP
London
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

All three of us enjoyed our meal. We liked the choice on the special menu , which is really good value for money. Nice and clean and following government guidelines.

JW
JohnW
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience3

We went on recommendation but was a little disappointed.
Sunday lunch easy to cook but beef a bit tough and roast potatoes obviously been around some time.
However desert good service good and restaurant position good.
Will try again when next in deal.

J
Jeremy
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

My girlfriend is gluten intolerant and vegetarian. Prior to attending for Sunday lunch I emailed the restaurant asking if they could accommodate, to which I got a response saying that they could accommodate. When we got there we were told the menu is as it is and that they can't accommodate for dietary requirements. No alternatives were offered. Staff were not helpful in trying to find a resolution. We had already ordered drinks which we paid for and left. Will not be returning to this restaurant.

a
aimeea
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

We had the burgers and they where homemade and delicious! We really enjoyed and would go again

CR
ClaireR
Kent
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Lovely restaurant and exceptionally helpful staff.

B
Bootneckbandy
Kent
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This is a local restaurant and one we use fairly often, why? Because they care.
My wife has a number of intolerances to food, and 81 always go that extra mile to accommodate her. Rather than just give her some fruit, they really make an effort.
The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic, all in all, we are so lucky to have such a great place to eat.

SM
StephenM
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

As usual, good food, good service and good value. Social distancing obviously affects the ambience but 81 Beach Street remains on of Deals best restuarants.

MN
MelissaN
Kent
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We loved our lunch! Three of us opted for their set lunch which was incredible value and one other went for the classic burger which was thoroughly enjoyed! Service was lovely, really friendly staff, attentive but not intrusive. All tables were appropriately distanced, and there were sanitisers on arrival and upstairs near the washrooms. We will be back!

JE
JaniceE
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely restaurant, very friendly staff. Social distancing was well organised. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal there

HO
HelenO
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Delicious food and quick polite service, always a lovely meal out.

EH
EmilyH
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

The food was divine and service was exceptional. Everything arrived in very quick time and tasted incredible.

R
Ruth
London
1 review
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal and certainly could not fault anything.

DP
DerekP
London
4 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

My niece and her partner came for a visit, from London, so myself and my husband took them there as a birthday treat. My husband and I had starters, he had crispy fried pork and dip and I had a blue Stilton, walnut and grape salad both yummy. We all had main , men had steaks and the ladies had the haddock risotto, two desserts for our visitors. We all left the restaurant full and happy.

JU
JULIER
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Lovely food but not much choice on the menu staff very bubbly and friendly

SS
StellaS
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food as always. Service was efficient and despite Covid restrictions it was still a pleasurable experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Exactly what it says on the tin

n
nicolad
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience3

Food was fairly priced. Unfortunately restaurant felt cold due to being close to the air conditioning. Not as friendly staff compared to other restaurants in Deal.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 17 September 2020

Thank you for your review. Sorry you were cold, I hope you let the team know, as I am sure if there was space they would have moved you. And thank you for the feedback about the team, we discuss our reviews each week in our team meeting. This is not how we wish to be known - so we will definitely look into it. Once again thank you for your review and hope you may give us another try at some point.

Report
PK
PaulK
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2020
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience2

On arrival they had no note of our booking.

Very poor food delivered to our was very poor, cod okay, rest over cooked.
At £70 for lunch extremely disappointing.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 17 September 2020

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that your booking had gone missing, this is most unusual for us. And also so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food. I will send you a private message to discuss. Once again we are very sorry.

Report
NA
NickyA
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

I used to love 81. It was my utterly most favourite place to eat. But now the food isn't the same quality or the same variety. It doesn't get presented the same as it used to.
There never would have been ketchup sachets on the table. The coffee was bitter.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 17 September 2020

Thank you for your review, we are so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Our menu has been slightly reduced since we reopened after lockdown. Good news though our new autumn menu is due to launch in a week or two and we will back to our usual numbers of dishes. And completely agree about the ketchup sachets - we don't like offering them either! Unfortunately they are the safest option for now with COVID, as it helps reduce touch points. Hope you will give us another try.

