Albert's Shed

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
4252 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Shed is a stylish city centre restaurant with the advantage of a location at the centre of the Castlefield canal basin.
The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.

Special Offers

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a fantastic meal!

Arrival glass of prosecco, canapes, three course meal, Live singer from 7-11.30pm and Fireworks at midnight. £45 per person between 6pm and 7.15pm (Children are very welcome during this time)£65 per person 7.30pm onwards. For an additional £10pp you can purchase a ticket to Dukes 92 party!

Tuesday, 31 December, 2019

What 4252 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
Food
4.3
Service
4.3
Ambience
4.3
Value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
j
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience5

The service was terrible although restaurant wasn't busy . Waiter spilled a glass of ice cold water all over a friend dining at my table . Food was luke warm we go every year for an xmas meal after this year I wont be returning.

h
London
17 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had breakfast and it was very very good. Great service and good value with different choices.

KL
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food and service! Will definitely be eating here again.

WB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

First time at the shed, a lovely meal was had by all of us, the waitress was very friendly , I will be popping in again ,next time in Manchester.

JK
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wonderful food just enough. Place was beautiful. Just a little bit more staff help when you enter the premises

NI
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3Food5Service3Ambience3

Unfortunately when we arrive, our table wasn’t ready, as was being used as table to serve the bread. When we realised our table was next to the serving point, we asked to be moved. After a heated discussion the manager agreed to move us to another table, which we could have for 2 hours. It did spoil our experience at the restaurant .

PS
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

The food what lovely the place was nice the environment was chilled

T
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Family meal for 6. Busy due to Xmas parties but food still excellent. Service was a little slow but to be expected due to time of year and staff were very polite and friendly 👍

AJ
Cheshire
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Had the Xmas lunch. Absolutely beautiful. Would recommend to everyone.

BW
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

The Christmas pudding was cold. I prefer it at least warm. Apart from that I was a good lively atmosphere.
Have been to the one in Worsley at lunch time enjoyed that as well.

BM
Manchester
7 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience2

Eaten here a few times, and the first time the food was spectacular, however, the last few times the lamb rump has been very underseasoned unlike the first time. Might be a while before returning.

RB
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Excellent value. We dined before going to the theatre and even though it was 5.30pm we could choose from the lunchtime menu. I started with calamari and for the main course had steak frites. All this for £12.50, amazing value. The quality of the food was excellent as was the friendly efficient service.
Well worth a visit b

s
1 review
Dined on 2 December 2019
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience3

orders mixed up and had to wait to long due to the mix up
food was tasty

c
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2019
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

Been several times to this restaurant but on this occasion service was poor, tables/floor dirty. Very few staff waiting on , lots of needless chatter when people were waiting for orders to be taken. Food was not near as good as I have previously experienced. Quite disappointed.

LW
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2019
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience4

General feeling from the group was; food great, relaxed atmosphere, shame about the service!

SB
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Good overall.
Glasses and plates not as clean as they should be.
Cutlery is as you would find in a greasy spoon. Cheap, scratched & bent.

c
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience3

This was my first and last time at Albert Shed. The door from the smoking area kept being left open so it was really cold and drafty(although our request to move table was accomodated when a table became available). My food was not hot and felt like it had been reheated. My friends meal was bland. Such a shame as the staff were friendly and a good atmosphere

Albert's Shed
Responded on 2 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm sorry to read of the poor experience with the dishes you ordered, Could you please contact me with your email address including what name your booking was under and time your booking was for, so that we can investigate further and address these issues, Karen

Report
DC
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service1Ambience4

Nice food nice atmosphere but the night we were there the service was shocking probably down to large tables but still we are paying the same as them so should not be forgot about

Albert's Shed
Responded on 2 December 2019

Thank you for your review Derek I'm very sorry that you felt the way you did I know the team would never want you feel like that, we would never wish any guest to leave the restaurant unhappy, Karen

Report
SM
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience3

We were a table of 8 and it wasn’t an enjoyable experience at all. The service was terrible and we literally felt abandoned!
We will not be returning and not recommending to others.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 2 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Sam, this is definitely not an experience we would hope for any of our customers. We would certainly like the chance to look into your visit in further detail and would very much appreciate it if you could reply with your email address, including what name the booking was under and also what time the booking was for, Karen

Report
D
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Visited Alberts Shed on a Saturday afternoon. The atmosphere was lovely, staff were great and the food was delicious. Defo my favourite restaurant in Manchester!

