Fire & Oak - Montvale

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
924 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Fire & Oak is a unique American Grill. Serving gourmet comfort food made from the freshest ingredients. With menu items ranging from sushi to fresh ground burgers to prime steaks, there is something for everyone. With accommodations for parties of 20-150, Fire & Oak is available for intimate dining or corporate and private events in 2 available private rooms.
What 924 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
Food
4.5
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
C
New England
6 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The Fire and Oak always delivers the perfect combination of quality food and exceptional service.

WC
New England
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

We were a group of 6 - everyone liked their food and we loved the room we had in the back. Prices are steep, especially w the alcohol.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you WendyC for the review! Appreciate the kind words and hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
D
New York Area
459 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience2

Overall disappointing.

1. Noise level too high. People at a table for 6 were literally shouting across the table. Not relaxing. My feeling eat and leave as fast as possible

2. When ordering requested bread and French fries with the crab cake appetizer. Both arrived late. Bread after the first course and the French fries after the crab was half eaten

3. Veal Milanese was at best fair. Veal should have been pounded more.

4 shrimp cocktail excellent as was the drinks. However requested the vodka martini with no olives or lemon. Came with 3 olives which were removed and was offered a new drink which I declined.

I would return for the shrimp. Good value and very good shrimp. Other than the shrimp nothing to recommend. My wife did enjoy the crab cake but not the fries

Lastly no dessert.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 2 days ago

Davidlillian - Thank you for visiting with us and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations for the evening. Other than the noise level, the items listed were service related, which ultimately would end with me, and for that, I am sorry. If you do return soon, I can promise you that we are much more than shrimp, and I truly would like the opportunity to show you. If you have any other comments or suggestions, please email me at plangfordjr@gmail Best regards, Patrick Langford Gen. Mgr

Report
OT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

First time there, the food was excellent. Carrot cake was absolutely delicious! I will definitely be returning.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the review! Great to hear that we turned you into a fan off of the first time here! Look forward to seeing you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
AL
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent prime rib and swordfish
Great job Fire & Oak

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you ALANA for the review! Appreciate the kind words! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
l
New York Area
33 reviews
Dined on 4 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Service was not as good as usual.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you Laur for your review. I appreciate your feedback and have shared your review with our Staff. I hope to see you back in soon so that we can show you that your experience is not the normal service provided. Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
BM
New York Area
24 reviews
Dined on 4 December 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

They are so efficient and kept checking back when we wanted to place our order even though we were talking so much at the table. I ordered my salad a certain way and that’s the way it came out! Always great service and yummy food!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you BMichele for your review! I'm glad to hear that we were able to provide the service and food to make your evening enjoyable! We hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
OT
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on 3 December 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience3

I found the restaurant very loud for lunchtime. Looked like mostly business meetings. Food was ok. Not as good as usual. The vegetables flatbread almost all artichokes - wish they had mentioned that in the description since it wasn’t good. I was disappointed. Service was good.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As you stated yourself, your experience was not the normal experience. I am sorry that my staff did not correct the issue for you at that time. Hope to see you back in soon so that we can show you what we've had the success that we have had! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
AD
New York Area
25 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

Food was ok. Had the Houstons feel but wasn’t as good as Houstons. Crab cake wasn’t good the spinach dip had way too much parmesan I asked for my steak to be reddish pink throughout and it came out gray. Wine was good. Cocktails were ok.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review. I appreciate hearing about your experience with us. I apologize that the experience you had did not meet your expectations. As you will see in the majority of the reviews on line, your experience was the exception, not the norm, to the regular dining experience. I have brought your concerns to my Exec Chef so that he can let his staff know of this occurrence. If you do ever choose to come back in, please make it a point to introduce yourself Best regards, P. Langford

Report
J
Atlantic City
2 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Most everything was wonderful. The hosts, bartenders, servers all great. My only teeny-tiny gripe (and I emphasize this is extremely minor) was that one of my companion's filet was slightly overcooked. Otherwise the entire table (party of 11) enjoyed themselves immensely and were complimentary of my restaurant selection.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you Jimbo for your review! I'm happy to hear that we were able fulfill your recommendation to your guests and give everyone an enjoyable evening! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
WG
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

I was celebrating my birthday with some girlfriends. Waiter was very kind and helpful.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you WendyG for the review! I'm happy that we were able to make your birthday celebration a great one! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
SM
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great as always. Food is always good as is the service.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review ScottM! Truly appreciate it and hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
B
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 27 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience4