Report
IK
IanK
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

lovely in the upstairs room...good food, not hurried, good Covid precautions.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 17 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
KM
KandM
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience4

Enjoyed out meal out at 81 beach street. Food good nice size portions. Waiting staff I think must be in training pleasant but it took a little while to start service 45 mins to get our bread and olives the rest of the food followed along in a more timely manner. As we had all the evening the delay was not an issue however if we were moving on it may have been an problem but we were on holiday and time to relax was ok . The waiting staff may need a little training on the wine list we asked for the voinner is that the French one was the response. But all things considered enjoyed meal. Social distancing was fully observed throughout.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 17 September 2020

Thank you for your review and also understanding about our team. We do have a few new members and we are training them at the moment, this feedback is really useful though, as it shows where the gaps are. Thank you. Hope to see you again. Best wishes

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kent
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Once again great lunch, felt very safe all precautions taken to protect guests

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
e
ebans
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great food and service. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Good wine and delicious food. Due to the covid situation the ambiance was less energetic than before when we have visited but that is to be expected. I would give the restaurant 10 out of 10 and look forward to visiting again soon. Our very favourite restaurant in Deal.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

What a great review. Thank you so much, the team will be delighted!

Report
IB
IanB
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Very tasty food, excellent service and friendly staff

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined on 10 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We came here for a birthday lunch, excellent service and food and a great value set menu too.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you! Delighted you enjoyed your lunch!

Report
D
Dave
Cheshire
3 reviews
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We had a really enjoyable meal and the staff were excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you for your great review and recommendation! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
SG
SteveG
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent choice, great meal - the fillet steak is a joy - highly recommended

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation! Hope to see you again.

Report
TS
TimS
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent experience as usual. Great to see the Covid measures in place without effecting the overall feel of the restaurant. Set lunch menu is such good value. Highly recommended.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report
PM
PhilipM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

It was a Safe and welcoming restaurant.
Food enjoyable.
Good location.
Good choice of food and the service was efficient. My starter
Meze very good as was the mains Red onionTar tartin.My wifes burger was slightly overcooked to her liking. Waiter maybe ask how it should be cooked.Minor issue but important.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal, although apologies about the burger, we do normally ask our guests how they would like their burger cooked. Sorry this didn't happen on your visit. We will check with the front of house team and remind everyone that this must be done. Hope you will visit again, though, we would love to see you.

Report
s
simons
London
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Nicely decorated and spacious, simple menu but food was really nice and well done.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
CM
ChrisM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Tables were well spaced out ( in case you are concerned about distancing )
Service was quick, friendly and efficient ... We were seated in the area nearest to the front door and I would say the room itself was a little bare and plain..
Food was outstanding , I had the herb crusted cod and my wife had the red onion and Brie tart..
We will definitely return to try other dishes

81 Beach Street
Responded on 10 September 2020

Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your meal. Unfortunately the restaurant is a little bare in places at the moment, which is definitely a shame, this is due the having to remove tables for social distancing and also the fact that the tables are not pre-laid, again due to limiting contact. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward to you returning!

Report
JW
JulieW
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Lovely meal! Nice to be able to buy a carafe of wine!
Squid excellent
Crusted cod was a winner! So fresh and perfectly cooked

81 Beach Street
Responded on 10 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
CP
CarolineP
Kent
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food, the best I have tasted in a long time. Great service.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 9 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
CD
vipColinD
London
4 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Lovely Sunday Lunch
The window table offered lovely views across the Channel, but also great views of you eating for the passers by! However, the food and service far outweighed this.
Thank you 81 Beach St.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 9 September 2020

Thank you!

Report
ST
STUARTD
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had booked quite late for Sunday lunch, and we were SO pleased that we went there. My Wife's vegetarian option was amazing, and my roast beef was delicious. Great veggies too. Puddings are really inventive. We were really glad to go to 81 Beach Street and we will return. It was the first Sunday lunch we've been out to since lockdown, and they have their hygiene and social distancing to a fine art- we felt very safe!

81 Beach Street
Responded on 9 September 2020

Thank you so much! Hope to see you again when you next visit!

Report
AH
AndyH
London
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience3

Good food and good value. Would definitely go back again if the ambience/lighting was improved and the service was just a little better (slow to offer drinks/forgetting orders etc.) Nothing major just let the down a little

81 Beach Street
Responded on 9 September 2020

Thank your for your review. Sorry to read about the service and ambience though. This will be fed back to the team. If you can send me an email with a bit more information about the ambience and lighting that would be really useful, we would welcome your thoughts. My email is kate@beachstreet-restaurants.co.uk. Once again thank you for raising this with us.

Report
RS
RobbieStyles
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely place, great food and service! We will be back.

81 Beach Street
Responded on 7 September 2020

Brilliant! Looking forward to seeing you!

Report

FAQs

81 Beach Street is rated 4.4 stars by 1890 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.