OT
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience4

We had a lovely evening at Albert's, the food as usual was very good but the service did take the shine off the evening. Our table wasnt ready when we arrived, and the service all evening was extremely slow. They forgot to take our drinks order and both food and the bill took ages to arrive. I'd still go back though as past experiences havent been like that, and the menu is always decent.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 2 December 2019

I’m really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Albert’s during your visit. We take all comments on board which we received from guests and we will highlight these issues with the staff so we can improve for your next visit, Karen

Report
J
Manchester
9 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience5

We love going to Albert's Shed and always choose there first with family and friends. However on this occassion we were slightly disappointed with the food. The avocado and crab terrine from the special menu was lovely but the portions were very small especially the bread to go with the mousse.
Everyone esle enjoyed their meals but my rump of lamb and vegetables were lukewarm, in the restaurant's favour they did change for another one and took it off the bill but it meant I had only started eating when everyone else had finished.
It won't deter us from coming back though!

BM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

Menu hadn’t really changed in the years we’ve been going, some new dishes, but, need to change it regularly keep people interested.

DB
1 review
Dined on 28 November 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Fixed price lunch menu available until 6.00 p.m. and we took advantage of this. Interesting choice of menu with good quality food. very affordable although the drinks are on the expensive side - £8.50 for a glass of wine. Service efficient and waitresses very good. went pre-theatre and have booked again for December. Recommended

LM
1 review
Dined on 28 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Lovely afternoon with friends. Perfect place for meeting up and having a get together.

C
London
9 reviews
Dined on 28 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely after at Albert’s as always . The choice of food is very good , especially the lunchtime menu

MS
Newcastle
1 review
Dined on 26 November 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

The food was tasty, but there was some things wrong with it. The rabbit gnocchi starter was full of bones and the pepper sauce with the steak was quite unpleasant. Everything else was good, but probably not the quality you’d expect from a restaurant. It was just nice pub grub. Overall, not a bad experience, but also wouldn’t rush back.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 2 December 2019

Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit, may I ask if these issued were raised with your server or a manager on the day? Can I also check did anyone check if everything was ok with your meal? I will really look forward to your reply, Karen

Report
MM
1 review
Dined on 26 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Had a wonderful lunch for my sisters birthday, the staff were lovely and made her day very special.

JD
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

1st time here at Albert's Shed, and loved it, great atmosphere, friendly staff, and fantastic food, we WILL be back, 👍

OT
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Great food, nice atmosphere. Toilets a bit grotty-broken soap dispensers, dirty nappies lying around, door locks broken.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 27 November 2019

Thank you for your review I'm sorry that the bathrooms were not in a good condition when you visited. I have brought your feedback to the attention of the management team so that this does not happen again, Karen

Report
CJ
London
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Always a great time at this establishment and happy to of spent my birthday there. Shall be booking again in the near future Thanks

T
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

A very good restaurant, lively atmosphere, good food and service. Knocked a star off because the ladies toilet is below standard.

MB
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had the best time here on a busy Saturday night! The food was absolutely incredible- very quick service. Our waitress went above and beyond for us and even gave my partner a little cake for his birthday. Will definitely recommend. Thank you for a lovely evening.

MC
Kent
4 reviews
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went with Family for an early Christmas get together really enjoyed it food lovely and service great would recommend trying it out if you’ve not been before 🎄😀👍

KF
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We were treated by son & daughter in law, food was excellent , bar a little slow & it wasn’t very busy.
Our waitress Ali was fabulous & attentive & nothing was too much trouble for her.
.

FD
London
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We arrived Saturday tea time had a lovely 3 course meal staff excellent we will be back .Thanks.

MB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Outstanding, love this place. Never had a bad experience, and wouldn't eat anywhere else.. Me and the Mrs always eat here and then go next door to Dukes 92.. Can i also say a big thank you to the girl who served us, she was amazing. xxxxxxx

LH
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

First time at the restaurant and it excelled my expectations. Lovely food and atmosphere.
Our waitress was very attentive and made our visit a pleasure.
I will definitely be recommending this restaurant

RC
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 22 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service2Ambience4

Great food but service was poor unfortunately. Were sat for 10/15 minutes before having to ask (not be asked) for drinks.

NY
1 review
Dined on 21 November 2019
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience4

Service slow due to only 2 waiters who did well considering 2 large parties arrived