Overall this place is good, been here numerous times. However, the Steak was over cooked and server was very slow tonight . He forgot about our table several times and the restaurant was half empty. Another waiter noticed and handed us the dessert menu after about 25 minutes. Our previous waiter apparently completed his shift and didn’t advise us.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you Bryan for your review! I apologize that we did not meet your expectations for the night. I have addressed the issue you had with our staff to hopefully correct it for future diners. If you do choose to come back in, please make it a point to introduce yourself to me so that I can ensure that you leave a 'raving fan!' Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 27 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic waiter, waters were filled constantly! Food was amazing!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review! Truly appreciate it and hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
s
New York Area
33 reviews
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience3

Food was ok. Had fish- wasn’t tasty or not seasoned. Had oysters was ok.,The service was good very attentive and friendly. Ambience was ok. This restaurant is located in a hotel in Montvale NJ and was filled for the night I went a Friday night. An older couple was beside me and the lady was speaking in too if her voice- not sure if her partner was hard of hearing. Food was mediocre- not worth the price. The person who brought the good was abrupt but my waitress was very friendly and personable and gave great service.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you shirleya for the review! I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations when visiting with us this past Friday. As you will see from many other reviews, the entrees served receive rave reviews, and we unfortunately missed our goal when serving you and your guest. If you are ever in the area again, and feel like you would like to give us another shot, please make it a point to let me know you are coming, and I promise to turn you into a raving fan! Best regards, Patrick Langford, GM

Report
ES
New York Area
346 reviews
Dined on 21 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience4

Having been here the first three times everything was superb.
Something surely went wrong tonight.
The swordfish special had zero taste as Tommy was highly disappointed
I had the lobster stuffed with crabmeat.
The lobster was tough and tasteless.
The crabmeat tasted like breadcrumbs. Surely not up to standards.
The manager asked if we would like something different and we said no.
The appetizer of sushi and kale caesar were very good.
The shrimp cocktail was good and plentiful.
Service was very good. Again one main course ok but both thats bad.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 3 December 2019

EdwardS - Thank you for taking the time to make a review of your most recent visit with us here in Montvale. I apologize that we missed the mark on your entrees, but was happy to see that you were happy with other aspects of yoru visit, and that the entree quality was the exception, not the norm, to what you've received in the past. I have brought your comments to our Chef so that we can correct the issue. Next time you are in, please be sure to introduce yourself. Regards, P. Langford, GM

Report
G
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on 19 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always a great place to eat . Food always great and no issue getting table.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you Great for the review! Appreciate the kind words and we hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
AP
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A perfect evening with a family member, delicious food, great service - Thankyou F and O!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you AandP! Appreciate the review and happy that we were able to make your special meal a success! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
M
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

This local eatery is a great last minute or to make a reservation. Their specials are innovative and usually we executed. I recommend this place for any occasion.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you Meldukay for the review! Appreciate the kind words and hope you are telling as many people as possible! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
SP
New York Area
51 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Yes but I would not rave about it...worth trying. Everything was just OK would have liked more than OK.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Susan- Thank you for your review, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations when visiting with us. As you will see by other past reviews, this is not the normal experience for our guests. If possible, please email me at plangfordjr@gmail. comwith any comments or suggestions you might have. If you do get a chance to visit with us, please make it a point to introduce yourself to me so that I can ensure that we turn you into a raving fan! Best regards, Patrick Langford, GM

Report
AL
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always a good meal, great service. For us it is a great local place

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you ALANA! Appreciate the review. It's great to hear that we're doing what we want to do...be that local place that provides a comfortable and consistent atmosphere! All I ask is that you spread the word! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
B
New York Area
24 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great wait staff! Food perfectly cooked and presented! Vibrant atmosphere!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 18 November 2019

Thank you Barbie! Appreciate the review and the kind words! Look to see you back soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 15 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience3

This restarts is inconsistent and the noise level makes it hard to have a conversation on a table of six. My halibut was dry like it sat too long under a heat lamp. Have had good tuna and steaks in the past. Burgers are also good. Great salads at lunch but dinners are hit and miss. It must depend on the night and number of diners. Prime rib was good, but a king cut was not the same size on different nights.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to make a review on your past visit with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your dining expectations. I have addressed your entree concerns with my Exec. Chef for future use. As you said yourself, your experience is the exception, not the normal experience. If you do get the chance to come back in with us, please introduce yourself so that I can do my best to make sure you have a wonderful night! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
GG
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on 15 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Nice menu good drinks plenty of space

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you GreggG for the review! Appreciate the kind words and hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
OT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 15 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great! Amazing! Yum.... sit on “left side” for ultimate ambiance!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you for the great review! Truly appreciated, and we hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
S
New York Area
83 reviews
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love Sunday night prime rib special! Always delicious! Great service!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you Sherry for the review! Appreciate the kind words and are thrilled that you enjoy visiting with us! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
SB
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The a/c was on and blowing right on us from above, but we asked and they turned it up. It got more crowded as time went on and it was noisy and the music was loud, but we were still able to talk to each other without a problem. The service was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. My only complaint is that two of us ordered a meal with an extra of filet mignon added to it. We were given a choice of regular or blackened. We both ordered regular. We both got blackened. The server took care of it immediately, apologized a few times, and we got the replacement filet pretty quickly and it was so delicious! We were both very happy. I eat my meat well done and this filet mignon was as soft as butter! I would definitely go back to Fire & Oak!!

NW
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always a great experience.

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you NussmanW for the review! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Ask for Ryan! He was great

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 25 November 2019

Thank you for the review and the compliments for Ryan! I'll be sure to pass them on to him! Hope to see you back in soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
D
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

First time customers - came highly recommended by husbands fellow police officers. Food was incredible! Server was fantastic and paid special attention to our children. Already recommended Fire & Oak to others!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you jaimeD for the kind words! I'm happy to hear that we were able to wow you right from the start! All I ask is that you spread the word and tell as many people as possible! Look forward to seeing you back again soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report
Y
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on 8 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We went for a birthday. Joshua made sure our birthday boy felt extremely special. The food was especially good. Salmon, short ribs, hangar steak all big successes. Service perfection. How lucky we are to have this gem of a restaurant in our neighborhood.

G
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on 5 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, drink and excellence service as always.

p
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience5

My husband and I went here for an anniversary dinner.......while he felt his meal and appetizer was wonderful, mine was a disappointment........he had the ahi tuna app and the filet with blue cheese as his main meal.......I had the lump crab cake app but it was far from lu,p crabmeat....my main meal was the Sunday e=ending special queen cut prime rib with a baked potato and side salad.......the prime rib was fatty and dry, the baked potato microwaved a bit too much and the salad old and dry, just poured out of a bag.......I will say the restaurant is beautiful, large with wonderful ambience ......my husband says let’s try again but I will admit I am hesitant

OT
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience3

Overprice not thrilled. Everything we ordered was bland had no seasoning or taste

CA
New York Area
25 reviews
Dined on 30 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always good! Great business lunch location - you can never go wrong with the BLT Steak salad - not the healthiest option, but the filet minon melts in your mouth!

H
New York Area
21 reviews
Dined on 25 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Another good dinner. Lollipop chicken appetizers are a must try if you haven’t had them. Very few North Jersey restaurants have the ambience like Fire & Oak.

Our server, Juan was absolutely stellar!

S
1 review
Dined on 24 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

We love Fire and Oak! We go for a ladies night every month. Today we went on a Thursday and it was a bit loud. We will definitely be back next month just not on a Thursday :-)

DV
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 18 October 2019
Overall3Food1Service1Ambience4

Honestly we were all very disappointed. The menu was littered with truffle oil which is fine for those that enjoy truffle which I happen to but far too many items included this one ingredient.

The atmosphere is beautiful. It’s a pretty restaurant that is extremely loud. Our service was lacking greatly.

Our appetizer was ok but it took about 10 mins at least to get an extra sour cream. The entrees had a flavor on all three dishes that was unappetizing to each of us. I believe they may cook on some grill with wood underneath. The wood permeated everything and was beyond overpowering. We took two desserts home and they also had an unusual flavor to them. The key lime pie had some weird dust on the top of it that ruined the pie completely. The carrot cake also had an unusual flavor to it. Nothing tasted “normal”.

Overall I think they try too hard and overdo it with strong powerful ingredients that mask the food itself rather than enhance it.

We will not ever return.

OT
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 17 October 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

This was just okay. Steak quesadillas were very fatty. Sushi had no flavor. Dessert took forever. Was a busy Thursday night.

BM
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was, as usual, excellent. Our server was very accommodating in that she gave us each individual checks. Would recommend Fire & Oak to everyone!

Fire & Oak - Montvale
Responded on 23 October 2019

Thank you BMWF for the review! We appreciate you visiting with us and sharing your kind words! We hope to see you back soon! Best regards, Patrick Langford General Manager, Fire & Oak

Report